On the topic of SQUATTERS in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Getting rid of squatters

Postby rollingstock » May 29th, 2012, 9:41 pm

link wrote:
rollingstock wrote:^ Well there we have it folks, advice from the proud folks at TTASA :?

De man say government land, yuh cyah read? Your scenario and his are vastly different.

Now pray tell why would you call the police or min of housing?

gawd boi...u want in it in yr plate & somebody to feed u too........???
different scenario...SAME PRINCIPLE...Govt has to protect their property also...
maybe YOU can figure out (during this century) what happens to someone who can't explain to the authorities why copper is being stripped from wiring that don't belong to u

Different altogether dan, the redress available to a private citizen is different to that of the State. Read my earlier posts, if it is reported to the LSA in time they can do just as you stated "GET A BULDOZER & BREAKDOWN EVERYTHING"

If too much time is allowed to pass they have to be removed via High court order, with the assistance of the police and High Court marshals, which in itself is a long, tedious, expensive procedure.

fyi burning copper wire is not a offence, the police can do diddly, only if it is stolen.

Same as T&C can't do sheit same as Min of Housing.

Entities to contact are, the Land Settlement Agency & Commissioner of State Lands.
Only way Min of Housing can get involved is if the land was earmarked for housing development, in an instance like that, there would be a MOU, and the responsibility for the lands fall upon them.

Getting rid of squatters

Postby nemisis » May 29th, 2012, 9:58 pm

Well gave LSA the relevant info just too see how long before they take action.

Lokita

Postby Lokita » June 2nd, 2012, 6:20 am

If they seem to be the superstitious type, just drop some colored rice and petals and chicken bones in the yard. They will think is obeah and imagine every small noise in the night is a monster. It helps if you make a few noises in the night too eh. Pelt a stone (makes noise far from your location) or rattle a chain

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 2nd, 2012, 7:31 am

If is your land youre free to take a dump ... in strategically located positions....

BRZ

Will ANY government stand up against Squatting?

Postby BRZ » October 27th, 2015, 7:21 am

Whilst taking a nice drive over the lady young, one can see many many make shift structures that I'm sure are ILLEGAL squatting, this can also be seen in many other areas of the country, its being Erected in PLAIN Sight YET NO GOVERNMENET has had the stones to Deal with these frigging people.
STOP THEM- DEMOLISH those ILLEGAL Structures, throw the SquATTERS IN jail.

Why are they allowed to continue to do Squat?

Re: Will ANY government stand up against Squatting?

Postby zoom rader » October 27th, 2015, 7:44 am

^^^ Cause PNM say so, give the black man a chance nah all yuh like everything for all yuhself.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » October 27th, 2015, 7:54 am

BRZ how PNM go get votes then

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 27th, 2015, 8:06 am

We don't have enough jail for squatters OP...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 27th, 2015, 8:46 am

Would squatters pay property tax

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 27th, 2015, 8:46 am

^^^ Carrera ISland Has ROOM! throw them there or DEPORT them- I'm sure half of them cant prove they are trini.

Postby Redman » October 27th, 2015, 8:51 am

Well the government stands up against the squatting...
but then realizes that for anything to get done they need to sit at the table and discuss.
They then realize that even while sitting at the table the squatters are still below the level that the govt can deal with.
The govt then decides that the squatting is to low for the man that is supposed to stand up against squatting while sitting in his office.

So the squatting remains.

I hope this clarifies the issue. :wink:

Postby Slartibartfast » October 27th, 2015, 11:03 am

Jail is meant to be a form of rehabilitation. Would the squatters be able to afford land once they come out of jail? How long are you putting them in jail for?

I agree something should be done about squatters but putting them in jail is not the answer.

If it is not possible to provide for yourself while working in a full time job then there is a problem outside of you (not saying this is always the case, but it sometimes is). What's minimum wage now?

Postby desifemlove » October 27th, 2015, 11:07 am

stand up? or condone? PNM and UNC BOTH have in de past given letters ofcomfort, or condoned/given lil blighs, or not prosecute small man in court. doh feel sorry for Rowley or Kams if dey did/does get buss by squatters.

Postby desifemlove » October 27th, 2015, 11:09 am

and wit HDC house, nobody needs to squat. whether PNM or UNC, just pass a law saying anybody who squat on state or private lands get 10 years in jail and/or $1,000,000 fine. if they truly ent got no land, fine build a house or house in existent space. if not, pay fine or mek ah jail. seems harsh but signal need to be sent.

Postby desifemlove » October 27th, 2015, 11:11 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Cause PNM say so, give the black man a chance nah all yuh like everything for all yuhself.

cos Kams said so too...and in five year ent do nutten to stop it.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 27th, 2015, 11:14 am

Yes because fining poor people $1,000,000 or throwing them in jail for being poor will solve the problem :roll:

Since you are already all for providing a decade's worth of free housing and living expenses, why not just give them basic financial aid and assist them in owning their own home with the same money you would have used to keep them locked up for 10 years? However, this way they get to legally own a place of their own and still have a chance to contribute to society over those 10 years.

Postby Spitfir3 » October 27th, 2015, 11:31 am

desifemlove wrote:and wit HDC house, nobody needs to squat. whether PNM or UNC, just pass a law saying anybody who squat on state or private lands get 10 years in jail and/or $1,000,000 fine. if they truly ent got no land, fine build a house or house in existent space. if not, pay fine or mek ah jail. seems harsh but signal need to be sent.

lol yea because the process is as easy as walking in with all your paperwork an walking out with a fresh set of keys right? man waiting years upon years an still not guaranteed to get anything

this matter ain't that simple, rent is like extremely high so to the poor that got nothing is either squat or live on the road and giving them a harsh fine isn't going to help them nor will it help society because lets be honest they won't be able to pay so what do you think they might resort to in order to do so?
Last edited by Spitfir3 on October 27th, 2015, 12:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 27th, 2015, 12:14 pm

Imagine back in the days of slavery you used to legally have your own food and housing (albeit with harsh terms). I think it says a lot about our system when when you can work a full time job* and not legally provide food and housing for yourself.

* Assuming 40hrs per week at minimum wage x 22 work days x $15/hr
=$2,640

What kind of a life can you afford on $2,640?
Chances are places with the cheapest rent not going to be closest to where you working as well and you cannot own a house with that kind of income.

You would have to save 100% of your salary for 25 years to afford $800,000 house.

Postby desifemlove » October 28th, 2015, 6:59 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Yes because fining poor people $1,000,000 or throwing them in jail for being poor will solve the problem :roll:

Since you are already all for providing a decade's worth of free housing and living expenses, why not just give them basic financial aid and assist them in owning their own home with the same money you would have used to keep them locked up for 10 years? However, this way they get to legally own a place of their own and still have a chance to contribute to society over those 10 years.

Cos many who squat are able, does get/have money, and are lazy and scampish. to say dey is all poor and destitute ent true.

Postby desifemlove » October 28th, 2015, 7:07 am

Spitfir3 wrote:
desifemlove wrote:and wit HDC house, nobody needs to squat. whether PNM or UNC, just pass a law saying anybody who squat on state or private lands get 10 years in jail and/or $1,000,000 fine. if they truly ent got no land, fine build a house or house in existent space. if not, pay fine or mek ah jail. seems harsh but signal need to be sent.

lol yea because the process is as easy as walking in with all your paperwork an walking out with a fresh set of keys right? man waiting years upon years an still not guaranteed to get anything

this matter ain't that simple, rent is like extremely high so to the poor that got nothing is either squat or live on the road and giving them a harsh fine isn't going to help them nor will it help society because lets be honest the won't be able to pay so what do you think they might resort to in order to do so?

then test it on means. if they have no house, fine. most aren't destitute, dey does do it for kicks.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 28th, 2015, 8:42 am

desifemlove wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Yes because fining poor people $1,000,000 or throwing them in jail for being poor will solve the problem :roll:

Cos many who squat are able, does get/have money, and are lazy and scampish. to say dey is all poor and destitute ent true.

And how do you know that most are able? What about those that aren't able? Should they be thrown in jail or fined a sum of money that they will be unable to pay back in their lifetime and just considered "collateral damage"?

Postby dougla_boy » October 28th, 2015, 8:56 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Jail is meant to be a form of rehabilitation. Would the squatters be able to afford land once they come out of jail? How long are you putting them in jail for?

I agree something should be done about squatters but putting them in jail is not the answer.

If it is not possible to provide for yourself while working in a full time job then there is a problem outside of you (not saying this is always the case, but it sometimes is). What's minimum wage now?

why u speaking sense?

Postby desifemlove » October 28th, 2015, 3:59 pm

whether prison is about rehabilitation or punishment is moot, and depends on various factors. Fact is, as i said, if people have no real land or are destitute, build a house. we have sufficient courts of law and lawyers to prove they are.

if not, then jail. would send a message cos t&t's issues is about slackness.

Postby desifemlove » October 28th, 2015, 4:03 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Jail is meant to be a form of rehabilitation. Would the squatters be able to afford land once they come out of jail? How long are you putting them in jail for?

how do we know who is squatting from destitution or who slack and doing it for kicks?

yuh making it sound difficult, it not.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 28th, 2015, 4:10 pm

I think your sentences are missing some words.

desifemlove wrote:Fact is, as i said, if people have no real land or are destitute, build a house.
Who should build the house? The state or the individual?

It makes sense to fine a "slack squatter" but not to jail them. Jail isn't free. I don't see any sense in this part of your argument so far. Maybe you can elaborate with full sentences.

Postby desifemlove » October 28th, 2015, 4:14 pm

the state should. or provide some temporary shelter until they can get dey own house. part of good criminal justice is cultural change and deterrent. jail for a slack squatter in my mind ent harsh, as squatting is a major social issue. and what if after they pay fine, they continue to squat? i think if there are means for the truly deserving to get land/property, all else is for sheit....leh slack squatters mek jail, cos people like them hold the country back. it's slack squatters who does squat and land and demand compensation for lost crops from the rightful owner....which other country this does happen in?

Postby Slartibartfast » October 28th, 2015, 5:03 pm

Ok now you starting to talk some sense. Help those in that need it. I dont mind my taxes go to raise the overall standard of living.

The thing with jail is that my taxes going to provide food and shelter for a dishonest person. Why not make them pay for it. Make it a monthly fine equal to the rental value of the land. Basically force them to pay rent or throw them in the same housing as those that can't afford better. Of course it won't be anything fancy but it will be good enough for those that need it. Jail should not be used as a cop out to not have to properly deal with a problem. Out of site, out of mind is not the purpose of prison.

Postby desifemlove » October 28th, 2015, 5:13 pm

but why do people squat? bad attitudes, bad morals (socially and individually). it would encourage people not to squat, and enforce more discipline. this is the reason why people squat. this is the problem, and people who have money/house but aren't truly destitute shouldn't be accommodated. i doh see this as harsh, and would correct the cultural change needed.

In the USA, peopel can't squat on land and get a light sentence. and dishonest person. ent anybody who commits crime dishonest? your and my taxes does pay for food and clothing/shelther for frausters, thieves, and even rapists and murderers and other "honest" people....i see no difference. I pay taxes for the common good and to ensure the state can govern. An inherent part of governance in any system is to punish criminals and enforce and encourage social standards.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 28th, 2015, 8:59 pm

Look at the people who make up the squatting community.what type of jobs do they hold? You all really think they could afford to buy land that is 200k and up and still build something after?

This is one of d main reasons why people squat ...

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 28th, 2015, 9:12 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Look at the people who make up the squatting community.what type of jobs do they hold? You all really think they could afford to buy land that is 200k and up and still build something after?

This is one of d main reasons why people squat ...

You ever noticed many of those squatters have a PC-something or PD- something parked in their area, or the state's as it may be? How can they afford these then?