:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby adnj » January 17th, 2023, 8:25 pm

jackal wrote:I need it for a hydroponic system running on a rainbird controller to control valves and pumps..
In that case, I probably wouldn't want to solder those solenoid leads, either.

Whosever sells the manifolds locally may also sell the WP wire nuts. I have seen sprinkler gear and landscape lighting at Peake Home Store (and boating and in ground pool gear), they may have them there, also.

If that doesn't work, what you can do is buy a can of Liquid Electrical Tape. That has worked well for me.

Put a standard wire nut on the wires, then with the wires pointing down into the cap, brush on the liquid and let it dry. That should give you a removable, water-tight connection.

Peake usually has the Liquid Electrical Tape.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2023, 5:50 am

how long does the liquid tape last in the tin ?
does it dry out like a used tin of evo stik ?

adnj wrote:
jackal wrote:I need it for a hydroponic system running on a rainbird controller to control valves and pumps..

Whosever sells the manifolds locally may also sell the WP wire nuts. I have seen sprinkler gear and landscape lighting at Peake Home Store (and boating and in ground pool gear), they may have them there, also.

If that doesn't work, what you can do is buy a can of Liquid Electrical Tape. That has worked well for me.

Put a standard wire nut on the wires, then with the wires pointing down into the cap, brush on the liquid and let it dry. That should give you a removable, water-tight connection.

Postby adnj » January 18th, 2023, 6:38 am

pugboy wrote:how long does the liquid tape last in the tin ?

adnj wrote:

It does dry out. I can't really say how long it lasts on the shelf, though.

matix

Postby matix » January 18th, 2023, 7:36 am

adnj wrote:
pugboy wrote:how long does the liquid tape last in the tin ?

adnj wrote:

It does dry out. I can't really say how long it lasts on the shelf, though.

Can it be refrigerated for longer shelf life?

Postby Chimera » January 18th, 2023, 7:48 am

As you talk about waterproof.

I looking for some boxes like this locally to put some non water proof smart motion sensors.

If I can't easily find it just gonna order on Amazon

Screenshot_20230118-074646_Amazon%20Shopping.jpg

Postby adnj » January 18th, 2023, 7:57 am

^^ I don't know. It would depend on the volatile chemicals. I was taught to store volatiles in an additional sealed container and at a cool, steady temperature. I like to reuse wide mouth plastic containers and store them in a dark corner on the ground floor.

I remember opened tubes of silicone sealant and PVC cement reused after two to three years or so after opening. Although I have to say that I wasn't keeping track of shelf time.

Postby Chimera » January 18th, 2023, 8:05 am

I know alot of people keep their pvc sealant in the fridge and it lasts longer but I personally wouldn't want to keep stuff like that near my food stuff

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2023, 8:10 am

boy the cost of them thing just going up and up, use a glass bottle with good sealing lid to keep the tin in.

i used to buy bigger tins just to know I would have some on standby but now it seems to make more sense to have unopened smaller ones instead as once they are opened the clock starts ticking

Phone Surgeon wrote:I know alot of people keep their pvc sealant in the fridge and it lasts longer but I personally wouldn't want to keep stuff like that near my food stuff

Postby Rovin » January 18th, 2023, 10:39 am

somewhere i remember reading seeing all adhesives & resins gone up worldwide past few yrs & yea do seem to thicken after a few mths after being opened

few mths ago i opened a new tube of truper silicone still in original packaging that was left sitting forgotten in a display cabinet home for maybe 10yrs & was surprised that it was still perfectly fine ...

Postby *KRONIK* » January 18th, 2023, 4:57 pm

I always wanted one of these inno

FB_IMG_1674075125629.jpg

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2023, 5:09 pm

they need to start selling paving machine so the small man can compete with contractor 72 for lil road paving jobs

Postby Rovin » January 18th, 2023, 6:09 pm

25gs wow , maybe as a contractor it will eventually pay for itself cause i cant see a private person buying unless he owns alot of property , otherwise hiring 5 vene might work out cheaper ...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 18th, 2023, 6:12 pm

Vene abuse again.... where's Max when you need him?

Postby Rovin » January 18th, 2023, 6:13 pm

so today i went by home expo & bought d total "2200 psi" electric power washer for small light quick jobs $1386 & d "1500 watts" rotary hammer drill $891 ... hopefully tomorrow i get chance to try out both & tell allyuh

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2023, 6:17 pm

make sure and keep yuh warranty

jackal

Postby jackal » January 21st, 2023, 7:11 am

pugboy wrote:how much those rainbird valves costing?

i just setup a regular timer and using it to power a normally closed solenoid valve to water my tomatoes
they are fed with another timer running a leo pump of nutrients tank

I think It was about 20US for one. I brought them in, about 25 or 30 in 2021 together with the timers.

Postby Chimera » January 21st, 2023, 9:16 am

For that kinda item I wud never buy total lol

Postby *KRONIK* » January 24th, 2023, 8:25 am

Fellaz

Where i could TXL wire to buy locally?

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2023, 8:28 am

I looking to buy a bench grinder, will take a chance with total
which of the 2 shops will have it cheaper ?
wanna setup a grinder with diamond stones for sharpening drill bits

Postby Rovin » January 24th, 2023, 10:39 am

pugboy wrote:I looking to buy a bench grinder, will take a chance with total

home expo ppl has their website with alot of products so u cud price it there then head to d tool king who doesnt have a website & i cant recall seeing it on their fb page but u cud still check

i do have a benchtop grinder but i do a quick sharpen of hss drill bits using d side of d blade of my chopsaw, not a perfect way by any means but it works ...

Postby X_Factor » January 24th, 2023, 11:14 am

i was lucky to get the 6 inch for 250 i believe
but i see it selling for 350 now

Postby Chimera » January 24th, 2023, 11:32 am

Rovin wrote:

home expo ppl has their website with alot of products so u cud price it there then head to d tool king who doesnt have a website & i cant recall seeing it on their fb page but u cud still check

i do have a benchtop grinder but i do a quick sharpen of hss drill bits using d side of d blade of my chopsaw, not a perfect way by any means but it works ...
Tool king have a Facebook page where they post prices too

Postby Chimera » January 27th, 2023, 6:45 am

anyone knows where sells vinyl masking liquid locally?

its used to paint over glass and peel off after spray painting so the glass stays clean

Postby Chimera » January 27th, 2023, 6:46 am

Postby Chimera » January 27th, 2023, 6:47 am

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2023, 7:41 am

long time one of them white paper glue used to peel off nice on your hands like fake skin
not sure if the ones they make now can do that once it not porous

matix

Postby matix » January 27th, 2023, 5:26 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:anyone knows where sells vinyl masking liquid locally?

its used to paint over glass and peel off after spray painting so the glass stays clean

If you find it locally, please share

Postby Rovin » January 27th, 2023, 6:25 pm

if its water based paint i paint d edge & a lil bit on d glass & when d paint dries decent enough in a few hrs i use same blade like what they using to cut that liquid mask with & scrape off d paint ... if u take ur time u wont scratch back d painted surface & it comes out looking neat

Postby maj. tom » January 27th, 2023, 6:59 pm

I just use masking tape. They have painter's tape locally which has less adhesive and very easy to peel off.
That liquid mask thing just looking like a whole set of extra work and money and TIME vs 10 minutes to tape up some window edges.

Postby Chimera » January 27th, 2023, 7:07 pm

I feel that liquid masking tape much faster than taping off the glass