STOLEN VEHICLE FIGURES RELEASED:

Postby acesinghit » January 23rd, 2010, 11:36 am

source:

Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Ministry of National Security
Trinidad and Tobago Police Service
Crime and Problem Analysis Branch

I am sure alot of us saw the email that was passing around, here is a compressed version for our perusal:

VEHICLES STOLEN IN:

2004 - 1,476
2005 - 1,701
2006 - 2,209
2007 - 2,375
2008 - 2,215
2009 - 2,072
TOTAL FOR THESE 6 YEARS: 12,048

LARCENY OF MOTOR VEHICLES BY MAKE FOR THE PERIOD 2004-2008 INCLUDING 1/1/09 - 30/11/09

NISSAN - 3685
MAZDA - 1040
MITSUBISHI - 763
TOYOTA - 695
HONDA - 162
HYUNDAI - 71
SUZUKI - 39

ROBBERY OF MOTOR VEHICLES BY MAKE FOR THE PERIOD 2004-2008 INCLUDING 1/1/09 - 30/11/09

NISSAN - 1451
TOYOTA - 520
MITSUBISHI - 189
MAZDA - 183
HONDA - 85
HYUNDAI - 49
SUZUKI - 17

TOTAL FOR LARCENY AND ROBBERY:

NISSAN - 5136
MAZDA - 1223
TOYOTA - 1215
MITSUBISHI - 952
HONDA - 247
HYUNDAI - 120
SUZUKI - 56

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » January 23rd, 2010, 11:41 am

alarming

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 23rd, 2010, 11:41 am

good post but iirc inshan had this on his show earlier this mth ....

Postby Greypatch » January 23rd, 2010, 12:05 pm

did they break it down to vehicle types

cars, pickups etc ?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 23rd, 2010, 12:27 pm

^not in the email I got. I suppose the Stolen Vehicle Squad would have that. So if you buy a:

Mercedes Benz
BMW
Audi
Volkswagen
Skoda
Fiat
Peugeot
Kia
Ford
Chevrolet
Lexus
Ssang Yong
Isuzu
Subaru
Daihatsu

you won't have to worry about your vehicle getting bandit. So no need for fancy alarm, gps or gsm alarm systems with these.
Last edited by acesinghit on January 23rd, 2010, 12:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » January 23rd, 2010, 12:30 pm

Interesting post... when u see the actual figures its really alarming.

Postby cinco » January 23rd, 2010, 12:53 pm

im surprised mazda is so high on the list would have thought toyota and honda would be much more

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » January 23rd, 2010, 1:26 pm

another reason to buy a honda: you won't get anywhere fast and you may be the slowest on the road, but at least you will be safe.

Postby A172 » January 23rd, 2010, 1:32 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:another reason to buy a honda: you won't get anywhere fast and you may be the slowest on the road, but at least you will be safe.

Same goes for the 1.6TS.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 24th, 2010, 2:40 pm

cinco wrote:im surprised mazda is so high on the list would have thought toyota and honda would be much more

bandits realise its better to steal a mazda and reach where they going without losing control of the car. We know how easily these torsion beam rear suspension nissans can lead you into walls and lamp posts.

mitchy

Postby mitchy » January 24th, 2010, 11:48 pm

but fiat and skoda is d rell ting!

Postby wagonrunner » January 24th, 2010, 11:57 pm

there's one where it was broken down to locations. hadda search for that email.

Postby equipped2ripp » January 25th, 2010, 2:00 am

so what about those Rangers that bandits have been stealing... the reports make it here to 2NR, but I'm guessing not to police? :roll:

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » January 25th, 2010, 2:04 am

haha

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » January 25th, 2010, 2:05 am

wagonrunner wrote:there's one where it was broken down to locations. hadda search for that email.

trincity mall and the rest of the country

triniboy

Postby triniboy » January 25th, 2010, 4:03 am

i lookin forward to seeing the bigger lists

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 25th, 2010, 8:04 am

wagonrunner wrote:there's one where it was broken down to locations. hadda search for that email.

same email, i just could not copy and paste the pdf text into tuner :lol:

and equipped2ripp ford will probably be under suzuki so it seems stolen rangers aren't all that "popular" on the lists or owners did not bother to report some because they were purchased cash and had 3rd party insurance and they didn't pay zagat or protection fees?

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2010, 8:14 am

x2floor,
does the reader have teh file, save as, image, jpg option?

Postby rollingstock » January 25th, 2010, 11:50 am

ford will probably be under suzuki so it seems stolen rangers aren't all that "popular" on the lists or owners did not bother to report some because they were purchased cash and had 3rd party insurance and they didn't pay zagat or protection fees?

Ford will not be under Suzuki :shock: just that the quantity of fords stolen was of a low amount to make the final list of most popular vehicl;es to be stolen, there are bmw's, skoda's, even rover's stolen just at a very minimal amount.

Postby teems1 » January 25th, 2010, 11:59 am

wow, 2072 cars stolen in 2009

a car is being stolen every 4.2 hours.

yikes

Postby MG Man » January 25th, 2010, 12:40 pm

x2floor wrote:^not in the email I got. I suppose the Stolen Vehicle Squad would have that. So if you buy a:

Mercedes Benz
BMW
Audi
Volkswagen
Skoda
Fiat
Peugeot
Kia
Ford
Chevrolet
Lexus
Ssang Yong
Isuzu
Subaru
Daihatsu

you won't have to worry about your vehicle getting bandit. So no need for fancy alarm, gps or gsm alarm systems with these.

indeed
me no have no tine, no alarm
trincity mall no scare me :!:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 25th, 2010, 3:40 pm

ok so my co-worker now told me this true account of what took place with his b14, the driver's door cannot lock and so he went trincity mall not giving a fcuk about whether it can or cannot and went to watch a movie, when he returned he saw the door open but everything intact. He lossed nothing, according to a police officer on patrol, some guys were lurking around looking suspicious and were caught red-handed on another vehicle. When asked how come they left the b14 alone, they said they found it strange and thought it was a setup. :lol:

so what alluh tink? :mrgreen: reverse pyschology FTW!

Postby crazybalhead » January 25th, 2010, 3:42 pm

You mean he lost nothing. LOL.

nes123

Postby nes123 » January 25th, 2010, 4:33 pm

:lol: oh gad oye...so is best I leave mih car doors unlock when I go up there den? :lol:

Postby equipped2ripp » January 25th, 2010, 6:39 pm

lossed :lol: :lol:

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » January 26th, 2010, 3:20 am

anyone working capa here? 0X

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 26th, 2010, 7:33 pm

its from an email

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 4th, 2010, 9:48 pm

mitchy wrote:but fiat and skoda is d rell ting!

(in zuki an' tim tim voice---->) how yuh meeeen!

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 4th, 2010, 9:49 pm

ford will probably be under suzuki so it seems stolen rangers aren't all that "popular" on the lists or owners did not bother to report some because they were purchased cash and had 3rd party insurance and they didn't pay zagat or protection fees?

Ford will not be under Suzuki :shock: just that the quantity of fords stolen was of a low amount to make the final list of most popular vehicl;es to be stolen, there are bmw's, skoda's, even rover's stolen just at a very minimal amount.

huh??? me nevah hear dat...

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » April 4th, 2010, 10:49 pm

acesinghit wrote:ok so my co-worker now told me this true account of what took place with his b14, the driver's door cannot lock and so he went trincity mall not giving a fcuk about whether it can or cannot and went to watch a movie, when he returned he saw the door open but everything intact. He lossed nothing, according to a police officer on patrol, some guys were lurking around looking suspicious and were caught red-handed on another vehicle. When asked how come they left the b14 alone, they said they found it strange and thought it was a setup. :lol:

so what alluh tink? :mrgreen: reverse pyschology FTW!

It is very possible that they thought it was a set up; most car thieves are now perfecting the art of disarming and unlocking a car. Coming across an unlocked car door is not very common, especially in these times ... :lol: