YOU CAN HELP PROTECT & SAVE STINGRAY CITY!!

embellishfrost

YOU CAN HELP PROTECT & SAVE STINGRAY CITY!!

Postby embellishfrost » January 7th, 2010, 1:39 am

Hello Everyone,

Please sign this petition and forward it to anyone you think may be interested. Mr. Jeff Shaw, head of Oceanic Defence spent many hours working with these very stingrays at Stingray City and is deeply disturbed and concerned (so are a lot of people!) about the fact that their habitat has been approved by the Tourist and Liquor Licensing Board of Cayman (as of 10th December, 2009) to be made into a floating bar/club owned by Mr. Bernie Bush.

While the idea may sound exotic and fabulous, one must take into consideration the impact an alcohol filled environment, among other things, will have on the peaceful habitants of Stingray City.

Is it that Cayman is running out of land or is the money/fame worth destroying these creatures' habitat?

Please go to the link below and sign, I believe 1000 signatures are needed.

Thanking you in advance,

Embellish Frost.

http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/save-stingray-city

The letter which can be viewed at the link above says this:

"We the undersigned, encourage the government of Grand Cayman to reverse their decision to allow floating bars to access Stingray City. Stingray City should be named a heritage site and protected.

By allowing licensed boats with "swim up bars" you are encouraging people to interact with wildlife without direct supervision from trained professionals. Alcohol is proven to lower an individuals rational think process. We must remember that we are dealing with wild animals. Animals that can injure people should the ray feel threatened.

Please reconsider this decision and protect not only the stingrays of the North Sound but the very tourists that drive your economy."

Postby foss » January 7th, 2010, 1:48 am

signed..

Postby equipped2ripp » January 7th, 2010, 1:58 am

signed.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » January 7th, 2010, 2:06 am

Signed.

Postby wagonrunner » January 7th, 2010, 5:57 am

signed

Postby SUPAstarr » January 7th, 2010, 6:04 am

STAMINA

Postby buzz » January 7th, 2010, 7:46 am

now how does this petition help change the governments decision :|

Postby buzz » January 7th, 2010, 7:50 am

ohh ok now reading thought teh terms and conditions

this one seems legit :arrow:

embellishfrost

Postby embellishfrost » January 7th, 2010, 6:17 pm

Hi,

It is very legitimate and it's extremely sad to see how many tuners have viewed this thread but couldn't take the time to sign.

And we wonder why Leatherback turtles here in Trinidad still are subject to torture and abused, it's because there's only talk and no action. You can be a part of something powerful and yet you fail to act.

On behalf of Oceanic Defense I would like to thank those tuners who signed. Please continue spreading the word guys and girls! We need those signatures.

Sincerely,

Embellish Frost.

Postby Maserati » January 7th, 2010, 6:20 pm

signed

devrat

Postby devrat » January 7th, 2010, 6:43 pm

Signed

cenile indian

Postby cenile indian » January 7th, 2010, 6:54 pm

Signed

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » January 7th, 2010, 7:41 pm

A Very good campaign to support, one of many.

Signed...

djblademan

Postby djblademan » January 7th, 2010, 8:01 pm

signded

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » January 7th, 2010, 8:57 pm

signed

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » January 7th, 2010, 9:21 pm

Visited Stingray city in 2008. Tour boats are usually groups of 15 or so led by an experienced operator. One would hope that the guides would stop any rowdy behaviour and have persons get back on the boat, because endangerment of the stingrays would affect their livelihood. Signed though

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » January 7th, 2010, 10:02 pm

signed

wall

Postby wall » January 7th, 2010, 10:13 pm

5:06 pm PST, Jan 7, A Trini2dBone, Trinidad And Tobago
I eh come to Cayman Islands yet to see dem stingys. So please doh gawn build dat stupid swim bar or pool or whatever yuh gawn put dey. cause dat go rel vex meh. Anyways Happy New Year People and Peace! oh year ah forgot a bigup and very large up to the TriniTuner Crew
Nope me nah support that!

whos the brilliant 1??

dva2

Postby dva2 » January 7th, 2010, 10:17 pm

signed

Postby sMASH » January 7th, 2010, 10:17 pm

signed, we're not the only ones inhabiting this planet

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 7th, 2010, 10:44 pm

when will someone help save the local shark population?? ever see how many baby sharks these ''fishermen'' take on a daily, even hourly basis?????

Postby UML » January 7th, 2010, 10:50 pm

why not fight our own battles and fight our own fight....we cutting down mangroves, sending piles in the ocean for piers, polluting we oceans.....hunting scarlet ibis, killing pawi,manatee, ocelot,etc

why allyuh doh try to pressure govt to deal with air pollution, pressure dem to improve we landfill so it doesnt affect the ground water and the effects on the nieghbouring beethem residents.....control the use of fetilizers so that it does not affect ppl using wells

but allyuh want tuh fight other ppl fight

Postby UML » January 7th, 2010, 10:53 pm

set up ozone monitoring stations so we doh die from respiratory illnesses

Postby foss » January 7th, 2010, 10:53 pm

people here don't care that much about trinidad and what happens to it or inhabitants fyi

Postby cinco » January 7th, 2010, 11:04 pm

i signededed
ive been there its freakin awesome i would hate to see it destroyed cayman is ridiculously small tho and you seem to forget banking industry collapsed so did their income they need any money they can get

Postby sMASH » January 7th, 2010, 11:18 pm

UML wrote:why not fight our own battles and fight our own fight....we cutting down mangroves, sending piles in the ocean for piers, polluting we oceans.....hunting scarlet ibis, killing pawi,manatee, ocelot,etc

why allyuh doh try to pressure govt to deal with air pollution, pressure dem to improve we landfill so it doesnt affect the ground water and the effects on the nieghbouring beethem residents.....control the use of fetilizers so that it does not affect ppl using wells

but allyuh want tuh fight other ppl fight

it have people championing the causes, but they are not headlined and not enough people give them support.

Postby Redman » January 8th, 2010, 9:43 am

Signed

Later

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » January 8th, 2010, 10:22 am

[quote="http://www.caymannetnews.com/local.php?news_id=19828&start=0&category_id=1"]

Over 100 local protesters and some tourists gathered around Heroes Square on 4 January to protest against the licensing of a floating bar at Stingray City.

Organised by 24-year-old Caymanian artist Natasha Kozaily, the protesters said that a floating bar at Stingray City would interfere with the ecosystem because it would encourage littering and alter a family environment to one of partying and reveling.

Speaking to Cayman Net News, Ms Kozaily said they were opposed to a floating bar because Stingray City needed to remain as natural as possible.

On 10 December 2009, the Liquor Licensing Board of Grand Cayman granted a retail liquor licence and a music and dancing licence to former independent candidate for West Bay Bernie Bush for the proposed floating bar.

However, a community of protesters, who argued that the bar would harm the environment, immediately opposed this.

“Imagine having cups floating; even if a clean operation is done, trash will still end up in the water, and you can’t swim with stingrays in the wild. Putting a bar there is encouraging the wrong kind of atmosphere, where you are encouraging people to drink beer while they are swimming and they can drown. They can step on stingrays and harm them or get harmed. We should be protecting the animals and not exploiting them,â€

Postby noshownogo » January 8th, 2010, 11:04 am

Signed, been first hand to Stingray city in Grand Cayman not too far from Rum point.

Between Stingrays and Turtles CI really needs to protect their waters. If yuh jet skiing off 7mile beach you can easily spot turtles coming up for air in the open waters, for the less adventurous, there's a turtle farm on the island as well.

kaiger

Postby kaiger » January 8th, 2010, 11:23 am

signed