:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby nervewrecker » May 25th, 2023, 7:34 am

Generic leads can work on a fluke 325 dmm, anywhere sells such?

Short circuit and idiot happened to mine.

Postby pugboy » May 25th, 2023, 7:51 am

larry holder electrical el socorro has

hindian

Postby hindian » May 26th, 2023, 5:52 am

nervewrecker wrote:Generic leads can work on a fluke 325 dmm, anywhere sells such?

Short circuit and idiot happened to mine.

Shams have a good set. Paid $45 or so for it. I use it on a Fluke 117

Postby pugboy » May 26th, 2023, 6:24 am

yeah, same one I think
keep an extra set

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 30th, 2023, 11:23 pm

Not really a tool but related - anyone seen this selling locally (or anything similar)?

I've seen the fuel stabiliser a few places, but not this.
_IMG_5993.jpg

hindian

Postby hindian » May 31st, 2023, 3:22 am

dredman1 wrote:Not really a tool but related - anyone seen this selling locally (or anything similar)?

The only place I’ve ever seen that brand is Peakes. You could try there

Postby maj. tom » May 31st, 2023, 7:46 am

Try Tune Up Shop, maybe they'll have a different brand. Tbh I don't expect you to find fogging oil locally.

Or a Marine supplies place.

Postby supercharged turbo » June 2nd, 2023, 1:42 am

dredman1 wrote:Not really a tool but related - anyone seen this selling locally (or anything similar)?

I bought this exact fogging oil at ABC Home Center in Aranguez.Never saw it anywhere else locally

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » June 4th, 2023, 12:16 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:

I bought this exact fogging oil at ABC Home Center in Aranguez.Never saw it anywhere else locally

Huh

How long ago was that? I saw the fuel stabilizer there about 3 or 4 weeks ago but didn’t notice the fogging oil

Will give them a check again.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » June 5th, 2023, 1:07 pm

Got it - was kinda hidden and they only had a couple. Thanks bro!!!

Postby maj. tom » June 11th, 2023, 8:45 am

Anywhere local selling this fan rotary switch replacement? For the fan selective speed. Is just to insert the wires back into it. One of the plastic teeth inside break have to replace the whole switch.

ImageImageImageImage

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2023, 8:54 am

the amount of fan ppl does throw away
go by them repair places

Postby maj. tom » June 11th, 2023, 3:42 pm

Lol I just decided to bypass it, soldered the live wire to the the 2nd speed wire permanently and put a click switch on the input cord. Lasko mechanical fan bout 12 years old working every single night, still going strong. Just needed some dusting out.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 11th, 2023, 4:10 pm

maj. tom wrote:Lol I just decided to bypass it, soldered the live wire to the the 2nd speed wire permanently and put a click switch on the input cord. Lasko mechanical fan bout 12 years old working every single night, still going strong. Just needed some dusting out.

Lol i tink my switch on the old fan i put in d yard. The motor like it burn out or sumtin so i jus had it there for parts

Postby Rovin » June 11th, 2023, 5:53 pm

u coulda buy 3 $10 switch & wire up d 3 speeds ...

Postby *KRONIK* » June 12th, 2023, 12:53 pm

Pneumatic guys

I need some help:

Issue 1: i wanna add a secondary regulator to a paint gun and an inline water/oil separator

What is the best order?:

Air hose > dryer > regulator > gun

Or

Air hose > regulator > dryer > gun

Issue 2:

I got a 12v air compressor as a gift
But it comes with its own hose, fittings, guage and they are a bit retarded to use

I prefer to use our standard ¼NPT stuff

Based on what i was able to find out, it uses a Nitto quick detach male/female

So is there any one who can cut a piece of pipe/tube to thread into whatever the fitting (male) to a ¼NPT so i can use a regular air hose?

I already have 2 ¼npt air lines and my tire inflator already has same NPT fittings
So i prefer go this route

Postby adnj » June 12th, 2023, 1:19 pm

If you can find a ¼" BSP (the British standard/NPT is US) barbed fitting, you can have a hose made from that. I believe that Peakes carries some BSP brass fittings.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 12th, 2023, 1:56 pm

adnj wrote:If you can find a ¼" BSP (the British standard/NPT is US) barbed fitting, you can have a hose made from that. I believe that Peakes carries some BSP brass fittings.
I know about the NPT/BSP things
Thats not the issue

This issue is the Nitto end, its bigger version of the regular NPT stuff we use locally

But the end that screws into the compressor is 11.87mm with a fine thread pitch
So if i can match it to a tap/bolt, i can probably ask a machine shop to make the end for me and thread the other end of the tube to NPT

Postby *KRONIK* » June 12th, 2023, 2:09 pm

Lemme see if this pic helps

All the items labelled A are the same thread
So the tube is female threaded A and the QC male fitting end screws into the tube.
The dual the male threaded fittin with A & B, the B end screws into the compressor and A end into the other side of the tube.
C is a regular NPT hose fitting

20230612_135736.jpg

matix

Postby matix » June 12th, 2023, 2:13 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Lemme see if this pic helps

So the tube is female threaded A and the QC male fitting end screws into the tube.
The dual the male threaded fittin with A & B, the B end screws into the compressor and A end into the other side of the tube.

20230612_135736.jpg

Walk with the fittings and the tool if needed.
Trinidad Hose / Trintrac
Parker Store / CASL

Postby *KRONIK* » June 12th, 2023, 2:16 pm

matix wrote:

20230612_135736.jpg

Walk with the fittings and the tool if needed.
Trinidad Hose / Trintrac
Parker Store / CASL
I went eswil amd sent a padna by trinidad hose, none of them had anything to work or act as a coupling

Postby adnj » June 12th, 2023, 2:43 pm

20230612_135736.jpg

B looks to me like it might be a BSPT adapter, the tapered version of BSP.
I was suggesting a barbed BSP fitting (also called a hose tail) that would attach to the A side of the AB adapter. If you can't find a female BSP, use a threaded brass coupling to attach a male fitting.

You would need a 1/4" barb (or whatever the hose ID is) with a 1/2" BSP thread.

I a not sure what parts you are trying to salvage but you would be able to connect the hose to the compressor.

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2023, 3:02 pm

how is B sealed ? washer on tip?
i suspect it is straight metric like
most stuff out of china

Postby supercharged turbo » June 12th, 2023, 3:12 pm

dredman1 wrote:

Got it - was kinda hidden and they only had a couple. Thanks bro!!!
Np bro

Postby *KRONIK* » June 12th, 2023, 4:46 pm

adnj wrote:

20230612_135736.jpg

B looks to me like it might be a BSPT adapter, the tapered version of BSP.
I was suggesting a barbed BSP fitting (also called a hose tail) that would attach to the A side of the AB adapter. If you can't find a female BSP, use a threaded brass coupling to attach a male fitting.

You would need a 1/4" barb (or whatever the hose ID is) with a 1/2" BSP thread.

I a not sure what parts you are trying to salvage but you would be able to connect the hose to the compressor.

It looks so in the pics
But by my best estimate
Its an m12x1.0

I have both male and female NPT adapters from a kit, so making up a suitable end isnt an issue

Postby *KRONIK* » June 12th, 2023, 4:47 pm

pugboy wrote:how is B sealed ? washer on tip?
i suspect it is straight metric like
most stuff out of china
Boi
That ting was packedddddddd with thread sealer, the powdery type
Was basically plastered into the compressor outlet

Postby *KRONIK* » June 12th, 2023, 4:52 pm

Update:

A pass by padna to see what he had in his "bolts bucket"
We didnt find anything
We tested a few fitting including AN

Conclusion: we jam a NPT male to male adapter in the tube and brass weld it, so now it can take a regular NPT QC female as theb hose outlet

Update #2: turns out i'm not the only person had this issue, there is a company in Australia that males various nitto to NPT adapters and they had the compresor brand listed as one of the known brands that ppl use the adaptor for.
SMH
I swear i checked online weks ago and searches came back dead.

hindian

Postby hindian » June 13th, 2023, 1:39 pm

I was gonna ask if you checked Lotec but like you got through…

Postby *KRONIK* » June 13th, 2023, 1:47 pm

hindian wrote:I was gonna ask if you checked Lotec but like you got through…
Lol

I still gonna look at options tho

Postby *KRONIK* » June 14th, 2023, 9:24 pm

20230614_205226.jpg

So everything back together, will test by weekend amd see if things functioning proper