Bmobile BlackBerry Prepaid Forced Data plan

Coppershot

Bmobile BlackBerry Prepaid Forced Data plan

Postby Coppershot » December 18th, 2009, 9:01 pm

I am interested in buying a blackberry prepaid as a gift.
The problem is they telling me that I have to take a data plan and pay $30 a week or $60 a month. Furthermore I have to pay this up to 3 months. Even if i don't want the plan I still must pay for it.

The person getting the gift has wifi at home and work and is also not interested in any data plan. Also I read on this board that their bb network is unreliable, not to mention the sales rep said they are limiting access only to facebook and email.

So,
Any tuners working bmobile or purchased a prepaid bb,
1. Will they debit the phone credit if I refuse to pay? (so if i had to top up to make an emergency call, will they take the top up money?)
2. Is there some contract agreement when purchasing a prepaid bb phone relating to the data plan?
3. Can this be considered false advertising, the advertised price I believe for the phone is $1800. And if i pay 3 months for the data plan, it will come up to $1980.
4. Are digicel prepaid blackberry phones unlocked and free of data plan contracts?

Postby Cjruckus » December 18th, 2009, 10:18 pm

The real question is... whats the point of buying a blackberry if you don't want to pay for data?

That's like requesting a car manual but you dont want to change gears or use the clutch.

Even with the phone in "Hotspot mode" you aren't going to get to use all the baller features. That just limits it to surfing the internetz. Which if you are home or in the office is still preferred to be done on a computer.

Postby M_2NR » December 18th, 2009, 10:33 pm

Cjruckus wrote:The real question is... whats the point of buying a blackberry if you don't want to pay for data?

That's like requesting a car manual but you dont want to change gears or use the clutch.

dats sig material right there.. only if this wasnt a car related forum... :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 18th, 2009, 10:39 pm

Cjruckus wrote:The real question is... whats the point of buying a blackberry if you don't want to pay for data?

Even with the phone in "Hotspot mode" you aren't going to get to use all the baller features. That just limits it to surfing the internetz. Which if you are home or in the office is still preferred to be done on a computer.

its called forced bling

Postby Cjruckus » December 18th, 2009, 10:42 pm

its called forced bling

he should just buy an iphone then.

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 19th, 2009, 8:35 am

exactly......trini's again all for looks....

like i was telling a rep at bmobile earlier this week...a lot of people buying blackberries and don't even know the purpose and functions of it....

blackberry = new me2...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 19th, 2009, 8:36 am

Cjruckus wrote:he should just buy an iphone then.

good suggestion

Postby r3iXmann » December 19th, 2009, 9:02 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:

like i was telling a rep at bmobile earlier this week...a lot of people buying blackberries and don't even know the purpose and functions of it....

blackberry = new me2...

ent!

the ironic thing is when i used to pull out my old blackberry (7100g) a couple yrs ago, everybody used to be like "wayz,where you goin with that bulky phone? LOL" etc :|

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » December 19th, 2009, 9:07 am

post paid is only cheaper because you have to get a plan. they have to make a profit. just pay more and buy it prepaid

Postby ronsin1 » December 19th, 2009, 9:29 am

reiXmann wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:

blackberry = new me2...

ent!

the ironic thing is when i used to pull out my old blackberry (7100g) a couple yrs ago, everybody used to be like "wayz,where you goin with that bulky phone? LOL" etc :|

A couple years ago I used to tell people this now I own one :shock:

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 19th, 2009, 9:34 am

metalgear2095 wrote:post paid is only cheaper because you have to get a plan. they have to make a profit. just pay more and buy it prepaid

but still...whats the point in a bb without a data package??

Postby r3iXmann » December 19th, 2009, 9:37 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:post paid is only cheaper because you have to get a plan. they have to make a profit. just pay more and buy it prepaid

"bling" :roll:

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 19th, 2009, 9:39 am

reiXmann wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:

"bling" :roll:

$2000 + bling.....sigh

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » December 19th, 2009, 10:29 am

man must be just like the phone :) .

Postby tr1ad » December 19th, 2009, 10:42 am

it's the in thing now.... when it's really for corporate users

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » December 19th, 2009, 10:46 am

ok.
The BB is a GIFT
Secondly the person has access to multiple wi-fi access points, at several frequent locations so the data plan is not needed as much.The person should be able to sign up for the data plan later on if they want to as well.

I just upset that the forcing ppl to pay more for something they do not want.

I don't care about bb and iphone drama anyway.
BB make a phone without bluetooth and ppl run and buy it still (the old storm) and iphone is overpriced imo.

So any responses to my questions for bmobile staff or ppl who purchased bb prepaid would be nice

Postby tr1ad » December 19th, 2009, 10:48 am

so why a BB? mny other phones out there that have wifi

the point on a bb is not just for phone calls and giggly late nite texts

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 19th, 2009, 10:55 am

Coppershot wrote:ok.
The BB is a GIFT
Secondly the person has access to multiple wi-fi access points, at several frequent locations so the data plan is not needed as much.The person should be able to sign up for the data plan later on if they want to as well.

I just upset that the forcing ppl to pay more for something they do not want.

I don't care about bb and iphone drama anyway.
BB make a phone without bluetooth and ppl run and buy it still (the old storm) and iphone is overpriced imo.

So any responses to my questions for bmobile staff or ppl who purchased bb prepaid would be nice

bb have bluetooth....it doesnt have wifi.....with a data plan why would u need wifi :wink:

with that aside..like triad said..why not get another type to phone that could handle web browsing and email
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on December 19th, 2009, 10:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » December 19th, 2009, 10:56 am

The person say they want BB and only BB.
BB they want, BB they getting.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 19th, 2009, 11:19 am

If someone wants a blackberry but doesnt need the data plan, then that person does not need a blackberry. They want bling.

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 19th, 2009, 11:55 am

WILL a normal tstt data sim work on a black berry?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » December 19th, 2009, 11:56 am

dont see whats the big deal. men talking like they never buy something they didnt really need but simply because they like it.

Postby r3iXmann » December 19th, 2009, 11:59 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:WILL a normal tstt data sim work on a black berry?

"officially",no

but it's possible

cool

Postby cool » December 19th, 2009, 12:32 pm

try digicel,you don't have to take a data plan when you purchase the 8520 prepaid and it's same $1799.00 as b'mobile.

Postby tr1ad » December 19th, 2009, 2:26 pm

rodfarva wrote:If someone wants a blackberry but doesnt need the data plan, then that person does not need a blackberry. They want bling.

come nah man stop makin out d scene

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 19th, 2009, 4:01 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:WILL a normal tstt data sim work on a black berry?

Nope :!: Blackberry phones need the blackberry internet serivice so that you can connect the to the internet.

Postby sharkman121 » December 19th, 2009, 6:04 pm

Coppershot, i see no problem here whatsover....if yuh peoples want a blackberry..buy dem a blackberry..

If yuh dont wanna pay for the data usage...jus get the fone pre-paid and use Hotspots only... This will work...however certain blackberry features wont be available..

But U/ur friend will still have a blackberry.

I see no problem really if dey want d bling, all a us do it at some point in time.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 19th, 2009, 6:10 pm

buy an unlocked BB duh :roll:

Postby Cjruckus » December 19th, 2009, 6:42 pm

reiXmann wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:

blackberry = new me2...

ent!

For real... I also told you that numerous times.
Then I switched, and boy... I'll never go back.

Being away from my computer all day, but having the ease of internets and email at my finger tips is great. I still don't understand why people would just buy a blackberry and use it just to make calls.

But the people at bmobile want you to take the prepaid package so you can see how good the phone is while connected to the RIM network, so in turn you go back and take out a postpaid data plan.

Blackberry is the in thing this christmas, better watch the forums in Jan because I am sure a lot of people will be selling them off CHEAP.... i wouldnt mind a bold 2.. waiting for JJ16 to sell his after he asks his mom for another phone.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » December 19th, 2009, 7:07 pm

dude just call them...