What's the last good book yuh read??

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 7:21 am

Just finished Duma Key, by Steven King. As a wannabe artist, I found his description of the process very very interesting. It had the usual creepy Steven King sheit in it too.

Also read the Valkyries, by Paulo Cuelho recently. Short book, somewhat autobiographical. very simple, and very strange. You may have heard of the Alchemist by this same author, Christian base, with some heavy supernatural overtones.

So share yuh recommendations and experiences.

larafan

Postby larafan » January 26th, 2010, 7:23 am

how to suck nanny. by colonel angus

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 7:23 am

That was book on the ethical treatment of Grandmothers Larafan? Sounds like the elders were abused by the sound of it.

Postby foss » January 26th, 2010, 7:36 am

badman doh read :|

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 7:37 am

foss wrote:badman doh read :|

This we know. So what book yuh read last foss???

Postby foss » January 26th, 2010, 7:44 am

I read the Road, by Cormac McCarthy. Same guy who did No Country for Old Men

was pretty hard to get into, his writing style is not like most writers.
He writes in short sentences.

(P.S I had to read it for a Class) :|

Postby foss » January 26th, 2010, 7:49 am

But the book was pretty good. weird, but good. The movie for it came out last year, have not seen it yet though.

Also read The Handmaid's Tale (B.S) :|

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 7:49 am

Sounds interesting. :mrgreen:

I also read Crisis by Robin Cook recently. It was arite. The "twist' wass a kinda let down at the end. Think he got too taken up in the medical mystery and courtroom shennanigans.

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 26th, 2010, 7:54 am

last good book i read was Michael Crichton - Timeline.

I heard a movie was based on it, - when i check it i found out is Paul Walker act as the "starboy" so i eh bother...

now picking up some Dean Koontz, always wanted to read some of his material...

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 26th, 2010, 7:56 am

What the firetruck is this sheit? next thing i go see CBH making a thread about knitting!! (no pun intended)

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 7:57 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:last good book i read was Michael Crichton - Timeline.

I heard a movie was based on it, - when i check it i found out is Paul Walker act as the "starboy" so i eh bother...

now picking up some Dean Koontz, always wanted to read some of his material...

Yeah saw the movie, it was sheit.

Yuh might like Prey, by Crichton, but not "Next" that book was sheit.

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 7:59 am

ru$$ell wrote:What the firetruck is this sheit? next thing i go see CBH making a thread about knitting!! (no pun intended)

That's the one thing I'm no good at, sewing. :lol: :lol: :lol:

When my wife tries to explain how the sewing machine works, it's like explaining VTEC to Hottgyul. :x Ah could hem meh pants, and sew a button, but thais it. :lol:

Postby foss » January 26th, 2010, 8:00 am

^ u sound like good ting to put in house :|

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 8:03 am

foss wrote:^ u sound like good ting to put in house :|

That's what she said. :lol:

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » January 26th, 2010, 8:08 am

Dance of the Gods by Nora Roberts, the last of the trilogy. The books started of in the colonial era and ended in the 21st century. It was a very captivating story line with a lot of twist and mystery.

I also have a habit of re-reading novels and books, such as to kill a mockingbird and the lord of the rings trilogy my favourite books in my collection…

Postby Redman » January 26th, 2010, 8:11 am

Flyboys-an account of several Navy Pilots shot down in the Pacific during WWII

Imperial Cruise- Excellent read if you are into history-It shows that the US policies today are a continuation of policies at the turn of the century

Both books are by James Bradley-The guy that wrote Flags of our Fathers.

These books are not pro US -in fact they show both sides of the stories-

Later

Postby foss » January 26th, 2010, 8:14 am

bye.

triniangie

Postby triniangie » January 26th, 2010, 8:23 am

...any thing by Anne Rice

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 26th, 2010, 8:25 am

Accounts from Azusa St.

Postby eliteauto » January 26th, 2010, 8:44 am

"Why we want you to be rich" Donald trump and Robert Kiyosaki

I read and reread almost all of Kiyosaki's books

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 8:46 am

Gimme a synopsis dey nah Elite.

Postby M_2NR » January 26th, 2010, 8:49 am

"I hope they serve beer in hell" by TuckerMax.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 26th, 2010, 8:51 am

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

http://www.amazon.com/Cloud-Atlas-Novel ... 0375507256

seemingly separate stories each linked to each other... really good book

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 9:05 am

Sometimes I just doh know what books to buy, every now and then I end up buying a real turd of a book. For example, bought a book that was supposedly a historical representation of the life of Attilah the Hun, though it woulda be real good. Turns out is a pseudo historian rambling on and on about horse and bow and arrow techniques and some other crap. Did not finish it.

After reading the Lord of the rings trilogy, got the Silmarillion as a gift, never finished that either, Tolkien was clearly off his rocker when he was writing that one. Mushrooms or LSD or something. :|

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 26th, 2010, 9:24 am

Recently read two books from the early 80's that oddly enough can be applicable today.

The Fifth Horseman by Larry Collins and Dominique Lapierre (sp?)
Chameleon by William Diehl

Damn good books IMHO.

I've kinda lost my zeal to read tho, still behind on the last Harry Potter - which inevitably kept me from going to the movie, and the latest dan brown - the lost symbol.

Postby tr1ad » January 26th, 2010, 9:26 am

twilight :oops:

Postby r3iXmann » January 26th, 2010, 9:27 am

The Horus Heresy - Legion by Dan Abnett

part of a series

Postby honda hoe » January 26th, 2010, 9:32 am