largest lawsuit in t&t ever

Halfbreed07

largest lawsuit in t&t ever

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 2nd, 2010, 6:26 am

[quote]In what can be regarded as the biggest lawsuit against a T&T company, a New York firm has filed a breach of contract case against the Petroleum Company of Trinidad and Tobago (Petrotrin) in the US Federal Court in Manhattan, New York, seeking no less than $12 billion for their losses over the collapse of a joint venture project.

World GTL Incorporated and its subsidiary, World GTL (St Lucia), filed the lawsuit in the US District, Southern District of New York, on February 23. The case has been put on the docket of 77-year-old Judge Lawrence McKenna, one of the senior judges of the court. The action arose out of the alleged wrongful taking and expropriation of a nearly-completed $3 billion gas-to-liquid plant, being constructed inside the Petrotrin refinery, Pointe-a-Pierre. The lawsuit was filed by Manhattan law firm, Thompson and Knight, whose address is listed as 919 Third Avenue, New York.
Petrotrin has 21 days from the date of service to respond, failing which World GTL would enter a default judgment, with a demand for the compensation. No one could say with any certainty if Petrotrin was served with the US court documents. In the lawsuit, World GTL and its subsidiary are seeking compensation against Petrotrin for alleged fraud, negligent misrepresentation, breach of contract, unjust enrichment, negligence and expropriation (take from the owner for public use or benefit).

According to the documents filed in court, in May 2004, World GTL and Petrotrin entered into a memorandum of understanding to build a gas-to-liquid plant and four months later, a project agreement for the plant to be built at Pointe-a-Pierre. World GTL (Trinidad) was in charge of the project. The plaintiffs said at the behest of Petrotrin, Credit Suisse, was among the financial institutions approached to provide funding, largely because a former T&T Finance Minister was at Credit Suisse. The financial institution agreed to provide a US $125 million credit facility and on January 12, 2007, the plaintiffs and Petrotrin entered certain financial agreements.
Two months later, all construction was suspended as a result of sulfur emissions from the Petrotrin refinery. According to the documents, the plant was emitting sulfur dioxide and contaminating the entire facility. World GTL said despite Petrotrin’s plans to correct the situation, there continued to be plant evacuations and shutdowns. It contended that one worker died and the autopsy report listed the cause of death as, “acute respiratory distress syndrome due to toxic fumes inhalation.â€

Terran

Postby Terran » March 2nd, 2010, 6:54 am

They should hire Ramesh.

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » March 2nd, 2010, 7:01 am

NO bOy! Adesh!

Postby RASC » March 2nd, 2010, 7:02 am

What's our yearly GDP again?

~29Billion USD

Let's just hope that 12Billion is in $TT and not $US.
Manning's days numbered :arrow:

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 2nd, 2010, 7:11 am

its in US......

once Petrotrin have money to pay me i happy...but on the flip side, the government wud implement some new stupid taxes to make up money to pay GTL

Postby RASC » March 2nd, 2010, 7:19 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:its in US......

once Petrotrin have money to pay me i happy...but on the flip side, the government wud implement some new stupid taxes to make up money to pay GTL

How would Petrotrin be able to pay you if HALF the countries' entire yearly GDP gets wiped out?

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » March 2nd, 2010, 7:23 am

They cannot win that case. At best they are hoping for a settlement payment.

Taking bets if anyone doubts this.

Postby Greypatch » March 2nd, 2010, 7:29 am

rubs chin..

should anyone resign over this at the Party....ermm State owned oil company

Postby wagonrunner » March 2nd, 2010, 7:42 am

RASC,
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zyNyHark4xk&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

VS

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/xmxZ6ZTiKRU&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 2nd, 2010, 7:51 am

Heard they have a next suit coming from an usa based construction company
Just saying

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 2nd, 2010, 7:59 am

Judge Lawrence McKenna? :shock:

Thomas & Knight LLP? :shock: :shock: :shock:

Oh oh.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » March 2nd, 2010, 8:04 am

usual BITTER americans? we have oil you dont, whats next? earthquake machine to be aimed at trinidad?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 2nd, 2010, 8:08 am

evo-STI-k wrote:usual BITTER americans? we have oil you dont, whats next? earthquake machine to be aimed at trinidad?

Stop talking filth, you know not of what you speak

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 2nd, 2010, 8:09 am

evo-STI-k wrote:usual BITTER americans? we have oil you dont, whats next? earthquake machine to be aimed at trinidad?

Not bitter. One party did not agree to the terms of the credit facility agreement. There was a breach in contract and the defendant is right to seek compensation.

I wonder which law firm is representing the Plaintiff?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 2nd, 2010, 8:27 am

I reach, AP posting in my thread :lol:

Postby Redman » March 2nd, 2010, 8:27 am

Alternative financing was offered and the directive came down to deal with CSFB,

Again politics screws up excellent opportunities for us.

Sadly this will cost the country a tidy sum.
Later

Postby Ignorant Ignis » March 2nd, 2010, 8:54 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:I reach, AP posting in my thread :lol:

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 2nd, 2010, 9:10 am

This is going to be interesting, considering all the alleged personal relationships(money passing) between GTL Management and Petrotrin Management

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 2nd, 2010, 9:18 am

the PNM thief!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:drinking: :poke: :elephant: :pokes: :drama:

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 2nd, 2010, 9:21 am

RASC wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:its in US......

How would Petrotrin be able to pay you if HALF the countries' entire yearly GDP gets wiped out?

because once we bring the FCCU down later this year, they wud do anything to get it back up and running to make fuel lol....

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 2nd, 2010, 9:25 am

nareshseep wrote:the PNM thief!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:drinking: :poke: :elephant: :pokes: :drama:

Our leader is not pleased...

Postby Chimera » March 2nd, 2010, 9:29 am

Reports state that Petrotrin has retained the services of Juliana Pierre Devenish to act on their behalf.

On hearing this, World GTL has dropped their case and told Petrotrin "Sorry for bothering allyuh"

Postby teems1 » March 2nd, 2010, 9:40 am

man

i bet the government wish they still had some of that money they spent on the summits, brian lara stadium, PM residence, national flag etc when the bill collectors come!

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 2nd, 2010, 9:42 am

the motar has a lot more than the pestle this time around for sure.
que sasha mohammed investigative report...

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 2nd, 2010, 9:50 am

lemme analyse this

According to the documents filed in court, in May 2004, World GTL and Petrotrin entered into a memorandum of understanding to build a gas-to-liquid plant and four months later, a project agreement for the plant to be built at Pointe-a-Pierre. World GTL (Trinidad) was in charge of the project.

so world gtl was in charge of construction...joint project between them and petrotrin...

The plaintiffs said at the behest of Petrotrin, Credit Suisse, was among the financial institutions approached to provide funding, largely because a former T&T Finance Minister was at Credit Suisse. The financial institution agreed to provide a US $125 million credit facility and on January 12, 2007, the plaintiffs and Petrotrin entered certain financial agreements.

blah blah blah and they get a loan from credit suisse...

[quote]
Two months later, all construction was suspended as a result of sulfur emissions from the Petrotrin refinery. According to the documents, the plant was emitting sulfur dioxide and contaminating the entire facility. World GTL said despite Petrotrin’s plans to correct the situation, there continued to be plant evacuations and shutdowns. It contended that one worker died and the autopsy report listed the cause of death as, “acute respiratory distress syndrome due to toxic fumes inhalation.â€

Freelander

Postby Freelander » March 2nd, 2010, 10:24 am

so who say alcohol and gas going up?

Postby honda hoe » March 2nd, 2010, 10:28 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:lemme analyse this

According to the documents filed in court, in May 2004, World GTL and Petrotrin entered into a memorandum of understanding to build a gas-to-liquid plant and four months later, a project agreement for the plant to be built at Pointe-a-Pierre. World GTL (Trinidad) was in charge of the project.

so world gtl was in charge of construction...joint project between them and petrotrin...

The plaintiffs said at the behest of Petrotrin, Credit Suisse, was among the financial institutions approached to provide funding, largely because a former T&T Finance Minister was at Credit Suisse. The financial institution agreed to provide a US $125 million credit facility and on January 12, 2007, the plaintiffs and Petrotrin entered certain financial agreements.

blah blah blah and they get a loan from credit suisse...

[quote]

Postby Country_Bookie » March 2nd, 2010, 12:11 pm

Redman wrote:Alternative financing was offered and the directive came down to deal with CSFB,

Again politics screws up excellent opportunities for us.

Sadly this will cost the country a tidy sum.
Later

Based on the timeline, Conrad Enill and Christine Sahadeo were the Ministers in the Ministry of Finance at the time, with Manning being the finance minister. I’m guessing Enill was the one with ties to Credit Suisse?

You have to wonder about some of these transactions involving State enterprises and international banks…...the Petrotrin 9.75% 2019s being an obvious example.

Postby tr1ad » March 2nd, 2010, 12:17 pm

ah boy bechtel lining up for a lawsuit against petrotrin

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 2nd, 2010, 12:21 pm

tr1ad wrote:ah boy bechtel lining up for a lawsuit against petrotrin

i eh saying nuttin eh, it have certain I.T managers that does be lurking on the boards looking to make trouble in dat office.
i eh want no trouble to fall on meh ex-colleagues..