Tire Selection

Postby boostbaby » April 26th, 2010, 10:20 am

What's the widest tire could fit on an 18*8/8.5 rim lookin at 255/265-35 18
Any suggestionsis this too big or should i use 245

Postby crazybalhead » April 26th, 2010, 10:23 am

8-8.5 is a fair difference. I find with 245 tyres on an 8.5" rim there is a little tramlining, and I've heard it's worse with 255. I think 255's are the most you should go. 9" and up you can fit 265's.

boostbaby

Postby boostbaby » April 26th, 2010, 10:55 am

when u say tram lining not good with the terms

Postby crazybalhead » April 26th, 2010, 10:59 am

boostbaby wrote:when u say tram lining not good with the terms

The tendency for the tyres to follow ruts and imperfections in the road. It gives an unsettling feeling to the steering, on Trinidad's bad roads this is a real issue.

It's worse with some tyres.

boostbaby

Postby boostbaby » April 26th, 2010, 11:13 am

thanx

Freelander

Postby Freelander » April 26th, 2010, 12:11 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
boostbaby wrote:when u say tram lining not good with the terms

The tendency for the tyres to follow ruts and imperfections in the road. It gives an unsettling feeling to the steering, on Trinidad's bad roads this is a real issue.

It's worse with some tyres.

im currently experiancing this reallyy badddd!!!!!!

and i have the OEM V7 sti wheels with the stock RE070s thin tire width is 225

air wick

Postby air wick » April 26th, 2010, 2:04 pm

i have 225 in front and 235 at the rear.... i get that unsettling feeling, except when i on smooth roads

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 26th, 2010, 3:23 pm

Travis wrote:i have 225 in front and 235 at the rear.... i get that unsettling feeling, except when i on smooth roads

probably not the best idea

air wick

Postby air wick » April 26th, 2010, 3:27 pm

can you plz explain why?

Freelander

Postby Freelander » April 26th, 2010, 3:53 pm

Travis wrote:can you plz explain why?

awd dude

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 26th, 2010, 4:21 pm

i get that too ... but thats cause i rolling on 195 wide on a 7" rim with 38 offset infront
and 195 - 6" rim 42 offset in the rear :| :| :|

stupid ... i know

Postby crazybalhead » April 26th, 2010, 4:46 pm

But it nice for Dex man!!! Your only problem is yuh actually have to DRIVE to wuk now!

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 26th, 2010, 5:07 pm

stick to 225 on an 8"

Postby crazybalhead » April 26th, 2010, 5:08 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:stick to 225 on an 8"

No I would say 235. An evo 7-9 comes with an 8" rim standard and carries a 235 tyre.

air wick

Postby air wick » April 26th, 2010, 8:09 pm

Freelander wrote:

awd dude

I see but i tought that once you maintained the same height right around everything will be fine. I maintained the 45 as height, the only difference is the 225 in F and 235 in the R.

Thanks for the info, I'll know better when i change tyres next time

I used this tyre calculator -

http://www.mjmotorfactors.co.uk/tyrecalc.php

the 225/45/17 is 24.97" high and the 235/45/17 is 25.33" high so I'm off by 0.36" but it's not that visible though

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 26th, 2010, 9:32 pm

Travis wrote:
Freelander wrote:

awd dude

I see but i tought that once you maintained the same height right around everything will be fine. I maintained the 45 as height, the only difference is the 225 in F and 235 in the R.

Thanks for the info, I'll know better when i change tyres next time

I used this tyre calculator -

http://www.mjmotorfactors.co.uk/tyrecalc.php

the 225/45/17 is 24.97" high and the 235/45/17 is 25.33" high so I'm off by 0.36" but it's not that visible though

not visible till your transfer case starts churning up something fierce,then you'll really be in a pickle

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 27th, 2010, 12:36 am

do like me, run 225 on 9" wheels @ the rear, and 215 on 8" in the front :lol:

Stretch FTW

air wick

Postby air wick » April 27th, 2010, 10:39 am

things sorted out right now... 225/45 all around