HTC G1 help!!!!!

Postby dougla_boy » May 24th, 2010, 11:43 am

Tuners, i need alil help, i have a HTC G1 phone, some once gave it to me, and it was working perfectly, but i reset the phone back to factory settings, and it wiped he phone clean. now when i tried to start back up the phone, it tells me i need to sign in with a google account, when i inserted a data sim to sign up, i am getting an error message.....................can anyone help me unlock it?? or knows some one to unlock it???

Re: HTC G1 help!!!!!

Postby cinco » May 24th, 2010, 11:45 am

pee on it

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 24th, 2010, 11:48 am

can you use wifi to sign up?

Postby dougla_boy » May 24th, 2010, 12:11 pm

rodfarva wrote:can you use wifi to sign up?

nope, nothing, it jus stuck at d point where u have to sign in with gmail account. if u kno anybody, yeah, let me kno, cuz i really wanna get d phone running soooon..

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 24th, 2010, 1:30 pm

cenile indian

Postby cenile indian » May 24th, 2010, 1:35 pm

Did the previous owner sign in with a gmail account ?
If yes you need to use that account 2 sign in and if that still doesn't work try:
1. Turn Off The Phone Properly
2. Press & hold the HOME key + Power Key (After It Starts It will take U to the Recovery Mode)
3. Press Alt + W (It Will Do Wipe / Factory Reset)
4. After The 3 lines are displayed, It ll ask to press HOME + BACK
5. Press Home + Back Keys

Kish

Postby Kish » May 24th, 2010, 2:48 pm

you always get the google login screen when you factory reset the phone. you need to either use an apn or wifi to go online so you can sign in to google. however there are roms that allow you to skip this step and use the phone without signing in to google.

try cyanogen's latest mod. i'm using it atm and it's based on android 2.1 and it works well so far on the G1. or just go online and sign into google. (press menu when you are at the google login screen you can see your options there)

Postby Greypatch » May 24th, 2010, 3:46 pm

use a gmail account to work the other features of the phone ?

are the basic features working (phone data ?)

Kish

Postby Kish » May 24th, 2010, 3:53 pm

the stock roms require you to sign in to your google account b4 u can use the phone, at least 1.5 and 1.6 were like that. so he may have no choice but to sign in first or reflash with a hacked rom.

kevinsonny

Postby kevinsonny » May 24th, 2010, 5:05 pm

when i bougt my phone i had to sign up with my google account to gain the features in the phone,, all you gotta do is let the person sign in with their gmil account and the phone should work fine.

GorgonZuki

Postby GorgonZuki » May 24th, 2010, 9:33 pm

dougla_boy, message me and I would tell you what to do. It simple doh worry, once you have d data sim.

Postby dougla_boy » May 25th, 2010, 7:38 am

fellas thanks for d help, i have a partner workin on it, but he is ketchin his royal aunt, uncle an nenen.........but i shud get feed back from him today, an will let u kno if i may need to check one of yall to help me sort it out.

Postby dougla_boy » May 25th, 2010, 12:05 pm

bump for more help na fellas!!!!!

achillies

Postby achillies » May 25th, 2010, 4:37 pm

U have to get a data sim and configure the apn. I think its just 'Internet' for tstt then u will be able to sign on using the data network.

Postby dougla_boy » May 26th, 2010, 1:49 pm

bump for more help tuners!

Postby stev » May 26th, 2010, 3:29 pm

simple stuff man....u cant sign in cuz wifi wud be off...and if u have a data sim...u cant sign in cuz of diff settings. jus download a unlocked ROM and flash it.

check this... http://www.brighthub.com/mobile/google- ... 42677.aspx

Postby dougla_boy » May 30th, 2010, 12:31 pm

Fellas, I got through with the phone, right now I using the phone to type this message. :)