Postby hindian » August 4th, 2020, 12:23 pm

Lance wrote:Did you get it locally?

Trying to not have to ship it in.
Yes. I sent you a PM...

WestIndian424

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby WestIndian424 » August 4th, 2020, 6:58 pm

Folks can anyone one recommed a welding plant for a noob for home use/vehicle restoration

Lance

Postby Lance » August 4th, 2020, 8:00 pm

Thanks
hindian wrote:
Lance wrote:Did you get it locally?

Trying to not have to ship it in.
Yes. I sent you a PM...

Lance

Postby Lance » August 4th, 2020, 8:01 pm

What sort of metal/welding you would be doing and what's your budget?
Calor wrote:Folks can anyone one recommed a welding plant for a noob for home use/vehicle restoration

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » August 4th, 2020, 9:11 pm

Lance wrote:What sort of metal/welding you would be doing and what's your budget?
Calor wrote:Folks can anyone one recommed a welding plant for a noob for home use/vehicle restoration

no budget really...buying it as an investment..basic home burglar proofing and car body parts

Postby adnj » August 4th, 2020, 9:38 pm

Calor wrote:
Lance wrote:What sort of metal/welding you would be doing and what's your budget?

no budget really...buying it as an investment..basic home burglar proofing and car body parts
Your cost can go from $1000 for an ebay stick welder to more than $35,000 for a Miller Multimatic, or more.

MIG and stick are two processes for steel. MIG is supposedly the easiest to learn. Stick is the most versatile. You will need to decide if you will use 110V or 220V or both.

In my opinion, welders are like guitars. Get one to learn how to play and then you will better know what you want.

If you don't have a welder now, buy a budget flux-core only MIG and buy a budget stick welder. There are budget multiprocess machines if you want to do MIG, TIG and stick with one welder. You can always sell it if you decide to move up.

Also get an auto welding helmet, gloves, clamps and good, quality flux wire and rods.

Lance

Postby Lance » August 4th, 2020, 10:13 pm

For what you're describing, I would do mig.

A good hobbyist machine is the Hobart Handler 125. Goes for about 340usd on Amazon.

Postby Chimera » August 4th, 2020, 10:39 pm

where can i get a okay compressor and nailgun combo

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » August 4th, 2020, 10:40 pm

Lance wrote:For what you're describing, I would do mig.

A good hobbyist machine is the Hobart Handler 125. Goes for about 340usd on Amazon.

Was considering buying an AC/DC lincoln plant...where can i get a mig plant locally?

Postby adnj » August 5th, 2020, 2:06 am

Calor wrote:
Lance wrote:For what you're describing, I would do mig.

Was considering buying an AC/DC lincoln plant...where can i get a mig plant locally?
I believe that SSL, Edoo and FT Farfan carry Lincoln MIGs.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 5th, 2020, 9:01 am

if you want only to weld as a hobbyist is will suggest to buy one of the inverter plants instead .
i purchased my at ssl and works great
it is light so it can be moved around easily . works with either 110 or 220 V

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 5th, 2020, 9:03 am

Any one know where sells excavator parts
looking for a 12''bucket a 36" bucket
an auger motor and 10" bit 12" bit and extensions

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2020, 9:23 am

for stick welding you cant beat a modern inverter unit

the 220v ones are almost as powerful as a lincoln and very light

you can get one on ebay landed for around $1200

hong kong phooey wrote:if you want only to weld as a hobbyist is will suggest to buy one of the inverter plants instead .
i purchased my at ssl and works great
it is light so it can be moved around easily . works with either 110 or 220 V

Postby supercharged turbo » August 5th, 2020, 10:03 am

ACE,Toolzone,Tooltime,Toolhouse just to name a few
Calor wrote:hey folks where can i get an engine hoist besides pricemart

Postby Rovin » August 5th, 2020, 11:19 am

i know i sound like meh record stick eh but my advice is anytime u buying any tools do not go with anything entry level , u will quickly outgrow it & wished u had spent a little more for something just a little bit better .......

Postby rspann » August 5th, 2020, 7:06 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:Any one know where sells excavator parts

Byan on Rochard Douglas sells used tractor parts and I saw buckets by him . Trintrac has augers , extensions and bits .

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » August 5th, 2020, 9:55 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:where can i get a okay compressor and nailgun combo

Massy has good compressors..IR

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 5th, 2020, 10:36 pm

rspann wrote:

Byan on Rochard Douglas sells used tractor parts and I saw buckets by him . Trintrac has augers , extensions and bits .

Hey span thanks for the response
where is this Byan
I drove the rochard Douglas road i found vicki Around #2 scale and also found Vika Around no 6(7) but i did not see Byan.

hindian

Postby hindian » August 6th, 2020, 3:28 am

hong kong phooey wrote:
rspann wrote:

where is this Byan
I drove the rochard Douglas road i found vicki Around #2 scale and also found Vika Around no 6(7) but i did not see Byan.
About 10-15mins drive from barrackpore junction I think on you right hand side. Look for a big walk and huge gate. The company I work for bought a couple foreign used trucks a few years ago.

Postby rspann » August 6th, 2020, 6:57 am

hong kong phooey wrote:
rspann wrote:

where is this Byan

Sorry about that . It's on Rochard Rd . Between Clarke Rd junction and Rock Rd . Phone 681 6774 .

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 6th, 2020, 12:37 pm

rspann wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:
rspann wrote:

where is this Byan

Sorry about that . It's on Rochard Rd . Between Clarke Rd junction and Rock Rd . Phone 681 6774 .

Thanks for the info and help , Greatly appreciated

Postby Ted_v2 » August 6th, 2020, 6:53 pm

i bought this little flux core for 1800 i think by edoos, works fine for my DIY stuff, small burgler proofing, little broken bolts exhaust ect. they have it on sale for 1500 atm. its a 110v model.

they have a 220/110v stick mig tig welder for a little over 3k, thats minus the tig kit and the regulator for the co2 bottle, but its a good start for a DIY.

i love flux core welding because i welding anywhere and this unit going in my back seat and plugging into any outlet.

i however would like a little more control with it (220v) and if it could of done co2 welding even better because sometimes the flux core does be a pain to clean ect.

the smaller razor welds are excellent as well, i was thinking to buy one of the 110v/220v arc welders soon, small compact and durable, it can also do TIG but thats scratch start, not a good idea if u cant tig already i heard.

they have that welding mask for 200-300, made that buy one time. cant grind with it but smalls, have the face shield for that.
IMG_3513.JPG

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 8th, 2020, 2:56 am

Ted_v2 wrote:i bought this little flux core for 1800 i think by edoos, works fine for my DIY stuff, small burgler proofing, little broken bolts exhaust ect. they have it on sale for 1500 atm. its a 110v model.

they have a 220/110v stick mig tig welder for a little over 3k, thats minus the tig kit and the regulator for the co2 bottle, but its a good start for a DIY.

i love flux core welding because i welding anywhere and this unit going in my back seat and plugging into any outlet.

i however would like a little more control with it (220v) and if it could of done co2 welding even better because sometimes the flux core does be a pain to clean ect.

the smaller razor welds are excellent as well, i was thinking to buy one of the 110v/220v arc welders soon, small compact and durable, it can also do TIG but thats scratch start, not a good idea if u cant tig already i heard.

they have that welding mask for 200-300, made that buy one time. cant grind with it but smalls, have the face shield for that.

Ah yes this is the one i bought from ssl razor weld . thats the one that works great . i built a gate with it . burglar proof door etc and no issues .

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » August 9th, 2020, 7:25 pm

Thanks for all the info.. where can i get an impact gun with /socket set for it(locally)

carluva

Postby carluva » August 9th, 2020, 7:30 pm

You can get impact drivers at almost any hardware.

Bhagwansinghs, Laughlin and DeGannes, Ft. Farfan, Southern Supplies Limited are some of the bigger outfits.

IIRC Bhagwansinghs recently had a nice combo with an impact driver and a drill for 895.

If you spending the money, spend it well and don't hesitate to spend a lil more to get a Milwaukee, DeWalt or Makita.

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2020, 7:40 pm

Yeah if you into tools better to commit to a brand so other tools can share batteries

carluva wrote:You can get impact drivers at almost any hardware.

Bhagwansinghs, Laughlin and DeGannes, Ft. Farfan, Southern Supplies Limited are some of the bigger outfits.

IIRC Bhagwansinghs recently had a nice combo with an impact driver and a drill for 895.

If you spending the money, spend it well and don't hesitate to spend a lil more to get a Milwaukee, DeWalt or Makita.

Postby X_Factor » August 9th, 2020, 9:28 pm

Impact driver or impact wrench?
Calor wrote:Thanks for all the info.. where can i get an impact gun with /socket set for it(locally)

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » August 10th, 2020, 6:52 pm

X_Factor wrote:Impact driver or impact wrench?
Calor wrote:Thanks for all the info.. where can i get an impact gun with /socket set for it(locally)

Impact wrench

Postby X_Factor » August 10th, 2020, 7:13 pm

Don't even waste time locally
Jus buy dat and ship via seabox
Screenshot_20200810-191215.jpeg

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » August 10th, 2020, 7:49 pm

Thats a good price...the average price locally was $2k and up
Last edited by WestIndian424 on August 10th, 2020, 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.