W.T.K entry level cheap affordable car

dandadda007

W.T.K entry level cheap affordable car

Postby dandadda007 » March 19th, 2010, 3:37 pm

Hey tuners....Would like to get your ideas on what is a great first car for a young driver with about 3 yrs experience driving. Taking into account availability and affordability of parts. Also, would like to know which is the better way of thinking...GOOD ENGINE AND BODY IN NEED OF WORK OR.... GOOD BODY AND IN NEED OF AN ENGINE, as far as costs are concerned to rectify the respective problem. Oh and age of vehicle doesn't matter as long as getting insurance isn't difficult. Can be between $5000-$10,000 (Not looking to buy right now) All types and models welcome!!!! THANKS!!
Last edited by dandadda007 on March 19th, 2010, 4:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » March 19th, 2010, 3:54 pm

Datsun 120Y

dandadda007

Postby dandadda007 » March 19th, 2010, 4:02 pm

Nice..... keep'em coming tuners!!! I know allyuh went through this phase too!

Postby MG Man » March 19th, 2010, 4:11 pm

dandadda007

Postby dandadda007 » March 19th, 2010, 4:19 pm

"A" for effort "F" cause yuh eh answer the question yet! Try again SERIOUSLY!

devrat

Postby devrat » March 19th, 2010, 4:24 pm

Dude you put a range of $0.00 to $10,000.00
He just showing what you could get for $0.00.....i find it worth it.

Postby tr1ad » March 19th, 2010, 4:25 pm

shhhhhhhhhhhhhh

he got an A for effort and an F for lack of understanding

Postby Chimera » March 19th, 2010, 4:27 pm

$10,000 :|

You need to look at the BMX line of vehicles

dandadda007

Postby dandadda007 » March 19th, 2010, 4:28 pm

I saw the $0....Leme hear what i could get for the 10k now...

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » March 19th, 2010, 4:28 pm

dandadda007 wrote:I saw the $0....Leme hear what i could get for the 10k now...
Last edited by Midnight_Demon on March 19th, 2010, 4:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » March 19th, 2010, 4:29 pm

$0-$10000 ???:lol:

Is best he/she put that money in savings until he/she financial situation improves

Postby MG Man » March 19th, 2010, 4:32 pm

dandadda007 wrote:"A" for effort "F" cause yuh eh answer the question yet! Try again SERIOUSLY!

u forgot the
HYM and C

d spike

Postby d spike » March 19th, 2010, 4:33 pm

120y... it bess :mrgreen:

But seriously, (I just said that to rattle a certain tuner's cage) it's a decent ride. Two questions though.
Are you capable of doing your own repairs? Nothing 'major surgery' style, but if you aren't afraid of getting dirty and doing things like tune/clean a carb, change springs and shocks, then an older car is a breeze to maintain at minimum cost.

"young driver" How young is 'young'? Older cars are easier to work on, parts are cheaper... but the sort of insurance companies that will cover such a car (only a few of them left now, I think) require you to be 25 and over. If you have an older relative who thinks highly of you, then insure the car in their name... especially if they have a good record with the same insurance company, as such a car may not be considered insurable with young you behind the wheel.

Regarding this:
"GOOD ENGINE AND BODY IN NEED OF WORK OR.... GOOD BODY AND IN NEED OF AN ENGINE, as far as costs are concerned to rectify the respective problem."
This depends on your abilities and or the resources available to you.
If you can do your own body-work, or are willing to learn as you go along, pick choice #1. (My choice too, especially if you consider that you prefer to reach where you are going, rather than what you look like while attempting to do so. Shutting down on the side of the road is bad business these days.)
I hardly ever advise anyone to choose #2. Of course, if you have access to a garage and or a trustworthy mechanic (and you are a "dude"... or you don't "need" the car right away) then go with that choice, if you want.
A new engine costs more money in one shot... an older one located in the hulk of what was a car in a friendly neighbour's yard is a better choice as far as the zeros in your bank account are concerned AS LONG AS YOU ARE BEING PROPERLY ADVISED REGARDING THE CHOICE OF ENGINE.

As far as the type of car... I am heavily biased. Rear wheel drive FTW. Parts are easier to change on your own, and the velocity joints of older vehicles seem to not last as long as they should.
Ford Escort - sweet... too sweet, perhaps - many owners won't sell.
Ford Cortina - There are some for sale out there (I know of two, $5,500 and $6,000 respectively)
A little heavier than what I would advise for a first-timer... but you said 3yrs experience
120y - all models great for a starter car - my favourite is the 210B, the rounded one (sniff :cry: I miss Betsy)
Other Datsuns too, (if you can pry the owner's fingers from off the wheel) like 1200, 1500...
Toyota KE30, (the KE20 is great, but there are fellahs out there who won't let you sleep until you sell it to them :lol: )

Older cars than these are great, but not exactly for first-timers, as parts can be elusive - and major surgery might be required. Remember, the main reason why someone would sell a car is that they DON'T WANT IT. Make damn sure you aren't carting someone else's garbage home. Luckily, plenty folks today are easily affected by what they see (nice car, plenty bling - and that saccharine word - modern) and even more affected by what empty-headed people say (Boi, yuh drivin' dat ol' t'ing still?)... so there are good chariots out there... just make sure whoever is advising you believes that you have plenty experience in making people suffer. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Cheers

d spike

Postby d spike » March 19th, 2010, 4:34 pm

Michael Knight... wrote:Datsun 120Y

YEAH!!!!

netsket

Postby netsket » March 19th, 2010, 7:05 pm

well today someone told me they looking to buy a car for $60,000....i was wondering wat they cud really get for that price...now i seeing dis man limit is $10,000?!!! :shock:....u might get ah jetski if u lucky!!! better look at scooters

btw let me know if u have anything for $60,000 to sell

ravstaar

Postby ravstaar » March 19th, 2010, 7:14 pm

A BESS CORTINA.....

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 19th, 2010, 7:31 pm

meh first car cost $7,000.
a box lancer.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » March 19th, 2010, 7:32 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: ......u will get ah ZABOOOCAAAA

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 19th, 2010, 7:46 pm

MG Man wrote:Image

...... :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

with a budget of $5000-$10,000 even up to 10yrs ago u might get something decent but in this day & age u eh getting dat - even if u get anything for 10k expect to pay 10k more in repairs to get it in decent condition

if u cant afford it right then save ur $ towards about 40k to get something trouble free & reliable like say a B15 ....

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 19th, 2010, 10:44 pm

b11-b12
ke70 ae80
323 626

oxidation

Postby oxidation » March 19th, 2010, 11:08 pm

Postby Damien » March 19th, 2010, 11:08 pm

Might get a decent laser for that money, there is a guy on chase village main road before billy's parts place coming from st Mary's junction he have alot of cars in your price range

d spike

Postby d spike » March 19th, 2010, 11:21 pm

netsket wrote:well today someone told me they looking to buy a car for $60,000....i was wondering wat they cud really get for that price...now i seeing dis man limit is $10,000?!!! :shock:....u might get ah jetski if u lucky!!! better look at scooters

d spike wrote:plenty folks today are easily affected by what they see (nice car, plenty bling - and that saccharine word - modern)

If you want a car for under $10,000, then one must expect what goes with the territory... You'll be damned lucky to get minimal rust and no filler - but even such cars do exist. You have to know where to look. You also have to know what to look for.
If you are accustomed to growing tomatoes, I wouldn't ask your advice about growing citrus... you'd probably tell me about stakes and molding them up, not to mention expecting a crop in a handful of months, and then rooting up the plants after a couple of harvests to replant!
If you are accustomed to working in the car market where prices are in excess of $60,000, then you would hardly be likely to know about those ones under 10 grand. Especially the good ones.

As the actress said to the bishop, "You have to know what you're looking for."

:wink: :lol: :lol:

Postby shogun » March 19th, 2010, 11:30 pm

Last edited by shogun on March 20th, 2010, 12:10 am, edited 2 times in total.

d spike

Postby d spike » March 19th, 2010, 11:57 pm

Dandadda007, old cars are cheaper the further south you go. Barrackpore, for example, has always had some sweet deals (you just need to know someone in the area).
Use the classifieds (the Express is the best) but mainly for getting ideas about prices, not deals. Old cars generally sell by 'word of mouth'. Mainly due to not getting sold this way, is why they end up in the papers - and you can guess why they couldn't get sold.
Bigger cars' body metal seem to get more fatigued due to the greater stresses placed on it by the heavier car, so my dotish advice is to stick to smaller cars of the same age (also, if yuh watchin' yuh pocket, smaller cars = less paint, less metal to rust/prepare, less filler to buy, less stress on suspension parts, smaller (and thus cheaper) parts, easier to work on, bits and pieces last longer...)

An old front wheel drive is a migraine looking for a victim. :lol:

Banzai1

Postby Banzai1 » March 20th, 2010, 12:32 am

0-10k??

For sure

Mitsubishi with some chromes and change to carry de gf for dinner.........

:roll: :mrgreen:

d spike

Postby d spike » March 20th, 2010, 11:28 am

Banzai1 wrote:0-10k??

For sure

Mitsubishi with some chromes and change to carry de gf for dinner.........

:roll: :mrgreen:

:oops: :oops:
I didn't mean tuh diss allyuh box-lancer men by leaving out dat particular ride... buh ah mean, de man say below $10,000... allyuh worse dan Austin Cambridge/Morris Minor men... de t'ing would rotting in de yard... only a setta jep makin' nest in it... dog having pups in it... glass missing... engine seize...
And allyuh only making face and cutting style, saying "Ah cyah go lower dan $15,000... only yesterday ah bounce de starter an' it start... one time!"
(TELL MIH AH LIE, NAH!!! :lol: ) Ask Zodi if he selling, and fuh how much, nah... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Chimera » March 20th, 2010, 11:41 am

look for a car that was used in a robbery/murder and was eventually returned to the owners

they guh be selling it cheap

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » March 20th, 2010, 12:33 pm

Box lancer, Ford Laser or Mazda 323...the latter two have many interchangeable parts...may be able to find a good one around just around your price range...
Good luck :)

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » March 20th, 2010, 12:41 pm

you can choose either of these. BMW/BENZ hybrid or the Mack Truck - Jackass trim