WTK: Traffic Ticket.

Sheriff

WTK: Traffic Ticket.

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 6:12 pm

If you get a ticket and you don't pay because you were right and would prefer to go to court, what happens if youu lose the case? Is there an additional fine to the $200.00 or do you just pay the 200 and walk away?
Thanks.

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » February 10th, 2010, 6:16 pm

ur @ the mercy of the magistrate....

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 6:25 pm

Anyone went to court for not paying a ticket and willing to share their experience?

larafan

Postby larafan » February 10th, 2010, 6:35 pm

paging mr.gear

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 6:35 pm

lol, well I was making a right turn from the right lane, where there is a sign saying no right turn from left lane. I was ticketed maybe 1/4 mile from where the alleged offence took place, the office who ticketed me said I was on the left lane and made a right turn. He also said officers are on the flyover as well as cameras, so I know where I was (on the correct lane to take the turn). Wastold if I don't pay the ticket I will have to appear in cort on the 26th of April which is what I plan to do, since I believe it was a case of mistaaken identity.

Any Advise on this matter would be nice.

larafan

Postby larafan » February 10th, 2010, 6:36 pm

odds are the officer wont come to court tho....

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 6:37 pm

I would pay the ticket tomorrow if I were wrong, but I'm not so that why I will be going to court, I would really like to see what the cameras have.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 6:38 pm

What happens if the officer doesn't show up?

larafan wrote:odds are the officer wont come to court tho....

Postby M_2NR » February 10th, 2010, 6:38 pm

Sheriff wrote:YOU STUPID ENT?

Really. Unless you like wasting time in court, just pay it. The time=money you waste there will be worth more than $200.

Postby Stephon. » February 10th, 2010, 6:38 pm

i didnt get the ticket because i sprayed pepper spray in the officers eyes and drove off.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 6:42 pm

corolla_2nr it might be worth more than $200 but why pay for something you did not do, we have rights don't we and we are allowed to contesst it in court.

Postby equipped2ripp » February 10th, 2010, 6:43 pm

Sheriff wrote:lol, well I was making a right turn from the right lane, where there is a sign saying no right turn from left lane. I was ticketed maybe 1/4 mile from where the alleged offence took place, the office who ticketed me said I was on the left lane and made a right turn. He also said officers are on the flyover as well as cameras, so I know where I was (on the correct lane to take the turn). Wastold if I don't pay the ticket I will have to appear in cort on the 26th of April which is what I plan to do, since I believe it was a case of mistaaken identity.

if the officer claims there are cameras at the intersection, ask for footage to be displayed in court.

Postby M_2NR » February 10th, 2010, 6:43 pm

Sheriff wrote:corolla_2nr it might be worth more than $200 but why pay for something you did not do, we have rights don't we and we are allowed to contesst it in court.

cuz there is no justice in Trinidad and hence no rights. Im just being a n00b as usual though, it's just my lil boy view sadly. :lol: :lol:

Postby buzz » February 10th, 2010, 7:16 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:
Sheriff wrote:lol, well I was making a right turn from the right lane, where there is a sign saying no right turn from left lane. I was ticketed maybe 1/4 mile from where the alleged offence took place, the office who ticketed me said I was on the left lane and made a right turn. He also said officers are on the flyover as well as cameras, so I know where I was (on the correct lane to take the turn). Wastold if I don't pay the ticket I will have to appear in cort on the 26th of April which is what I plan to do, since I believe it was a case of mistaaken identity.

if the officer claims there are cameras at the intersection, ask for footage to be displayed in court.

can't, video footage is still not admissible as evidence in trinidad

so d officer as usual don't know teh law

i understand your point sheriff... right is right

1edit

buzz learns to read and comprehend :? :oops: :lol:

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 7:25 pm

Thanks Buzz.
So what the advise of tuner since its my word against the officer?

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 7:27 pm

If the officer does not show up in court, what happens? Does the case get thrown out or is it put off for another date?
Last edited by Sheriff on February 10th, 2010, 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby buzz » February 10th, 2010, 7:36 pm

Sheriff wrote:Thanks Buzz.
So what the advise of tuner since its my word against the officer?

thats just it...

its your word AGAINST an officer who has "witnesses" who are also officers

thats why i made that comment wrt police getting commission on tickets... our police system is messed up as well as our judicial system

our executive and judicial arms are supposed to work together not for each other

wa ah trin to say is corruption in d dance, if it were something tangible like, being ticketed for illegal headlights or sumn then i think its a worth a LITTLE bit more...

as i said if you believe you were right i support your stance but personally i wouldn't fight it...

don't compromise the war over a trivial battle IMO

and if the officer doesn't show the case is thrown out

Postby buzz » February 10th, 2010, 7:37 pm

another thing thats sh1tty

HTF an officer gonna remember details of one person that he ticketed over 4 months ago :?:

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 7:40 pm

Buzz so my best bet is to hope the officer does not show up otherwise I getting shaft whether or not I am right or wrong?

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 7:42 pm

Another question, would you all go to court if this happened to you or would you just pay the ticket?

Postby buzz » February 10th, 2010, 7:44 pm

AFAIK you are given 14 days to pay the ticket... after that you have to show up in court and explain why you didn't pay in that time frame

orrrr you could go and beg d clerk to take the money if yuh pass d deadline , this is where your female (hope izza female eh!! unless yuh cross d border) mingling skills become important... hope she like yuh and good luck :|

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 7:46 pm

lol thanks buzz.

doodle_270

Postby doodle_270 » February 10th, 2010, 8:05 pm

last year I got a ticket for foglights....go figure. Anyhow I missed the date to pay and had to appear in court. What I learned in the 4 hours spent in that room are as follows (it may be applicable to you):
1. if the officer does not show (90% probable) you can argue your case and probably walk away no charge.
2. if the officer didn't book the ticket in the court house you walk away no charge.(happened to me)
3. if you and the officer are there you can still plead your case and ask "to be at the mercy of the court" you will probably pay the original fine.(this happened to a guy that day)
4. if there are nay mistakes on the ticket i.e. name, address, what you were fined for or even the section of traffic law quoted on the ticket you walk no charge.
If you have the time to sit in court you probably will pay nothing but you will be there for the better part of the morning.
Good Luck

Postby foss » February 10th, 2010, 8:06 pm

If you think you are right in the matter.. take the matter to court.
my dad was ticketed a while ago, and he went to court at least 5 times.. the officer never came and the case was thrown out. and he saved 200

don't pay no ticket... unless you know to your self you in the wrong.

and waste the courts time... it is your right as a citizen to stand up for your rights :!:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 10th, 2010, 8:25 pm

Sheriff, how do you plan to prove to the court that you did not break the law?

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 8:47 pm

I guess I could use their own evidence!!! If they say they have cameras.......What do you think?

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 10th, 2010, 8:54 pm

couva flyover by chance?

me and the wife BOTH got ticketed there... we both paid ours :lol:

hear the joke.... mine had to be paid in couva, and hers had to be paid in chag. :rofl: interesting huh? both tickets were written in the SAME place :idea:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 10th, 2010, 8:58 pm

^ I think you're a ... never mind what I think.

traffic court is very rudimentary.
they are NOT going to have a presentation by the prosecutors against the defense with camera footage, lawyers, jury etc unless you just killed 20 people. There will be the judge, the court staff and the officer who charged you and YOU. The proof is in the ticket that was written on that day. End of story.

You will need to supply your own witnesses, camera footage or other proof to support your defense and hope the judge is patient. The prosecutors will NOT supply you with that.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 9:05 pm

Thanks Duane, do you all think I should just pay the ticket and done?

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 10:12 pm

This was on the flyover by Pricesmart Chaguanas.