Re: The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby kuchurV2 » January 9th, 2023, 11:21 am

Mine on no status since sept.

Postby st7 » January 14th, 2023, 1:54 pm

i applied for us visa on Sunday, paid on Thursday, got the option to schedule on Friday (yesterday).

when i first did it, the earliest date was April 28th, but a few hours later i clicked on rescheduled and saw March 3 open as the earliest, so i grabbed that.

then a couple of hours later, i decided to try again and saw Jan 23 (and 25) available so i grabbed that lol

moral: when you first schedule, try again a couple of times later in the day to see what becomes available.

question - is there any need to get a bank statement or job letter? i didnt see that as any requirements on the site.

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » January 14th, 2023, 5:25 pm

st7 wrote:question - is there any need to get a bank statement or job letter? i didnt see that as any requirements on the site.

get both. whether or not they ask for them varies from person to person, and there is no way to know beforehand

Postby st7 » January 14th, 2023, 5:59 pm

fo rizzle. cyah be too safe.

Postby redmanjp » January 14th, 2023, 8:24 pm

Is not a matter of what is required but how much u want to prove u have ties to this country. Gi dem everything under d sun.

Job letter and pay slip
Bank statement
Unit trust statement
Money in insurance and credit union
House deed or shares in a house

Etc.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » January 16th, 2023, 10:23 am

The Bamboo Online wrote:
leavingforgood wrote:Ok great. Thank you.

I'll update when I get more information.

I wouldn’t grant a visitor visa to you either with a username like that sir.

Thanks for that laugh. As much as I intend to leave this place for good, the illegal immigrant life is not for me.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » January 16th, 2023, 11:10 am

UPDATE

The advice I got from Xplode was 100% correct. So thank you again for that.

After I saw the update on Dec 12 saying my application was rejected, I got an email from the embassy on Dec 13 requesting additional documents but it stated that I needed to wait for a second email that states my passport is at DHL because they would be sending my passport back to me. I would then add the additional document to the envelope and DHL would send it back to the embassy.

My passport arrived at DHL on Dec 20 and I submitted the additional docs on Dec 21.

I got an email on Jan 12 that my passport with my new visa was sent to DHL and I collected it today Jan 16. I didn't check my visa status since Dec 12 because I knew there was no reason to deny my visa and Xplode put my mind at ease so I don't know when/if my status ever changed to approved.

The additional document had to do with my lost passport from a few years ago so it wasn't about showing ties to Trinidad. I've never been requested to show ties to T&T so I'm not sure how they decide which cases have to show ties to T&T and which don't.

All in all, the process was smooth. I'm looking forward to spending my Carnival week stateside.

My timeline:
Submitted visa application - Aug 17
Request to submit passport - Nov 15
Submitted passport - Dec 6 (I delayed submitting my passport)
Visa status changed to rejected - Dec 12
Email received requesting additional documents - Dec 13
Passport arrived at DHL - Dec 20
Submitted additional document with passport - Dec 21
Passport with visa ready for collection - Jan 12
Collected visa - Jan 16

Total time: 5 months

OracleTnT

Postby OracleTnT » February 7th, 2023, 6:45 am

US visa application/renewal
After submitting the application online online,
What are the next steps.
Thanks

kuchurV2

Postby kuchurV2 » February 7th, 2023, 9:00 am

OracleTnT wrote:US visa application/renewal
What are the next steps.
Thanks

1)Did you pay at scotia bank? If yes - Then you just have to wait approximately 3-5 months if its a renewal.

If not you have to do some more steps

Postby st7 » February 7th, 2023, 11:19 am

What are the next steps.
Thanks

you should get an email/notification saying go make a payment to scotiabank. after the payment is made, you'll get an email to schedule a date and you can go pick the date you want.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » February 7th, 2023, 11:59 am

st7 wrote:
What are the next steps.
Thanks

you should get an email/notification saying go make a payment to scotiabank. after the payment is made, you'll get an email to schedule a date and you can go pick the date you want.

But isn't that for interviews? Didn't they stop interviews for renewal? I think after paying, you have to either wait till they contact you to drop in your documents, or you keep checking your application status online until you see where they instruct you to drop in your documents

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 7th, 2023, 12:13 pm

Just got the email to drop in docs.
The list is short:
Old passport with visa if applicable
new passport
photo
DS160 confirmation page
confirmation page from the app/email.

it mentioned supporting docs where applicable, so I'm throwing in a job letter and payslip.

Postby st7 » February 7th, 2023, 12:29 pm

Musical Doc wrote:
st7 wrote:
What are the next steps.
Thanks

But isn't that for interviews? Didn't they stop interviews for renewal? I think after paying, you have to either wait till they contact you to drop in your documents, or you keep checking your application status online until you see where they instruct you to drop in your documents

i know two people who went in last week for renewal interviews. idk if it's based on certain criteria or random.

OracleTnT

Postby OracleTnT » February 8th, 2023, 5:38 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Just got the email to drop in docs.
The list is short:
Old passport with visa if applicable
new passport
photo
DS160 confirmation page
confirmation page from the app/email.

it mentioned supporting docs where applicable, so I'm throwing in a job letter and payslip.

Hi I want to know the steps after filling out DS160 online.

Thank you.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 8th, 2023, 5:51 pm

Once you do the DS160, go to this site:
https://ais.usvisa-info.com/en-tt/niv

It's pretty simple from there. You will be give step by step instructions.

In case you don't trust that link, it's also available here once you select Trinidad.

https://tt.usembassy.gov/visas/#wizard

OracleTnT

Postby OracleTnT » February 9th, 2023, 6:18 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Once you do the DS160, go to this site:
https://ais.usvisa-info.com/en-tt/niv

It's pretty simple from there. You will be give step by step instructions.

In case you don't trust that link, it's also available here once you select Trinidad.

https://tt.usembassy.gov/visas/#wizard

Thanks, I got through. Paying tomorrow.

knorgriff

Postby knorgriff » February 11th, 2023, 6:41 am

jsm1985 wrote:
jsm1985 wrote:-Renewal application completed online on July 3, 2022.
- Got email on September 15, 2022 to submit passport via DHL
- Submitted on Sep 20 and delivered to embassy on Sep 21, 2022

Waiting to see when passport with visa is returned...

Update:
September 29 - Visa status on website changed to "APPROVED"

Next step should be notification from DHL that passport is being returned.

Update:
October 3 - Visa "Issued"

Update:
October 6 - Passport ready for collection at DHL office.

Total time to renew an existing US Visa with an interview waiver via mail in service: 3 months.

So it took 2 weeks to get back your passport after you sent it in to the embassy for renewal ? Someone told me it will take a month… I’m confused now… I can’t afford to give up my passport for a month

kuchurV2

Postby kuchurV2 » February 13th, 2023, 9:25 am

When you submit the documents, they still have to review. If they have issue they will email you and send back the password . But everyone i know, it took 2-3 weeks to get back.

Postby pugboy » March 1st, 2023, 3:46 pm

what documents should a person going for in person visa renewal walk with ?

Postby MaxPower » March 1st, 2023, 3:59 pm

Trinis,

A gentle reminder to return on the dates your visas permit.

Postby pugboy » March 1st, 2023, 4:09 pm

you dont need to remind that
they all know the stories of folks who overstayed even a few days longer and get horrors the next time.
the computers track everything

unless of course they really plan to go to stay and illegally...like your venes

MaxPower wrote:Trinis,

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 1st, 2023, 4:21 pm

Usually when I travelled a few years ago when you pass through customs in the US they stamp your passport showing the day you entered and what date you allowed to stay until. But when I travelled last yr, they didn't stamp it. My cousins said they stopped doing that, but then what proof do you have to show that you entered the US on a specific date?

Postby maj. tom » March 1st, 2023, 4:25 pm

Canada also stopped stamping passports a while ago too. Everything is just scanned and instantly uploaded to the federal database.

For USA you have to get the I-94 form. You should be able to see your records.

https://i94.cbp.dhs.gov/I94/#/home

edit: this link https://i94.cbp.dhs.gov/I94/#/recent-search
Last edited by maj. tom on March 1st, 2023, 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » March 1st, 2023, 4:40 pm

stamping was just a formality
don’t forget your passport is scanned at the ticket counter when you check in at departing airport
records are checked there and rejection starts there

Postby MaxPower » March 1st, 2023, 5:22 pm

pugboy wrote:you dont need to remind that
they all know the stories of folks who overstayed even a few days longer and get horrors the next time.
the computers track everything

unless of course they really plan to go to stay and illegally...like your venes

MaxPower wrote:Trinis,

pug,

Venes have fled from an economic crisis and our citizens and the Govt have generally accepted them. The registration process goes on.

Venes do not hide in curry stench basements though.

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » March 1st, 2023, 5:35 pm

maj. tom wrote:Canada also stopped stamping passports a while ago too. Everything is just scanned and instantly uploaded to the federal database.

For USA you have to get the I-94 form. You should be able to see your records.

https://i94.cbp.dhs.gov/I94/#/home

edit: this link https://i94.cbp.dhs.gov/I94/#/recent-search

yeah you can use the site to check your records, but you don't actually need the I-94 anymore, whole thing fully automated for the past decade or so. wish this backward country would do the same, but they couldn't even get the business e-registration thing fixed for months, so maybe that's asking too much. its real jarring to go through such a seamless process when going to the states, then having to come back to an archaic, inefficient one

Postby pugboy » March 1st, 2023, 5:37 pm

Immigration/customs/licensing officers

take your pick

Postby pugboy » March 1st, 2023, 7:24 pm

was told all documents must be in clear plastic folder/envelope

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 2nd, 2023, 12:12 pm

pugboy wrote:was told all documents must be in clear plastic folder/envelope

Correct, and no phones etc allowed inside. Wifey has a appointment tomorrow, all documents in order and hoping she gets through easily.