BP getting lash every which way till Sunday!

Deepthoughts

BP getting lash every which way till Sunday!

Postby Deepthoughts » June 9th, 2010, 8:19 pm

The internet isn't forgivable! lol Fans running amok posting up anti-BP stuff all over. Check out this collection.

http://bit.ly/d6xLJZ

my fav is the sponge bob! :P

Re: BP getting lash every which way till Sunday!

Postby Stephon. » June 9th, 2010, 8:28 pm

People need to leave BP alone, we're all human capable of making mistakes damn :(

Deepthoughts

Postby Deepthoughts » June 9th, 2010, 8:34 pm

Stephon. wrote:People need to leave BP alone, we're all human capable of making mistakes damn :(

Did you know the slick is the size of T&T? Did you ALSO know that in their quest for "profit" they cut back on some things and disregarded other things? "Making mistakes" yes, but at what COST?

Stuff to think about.

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » June 9th, 2010, 8:39 pm

Fuc K Bp

allblacks

Postby allblacks » June 9th, 2010, 8:39 pm

Stephon. wrote:People need to leave BP alone, we're all human capable of making mistakes damn :(

Its apparent that either you work at BP or not in the oil business AT ALL..... :roll: :roll:

Deepthoughts

Postby Deepthoughts » June 9th, 2010, 8:42 pm

This is interesting. Stephon you should read this:

"AP IMPACT: BP spill response plans severely flawed
By JUSTIN PRITCHARD, TAMARA LUSH and HOLBROOK MOHR (AP) – 55 minutes ago
NEW ORLEANS — Glaring errors and omissions in BP's oil spill response plans have exposed a slapdash effort to follow environmental rules, outraging Gulf Coast residents who can see on their beaches how unprepared the company was."

http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/art ... QD9G82F6O0

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 9th, 2010, 8:47 pm

Deepthoughts wrote:

Did you know the slick is the size of T&T?

:shock: OMG did not know that!!! unforgiveable!!!!

Postby sharkman121 » June 9th, 2010, 8:47 pm

Deepthoughts wrote:

Did you know the slick is the size of T&T? Did you ALSO know that in their quest for "profit" they cut back on some things and disregarded other things? "Making mistakes" yes, but at what COST?

Stuff to think about.

hoss dat slick wayyyyy bigger than tnt

Postby Stephon. » June 9th, 2010, 9:08 pm

People keep talking about the disaster it is, yet I'm sure you're writing from your air conditioned room / office, then going to go home or out in your jeep that eats premium gas like crazy which then goes up to the atmosphere thus contributing to destroying the earth. It may be small compared to what happened with the oil spill but its still hypocritical. Americans especially, the fattest country on earth, yet they complain over an ACCIDENT! BP is going to pay for the damages anyway, whats the big deal?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 9th, 2010, 9:26 pm

Stephon. wrote:People keep talking about the disaster it is, yet I'm sure you're writing from your air conditioned room / office, then going to go home or out in your jeep that eats premium gas like crazy which then goes up to the atmosphere thus contributing to destroying the earth. It may be small compared to what happened with the oil spill but its still hypocritical. Americans especially, the fattest country on earth, yet they complain over an ACCIDENT! BP is going to pay for the damages anyway, whats the big deal?

whats the big deal??

i dunno, massive pollution and the devastating environmental disaster??
this ACCIDENT could have been easily avoided if they didnt skimp on safety.. millions of people are affected by this ACCIDENT, fishermen, restaurants, beaches and hotels etc and not to mention the millions of fishes and sealife that will be killed by this..

Do you know, that BP also had this same thing happen in the 70's in the gulf of Mexico, and guess what caused it? the same BOP the using now, and guess how they tried to stop it? using the same methods, in the same order they tried last time, and guess what it failed then and it failed now, it took them 9 months to stop it last time.. and that time it was only 200m under water this time, its 5000ft under water...

the safety and preventative measures associated with deep water drilling are the same for shallow water driller more or less cause the legislation has not been reviewed in decades, because big companies like BP have control over these boards and comities that run the safety etc..

to put into perspective Stephon. if this happened near trinidad, you'll not be eating fish for prob a few years, and you wouldn't be swimming in at any beaches for months if not years, our natural ocean wild life would perish, the delicate reefs in tobago would DIE and along with the fish, turtles and most sea birds. TObago would not have blue water for years.. this would devastate our tourism and more importantly our beautiful invaluable natural environment. and thats just TnT, it would affect the entire Caribbean..

I cant believe i just wrote all that, if you cant understand what the big deal is with this ACCIDENT then you wouldn't understand what i just wrote, after the first few words, your mind went blank and you were already formulating you witty comeback.

Postby Rainman » June 9th, 2010, 9:49 pm

you know what surprises me?
the people who have the most opinions and theories are people who have never been on a rig or offshore platform and have absolutely no experience in the business. Just a bunch of bandwagonists armed with articles from the internet. If they are so concerned about the environment why aren't they saying "oh my, the poor dolphins" instead of "die bp, die" which, in my opinion is the real disaster here, the environment. Priority should be placed on clean up and spill containment, not placing blame! After the cleanup, investigations will be held, the root cause of the accident will be determined and the persons responsible will be held accountable. Before you all go shouting "f@ck bp" think about how much revenue the country will lose if bp closes down.

Postby Stephon. » June 9th, 2010, 10:20 pm

What that guy said. ^

Postby tr1ad » June 9th, 2010, 10:29 pm

nah is how everyone forgets the damage done by the AMERICAN oil companies, but quick to lynch the outsiders

very reminiscent of what the us made toyota do recently

Postby bushwakka » June 9th, 2010, 10:55 pm

all u people who wanna lash out at BP....go back to the phoqin dark age!!! u want modern things.....well then suck up the friggin oil and stfu, cuz this is the price u pay for comfort and convenience!!! stop scapegoating a select group for human's selfish demand

Bezman wrote:to put into perspective Stephon. if this happened near trinidad, you'll not be eating fish for prob a few years, and you wouldn't be swimming in at any beaches for months if not years, our natural ocean wild life would perish, the delicate reefs in tobago would DIE and along with the fish, turtles and most sea birds. TObago would not have blue water for years.. this would devastate our tourism and more importantly our beautiful invaluable natural environment. and thats just TnT, it would affect the entire Caribbean..

btw....this did happen in trinidad in 1979....was the 3rd largest oil spill to date of 90 million gallons
Last edited by bushwakka on June 9th, 2010, 11:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Sky » June 9th, 2010, 11:05 pm

Gotta agree with the last 4 posts.
Remember Piper Alpha? Bun down because the neighboring rig/platform didn't wanna shut down flow to them. They basically fed the flames. But you can't shut down a platform just so. It costs. They didn't know Alpha was being gutted and they made a judgement call to keep flow up. Just like this situation. A man had to make a decision and he made the wrong one. Stop work authority is a funny thing, you can get fired.

Postby tr1ad » June 9th, 2010, 11:19 pm

wasn't exxon spill 10.8 million barrels?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » June 9th, 2010, 11:35 pm

Sky wrote:Gotta agree with the last 4 posts.
Remember Piper Alpha? Bun down because the neighboring rig/platform didn't wanna shut down flow to them. They basically fed the flames. But you can't shut down a platform just so. It costs. They didn't know Alpha was being gutted and they made a judgement call to keep flow up. Just like this situation. A man had to make a decision and he made the wrong one. Stop work authority is a funny thing, you can get fired.

yep. the other 2 rigs in that block were waiting for the OIM to call from onshore and confirm whether to shutdown or not. by the time they did get the call, Piper Alpha was sinking to the bottom of the sea

tr1ad, correct. 10.8 MBBLS; $2.5bn total cleanup cost.

still not the most expensive acciden in history tho :|

Postby tr1ad » June 9th, 2010, 11:49 pm

i not sayin was expensive, 2.5bn then might be 250bn now eh
was just a major n american spill, but like it's forgotten

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » June 9th, 2010, 11:57 pm

understood, but in comparison to the biggest oil spill to date, it is a drop in the ocean (no pun intended)

Prestige Oil Spill
On November 13, 2002, the Prestige oil tanker was carrying 77,000 tons of heavy fuel oil when one of its twelve tanks burst during a storm off Galicia , Spain .. Fearing that the ship would sink, the captain called for help from Spanish rescue workers, expecting them to take the ship into harbour. However, pressure from local authorities forced the captain to steer the ship away from the coast. The captain tried to get help from the French and Portuguese authorities, but they too ordered the ship away from their shores. The storm eventually took its toll on the ship resulting in the tanker splitting in half and releasing 20 million gallons oil into the sea.
According to a report by the Pontevedra Economist Board, the total cleanup cost $12 billion.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 10th, 2010, 7:13 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:
Deepthoughts wrote:

Did you know the slick is the size of T&T?

:shock: OMG did not know that!!! unforgiveable!!!!

i would imagine that over 32 MILLION gallons of oil thus far and counting would go a LONG way to destroying millions of marine life..........

graphixzonett

Postby graphixzonett » June 10th, 2010, 7:46 am

BP will try to pawn this off to Transocean (contractor) as they always do. In the pursuit of profits they(bp) bend/break all the safety rules. To those who have worked offshore for bp or contractors will know very well that I am saying the truth. Down with BP.

Postby tr1ad » June 10th, 2010, 7:47 am

in my 3 years of working alongside BP i have not seen such, rainman can elaborate more

Postby Greypatch » June 10th, 2010, 7:56 am

Question if this spill happened off Trinidad would there be such media coverage and would teh "company" be responding as they are in the US ?

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » June 10th, 2010, 8:02 am

graphixzonett wrote:BP will try to pawn this off to Transocean (contractor) as they always do. In the pursuit of profits they(bp) bend/break all the safety rules. To those who have worked offshore for bp or contractors will know very well that I am saying the truth. Down with BP.

BP will never go down.....in the long run they are very important to the US gov't/economy. The US gov't will keep this in mind.

Aside from paying some fines, they will continue/resume business as usual after this disaster comes to an end.

Foxy

Postby Foxy » June 10th, 2010, 8:23 am

rainman wrote:you know what surprises me?
the people who have the most opinions and theories are people who have never been on a rig or offshore platform and have absolutely no experience in the business. Just a bunch of bandwagonists armed with articles from the internet. If they are so concerned about the environment why aren't they saying "oh my, the poor dolphins" instead of "die bp, die" which, in my opinion is the real disaster here, the environment. Priority should be placed on clean up and spill containment, not placing blame! After the cleanup, investigations will be held, the root cause of the accident will be determined and the persons responsible will be held accountable. Before you all go shouting "f@ck bp" think about how much revenue the country will lose if bp closes down.

Your point is taken but ..... seeing that you have worked on rigs you are fully aware that they do cut corners. You say the income will be cut.... and that's with all disasters, but think about the persons who now have no fishing when fishing is all they know. That is one of the biggest seafood supply areas in America. The Barrier reef is dead dead dead.... the reality is if all industries closed and you had to live natural again we would suffer cause CARELESSNESS like this.

Postby Greypatch » June 10th, 2010, 8:26 am

BP will never go down.....

Hoss don't be so sure eh...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/10281079.stm

Speculation is growing that BP's depressed share price may make it a target for a possible takeover.

"I can understand exactly as to why somebody else would want to buy the BP assets because I think they are grossly undervalued at the moment," said Robert Talbut, of Royal London Asset Management, a BP shareholder.

"As a shareholder, it's not something that I would welcome and it's certainly not at this sort of share price I would be willing to sell at."

In a recent research note, Standard Chartered suggested that PetroChina - a subsidiary of China's state-owned national oil company - should make a bid for BP in order to gain a global presence.

Sully

Postby Sully » June 10th, 2010, 8:50 am

Greypatch wrote:

Speculation is growing that BP's depressed share price may make it a target for a possible takeover.

"I can understand exactly as to why somebody else would want to buy the BP assets because I think they are grossly undervalued at the moment," said Robert Talbut, of Royal London Asset Management, a BP shareholder.

"As a shareholder, it's not something that I would welcome and it's certainly not at this sort of share price I would be willing to sell at."

In a recent research note, Standard Chartered suggested that PetroChina - a subsidiary of China's state-owned national oil company - should make a bid for BP in order to gain a global presence.

So what you doing about ESOP?

Postby Greypatch » June 10th, 2010, 8:57 am

what esop..stock value fell by close to 50 % already

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » June 10th, 2010, 8:58 am

Greypatch wrote:

interesting read but the US gov't wont let it happen

Postby Greypatch » June 10th, 2010, 9:06 am

Someone will have to start buying up BP stock soon to stop the slide in share price.