Buying a Macaw

zeeshan66

Buying a Macaw

Postby zeeshan66 » November 27th, 2009, 12:26 pm

I understand that it is illegal to catch one which I have little desire to do...so my question is can they even be bought?

1) who's selling them and how much?

*Audi14*

Postby *Audi14* » November 27th, 2009, 12:41 pm

i think you need to obtain a permit before you can purchase one.

I have a blue and gold one but i don't have a permit so he stays indoors and to the back of the house. If you are caught with one without a permit the wardens will take it to the zoo. I don't know of any pet stores that sells them you need to ask around, cause i got mines from a guy who sells wild meat :| in south - La Romain

other than that they make really good pets, very loving and sometimes a lil too possessive..they have the mentality of a two yr old baby.....

Good luck in getting one.... :)

*Audi14*

Postby *Audi14* » November 27th, 2009, 12:43 pm

orr i paid $1500.00 for the one i have and he was about 2 months old...he's about 2 yrs now.....

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » November 27th, 2009, 12:43 pm

you need a lic and buy from official registered breeder, some man in st james.
do a search for a thread about a toucan it had all the info in there i jus quoting what i remember.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 27th, 2009, 12:43 pm

Leave the thing in the Wild , people who catch and sell sometimes kill the young lets not encourage that .

Postby Razkal » November 27th, 2009, 1:33 pm

^ent? i'll never understand "bird in cage" pet enthusiasts...
i had a parrot when i was smaller, mo fo never saw a cage, never clipped his wings, he just hung out a couple years and i left him when he flew away :|

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » November 27th, 2009, 1:33 pm

well i've found the two other relevant threads none of which really outlined the process and contacts for getting the permit. but i have contacted various people in the threads to find out exactly what it takes to do it legally, and also who are the credible breeders. As i would not like to encourage those "quick money" people. If need be and i'm not sure if it is even possible i'm willing to import from outside Trinidad so i can ensure the safest and best way to obtain one.

I even went as far as to offer up copies of my documentation (relevant permits etc) as well as photos for my planned habitat on my 30+ acre estate. I agree with you Dragist and there is probably nothing that comes close to seeing animals in their wild natural state but it is such a rare sight and many of which aren't indigenous to Trinidad. With that said I would rather people PM me with local breeders and their respective locations as to discourage those half ass'd owners from having access to these resources.

There is some discussion of the Macaw/Toucan ownership here

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... ght=toucan

However I will share any and all info i find out about obtaining a permit! So again..I would rather people PM me with local breeders and their respective locations

Postby SMc » November 27th, 2009, 1:39 pm

if its a mako yuh need;hutgyallis know everyone business , plus ah hear she cheap to mind...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 27th, 2009, 1:42 pm

Dragist wrote:Leave the thing in the Wild , people who catch and sell sometimes kill the young lets not encourage that .

..... AGREED !!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby Razkal » November 27th, 2009, 1:54 pm

zeeshan66, lemme help your decision process. its illegal to have those animals in your possession, however, if they were taken from the wild as juveniles (i.e. away from their parents and not WITH them, like in the case of some squirrel monkeys) and you provide PROPER housing for the animals and show a that you're more than capable of owning and properly caring for the animal, you MAY be left alone.

for a macaw, this will include a cage with a width/diameter atleast thrice the macaw's adult wingspan...they are big birds and are avid flyers, don't do double injustice by imobilising it in a too small enclosure.

Feeding the bird the ends of that melon you didn't want isn't gonna cut it either, they need proper nutrition to maintain their size, demeanor and colour...this includes meal worms or other small easily digestible insects, nuts, fresh fruits and lots of time with the owner to help keep them settled, an angry macaw keeps your entire street awake buddy...

i have buddies with highly frowned upon pets locally, no more birds (they all agreed its pretty cruel), but they all have the animals well taken care of and in better enclosures than the zoo (which is where they'd put an animal taken from you that can't be rehabilitated into the wild)...

try getting the bird from a local breeder if you insist, leave the wild populations alone :idea:

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » November 27th, 2009, 2:00 pm

i agree with you in that adequate (in my view substantial) housing must be provided. I have done detailed research on both the Toucan and Macaw's Predisposition, Nutrition, mental capabilities, training etc etc etc.

I WILL NOT REPEAT WILL NOT BE OBTAINING ANYTHING FROM THE WILD! NOT catching, stealing etc. I am against that and want to do this legally!

Postby Razkal » November 27th, 2009, 2:10 pm

^well then good for you and i hope you get your bird, seems like it'll have a good home and owner.

let us know your progress, good information for those interested but taking the illegal route, bad for them and the animal. i like your drive to do it properly :)

RoTaRyBoYz

Re: Buying a Macaw

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 27th, 2009, 2:23 pm

zeeshan66 wrote:I understand that it is illegal to catch one which I have little desire to do...so my question is can they even be bought?

1) who's selling them and how much?

Breds do yourself a favor and leave dem thing alone!! They were reintroduced back into the wild for a purpose, not for them to end up in a cage again!!

First a tiger and now a Macaw What's next?? The farking lockness monster? :roll:

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 27th, 2009, 2:26 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: @The farking lockness monster

Raz you have any Idea on the Health and size of the local "reintroduced" Macaw pop ?

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » November 27th, 2009, 2:43 pm

RoTaRyBoYz - responsible ownership and breeding can in fact help the plight of the Macaw. I do have taste for unique and rare animals...to each his own. No to diverge the thread but the big cat plan is still alive and well! Made some good headway and have wonderful help from tuner members and locals.

if you can get u'r hands on the lockness i'm sure i can facilitate it or at least curry it hahaha jk

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 27th, 2009, 2:45 pm

Dragist, I spoke to my cousin the last time she was here and she said they seem to be doing well.. I would really like to know if they are breeding out there.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 27th, 2009, 2:46 pm

Thanx I will speak to my Uncle also to find out .

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 27th, 2009, 2:51 pm

We would like to plan a trip down there during breeding season, but according to my wallet, it ain't happening anytime soon :cry:

IMO, a Hyacinth Macaw is the most loving macaw of them all, but at $10k USD a pop, I'll have to settle for 2nd bess- The Greenwing

Scarlets are nice, but not as friendly or loving as a greenwing

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » November 27th, 2009, 3:23 pm

you got pm

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 27th, 2009, 4:21 pm

i was hoping cau caut would make an appearance :|

Postby buzz » November 27th, 2009, 4:21 pm

heard his cousin mau caut might jump in :|

Postby Razkal » November 27th, 2009, 6:27 pm

D, i don't really have an idea, i can say that they're still an endangered species and nowhere near being relieved that status.

^thats for the blue-and-gold and the scarlet macaws, those aren't exactly native to trinidad, but we're so close to the mainland, its impossible not to find them..

we have two slightly smaller varieties (still macaws by definition), red shouldered and red bellied (though i never seen one with a red belly :| )...those are as common as evening parrots, and close to the same size on average...nice birds still though..

blue headed parrots are epic photography though :) ..those are native to trinidad only, brace for 'bago..

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » November 27th, 2009, 7:24 pm

i had 3! i gave them away!! too much noise!!

Postby M_2NR » November 27th, 2009, 8:13 pm

had a family member with one of these:

epic bird that. It used to hate my guts though. My mum and her were pretty close n when i came into the picture... The bird was uber jealous of me.

In her late days she suffered from arthritis i believe. But she was around 40sum before she passed on :(

It is a pretty smart animal as well.

BTW what ever happened to the lion/cub u wanted?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » November 28th, 2009, 12:27 am

this man come back again??? first the tiger now a macaw?? is it some fetish of urs to have wild animals confined to a cage?

Postby M_2NR » November 28th, 2009, 2:10 am

TriniVdub, ohh righttttt it was a tiger. :oops:

orangefox

Postby orangefox » July 2nd, 2014, 11:57 pm

Anybody know how to get a permit for a Macaw ? Which one better, the blue or scarlet ?

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2014, 1:41 am

orangefox wrote:Anybody know how to get a permit for a Macaw ? Which one better, the blue or scarlet ?

Mins agriculture for permits

orangefox

Postby orangefox » July 4th, 2014, 2:52 am

What is the procedure ?

Postby Gem_in_i » July 4th, 2014, 6:22 am

Call wildlife section, forestry division. Or check them out in Farm Road, St.Joseph.