:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby maj. tom » November 30th, 2022, 6:18 pm

Where to get an O-ring kit? Need this for the electric pressure washer hose 8mm rubber ring seal.
Going down Bamboo to do some cleanup soon.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 30th, 2022, 6:46 pm

maj. tom wrote:Where to get an O-ring kit? Need this for the electric pressure washer hose 8mm rubber ring seal.
Going down Bamboo to do some cleanup soon.

Most parts place sell loose o-ring from the kit

A/c shops also

Postby maj. tom » December 1st, 2022, 12:35 pm

I got an 8mm ring in a hardware near me. Guy didn't charge for it.

edit: It didn't work. Apparently I need the OEM O-ring for this pressure washer hose. Very tight tolerance fit and the OEM ring is thinner than the regular kit ones. Will check Hadden and hope the Karcher rubber will work.

Postby pugboy » December 1st, 2022, 7:00 pm

those quick connects are pretty standardized
just need to find the correct spec

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 7th, 2022, 1:48 am

what kind of oil does the pressure washer use? 2 cycle oil ?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 7th, 2022, 3:59 am

daring dragoon wrote:what kind of oil does the pressure washer use? 2 cycle oil ?
You could do a search for the engine that drives the pump in your pressure washer and see what's recommended.

Usually it is automotive 10w30 oil with an old spec like API sf/sg for the engine.

If the oil in your pump can be changed the recommendation is usually a non detergent 30 weight oil; or the manufacturer branded pump oil

I have never seen a two stroke power washer yet but anything is possible.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 7th, 2022, 4:41 am

kamakazi wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:what kind of oil does the pressure washer use? 2 cycle oil ?
You could do a search for the engine that drives the pump in your pressure washer and see what's recommended.

Usually it is automotive 10w30 oil with an old spec like API sf/sg for the engine.

If the oil in your pump can be changed the recommendation is usually a non detergent 30 weight oil; or the manufacturer branded pump oil

I have never seen a two stroke power washer yet but anything is possible.

i use two stroke for the brush cutter and i got the pressure washer second hand so idk what oil to use. its a subaru model from pricesmart.

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2022, 7:16 am

it will be a 4stroke so just use the 10w30

Postby maj. tom » December 7th, 2022, 10:49 am

i forgot to add, I got the OEM size 8mm washer at Hadden. Karcher, but it fit in the Black+Decker and works without a leak. So electric pressure washer components you can go Hadden and it's likely the Karcher specs would work for the other big brands that you may have.

Rel pothole in front there though.

Postby sMASH » December 9th, 2022, 9:29 am

not tool, but material.

where in south has chain link reasonable?

so far, between dansteel and union will be for the zinc posts. not to far to drive to find out prices

matix

Postby matix » December 9th, 2022, 10:39 pm

sMASH wrote:not tool, but material.

where in south has chain link reasonable?

so far, between dansteel and union will be for the zinc posts. not to far to drive to find out prices

Trinrico

Postby Chimera » December 10th, 2022, 5:47 am

learn something new everyday yes

more than 3 years now i get chain up to buy a 1hp pump instead of a 3/4 hp or 1/2hp because it was only $200 difference

with smart head..so psi not adjustable

installation was at 2 story business place so i say...yeah that good

well that mc thing start to blow out pipe left right and center

i install a gate valve and have it open halfway thinking it would help...it help a lil bit

only this week the pump shop telling me about a pressure reducing valve that adjustable and does adjust PSI from 200 psi all the way down to 1 psi

does adjust with allen key

he say people mostly use it where they get very high wasa pressure and need to regulate it before it go into their homes

Postby maj. tom » December 10th, 2022, 6:23 am

Is it this? Looks expensive, but obviously worth it. You got one?

https://www.watts.com/resources/references-tools/water-pressure-reducing-valves

But why not change out the pump and buy a 1/2-hp, you can use the 1-hp in the garden or hook it up in separate parallel line to use when gas engine pressure washing or something.

Depends on the use, one of the Chinese brands will be good enough for the house so you wouldn't have to spend big.

And one more thing I learned from a pump dealer this week as we were talking: the smart head fails with many people because of blowback pressure from the house when the pump switches off that makes the gauge go into the red. Yes the head can handle water hammer, but he said to always put a one-way check valve on the output to stop any water pressure blow back spikes that can happen, plus put it on a voltage regulator plug to avoid spikes that will damage the electronics.

I copying this into the pump thread for better reference.

Postby pugboy » December 10th, 2022, 9:29 am

for less the cost of a replacement smarthead you can install a pressure switch and small pressure tank and not have to worry about buying smartheads every year..........

Postby Chimera » December 10th, 2022, 10:09 am

I paid 400
20221210_100709.jpg
20221210_100347.jpg
20221210_100344.jpg
20221210_100341.jpg
20221210_100338.jpg

Postby Chimera » December 10th, 2022, 10:10 am

I feel i hadda get some voltage regulators. I never put that on any pump in my life

Postby Rovin » December 10th, 2022, 11:02 am

so with all these sales in 4rin over d past 2-3 wks : what tools allyuh have santa bringing down for u

i have a few small stuff on d way iirc cable crimper, cat5\6 crimper kit, circular saw blades, router bits ...

trinigoon

Postby trinigoon » December 10th, 2022, 1:50 pm

Rovin wrote:so with all these sales in 4rin over d past 2-3 wks : what tools allyuh have santa bringing down for u

i have a few small stuff on d way iirc cable crimper, cat5\6 crimper kit, circular saw blades, router bits ...
Have a few things impact wrenches and sockets plastic repair kit motorcycle parts a bit set n miscellaneous random lol

Postby sMASH » December 10th, 2022, 6:54 pm

maj. tom wrote:Is it this? Looks expensive, but obviously worth it. You got one?

https://www.watts.com/resources/references-tools/water-pressure-reducing-valves

But why not change out the pump and buy a 1/2-hp, you can use the 1-hp in the garden or hook it up in separate parallel line to use when gas engine pressure washing or something.

Depends on the use, one of the Chinese brands will be good enough for the house so you wouldn't have to spend big.

And one more thing I learned from a pump dealer this week as we were talking: the smart head fails with many people because of blowback pressure from the house when the pump switches off that makes the gauge go into the red. Yes the head can handle water hammer, but he said to always put a one-way check valve on the output to stop any water pressure blow back spikes that can happen, plus put it on a voltage regulator plug to avoid spikes that will damage the electronics.

I copying this into the pump thread for better reference.

thats the industrial version. yeah expensive.

didnt know tthat small one was a pressure reducing valve too. nice...

Postby rollingstock » December 10th, 2022, 7:33 pm

Anyone here ever used those total paint sprayers?
Worth it?
Or should I just drag out the compressor and spray gun. It's just to paint an external wall.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 10th, 2022, 8:24 pm

rollingstock wrote:Anyone here ever used those total paint sprayers?
Worth it?
Or should I just drag out the compressor and spray gun. It's just to paint an external wall.
A padna buy one
He say it working decent
But it if the paint too thick it struggling lil bit.
He says if the paint thin out just enough to give one coat and still come out the gun good, then it will work fine
But as is: either yuh thin it out and hit 2 coats or move rel slow with the paint from the bucket

Postby pugboy » December 10th, 2022, 9:00 pm

they similar to them wagner type ?

Postby rollingstock » December 10th, 2022, 10:48 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Worth it?
A padna buy one
He say it working decent
But it if the paint too thick it struggling lil bit.
He says if the paint thin out just enough to give one coat and still come out the gun good, then it will work fine
But as is: either yuh thin it out and hit 2 coats or move rel slow with the paint from the bucket

Ok cool, watched some reviews, it comes with a 'cup' to test the viscosity of the paint before use.

I'll be the guinea pig.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 10th, 2022, 10:49 pm

pugboy wrote:for less the cost of a replacement smarthead you can install a pressure switch and small pressure tank and not have to worry about buying smartheads every year..........
Boy I thinking to do that right now, put a pressure tank close to the bathrooms that upstairs and put a contactor so the pump will pressurise more and come on sooner, the smart head have the pressure dropping too low for the upstairs bathroom as that's the furthest piping from the pump

Postby De Dragon » December 10th, 2022, 10:57 pm

pugboy wrote:they similar to them wagner type ?

Yes.

Postby Dave » December 11th, 2022, 7:27 am

My Wagner says for water based paint 2/3 paint and 1/3 water mix. For oil it's half and half with a solvent.

Postby Chimera » December 11th, 2022, 7:53 am

Worth it?
roller brush

Postby sMASH » December 11th, 2022, 9:02 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Worth it?
roller brush

padnah was a professional painter, used roller brush on walls.

i had a cheap electric spray gun, and didnt clean it properly once, and that was that. ting needed to break down like a glok to clean out properly.. that was too much time every time.

Postby Rovin » December 11th, 2022, 11:02 am

^^^ almost 20yrs ago i borrowed somebody electric spray gun & had a similar experience , it worked arite but like u said d gun cleaning up took so much finicky time that it discouraged me from ever trying back 1 , u hadda do alot of masking too so all this extra work\time kinda offsets d saved painting time ...

Postby timelapse » December 12th, 2022, 5:55 pm

When last one of you sharpened a brushing cutlass? What's the best way to do this?