We have too much damn holidays

civic minded

We have too much damn holidays

Postby civic minded » June 2nd, 2010, 9:24 pm

Tomorrow is Corpus Christi , monday was Indian Arrival Day - We have way too much holidays in Trinidad - And I think since we are a multiracial and multirelgious society then each of the major religions in Trinidad and Tobago should have 1 national holiday each
So right now
Hindus have Divali
Muslims have Eid
Christians have Easter, Corpus Christi, Christmas.

Since the majority of the population is Christians i think its only fair that we remove corpus christi as a national holiday leaving Christmas and Easter.

Now i am not disputing the fact that it is an important holiday to the Christian community but fair is fair....

Discuss

Re: We have too much damn holidays

Postby foss » June 2nd, 2010, 9:26 pm

so u rather work instead?

Postby Trini Hookah » June 2nd, 2010, 9:28 pm

the Atheists approve of this thread

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 2nd, 2010, 9:29 pm

syrians are a race - i am talking about religious holidays

What about Boxing day???? the only reason that is a holiday is because its after Xmas - It holds no significance to Trinidad and Tobago other than a rest day after Xmas

And yes i rather work

Postby foss » June 2nd, 2010, 9:30 pm

i doh business bout what anyone say, i much rather skin out than wukk

Postby foss » June 2nd, 2010, 9:32 pm

civic minded wrote:syrians are a race - i am talking about religious holidays

What about Boxing day???? the only reason that is a holiday is because its after Xmas - It holds no significance to Trinidad and Tobago other than a rest day after Xmas

And yes i rather work

if you rather wukk, u need to get ah wukk in d oil .. check kfc :|

and boxing day does not apply to Trinidad alone :drinking:

Postby Trini Hookah » June 2nd, 2010, 9:36 pm

foss wrote:
civic minded wrote:syrians are a race - i am talking about religious holidays

And yes i rather work

if you rather wukk, u need to get ah wukk in d oil .. check kfc :|

and boxing day does not apply to Trinidad alone :drinking:

i feel de man eh get no gifts fuh Christmas so this is his revenge thread

1tote

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 2nd, 2010, 9:42 pm

actually i have my own business and every holiday is a loss in productivity - which i am sure your bosses also feel whenever there is a holiday

And regarding Boxing Day - what is really the significance?? I know i can google it and it say its a day to give the poor and needy food and other crap but dammit you give a damn holiday for that? We need to review the holidays in Trinidad - clearly there are holidays that hold no significance here

Postby RASC » June 2nd, 2010, 9:46 pm

Too MANY...not too much.

Pet Peeve of mine.

Carry on--->

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 2nd, 2010, 9:49 pm

civic minded wrote:actually i have my own business and every holiday is a loss in productivity - which i am sure your bosses also feel whenever there is a holiday

And regarding Boxing Day - what is really the significance?? I know i can google it and it say its a day to give the poor and needy food and other crap but dammit you give a damn holiday for that? We need to review the holidays in Trinidad - clearly there are holidays that hold no significance here

im sure your employees do not hold your view.

angrytuner

Postby angrytuner » June 2nd, 2010, 9:50 pm

actually i have my own business and every holiday is a loss in productivity - which i am sure your bosses also feel whenever there is a holiday

can't milk the population on a public holiday can you?

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » June 2nd, 2010, 10:05 pm

I love to work, but I love holidays more. Nothing wrong in having too many holidays... :)

Postby M_2NR » June 2nd, 2010, 10:08 pm

I find indian arrival and emancipation holidays are a waste. Sorry but why you'd need a holiday for that?

Muslims get a holiday for Eid-ul-Fitr, when Eid-ul-Adha is the "bigger" one...

Postby buzz » June 2nd, 2010, 10:17 pm

M_2nr wrote:I find indian arrival and emancipation holidays are a waste. Sorry but why you'd need a holiday for that?

i agree, it promotes more division IMO, if anything, independence day should be held with the highest esteem, but alas 3rd world mentality is third world mentality

jus look @ our march past :| any way yeah

WRT to holidays being a loss in business - public holidays are public holidays even if you open shop (depending on the business of course) expenditure may outweigh you income

Monthly paid ? - day off with pay

Daily Paid ? - double time

don't see the big fuss :|

ah yes scratch meh balls whole day tomorrow an get pay :fadein:

Smokey

Postby Smokey » June 2nd, 2010, 10:24 pm

It is a problem and then again it isn't.....some holidays I believe are unnecessary like Corpus Christi...so that's one of the list.

But is quite foolish to remove the Boxing Day Holiday......people have to stop only looking at the bottom line because life is not all about that. That is why real first world countries will give workers much more time off, flexibility etc....basically more family time.

Most families have get togethers during Boxing day as it's during the xmas seasons when a lot of foreign trinis come back home to spend time with their loved ones.

What is the point of making such a day like that a work day when the workers who do show to work will be unproductive and depressed.

That is why I give my staff the entire week from Xmas eve to Jan 1st off....once ur not in any job role that is critical then the last week of the year should be an entire public holiday week.....everyone needs some rest and family time.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » June 2nd, 2010, 10:27 pm

^^ so based on what your saying Divali and Eid should also be "unnecessary" holidays as well, right? :roll:

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » June 2nd, 2010, 10:34 pm

don't forget, labour day is about 2 weeks away :lol: :lol:

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » June 2nd, 2010, 10:38 pm

civic minded wrote:Tomorrow is Corpus Christi , monday was Indian Arrival Day - We have way too much holidays in Trinidad - And I think since we are a multiracial and multirelgious society then each of the major religions in Trinidad and Tobago should have 1 national holiday each
So right now
Hindus have Divali
Muslims have Eid

Since the majority of the population is Christians i think its only fair that we remove corpus christi as a national holiday leaving Christmas and Easter.

Now i am not disputing the fact that it is an important holiday to the Christian community but fair is fair....

Discuss

U do know that Christianity is comprised of several different variations of the religion right?
Christianity - catholic, pentecostal, protestant eastern orthodox, anglican, monophysite, Latter-day Saints, Evangelical, SDA's, AIC's, Jehovah Witnesses, just to name a few.

Therefore your little idea of 1 holiday for each would result in a lot more holidays if that were the case, so take a chill pill and relax ur cnut.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » June 2nd, 2010, 10:38 pm

man UDFR!!!, like u doh get paid for holidays...:|, das y u vex...lol

Postby buzz » June 2nd, 2010, 10:47 pm

btw christmas is NOT a christian holiday :arrow:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 2nd, 2010, 10:54 pm

TriniVdub wrote:
civic minded wrote:Tomorrow is Corpus Christi , monday was Indian Arrival Day - We have way too much holidays in Trinidad - And I think since we are a multiracial and multirelgious society then each of the major religions in Trinidad and Tobago should have 1 national holiday each
So right now
Hindus have Divali
Muslims have Eid

Discuss

U do know that Christianity is comprised of several different variations of the religion right?
Christianity - catholic, pentecostal, protestant eastern orthodox, anglican, monophysite, Latter-day Saints, Evangelical, SDA's, AIC's, Jehovah Witnesses, just to name a few.

Therefore your little idea of 1 holiday for each would result in a lot more holidays if that were the case, so take a chill pill and relax ur cnut.

And apparently You dont know that Hinduism and Muslim have sects as well too!!
I know for the hindus there is the Divine Life Society , the Arya, Sanatan Dhuram , and so much i can't list here.
So catholics, pentecostals whatever - falls under Christanity!! Gezzz grow a brain nah!!

Postby Damien » June 2nd, 2010, 11:06 pm

d phoq :| :| :|

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » June 2nd, 2010, 11:14 pm

foss wrote:i doh business bout what anyone say, i much rather skin out than wukk

ROFL...foss you duz rell crack me up sometimes

rossi

Postby rossi » June 2nd, 2010, 11:33 pm

Who complains about "too much" holidays??????
..........really.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 2nd, 2010, 11:33 pm

So to be fair lets give the Christians two holidays and other faiths 1 each.

So Christians choose 2 from - Christmas, Easter, Corpus Chirsti and Good Friday.

(Christmas is a christian holiday as it is regarded worldwide as the birthdate of Christ - therefore religious - and yes i know people will argue that it isn't but that's why i said REGARDED- and it is overall accepted so stop griping!)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 2nd, 2010, 11:34 pm

rossi wrote:Who complains about "too much" holidays??????
..........really.

at one time - the Chamber of Commerce

rossi

Postby rossi » June 2nd, 2010, 11:48 pm

yes..."at one time".
look at a calendar, not much has changed now, has it?

Postby buzz » June 2nd, 2010, 11:50 pm

civic minded wrote:
(Christmas is a christian holiday as it is regarded worldwide as the birthdate of Christ - therefore religious - and yes i know people will argue that it isn't but that's why i said REGARDED- and it is overall accepted so stop griping!)

still wrong

Postby Trini Hookah » June 2nd, 2010, 11:55 pm

so from your point of view if Christians have 3 holidays, what if Hindus & Muslims were to ask for two more holidays each? :?

Postby MG Man » June 2nd, 2010, 11:57 pm

M_2nr wrote:I find indian arrival and emancipation holidays are a waste. Sorry but why you'd need a holiday for that?

I disagree
The significance of Emancipation can NEVER be understated
Have one called 'National Trini Day' to cover all the other crap but I would not remove Emancipation Day