WTK: BlackBerry internet sevice?

hoverauto

WTK: BlackBerry internet sevice?

Postby hoverauto » December 29th, 2009, 3:27 pm

Hey guys,
just wanted to know if anyone here has ever configured an Android phone to use BlackBerry Internet Service. I know it can be done on the iPhone as well as Nokia's by just changing a few settings.

If anyone can help, please reply.
Cheers.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » December 30th, 2009, 12:09 am

Bump.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » December 31st, 2009, 7:30 pm

Bump.

kaiger

Postby kaiger » January 5th, 2010, 10:31 pm

wa? u saying dat bb edge service can be used on data type phone like an iphone or nokia? yo we hadda talk, i need clarity, u sound like you kno wat u talkin bout and no1 else helpin...

Val

Postby Val » January 6th, 2010, 9:06 pm

You should be able to be use it on the android. The data service on the sim is not limited to blackberry, only the push email service.

kevin310

Postby kevin310 » January 6th, 2010, 9:26 pm

so who know the settings
i dont have a clue
i wanna get the bmobile bb plan
to work on a nokia 5730

Details

Postby Details » January 6th, 2010, 9:32 pm

kaiger,hoverauto, i am a nokia freak n before i got my black berry i was tryin to get the blackberry net on it

buh check out the link n see wat alyuh could get from it http://uk.blackberry.com/devices/enabled/os.jsp

~AlienCulture~

Postby ~AlienCulture~ » January 7th, 2010, 7:32 am

sorry if I'm hijacking your thread...
but I heard that any plan you take out with bmobile blackberry data plan is unlimited?!?!
can someone shed some light on this or confirm this, thanks!

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 7th, 2010, 7:40 am

mine is unlimited...heard there is some new 5mb plan though....i have my bb long before this whole bb craze started and only 1 package was offered then....5mb would be eaten up in no time

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » January 7th, 2010, 7:48 am

You can apply to Bmobile for a unlimited data package post paid $150 a month
They can put the settings on the cell for you
But you would not be able to use BB Service only the features your cell has.
eg. my cell has java so I can use programs like ebuddy, google maps etc... with my data sim.

FallenFromGrace

Postby FallenFromGrace » January 7th, 2010, 11:30 am

i have a blackberry 8900 and well if the bb service is just settings anyone have them so i cud try and see if it will work on mines? u can pm it to me no problem

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » May 6th, 2010, 4:20 pm

OK guys, sorry ive taken so long to reply, Val is right, once the sim card has been provisioned in a BlackBerry first, it can then be removed and placed in another phone with edge capability and it will work. There is one thing though, you have to manually enter the APN for the network you on to get it to work. With BlackBerry's the APN is configured automatically...with nokias, sonys samsungs...etc...it needs to be entered manually.

Took me a long while to find someone that knows the proper APN settings, but I have it now.

Cheers.

Details

Postby Details » May 6th, 2010, 4:35 pm

hoverauto wrote:OK guys, sorry ive taken so long to reply, Val is right, once the sim card has been provisioned in a BlackBerry first, it can then be removed and placed in another phone with edge capability and it will work. There is one thing though, you have to manually enter the APN for the network you on to get it to work. With BlackBerry's the APN is configured automatically...with nokias, sonys samsungs...etc...it needs to be entered manually.

Took me a long while to find someone that knows the proper APN settings, but I have it now.

Cheers.

so what phone u hooked it up to?

Postby 1320 » May 6th, 2010, 7:17 pm

I know it can be done on the iPhone as well as Nokia's by just changing a few settings.

YO PLEASE CLARIFY....

DIGICEL MAKING ME LEAVE IPHONE TO GO BLACKBERRY.... JUST ABOUT TO SELL MY 3GS but if BIS could work on it WELL....

Details

Postby Details » May 6th, 2010, 7:22 pm

1320 wrote:I know it can be done on the iPhone as well as Nokia's by just changing a few settings.

YO PLEASE CLARIFY....

DIGICEL MAKING ME LEAVE IPHONE TO GO BLACKBERRY.... JUST ABOUT TO SELL MY 3GS but if BIS could work on it WELL....

yea but u would have to get it postpaid tho if u want it on digicel

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » May 7th, 2010, 11:59 am

Details is right, you have to go post-paid to get BIS to work. Basically BIS is a provisioned EDGE service, so you need to set up the sim in a BB before you can use it in any phone.

Details, I got it hooked up in an Android phone, a MyTouch3G to be precise. But now I looking to buy a N900 if I can get one at a good price. Any help?

Details

Postby Details » May 7th, 2010, 12:26 pm

hoverauto wrote:Details is right, you have to go post-paid to get BIS to work. Basically BIS is a provisioned EDGE service, so you need to set up the sim in a BB before you can use it in any phone.

Details, I got it hooked up in an Android phone, a MyTouch3G to be precise. But now I looking to buy a N900 if I can get one at a good price. Any help?

HMMM boi i wish u lock with that but try and see if u can get a trade but that should be really sweet if u get it to work on the n900

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » May 7th, 2010, 3:39 pm

Details wrote:
hoverauto wrote:Details is right, you have to go post-paid to get BIS to work. Basically BIS is a provisioned EDGE service, so you need to set up the sim in a BB before you can use it in any phone.

HMMM boi i wish u lock with that but try and see if u can get a trade but that should be really sweet if u get it to work on the n900

It will work on the N900, once the phone has EDGE capability it will work.....tried it on N97, 5800, Touch Pro 2, Xperia, G1, MyTouch3G, Omnia, all of which worked.

Steve's Electronics

Postby Steve's Electronics » May 7th, 2010, 8:40 pm

hoverauto wrote:OK guys, sorry ive taken so long to reply, Val is right, once the sim card has been provisioned in a BlackBerry first, it can then be removed and placed in another phone with edge capability and it will work. There is one thing though, you have to manually enter the APN for the network you on to get it to work. With BlackBerry's the APN is configured automatically...with nokias, sonys samsungs...etc...it needs to be entered manually.

Cheers.

could you send me the APN settings? i have a BB but want to change it. The reason i havent bought an iPhone is because i really need internet access on my phone.

heshere2001

Re: WTK: BlackBerry internet sevice?

Postby heshere2001 » May 10th, 2010, 10:01 pm

Wait.... what?

I have an Unlimited BIS service on my BB9000. What are the settings that I need to use the EDGE service on something like a N1?

How come you are seeming reluctant to share the info hoverauto?

EDIT: Forgot to mention I'm on Digicel.

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » May 11th, 2010, 1:27 am

very simple to setup on android phones not need for bb BIS only regular dataplan...

MJ

Re:

Postby MJ » May 17th, 2010, 11:18 pm

SoundSteve wrote:

Cheers.

could you send me the APN settings? i have a BB but want to change it. The reason i havent bought an iPhone is because i really need internet access on my phone.

apn for iphone is simply internet and leave username and password blank this is for bmobile though dont know if digicel is the same

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » May 22nd, 2010, 9:39 pm

how about it working on a Nokia E62?
I currently have a post paid BB with Bmobile and want it to work on the Nokia.
PM Details plz.

TK!

Postby TK! » May 23rd, 2010, 11:10 am

ok.. ah doh feel like reading tru this entire post..

the "blackberry" service... wtf is it?
it's the special service for blackberry customers. It costs TT$50 a month. u need a bb to use the bb service. u get a free bb email account and access to the bb messenger (usage of this is free and unlimited.. does not take away from your internet time)

internet on your phone...
anyone can have this on their phone. small package is 5MB for TT$50 a month. unlimited is TT$150 per month. the internet service is used for downloading email, surfing the net, using msn messenger, facebook etc.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 23rd, 2010, 11:19 am

ppl paying for unlimited are suckers

as told by a TSTT rep when signing up for a corporate package, there is no way they can monitor the usage on the 5MB limited package

so really and truly, u can get unlimited BIS for the 5MB price...

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 23rd, 2010, 11:24 am

^^^ Shhhhhhhhh

Anyone can help me with this ?

When at home connect my BB to my home network with my Blink access and my phone gets a IP from my network but when I posted on a Forum my IP address showed at rdns.blackberry.net should it not show as a TSTT IP ?

at the very least can someone explain how the network works i.e. where is the hand off from TSTT to RIM ?

David the lost BB user ,

Postby r3iXmann » May 23rd, 2010, 12:52 pm

mitch wrote:ppl paying for unlimited are suckers

as told by a TSTT rep when signing up for a corporate package, there is no way they can monitor the usage on the 5MB limited package

i'm sure that some folks i know that are paying how-much-thousand-dollar bills would beg to disagree :lol: :lol:

Postby tr1ad » May 23rd, 2010, 1:33 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
mitch wrote:ppl paying for unlimited are suckers

i'm sure that some folks i know that are paying how-much-thousand-dollar bills would beg to disagree :lol: :lol:

so true, they can monitor the usage

Postby r3iXmann » May 23rd, 2010, 1:42 pm

it's just silly when you think of it actually...why would they NOT be able to track usage? trinis really that gullible?

Postby tr1ad » May 23rd, 2010, 1:52 pm

would be the same principle as blink on the go really, each sim card / bb pin activated can be tracked just as phone usage