WTK. Dog Chow/Food

Postby UML » January 3rd, 2010, 10:26 pm

Do you know of any brand of dog chow/food made WITHOUT chicken???

Proplan Lamb & Rice has chicken in it....and most other brands do...even the WET dog food has chicken in it.

Also interested in a brand of dog chow for sensitive skin.

Thx.

Postby equipped2ripp » January 3rd, 2010, 10:31 pm

:google:

Postby UML » January 3rd, 2010, 10:44 pm

equipped2ripp wrote::google:

why not be helpful and tell me what u got?!!! :roll:

conswaylos
Location: behaving.....don't wanna get ban for ah nex 2 weeks(on d otherhand 2lick lol)

Postby conswaylos » January 3rd, 2010, 11:36 pm

hey i'm sure your vet told you that your dog skin issues is because they dog is allergic to the meat!!!! there is a simple solution to your problem!! PM me if i'm right! i'll help you!!!

dman

Postby dman » January 4th, 2010, 12:43 am

Postby buzz » January 4th, 2010, 1:34 am

a dorg @ where i work shows symptoms of this same allergy

strangely enough when we gave her teh puppy chow from pricesmart all her boils an stuff on her skin went away

i dont think the amount of chicken in the lamb and rice mixtures would be enough to adversely affect the dog...

unless of course the dog is really really sensitive

if not well time tuh cook fuh yuh dog

btw i'm assuming you're dealing with skin allergy problems here

for everyone else

typo's? i'm high mofo's :arrow:

Postby UML » January 4th, 2010, 11:43 am

right now i boiling rice and lamb meat......but i find the dog losing real weight when compared to the size he had on the chow.....so i thinking about getting a chow to add to the lamb and rice.....if not i going tuh start adding soya to the mix and see if it helps :?

sniper21

Postby sniper21 » January 4th, 2010, 12:06 pm

add some local sardines or fry dry in the mix , that helps with skin issues..
rice and fry dry is da bomb

Postby UML » January 4th, 2010, 12:11 pm

dman wrote:http://www.canidae.com/dogs/lamb-and-rice/dry.html

who uses this type/brand? can you confirm that there is no chicken in the ingredients of it? where can i purchase this dog chow? price? thx.

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » January 9th, 2010, 8:13 pm

Canidae Lamb and Rice formula definitely doesn't have chicken in it... last time i checked it was $385.00 for a 28/lb bag... i used to get it delivered buh tha was a unique arrangement... erm... i doh know of any pet places down Couva side judging from your location so I can't recommend anything for you there...

In St. Augustine... the pet shop nex to the wash bay area... not Barkin Dogs but the nex one... i can't remember the name...
In Trincity... there's a small pet store on Cane Farm Road... on 5th Ave Corner i believe it is... she has the Canidae there as well... she also stocks Earthborn Holistic ($395 a bag) and I'd recommend you look into their Ocean Fusion product as another alternative...

Tha's the main places I buy my supplies and I know they stock the Canidae... Gentle Ben's Vet Clinic in El Socorro also used to stock it but I haven't been there in a while so I don't know if Kavita still sells the Canidae...

On a side note... my dog was showing signs of allergies and the vet told me it was chicken so i started to feed her several lamb based chows... apparently the allergy was triggered by corn and not actually the chicken because she was still showing the symptoms even on the lamb based formulae... both the Canidae and the Earthborn Holistic don't have Corn or other such fillers in their kibble so they may be the answer to your problems...

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 9th, 2010, 9:39 pm

bro.... i buy a bag of rice..150$.... and your dog seems to be allergic to chicken/avian resulting in skin issues.... so u can buy minced lamb.....

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 9th, 2010, 9:42 pm

the dog chow from pricemart seems to be very good for dogs with skin issues..i have a dog with issues and mixed the pm dog chow with boiled rice and lamb...he now has no issues...please note i have 10 dogs..and have always had dogs.most are strays...vets call me for advice......i hear a lot of ppl ''bad talking'' the pm local chow...least it has no road kill and pets as the ingredients that you are not told about....
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on January 9th, 2010, 9:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

redo23

Postby redo23 » January 9th, 2010, 9:45 pm

proplan SELECTS...they come in turkey and salmon......excellent quality!!

dman

Postby dman » January 10th, 2010, 12:47 am

http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/

use this site to rate ur chow

Postby UML » January 10th, 2010, 9:28 am

joashmgn wrote:Canidae Lamb and Rice formula definitely doesn't have chicken in it... last time i checked it was $385.00 for a 28/lb bag... i used to get it delivered buh tha was a unique arrangement... erm... i doh know of any pet places down Couva side judging from your location so I can't recommend anything for you there...

In St. Augustine... the pet shop nex to the wash bay area... not Barkin Dogs but the nex one... i can't remember the name...
In Trincity... there's a small pet store on Cane Farm Road... on 5th Ave Corner i believe it is... she has the Canidae there as well... she also stocks Earthborn Holistic ($395 a bag) and I'd recommend you look into their Ocean Fusion product as another alternative...

Tha's the main places I buy my supplies and I know they stock the Canidae... Gentle Ben's Vet Clinic in El Socorro also used to stock it but I haven't been there in a while so I don't know if Kavita still sells the Canidae...

On a side note... my dog was showing signs of allergies and the vet told me it was chicken so i started to feed her several lamb based chows... apparently the allergy was triggered by corn and not actually the chicken because she was still showing the symptoms even on the lamb based formulae... both the Canidae and the Earthborn Holistic don't have Corn or other such fillers in their kibble so they may be the answer to your problems...

thx will look into that....really would like tuh know who supplies this type of chow in central or south?

streetbeastINC. wrote:bro.... i buy a bag of rice..150$.... and your dog seems to be allergic to chicken/avian resulting in skin issues.... so u can buy minced lamb.....

yeah i doing this....das why i had the thread about minced lamb a while back...but the dog losing reaaaal weight since he on the rice and lamb cooked.

streetbeastINC. wrote:the dog chow from pricemart seems to be very good for dogs with skin issues..i have a dog with issues and mixed the pm dog chow with boiled rice and lamb...he now has no issues...please note i have 10 dogs..and have always had dogs.most are strays...vets call me for advice......i hear a lot of ppl ''bad talking'' the pm local chow...least it has no road kill and pets as the ingredients that you are not told about....

does it even have a label?