The | US Embassy | Thread

Re: The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2023, 12:50 pm

Musical Doc wrote:Usually when I travelled a few years ago when you pass through customs in the US they stamp your passport showing the day you entered and what date you allowed to stay until. But when I travelled last yr, they didn't stamp it. My cousins said they stopped doing that, but then what proof do you have to show that you entered the US on a specific date?

boarding pass might be the only proof

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 2nd, 2023, 12:59 pm

i_code_and_stuff wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Canada also stopped stamping passports a while ago too. Everything is just scanned and instantly uploaded to the federal database.

For USA you have to get the I-94 form. You should be able to see your records.

https://i94.cbp.dhs.gov/I94/#/home

edit: this link https://i94.cbp.dhs.gov/I94/#/recent-search

yeah you can use the site to check your records, but you don't actually need the I-94 anymore, whole thing fully automated for the past decade or so. wish this backward country would do the same, but they couldn't even get the business e-registration thing fixed for months, so maybe that's asking too much. its real jarring to go through such a seamless process when going to the states, then having to come back to an archaic, inefficient one

Nor does Brazil. No passport stamp or arrival form needed. Last passport stamps were the T&T exit stamp and the Suriname entry and exit ones. Didn't have to show any documents when I visited Argentina or Paraguay.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 6th, 2023, 12:47 pm

Wife got through. However, my nephew had an appointment today, my sis did everything and got confirmation etc, but when they went to the embassy today and they scanned his code, nothing came up. They were told that something about the form wasn't signed and submitted. So they have to reschedule their appointment and resubmit a form. Which is crazy, because in order to get your comfirmation, that means everything was signed and submitted. Has to be a glitch on the embassy side

Postby pugboy » March 6th, 2023, 9:34 pm

is collection by DHL the only option for getting back your passport/visa ?

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 7th, 2023, 9:01 am

pugboy wrote:is collection by DHL the only option for getting back your passport/visa ?

The other option is to pay to have DHL deliver it to you

Postby Chimera » March 7th, 2023, 10:53 am

allyuh ever hear about someone getting refused at the in person interview and then months later....the embassy email back and say they review it..and they approving the visa to come back in?

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » March 7th, 2023, 11:31 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:allyuh ever hear about someone getting refused at the in person interview and then months later....the embassy email back and say they review it..and they approving the visa to come back in?
From what I understand they have quota numbers to fill up to make it look like they don't discriminate. If they fall short on their placement then they call u back as they most qualified.

A teacher buddy of mine went through this

Postby pugboy » March 7th, 2023, 11:41 am

there is actually an appeal review process of some sort
i know somebody who dad was refused and they did that and got thru soon after

Postby redmanjp » March 7th, 2023, 12:22 pm

if u have family living and working legally in the US does that make it more or less likely u will be approved? like for instance some have permanent residence status, another has full citizenship?

Postby paid_influencer » March 7th, 2023, 5:26 pm

redmanjp wrote:if u have family living and working legally in the US does that make it more or less likely u will be approved? like for instance some have permanent residence status, another has full citizenship?

u going to live wit them bro

occifer will ask u

Postby pugboy » March 7th, 2023, 7:01 pm

got renewal today, very few ppl were there
like less that 15 persons whilst i was there between 9:30 - 10

guess the covid backlog has cleared up and most ppl doing the mail in
i know persons who went early after they resumed got thru quick then it got backlogged bad after which is when i applied

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 8th, 2023, 8:43 am

pugboy wrote:got renewal today, very few ppl were there
like less that 15 persons whilst i was there between 9:30 - 10

guess the covid backlog has cleared up and most ppl doing the mail in
i know persons who went early after they resumed got thru quick then it got backlogged bad after which is when i applied

Congrats man, when I went with my wife on monday, we got there at 10:20am and there was a very long line between 20-30 people. Took her half hr to enter the building, then took half hr inside. But by 11:30 there was nobody outside.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2023, 8:44 am

thanks for the congrats
was nervous as hell for this renewal

Postby Chimera » March 8th, 2023, 9:00 am

I've had two 10 year visas....at 14 and 24
Use to go miami sometimes 4 times a month when business was booming before covid.....

I have us bank accounts. Property in my name. Married. ....

Visa expired June 2022....

A month or two after june 2022 I applied and qualified for the waiver....wasn't planning to travel anytime soon but always accustom to having the visa so randomly if I decide I wanna hit Miami or New York a weekend I gone....
Sent in my passport....they email and say that they change their mind...i need to come in for the interview....went for the interview November 2022....rejected.....I didn't remember or take on or realize that you need like a actual reason for traveling or direct plans....like to say you going abroad for a vacation or to visit family or for a wedding ...I just always had visas since I young without issues and I eh take on that I shudda be more prepared with a specific reason for traveling....

That's not the end of the story though.....

Postby bluefete » March 8th, 2023, 9:30 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:I've had two 10 year visas....at 14 and 24
Use to go miami sometimes 4 times a month when business was booming before covid.....

I have us bank accounts. Property in my name. Married. ....

Visa expired June 2022....

A month or two after june 2022 I applied and qualified for the waiver....wasn't planning to travel anytime soon but always accustom to having the visa so randomly if I decide I wanna hit Miami or New York a weekend I gone....
Sent in my passport....they email and say that they change their mind...i need to come in for the interview....went for the interview November 2022....rejected.....I didn't remember or take on or realize that you need like a actual reason for traveling or direct plans....like to say you going abroad for a vacation or to visit family or for a wedding ...I just always had visas since I young without issues and I eh take on that I shudda be more prepared with a specific reason for traveling....

That's not the end of the story though.....

But yuh cyah leave we hanging jusso!

Go and sell de man his phone and come back and finish de story, nah!

Postby redmanjp » March 8th, 2023, 1:19 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:if u have family living and working legally in the US does that make it more or less likely u will be approved? like for instance some have permanent residence status, another has full citizenship?

u going to live wit them bro

occifer will ask u

that's possible , but also u dont have to be able to support yourself financially which is a requirement if u staying with a relative- no hotel fees, free meals etc.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » March 8th, 2023, 2:03 pm

What are the "ties" they look for to approve your Visa?
What will automatically disqualify you?

Postby Dave » March 8th, 2023, 2:26 pm

Ties such as assets and money in the bank.
So basically if you have nothing here to loose then they may not consider your application.
AlphaMan wrote:What are the "ties" they look for to approve your Visa?

Postby redmanjp » March 8th, 2023, 2:33 pm

Dave wrote:Ties such as assets and money in the bank.
So basically if you have nothing here to loose then they may not consider your application.
AlphaMan wrote:What are the "ties" they look for to approve your Visa?

if u doh have a house but have over $100k in the bank as well as money in annuities, UTC. that count?

Postby Dave » March 8th, 2023, 3:04 pm

Once you can demonstrate that you have assets to support your case of obtaining a visa and won't be "stowing away" in the country then yes.

They always say to bring statements to support your case.

Postby hover11 » March 8th, 2023, 3:25 pm

Dave wrote:Once you can demonstrate that you have assets to support your case of obtaining a visa and won't be "stowing away" in the country then yes.

They always say to bring statements to support your case.
What about those special kind of ppl who accounts dry but as soon as their appointment coming up they rush they put thousands of dollars in it to make to look "good"

Postby Chimera » March 8th, 2023, 3:31 pm

Embassy bank statements usually show a average amount over a time period not so?

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2023, 4:14 pm

i don’t think they ask for bank statements anymore
at least when i was there tuesday nobody was asked for any extra documentation to show

you guys aware of fatca right?

Postby Dave » March 8th, 2023, 4:15 pm

Before you even make your appointment, the embassy already knows who will be and won't be allowed in the USA.

Everyone I know who did that obviously didn't have ties and were not able to obtain a visa.

The embassy aren't full of ppl born yesterday..if your job letter with salary doesn't add up to your financial backing then it is quite obvious your financial information was padded.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2023, 4:50 pm

that’s the long and the short
uncle sam has everything on everybody in the modern world
it’s only the persons who totally off radar are safe
ie no forms of id, bank account, utility bills
also why they don’t like crypto too much

Postby Gem_in_i » March 8th, 2023, 7:05 pm

I was looking to reschedule an appointment and saw early this morning that it had one for tmrw and one later this month.
Late at night random closer appointments pop up too.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » March 8th, 2023, 10:30 pm

How did persons "demonstrate ties" in Trinidad to get a Visa in the first place but ended up staying in the USA?
DId they just abandon there assets? :roll:

Postby Chimera » March 8th, 2023, 11:57 pm

Assets can easily be sold or otherwise disposed of while abroad

xtech

Postby xtech » March 9th, 2023, 8:26 am

AlphaMan wrote:How did persons "demonstrate ties" in Trinidad to get a Visa in the first place but ended up staying in the USA?
DId they just abandon there assets? :roll:

That’s how they did it in the old days before globalization kicked in. Or they sold everything house land car after getting the visas. Convert everything to USD and fly out. Know people who did that started a new life and got deported and returned to nothing

Postby st7 » March 9th, 2023, 8:35 am

Gem_in_i wrote:I was looking to reschedule an appointment and saw early this morning that it had one for tmrw and one later this month.
Late at night random closer appointments pop up too.

even during the day. i went from april to march to january this yr when i applied in january! lol