Website payment options Paypal etc TT

Rocketraz1982

Website payment options Paypal etc TT

Postby Rocketraz1982 » July 28th, 2010, 7:04 am

Hey what are the ecommerce payment options when you live in TT and want to order somthing online either local or world wide.... Can Paypal be used for sending and receiving money??

Re: Website payment options Paypal etc TT

Postby hydroep » July 28th, 2010, 7:14 am

Lots of threads on this topic. e.g.:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=269912&hilit=paypal

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » July 28th, 2010, 9:39 am

Sorry put paypal but not necessarily the Payment option I like or would want to use....
Maybe should have asked....

Is there anyone that owns a website that has a ecommerce option for payments and then sending the goods.. Reason im asking is I have a motorcycle trade parts account in Europe selling new and used parts from all the top manufactures. Have been asked by many many people if I could set something up so they could order and pay for products online & I ship direct to TT "GIFT" ... Problem is UK banks are very tight now or sending goods outside the EU due to not being able to verify card address details ETC ETC.. Cant send anything to the far east and they are even very tight on Aus and New Zealand...

In europe its easy just use a Visa card number punch some security info into the card terminal jobs a gooden..

So how do you peeps prefer to make your online transactions and what system have you found that gives you the least hassle??

I have no past experience with Trinidad banks hence the reason for a stupid question.. :roll:

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » July 28th, 2010, 10:25 am

I use paypal to pay for almost all my transactions online. The added benefit is that you are "insured" for the value paid if goods are not received.

Its less risk involved rather than give out your cc number to every potential supplier out there.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 28th, 2010, 10:30 am

I prefer Paypal or international credit card when purchasing online.
I've used 2checkout already with no hassle as well.

xauss

Postby xauss » July 28th, 2010, 11:26 am

Question though: let's say I wanna do an e-commerce website as a merchant selling goods of my own and offering a storefront for other businesses to sell online. What are my options for setting up a secure payment processing portal so that customers can pay via credit card on my site? Anyone did this already in TT? Trinituner uses any kinda payment processing on its site? Some info would be appreciated. 8-)

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 28th, 2010, 11:41 am

Not sure if Paypal would recognize a TT bank account, but I use Paypal's payment Pro with my Zencart shopping cart and it work's great. IMO, it's worth the $30 monthly fee. You can take credit cards via phone or on the road.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 28th, 2010, 12:42 pm

xauss wrote:Question though: let's say I wanna do an e-commerce website as a merchant selling goods of my own and offering a storefront for other businesses to sell online. What are my options for setting up a secure payment processing portal so that customers can pay via credit card on my site? Anyone did this already in TT? Trinituner uses any kinda payment processing on its site? Some info would be appreciated. 8-)

Paypal is very limited to what you can do in T&T with regards to receiving money to your account.

2 checkout seems to be a viable option depending on what you are selling and the markup since 2checkout fees are high

Scotiabank offers a secure online credit card facility for your e-commerce website and it is set up with your local T&T bank account. The fees as I remember it was costing about US$600-US$800 to set up, then a reoccurring fee of US$125 per month and US$0.50 per transaction plus the 3% VISA or Mastercard fee on the total of the purchase. When you are charging a tiny markup, this ends up making little sense.

xauss

Postby xauss » July 28th, 2010, 1:32 pm

xauss wrote:Question though: let's say I wanna do an e-commerce website as a merchant selling goods of my own and offering a storefront for other businesses to sell online. What are my options for setting up a secure payment processing portal so that customers can pay via credit card on my site? Anyone did this already in TT? Trinituner uses any kinda payment processing on its site? Some info would be appreciated. 8-)

Paypal is very limited to what you can do in T&T with regards to receiving money to your account.

2 checkout seems to be a viable option depending on what you are selling and the markup since 2checkout fees are high

Scotiabank offers a secure online credit card facility for your e-commerce website and it is set up with your local T&T bank account. The fees as I remember it was costing about US$600-US$800 to set up, then a reoccurring fee of US$125 per month and US$0.50 per transaction plus the 3% VISA or Mastercard fee on the total of the purchase. When you are charging a tiny markup, this ends up making little sense.

FACK!!! When I first read that Scotiabank does it locally I was like :D , den I read d rest and i was like :shock: . I was watching 2checkout and a couple others...though on some digging it does seem that Paypal is offering the service once you sign up for a business account, allowing for both regular credit card purchases and paypal purchases on ur site. I'll do some more research but if anyone has more info it wud be appreciated.

zitanos

Postby zitanos » July 28th, 2010, 1:42 pm

If you using Paypal make sure you can get your money out.
Last time I checked, Paypal does not allow withdrawals to Trinidad banks. Not sure if that has changed.

If you using 2checkout, ensure the goods you are selling are not restricted by them. They have a nice long list of restricted Items.
I know a friend (retailer) who has an ecommerce site in Trinidad. He was using 2co and they suspended his account because he was selling some Disney products. He eventually had to go elsewhere because most of his top-selling items were banned.

Please check 2co restricted brands as well, you might get into trouble if you using the name of other ppl brands eg. Victoria Secret etc.

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » July 28th, 2010, 1:43 pm

The Business Paypal Account does allow paypal payments and customers using credit cards... But to be honest having used paypal for about 6 years now they are a bunch of robbing Mofo's and god forbid you need some help with something not a chance if you are a seller.. They do offer the buyer lots of protection and that is a good thing but to many people take advantage of this and try and con the crap outta you..

What is the situation with refunds using these checkout systems?? Will look into the ones listed above thanks.....

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 25th, 2010, 10:21 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I prefer Paypal or international credit card when purchasing online.

i cant seem to get thru to using PayPal as a credit card alternative on some sites.

i've set up my account using my skybox address and linked and confirmed my card already but no go

trying to checkout on newegg for example using paypal and i keep getting this msg:

"We are not able to process your payment using your PayPal account at this time. Please return to the recipient's website to complete your transaction using their regular checkout flow."

any help?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 25th, 2010, 10:26 am

contact Paypal they will help out

(also make sure you have put the skybox address on your credit card and as the confirmed address on the paypal account - otherwise it will nto work - and some skybox addresses that are P.O. Boxes dont work at all)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 25th, 2010, 10:43 am

already did, waiting on a reply...

just wondering if anybody else has problems using their TT credit card and skybox address to make purchases using PayPal

noobie

Postby noobie » August 25th, 2010, 4:28 pm

AFAIK Paypal still does not allow Trinidadians to accept payments as merchants online.
We can pay just fine via Paypal, but we cannot receive payments.

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » August 25th, 2010, 7:59 pm

mitch wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I prefer Paypal or international credit card when purchasing online.

i cant seem to get thru to using PayPal as a credit card alternative on some sites.

i've set up my account using my skybox address and linked and confirmed my card already but no go

trying to checkout on newegg for example using paypal and i keep getting this msg:

"We are not able to process your payment using your PayPal account at this time. Please return to the recipient's website to complete your transaction using their regular checkout flow."

any help?

do you get through with newegg by using the cc to purchase directly?

Postby Chimera » August 25th, 2010, 8:07 pm

noobie wrote:AFAIK Paypal still does not allow Trinidadians to accept payments as merchants online.
We can pay just fine via Paypal, but we cannot receive payments.

yup this is still the case

Can't accept payments at all on Trinidad based paypal accounts.

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » August 25th, 2010, 8:09 pm

Hmm we done this a million times already ( well not a million ) But if you want to set up ecommerce here u need a cart software/script like oscommerce , magento or if you have yours custom made.

The payment gateway does everything for you just need to config some parameters in your cart and all transactions are sent to be processed by the payment gateways such as 2checkout, authorized.net of if you have a verisign account etc....

pay pal dont work for trinis to receive money in an account, only send.

if you wah a cart solution give me a shout

www.nextleveltt.com

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 25th, 2010, 9:28 pm

cressida_override wrote:
mitch wrote:

any help?

newegg doesnt accept credit cards issued outside the US, that's y i tried PayPal

aidan

Postby aidan » August 25th, 2010, 9:29 pm

Alertpay works great. And you can withdraw the money in your account via checks. Done it already and works great for us here.

http://www.alertpay.com

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » August 25th, 2010, 9:44 pm

mitch wrote:
cressida_override wrote:
mitch wrote:

any help?

newegg doesnt accept credit cards issued outside the US, that's y i tried PayPal

if thats the case, explain how i purchased items from them already with a cc issued from scotiabank?

when i signed up with newegg (dec 2009) on the signup page they requested the cc bank tele# which i gave, when my first order was placed it took a day to process because they apparently called the bank to confirm the card along with the skybox address. After that no problems.

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » August 25th, 2010, 9:55 pm

see if that helps

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » September 2nd, 2010, 3:34 pm

^^ Does not work with Republic Bank Credit Cards, even when eZone's address is assigned to the card.