Tech guys a lil help - problematic laptop

Postby skylinechild » November 17th, 2009, 2:11 pm

the laptop doesnt boot...not even the BIOS shows on the screen.
however when you plug in an external monitor onto the VGA port both start to work
then you can remove the VGA and the LCD works like nothing wrong.

when it refuses to boot all lights are lighting except the HDD activity light and the screen doesnt show.

if you constantly turn it off and on it may turn on like nothing wrong and start booting up .

it's not a windows issue cause even when the HDD is not in the machine it still gives the problem.

i removed the RAM and added A 2GB kingston DDR2 PC 6400.

help appreciated
thanks tuners

Re: Tech guys a lil help - problematic laptop

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 17th, 2009, 2:12 pm

skylinechild wrote:the laptop doesnt boot...not even the BIOS shows on the screen.
however when you plug in an external monitor onto the VGA port both start to work
then you can remove the VGA and the LCD works like nothing wrong.

when it refuses to boot all lights are lighting except the HDD activity light and the screen doesnt show.

if you constantly turn it off and on it may turn on like nothing wrong and start booting up .

it's not a windows issue cause even when the HDD is not in the machine it still gives the problem.

i removed the RAM and added A 2GB kingston DDR2 PC 6400.

help appreciated
thanks tuners

sounds liek on board video is dead.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 17th, 2009, 2:34 pm

x2 :!:

Postby skylinechild » November 17th, 2009, 2:35 pm

nah video is good...right now i typin back this message ON the problematic laptop....

It just hanging on the BIOS....
any suggestions what may be the cause?

it had some physical damage to the keyboard and optical drive...and that was it.

it was getting this problem BEFORE the laptop got the damage to the keyboard and optical drive..

suggestions.?

Postby cinco » November 17th, 2009, 3:09 pm

sounds like mobo issues
low power
do you get these issues when it is hot or it doesnt matter?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 17th, 2009, 5:42 pm

that sounds like motherboard issues....

if under warranty well doh stick

if not.. ebay...

else... tuner have some piper cheap laptops available :!:

Postby bushwakka » November 17th, 2009, 6:57 pm

the Power On Self Test (POST) is most likely hanging the bootup sequence due to faulty CMOS, BIOS chip, or the whatever that controls the output to the LCD

try resetting the CMOS? jumper the battery

Postby skylinechild » November 17th, 2009, 8:47 pm

thelem- it's an Compaq presario (HP) made in 2008

cinco- i think it's also motherboard issues and it doesnt matter if it hot or cold..it just hangs

original lollybob- nah it not under warranty. first tech it went by couldnt fix it- he damaged the optical drive trying to get it open.

it was given to a 2nd tech- the 2nd tech couldnt fix it - he pulled off a key trying to repair another keyboard.
he get fed up and tell me fix it and take it.

bushwakka- i had the same idea but the CMOS battery good cause it holding date and time when not on AC and when the battery removed.

so i flashed the BIOS and the problem seems to be solved. i flashed from BIOS revision F.24 to F.34
and low and behold it start working....for now....so i hoping....

Postby skylinechild » November 18th, 2009, 6:06 pm

ok the same problem STILL occuring.....

techs....any suggestions.?

Postby cinco » November 18th, 2009, 6:09 pm

amm mobo test/fan test
or pee on it
your pick

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 18th, 2009, 6:19 pm

i say pee on it :lol:

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » November 18th, 2009, 6:36 pm

pss on it your mobo is just about burnt out lemmie guess nvidia chipset for video?

Postby skylinechild » November 18th, 2009, 6:36 pm

trinidrift wrote:i say pee on it :lol:

HYMC :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby skylinechild » November 19th, 2009, 7:25 pm

no tuners could help with this...????

boost11

Postby boost11 » November 19th, 2009, 7:49 pm

try going to original manufacturer's website and download the updated BIOS, once downloaded, create a system restore point then install the BIOS using directions from manufacturer site. Thats the most i can say.

W2J

Postby W2J » November 19th, 2009, 7:52 pm

you should go to HP website and see if your notebook is on there recall list!!!! the symptoms you are describing fits the problems associated.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » November 19th, 2009, 7:53 pm

NO one was joking when they said piss on it the problems your having wont even let you update your bios tru regular means, google the troubles your having it really may be too late for you if hp warranty is up, and you dont want to buy a new mobo.

Postby bushwakka » November 19th, 2009, 7:54 pm

^read dude.....he flashed it already.......and in most cases a system restore would not backup ur BIOS unless ur BIOS comes with that feature

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » November 19th, 2009, 8:01 pm

^ this is what happens when you type but forget to hit submit lol :mrgreen:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » November 19th, 2009, 8:45 pm

buy a new one

Postby skylinechild » November 20th, 2009, 3:35 pm

W2J wrote:you should go to HP website and see if your notebook is on there recall list!!!! the symptoms you are describing fits the problems associated.

hmmm thanks for the heads up W2J....i will do so.

however there is a tuner called xtech that pm me and say he could fix it! which is strange after i already did everything i could try.

does anyone know this tuner or carry something by him to fix along the lines of the problem i facing and it fix properly.?

i all for sending it but i want to be there when he fixing it- just to be sure....after all the man want to charge me $500

does anyone know this tuner or have experience with him.?

jeepers
Location: Still locating this location that when located it will appear as my location

Postby jeepers » November 20th, 2009, 4:05 pm

did u check ur bios config?prob set to boot from external vga as primary or some other peripheral component prob need adjusting.

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 20th, 2009, 4:40 pm

skylinechild wrote:thelem- it's an Compaq presario (HP) made in 2008

that's your problem right there.

don't ever, EVER buy a compaq again.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 20th, 2009, 9:01 pm

or gateway n ibm

secret_service

Postby secret_service » November 20th, 2009, 9:32 pm

so u come on tuner here and begging for help cause you try everything in the book an when ah man offer you real help instead of ole talk you fraid to trust him.

seems simple to me if he dont fix it dont pay him duh!!! what u got to loose? the laptop not working anyway let him steal it

Humes

Postby Humes » November 20th, 2009, 9:58 pm

MOST IMPORTANT

Make sure and take off yuh sex clips before yuh send it to the technician.

Postby skylinechild » November 20th, 2009, 11:18 pm

jeepers - BIOS config is correct i even flashed it for a more up to date version

somkeyGTi- i got it for FREE

trinidrift - never had any experience with gateway or ibm so i dunno if they good or bad

secret service- i come here asking if anyone had similar problems like what i having and what they did to resolve it.

as far as trust goes is trinidad you know how many con men it hav here in trinidad and worse yet in tuner.?

and i never said it not working i said it hangs on boot sometimes....when you do get it to boot up properly it works perfectly.....

humes - i recently installed XP Professional on it... it has no porn -- but thanks for the heads up !!!

tuners anyone knows how to solve the issue i having.?

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 22nd, 2009, 4:09 pm

trust me on dat 1

star323

Postby star323 » November 22nd, 2009, 7:34 pm

I had this exact problem with my dell desktop.. When i switched on the CPU it didnt want to boot and by repeatedly switching the power on and off it eventually came on without problems.. but after a while it gave more and more trouble to come on...

My problem turned out to be the motherboard and i had to replace it..

If i am correct then the mobo will have to be replaced... and there are several reasons for a mobo to get damaged, the main ones being excess heat and power problems..

I think a computer tech should be able to confirm if its the mobo actually going..

Postby skylinechild » November 23rd, 2009, 7:41 pm

star323- I AM a compter tech ..!!!

i just want to be sure that there's no fix i didnt try. i have the feeling that i will have to change the motherboard and done....i trying to avoid that - that's why i asked on tuner if anyone had similar problems and what they did to resolve it!!!

xtech - contacted me to try and fix the laptop but wanted $500 to do it.
i suspect he was going to try and remove the video card and flash the video card BIOS or do something similar to that .

but it doesnt have an ATI or nvidia chipset on a separate card that can be removed, so i doubt that he'll be able to fix it.