Laptop brand advice

star323

Laptop brand advice

Postby star323 » November 21st, 2009, 7:35 pm

Looking to get a laptop soon... i want something that is reliable, rugged, durable, long lasting, easy to service and repair... heard good things about acer... what do you guys think?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 21st, 2009, 7:36 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 21st, 2009, 7:38 pm

www.dell.com they will ship it to your door step and honor the warranty here in T&T

cut out the middle man :idea:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 21st, 2009, 7:46 pm

^ actually there are DELL business partners locally
just a couple

they can BEAT or match the online prices, provide software support and honour warranties

star323

Postby star323 » November 21st, 2009, 7:46 pm

thanks guys!! just wanted some local opinions.. currently researching the laptops online

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » November 21st, 2009, 8:19 pm

sager aka clevo

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » November 21st, 2009, 8:23 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:www.dell.com they will ship it to your door step and honor the warranty here in T&T

/thread

Save yourself the headache. Buy a dell.

trvs

Postby trvs » November 21st, 2009, 8:58 pm

lol @ local options

if you studying Visa/Debit Card they accept wire transfers get your system in 3 weeks or less on your doorstep.

Postby st7 » November 21st, 2009, 9:56 pm

dell

star323

Postby star323 » November 22nd, 2009, 12:22 am

the wire transfer sounding good.. not too familiar with this method but will check it out!! so is dell and acer so far i hearing... really looking for something that trouble free and durable!!

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » November 22nd, 2009, 12:53 am

dell reliable ? my phoqin dell is give so much trouble eh. then the charger gone tru, and 800$ fuh a phoqin charger :S

Postby foss » November 22nd, 2009, 12:58 am

vimal_vs wrote:dell reliable ? my phoqin dell is give so much trouble eh. then the charger gone tru, and 800$ fuh a phoqin charger :S

next time buy ah genuine and not ah taiwan knock off 8-)

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » November 22nd, 2009, 3:18 am

dell + 3yr warranty-dnot stick with the warranty.is a blast trust meh.u safe from anything for 3 years including defective charger.the battery u have a year on alone though.

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » November 22nd, 2009, 3:24 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:www.dell.com they will ship it to your door step and honor the warranty here in T&T

PREACH - i fed up tell people the same thing, but they want to buy fancy HP and thing, and end up gettin fork.

stick with dell, their warranty is next business day.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 22nd, 2009, 6:16 am

buy a DELL if you want service in Trinidad. The only other brand that has service in Trinidad is APPLE if you want to buy a mac laptop.

THAT IS IT.....DO NOT BE TEMPTED BY THE OTHERS CAUSE WHEN THEY START TO PLAY UP YOU HAVE TO PAY YUH OWN MONEY TO FIX IT...and trust me...sometime it nearly half the cost of the laptop itself.
I know Hp had something here but i eh know.

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » November 22nd, 2009, 7:12 am

www.laptopstnt.com I bought my laptop from them, prices reel good and it includes door to door shipping, 3 days delivery

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » November 22nd, 2009, 7:28 am

i bought an alienware laptop last 2 months, trust me it's the best thing you can have...speed ddr3 memory and graphics, an a very fast processor...its rated as one of the best laptop in the world....

TK!

Postby TK! » November 22nd, 2009, 9:47 am

apple apple apple

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » November 22nd, 2009, 1:44 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:The only other brand that has service in Trinidad is APPLE if you want to buy a mac laptop.

For free if u buy apple care?

`psycho

Postby `psycho » November 22nd, 2009, 1:47 pm

dell is good, toshiba is better

dell you have warranty local, make sure and buy from dell.com/tt or an AUTHORIZED dell dealer locally. You can take the standard 1 year warranty and then extend the warranty every year after that.

Toshiba are good machines last long an are reliable, however if anything goes wrong with it it you will have to pay to fix it if t can be fixed, if you want it fixed by Toshiba themselves you have to ship back up to the states.

ACER is pure sheit save urself the headache

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » November 22nd, 2009, 2:29 pm

foss wrote:
vimal_vs wrote:dell reliable ? my phoqin dell is give so much trouble eh. then the charger gone tru, and 800$ fuh a phoqin charger :S

next time buy ah genuine and not ah taiwan knock off 8-)

i guess DELL in TT does sell taiwan knock offs then :( :(

Postby Monk BANzai » November 22nd, 2009, 2:35 pm

SALRI COMPUTERS..

[/thread]

Postby foss » November 22nd, 2009, 2:38 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:SALRI COMPUTERS..

[/thread]

u know Riaz ? (sp) he parents livin rite by me

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 22nd, 2009, 2:40 pm

family has 4 laptops....2 Acer Aspire's, 1 Lenovo 3000 and a Toshiba Satellite.

first Acer purchased in September 2006 then the other Acer purchased in September 2007. The Lenovo was purchased in August 2007 and the Toshiba in March 2009.

All are still in original condition and are used for hours everyday. They are always on the net and the Acer's being the oldest nothing ever changed except the RAM. The first Aspire came with 512MB and we upgraded it to 2GB and it runs XP very fast. Likewise we upgraded the 2nd Acer with 4GB of RAM and it runs Vista the way it should have been in the first place. The Lenovo was similarly upgraded like the 2nd Acer as well as the Toshiba.

The quality of the casing, knobs/buttons and keys remains new up to this day and the screens are still trouble free. No lines or dots. The Acer's have superior wifi reception over the Lenovo and Toshiba by far. The screen quality is the best in the Toshiba though and all have poor battery life IMHO as they don't last long but its not like we seriously need to change the batteries as wherever we go there are power sockets so we just keep it plugged. All optical drives work as intended. Only the Toshiba lacks a microphone but the others still pickup voice clearly and only the 2nd Acer has a camera which has excellent quality.

All hard drives run great and please note the Lenovo we have is not the IBM Thinkpad derived laptop its the true Chinese Lenovo 3000 nothing to do with IBM or Thinkpad series laptops and no complaints!!!

I have friends with newer Dells and HP's that failed in numerous ways thus far as opposed to the 'oldish' ones we have. Our previous laptop was a Compaq Presario 1200 which lasted 4 years then gave up and Prior to that we had a Digital DEC PC 325SL with Windows 3.1, 25MHz Intel 386 and 25MB HD and that lasted for 6 years.

I suppose its how you treat your laptop but seeing Digital and Compaq are now absorbed into HP, it seems their specialty is printers now and not laptops like before.

For now, Acer, Lenovo and Toshiba FTW.

Postby Monk BANzai » November 22nd, 2009, 2:46 pm

foss wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:SALRI COMPUTERS..

[/thread]

u know Riaz ? (sp) he parents livin rite by me

nope...but i had one of thier machines back in the day...most trouble i ever get we....i switch to ACE Computers....(next setta racketmen).....

Postby foss » November 22nd, 2009, 2:47 pm

^^^ :rofl: ok ah lie.. ah doh know him and he parents doh live by me :oops:

star323

Postby star323 » November 22nd, 2009, 3:08 pm

thanks for all the info... well it lookin like dell ahead because of their warranty... i hearing real good things bout acer though... but is dell i feelin safe with.. once i getting it on a 3yr warranty!!

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » November 22nd, 2009, 3:31 pm

u laptop noobs and ur fancy smancy brand names, when would u guys realize that they are all over priced and garbage.

star323

Postby star323 » November 22nd, 2009, 3:53 pm

TriniVdub wrote:u laptop noobs and ur fancy smancy brand names, when would u guys realize that they are all over priced and garbage.

so what is garbage and what is not garbage??

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 23rd, 2009, 8:55 am