NEXEN.............get what you pay for

Postby MG Man » February 24th, 2010, 5:19 pm

four Nexens taken off someone's Fielder wagon after 2 years........always maintained proper tyre pressures............

bess ting tuh run on yuh 120Y

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » February 24th, 2010, 5:27 pm

i have a freaking 120y so whats your point :roll:

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 24th, 2010, 5:28 pm

But you singing that song since you bouce yuh head and buy that MG.

Postby MG Man » February 24th, 2010, 5:29 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:But you singing that song since you bouce yuh head and buy that MG.

ent
ah shoulda keep de KE30
:(

Postby Damien » February 24th, 2010, 5:40 pm

2years that real good

Kinday

Postby Kinday » February 24th, 2010, 5:46 pm

Nexen FTL....now I know :cry:

d spike

Postby d spike » February 24th, 2010, 5:47 pm

BLUE_CP9A wrote:i have a freaking 120y so whats your point

Some guys have all the luck. My 120y never used to freak. :( :(

Postby MG Man » February 24th, 2010, 5:51 pm

Noticed the same thing with Nexens on a car parked in Subway Glencoe yesterday.........thing is, once a tyre is mounted on a rim, cracks in the sidewall are very hard to see...especially in the case of that car, where the crack was in the cusp of the rim guard

Damien I have 3 year old toyos on my car with nothing remotely resembling that kind of failure....and for me that's pushing it, cuz I dont keep a tyre on my car more than 2 years regardless of tred depth.....the mini was parked for a year so it got away from me, but still.............the HSR was parked on Goodyears for 5 years (those tyres were 3 years old when the car was laid up so that's 8 years total) and still, some dry rot but NOTHING like that............

Postby MG Man » February 24th, 2010, 5:52 pm

d spike wrote:

I love your 120y
It handed me my first 1st place at dex :lol:

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » February 24th, 2010, 5:55 pm

^^^ I had cracks just like that develop on two different brands of tyres- Nexen and Kumho....I was told that i didn't maintain proper tyre pressure.... now i'm confused

d spike

Postby d spike » February 24th, 2010, 5:56 pm

d spike wrote:

I love your 120y
It handed me my first 1st place at dex :lol:

You an' yuh blasted "drivin' on questionable rubbers" thread...

d spike

Postby d spike » February 24th, 2010, 5:58 pm

phreakazoid wrote:^^^ I had cracks just like that develop on two different brands of tyres- Nexen and Kumho....I was told that i didn't maintain proper tyre pressure.... now i'm confused

Makes sense... cracking under pressure... happens to the best of us, according to my therapist...

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » February 24th, 2010, 6:02 pm

^^1cuckoo

Postby MG Man » February 24th, 2010, 6:12 pm

phreakazoid wrote:^^^ I had cracks just like that develop on two different brands of tyres- Nexen and Kumho....I was told that i didn't maintain proper tyre pressure.... now i'm confused

you can have a sidewall seperation from underinflation as well.............however, the telltale sign of sidewall failure due to underinflation is powdered rubber inside the tyre, indicating sidewall breakdown due to excessive flexing and heat from being underinflated.....you actually see rubber 'dust' inside the tyre.....that's the definitive sign....in exterme cases the inner carcas also appears feathered as well, as the rubber disintegrates.....otherwise, you are looking at a defect

In the case of the tyres pictured here, no powder, no inner sidewall damage....

I have witnessed sidewall failure from underinflation first hand when I was working for a tyre company....the car was a Mini Cooper S
you woull swear someone took a knife and slit the sidewall...needless to say, the owner was upset that his premium brand tyre had failed....his other three tyres were between 10 and 15 psi
Being low profile, hard sidewall tyres, they looked like they were hard.....but once dismounted, he saw the heap of rubber dist and damaged inner sidewall.............

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » February 24th, 2010, 6:20 pm

They didn't have powder.. but off course they would never say is a defective tyre they sold me. I strongly believe the Nexens were defective.... maybe I ran the Kumho under inflated.... but the Nexens just awful.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 24th, 2010, 6:46 pm

what was the manufacturer date on those nexens?

Postby X_Factor » February 24th, 2010, 6:47 pm

anyone who presses the sidewall of nexen, nankang and triange...and still purchases it looking for trouble

but u cant beat the marketing strategy being used to sell the tyre

i saw a bmw today rocking some nexen's :oops:

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » February 24th, 2010, 6:55 pm

sell meh them nah.. them thing could still go a couple thousand more miles :oops:

Postby UML » February 24th, 2010, 7:04 pm

had the same problem with the same brand and I was told the same thing about wall failure due to under pressure in the tyre.....even went on to do a post in the tech forum to see what problems certain tyre brands have.....now i running Nankang Sport...a lil higher profile....no problem thus far *knocks on wood*

theoutlaw

Postby theoutlaw » February 24th, 2010, 7:10 pm

i had roadstone tyre on my car three years now

d spike

Postby d spike » February 24th, 2010, 7:39 pm

Boy, drip some crazy glue in dem crack, hold it shut for half a minute, den flog it off on some ricer... talk dun... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 24th, 2010, 7:44 pm

Nexens r0ck y0.

Look at how many cars use them, they must be good.

Postby MG Man » February 24th, 2010, 7:55 pm

MISHI wrote:what was the manufacturer date on those nexens?

din check but I know they were bought new
but still...............

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » February 24th, 2010, 8:33 pm

but still...............

come nah MG Man, you self know it aint matter when the tyres were bought "new"....manuf. date and what conditions they were in when laid up in the w/house awaiting sale is what will determine future condition

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » February 24th, 2010, 8:36 pm

Postby MG Man » February 24th, 2010, 8:42 pm

biggy82 wrote:

but still...............

come nah MG Man, you self know it aint matter when the tyres were bought "new"....manuf. date and what conditions they were in when laid up in the w/house awaiting sale is what will determine future condition

I agree, but that applies to all brands
over the years I've used Kumho, Sumitomo, Dunlop, Goodyear, Toyo and BF Goodrich............and in some cases with tyres left on cars parked for years etc...............and most I've ever seen was fine dry rot cracks....nothing like what's pictured here.....regardless of freshness.....
and this is not the first time I've seen this on Nexens

Postby X_Factor » February 24th, 2010, 8:46 pm

pioneer wrote:and it have people ratin up foreign used tires cuz dey too cheap to buy new ones

park up yuh car and take maxi yes

well im guilty of that eh..but the cost of a good new tyre is atleast 700.00

where as u can get really good proxies, potenzas, eagle f1, sportcontac for under 200.00!!

and each of those tyre above is more than 800.00 for a 15"

and im sure the fused is still better than nexen, nankang and triangle!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » February 24th, 2010, 8:46 pm

biggy82 wrote:

but still...............

I agree, but that applies to all brands
over the years I've used Kumho, Sumitomo, Dunlop, Goodyear, Toyo and BF Goodrich............and in some cases with tyres left on cars parked for years etc...............and most I've ever seen was fine dry rot cracks....nothing like what's pictured here.....regardless of freshness.....
and this is not the first time I've seen this on Nexens

i agree....Nexens are not very good tyres. i have personally never used them and never will.

but ppl should really pay more attention to the manuf. date of the tyres that they want to buy...nothing more that 2-3 years old is desireable

Postby MG Man » February 24th, 2010, 8:55 pm

ppl look at me like I mad when I change my tyres every 2 years

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » February 24th, 2010, 8:59 pm

MG Man wrote:ppl look at me like I mad when I change my tyres every 2 years

nun wrong with that....especially if is a daily driver. even with proper tyre rotation, tyres will wear slightly different from others...even when on the same vehicle

ent if you carefully wash your clothes, they will still fray and lose color after some time?

but we will buy now clothes every 3 months but not change tyres till they are "smooth". and even if they are smooth, mankind will say "put them in the back, cos the drive wheels in front" :roll: