Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby nervewrecker » February 19th, 2023, 6:20 pm

By product of other plants
Aum ammonia supplies downstream with ammonia and co2
Ax supplies mx I think

Q: they dont take co2 from the air by chance? or cant?

I don’t think a skid for that in the plant design

The 3 ammonia plants have co2 scrubbers
N2000 uses benfield solution and I can’t remember what cnc and aum uses

see what happens when you ask someone who knows jack chit and not take on pointless babbling from people.

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2023, 6:46 pm

That's how the nh3 plants remove co2 from. Those systems.buthow does cgcl get additional co2?
From the atmosphere? Okay, but how, a chemical process or by chilling compressed air?

Postby nervewrecker » February 19th, 2023, 6:59 pm

aye, one thing at a time

Postby maj. tom » February 19th, 2023, 7:22 pm

Industrially CO2 is produced by combustion of methane, since distillation and liquefaction from air would be inefficient and low yield.

They probably also don't waste it when created as a byproduct of other reactions like here:

Postby nervewrecker » February 19th, 2023, 8:50 pm

I trying to remember off the top of my head what was the first refrigerant carrier used in the printery, it sounded like dme

Postby sMASH » February 20th, 2023, 8:32 am

maj. tom wrote:Industrially CO2 is produced by combustion of methane, since distillation and liquefaction from air would be inefficient and low yield.

They probably also don't waste it when created as a byproduct of other reactions like here:

Traditionally, yes.
But given the new green revolution, not sure if newer places trying other methods.
I personally gonna try freezing it out of the air.

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2023, 8:56 am

sMASH wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Industrially CO2 is produced by combustion of methane, since distillation and liquefaction from air would be inefficient and low yield.

Traditionally, yes.
But given the new green revolution, not sure if newer places trying other methods.
I think Amazon has a machine to create dry ice. Removes CO2 from the air.

Gonna build your own?

Was researching possible sources for my use.

Postby sMASH » February 20th, 2023, 11:03 am

sMASH wrote:

Traditionally, yes.
I think Amazon has a machine to create dry ice. Removes CO2 from the air.

Gonna build your own?

Was researching possible sources for my use.
Yes.

But I worked in an ammonia plsnt and became familiar with the chemical scrubbing of co2 from the process.

So, just wanted to know if the big billion dollar companies came up with other means of extracting co2 from air other thsn chemical scrubbing.

Not a lot of co2 In air, compared to just burning methane. But burning methane has a cost.

So would really like to confirm. How cgcl generates its co2.

Thwt is one item of interest.
The other is, how GTL back end generates its diesel: syngas to converter and out comes diesel, or syn gas to converter out comes some material which is then sent to some other step that creates the diesel.

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2023, 1:47 pm

And what are your long term solutions for the captured carbon?

Create fuel and return it back into the cycle? Plants are a long term solution being carbon based or refrigerants since refrigeration is now a necessity with global temp rise. R290 aka propane is a direct drop in replacement for R22 and I had retrofitted a lot of systems with it as a long term solution. But there is still the debate as to if global warming is real and its not just fluctuations of the suns temp.

Hempcrete is another long term solution but we not ready for that here.

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2023, 1:54 pm

Actually retrofitted a few 410a systems with R290 as well.

Light commercial systems use same line sizes in some units, so I doubled the metering device capacity to half the pressures and drop the compressor RLA.

410a is 400 to 500psi discharge and 110 to 150psi suction, R290 is 240 to 300 psi discharge and 67 to 70psi suction so the compressor is almost at half FLA. Good luck to the poor sap's that have to work on that yes.

Postby sMASH » February 20th, 2023, 2:48 pm

nervewrecker wrote:And what are your long term solutions for the captured carbon?

Create fuel and return it back into the cycle?

Yes.

But, my experience is, the engineers know HOW to calculate, but not WHAT to calculate.

They think inside the parameters they have encountered.

I need to do it myself and see what I can see.

Need to know how GTL back end works...

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2023, 2:56 pm

sMASH wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:And what are your long term solutions for the captured carbon?

Create fuel and return it back into the cycle?

Yes.

But, my experience is, the engineers know HOW to calculate, but not WHAT to calculate.

They think inside the parameters they have encountered.

I need to do it myself and see what I can see.

Need to know how GTL back end works...

Come now, surely all engineers cant be painted with the same brush. There are engineers and then there is engineer, a gift to mankind from god, the best thing on the face of this earth, carved out of milky white pure marble to perfection and bought to life.

Postby sMASH » February 20th, 2023, 3:23 pm

Our engineers are glorified calculators.
Foreign engineers need to be able to innovate and ask questions and investigate.

Our get trained to fill in plant data for the end of month meeting.

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2023, 4:38 pm

Not quite sure how to take that since me and the engineer does the same job just different departments and different places with two different titles.

I on the other hand put proposals forward and tend to be intuitive and forward with suggestions towards progression of the entire entity.

Now I see why I get the nickname "engineer"

Postby sMASH » February 20th, 2023, 4:43 pm

U are unique, met a few like u... The others... Meh....

A madnah went a German uni fur a project, while he was dojng his PhD in uwi.

He said theur programs and uwi programs are chalk and cheese. In a nutshell, he said there, was more like a research laboratory.
Here, they just gear up to get ah wuk in the oil an gyass.

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2023, 5:51 pm

Im not an engineer, they just call me engineer.

In all fairness they limited to what they can do with this permit to work system. They do answer to someone and a lot of the younger engineers get blows from seniors who downright disregard their abilities or are resistant to change.

Same hurdles I face with men. Sometimes you report something and you get licks for it because someone saying you trying to make them look bad and them is pardners with the person you reporting it to. But you know me, persistent, I will find who wants to hear me and get things fixed. This same discussion came up just last week.

Postby sMASH » February 20th, 2023, 6:14 pm

I met some who were actually interested. But the vast majority just there to get enough money to blow out on the weekends.

Don't blame them tho, cause just as u said, they limited anyways.

Postby sMASH » February 20th, 2023, 6:19 pm

An easy way to kno if cgcl makes its co2 by methane combustion is by seeing if they inject air right after the reformer.

The Temps there supposed to cause the methane to auto ignite in the presence of oxygen.

That gas stream will be very hot, so it then would go to a high pressure steam boiler to recover that heat energy.

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2023, 6:35 pm

I does call them paper pushers, because they like to stay in office and hide from sun.

It really is something to see one prompt on response to a problem, outside all the time, checking, double checking and being thorough, early for work till you can set you clock by this person and at the same time polite. Most are stock up and you cant talk to them, I was sold when I heard comments towards some guys installing a toilet. Was actually the same comments I made towards them so even better yet.

Some of the inexperienced ones feel attacked when you try to correct them. Corrected one recently and she got on a high horse like I attacking her.

Postby sMASH » February 20th, 2023, 7:01 pm

U lucky. A time i had to get a hesq signature on a permit, saw the new girl, went to ask and before I could say anyting, first ting she ever said to me was 'I have a husband'.

My head hot wirh trying to organize permits, I didn't kno how to calculate that into the work schedule.

And I dint think I used to look that thirsty.

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2023, 8:45 pm

as we on the topic of carbon and fuel, I saw an ad concerning a plant of some sort in Point Fortin from I think was D2F or D. Rampersad. Mostly mech

Only plant I know down right now is the ethanol plant. But that's for export afaik.

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2023, 6:37 pm

Smash, you make any headway?

I can't find anyone from cgcl right now.

But all I will say is god bless tuner and God bless you sir with your goat mouth. Now, suggest that I should be on a metal structure in the marine environment plz.

Postby sMASH » March 2nd, 2023, 8:04 pm

Yes. Link wirh a former coworker In cgcl..
Confirmed they obtain their carbon from the methane feedstock.

So I will continue with my experiment to see how effective it is to scrub co2 from the air.

Now, Just need a gtl P&ID, to figure out the diesel generation part.

wing

Postby wing » April 2nd, 2023, 5:01 pm

Yara gets 10%. What will the PSA do now?

Postby sMASH » April 2nd, 2023, 7:00 pm

Was not even aware that they were striking...
It seemed like a media censor.

Richard Coer de Poulet

Postby Richard Coer de Poulet » April 4th, 2023, 8:20 am

Any good youtube videos for direct online starters? both Single phase and 3 phase? I am having trouble with controls

Richard Coer de Poulet

Postby Richard Coer de Poulet » April 4th, 2023, 8:24 am

nervewrecker wrote:Im not an engineer, they just call me engineer.

In all fairness they limited to what they can do with this permit to work system. They do answer to someone and a lot of the younger engineers get blows from seniors who downright disregard their abilities or are resistant to change.

Same hurdles I face with men. Sometimes you report something and you get licks for it because someone saying you trying to make them look bad and them is pardners with the person you reporting it to. But you know me, persistent, I will find who wants to hear me and get things fixed. This same discussion came up just last week.

This is true is like the big bosses always reaching late and cant do nothing. my favorite is when dey like to quotes 'facts' and 'charts' etc and the data just wrong

Postby alfa » April 4th, 2023, 10:11 am

Richard Coer de Poulet wrote:Any good youtube videos for direct online starters? both Single phase and 3 phase? I am having trouble with controls

https://youtu.be/imr3zBi3pCw
https://youtu.be/q_04g8AB8lk
First vid is about the control circuit while the next one is about the practical connection of same. Hopefully this helps

Postby nervewrecker » April 4th, 2023, 6:37 pm

Richard Coer de Poulet wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Im not an engineer, they just call me engineer.

This is true is like the big bosses always reaching late and cant do nothing. my favorite is when dey like to quotes 'facts' and 'charts' etc and the data just wrong

Will have to agree to disagree on this. not all superiors are like this, some actually do know their stuff as was the case with one where they wear a kinda grey / green with the stripes down the shoulders. Man knows his stuff and don't mix matters, pity I never got to meet him.

Some higher up's have meetings to attend and / or emergencies to attend to so they can't always be there 8am. Its not like you can pick up the phone and reach them all the time either. Then there is work from home, a lot of companies opted to keep some aspects of this to minimize the amount of people present at any given time.

Postby nervewrecker » April 4th, 2023, 6:40 pm

Richard Coer de Poulet wrote:Any good youtube videos for direct online starters? both Single phase and 3 phase? I am having trouble with controls

Take what you get online with a pinch of salt because its not always what you will meet out here. Has one guy that walks around with a picture of a DOL and when he meet a different type of contactor he spent half day and cant wire it. :lol: :lol: :drinking: :drinking: