The Amazon Kindle e-Reader Thread

Postby Kenjo » August 9th, 2010, 4:07 pm

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002FQ ... s-wireless" target="_blank

anyone tried the amazon kindle with wifi and 3g in Trinidad yet?Seems like a good cheaper alternative reading device especially for pdf

Invisible

Re: Amazon kindle

Postby Invisible » August 9th, 2010, 6:24 pm

works great...downloads through GSM though. Memory is small, 5GB. But the actual book sizes small so you can store a lot of these, think they said about 35000. Can be used in the sun...great alternative to real books...unless your like my wife and prefers the "new book' smell. Think I'll suggest that for the next generation kindle...lol

Postby Kenjo » August 9th, 2010, 6:39 pm

i am considering ordering one since i have a ton of books in pdf format that i could probaby convert to kindle format to get the full experience of zooming etc,what network does it download under though bmobile or digicel cause they dont expressly state which they are affiliated with although trinidad i definitely on their coverage map.the portability seems sweet,i have been watching it for the last couple years and i think its finally reached a level where i wouldn't be a beta tester

Postby Redman » August 9th, 2010, 6:43 pm

Invisible
Maybe a new book smell scratch and sniff skin???

I havent used the wireless in fact at this point I cant remember if the DX came with it international.

I dload from Amazon and transfer via USB-so there hasnt been any need to use the wireless

But it is great for books for a serious reader, the print is great in sun light and it certainly is lighter than most of the larger novels.

For PDFs I down load some newsletters I subscribe to and this is where a limitation shows up-because of the nature of the display(which makes it so readable) the charts and graphic sare monochromatic and lose size.So the overall impact of the pdf. can be lost

I really am happy with it despite the lack of colour for PDFs

Hope this helps

Later

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 9th, 2010, 6:45 pm

just get an iPad

you can dl the kindle app for it

Postby Kenjo » August 9th, 2010, 6:57 pm

@Redman how heavy is the dx though i am considering the smaller version but i am wondering if it is better to just go also with the Dx cause it might possibly be more book like in size in terms of fitting a full page

Postby buzz » August 9th, 2010, 7:02 pm

Used the kindle it aite

but i bought teh Ipad from raptor after i heard about the app

works great yo

Postby Redman » August 9th, 2010, 7:06 pm

The old DX (Nov 2009) is 18.9 ounces.

The ipad looks sexy but IMHO I dont need that much portability- so it might be over kill.And Im happy with the spped and size of the kindle - my usage is mostly novels -I print out the newsletters for easier reference.
But the ipad reheeeeeeellll sexy

Later

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 9th, 2010, 7:41 pm

so the kindle how does it work? sim card?
wi fi?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 9th, 2010, 7:51 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:so the kindle how does it work? sim card?
wi fi?

3G & Wi-Fi

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 9th, 2010, 7:54 pm

IMO Kindle is better if you are a heavy reader
I bought one for my Dad
the iPad has MUCH more features, but the backlit screen causes eyestrain after hours of reading. This doesnt happen with the kindle as the screen is not LCD

The international data works for FREE in T&T and just about anywhere in the world now.
SO you can download books from anywhere

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 9th, 2010, 8:00 pm

ok so dont need to register with any local networks? have patience with mih dumb questions....

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 8:00 pm

duane u tryin to say I fat?

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 9th, 2010, 8:03 pm

if thats u in the pic..nah ...u not fat...pleasantly plump maybe....

Postby Kenjo » August 9th, 2010, 8:09 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:if thats u in the pic..nah ...u not fat...pleasantly plump maybe....

you saying the man fluffy?

anyway i am also trying to figure out whether to order it as registered under my skybox in the US or as registered in trinidad?i am seeing that they restrict you from viewing all websites if you are not from the US and probably one or 2 other countries.How is yours Duane?

vtmiller11

Postby vtmiller11 » August 9th, 2010, 8:25 pm

Kenjo wrote:
streetbeastINC. wrote:if thats u in the pic..nah ...u not fat...pleasantly plump maybe....

you saying the man fluffy?

anyway i am also trying to figure out whether to order it as registered under my skybox in the US or as registered in trinidad?i am seeing that they restrict you from viewing all websites if you are not from the US and probably one or 2 other countries.How is yours Duane?

I think your IP settings will indicate your location even if you use your skybox address.

I found that out when I tried to order the Nook and download the app but couldn't, however I downloaded the Kindle app for PC and BB and it works fine.

Postby Redman » August 9th, 2010, 8:29 pm

Kenjo,
Amazon offers big support and I ordered 4 through my skybox (for other people) and 1 of them uses the wireless fine.

Later

Postby MG Man » August 9th, 2010, 8:31 pm

:oops: u make this KANT blush

Postby Kenjo » August 9th, 2010, 8:36 pm

Thanks Redman.I just hope that customs sees it as a computer then i wont be guts out by taxes!its back ordered right now so i guess i will give it a few more days and decide for sure then

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 9th, 2010, 8:58 pm

You can order the US one and ship it to your skybox. You don't have to let them ship it to T&T

as a US user you CAN travel with your kindle and still get free data whereever you are so it will just think you are on vacation in T&T all the time. Its always free

no IP to setup, no settings to set - just turn it on and you get data immediately and FREE.

Amazon pays Sprint data bill for you.
They make it back each time you buy a book the data is included in the cost.

it's called whispernet
No Wireless Contract, and No Wireless Fees

Postby Kenjo » August 9th, 2010, 9:14 pm

i am trying out the Kindle for PC now with a free book.i read up about whispernet also so its great to hear everyone down here has been having pretty good reviews about it.i guess its Apple that has me more paranoid than anything else!

noobie

Postby noobie » August 10th, 2010, 8:29 am

One thing with the Kindle.

There are over 100,000 books which you will not have access to on the Amazon Store because you are from Trinidad, and not from the united states.

This 100,000 figure usually includes all the popular books, and latest best sellers.

You can test this yourself by logging out of Amazon, going to the Kindle store and manually selecting your region as you browse say Non Fiction/Best Seller sections and see the difference in total Books Available as you change your location.

If you use Proxies, VPNs etc. then perhaps you can do your ordering safely. Otherwise, if Amazon detects that you are downloading US books in Non-US locations frequently, they will send you an email asking you for proof of citizenship. They will want a photocopy of a driver's license, social security number, military documentation for overseas servicemen etc. etc.

So keep that in mind. You are probably paying more for the Kindle (Shipping, Vat, Duty), and you are paying more for the books. But you don't have access to the same quality of material that the United States has.

Exploitation 101.

Cid

Postby Cid » August 10th, 2010, 9:42 am

aint duane say we only on vacation in TnT, we really from de US

Postby Redman » August 10th, 2010, 11:39 am

Ive dloaded 25-30 books since Ive bought the DX - I have not been limited by anything.
I dload to the PC and transfer via USB -so Idont know if its because of that-
But Amazon has my ccard billing addresses as Tdad with the skybox as a shipping address

But I think there are limitations WRT wireless dloads internationally

Later

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 10th, 2010, 12:46 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:IMO Kindle is better if you are a heavy reader
I bought one for my Dad
the iPad has MUCH more features, but the backlit screen causes eyestrain after hours of reading. This doesnt happen with the kindle as the screen is not LCD

Precisely. Kindle all the way for avid readers.

Postby Kenjo » August 10th, 2010, 1:14 pm

Redman wrote:Ive dloaded 25-30 books since Ive bought the DX - I have not been limited by anything.
I dload to the PC and transfer via USB -so Idont know if its because of that-
But Amazon has my ccard billing addresses as Tdad with the skybox as a shipping address

But I think there are limitations WRT wireless dloads internationally

Later
noobie wrote:One thing with the Kindle.

There are over 100,000 books which you will not have access to on the Amazon Store because you are from Trinidad, and not from the united states.

This 100,000 figure usually includes all the popular books, and latest best sellers.

You can test this yourself by logging out of Amazon, going to the Kindle store and manually selecting your region as you browse say Non Fiction/Best Seller sections and see the difference in total Books Available as you change your location.

If you use Proxies, VPNs etc. then perhaps you can do your ordering safely. Otherwise, if Amazon detects that you are downloading US books in Non-US locations frequently, they will send you an email asking you for proof of citizenship. They will want a photocopy of a driver's license, social security number, military documentation for overseas servicemen etc. etc.

So keep that in mind. You are probably paying more for the Kindle (Shipping, Vat, Duty), and you are paying more for the books. But you don't have access to the same quality of material that the United States has.

Exploitation 101.

oh gyahdo!!!! i got the email after i downloaded a couple books through the amazon kindle store that were free.i downloaded them pn the kindle for pc app so i guess they really check ip addresses.i will wait and see when i try again if they put any restrictions and then i will just change my country(with loss of alot of selections) or go through a proxy.i ordered it last night btw so i will let you guys know how it goes when it reaches next month.here is the letter from Amazon:

"I see that you attempted to purchase "Ronald Reagan's Leadership Lessons (Kindle Edition)" while in a different country than the United States listed on your Amazon account. Certain Kindle titles are not available everywhere. We are reaching out to you to ensure the best possible service for your account.

If you have moved to a different country, you can easily update your country for your Amazon account at www.Amazon.com/manageyourkindle

If this is not the case, and you would like to share information that you live in United States, we can be reached by fax at 001-206-266-1838 from outside the US, or 206-266-1838 from within the US. Helpful information includes:
– Passport
– Military ID
– Permanent Resident Card
– Driver’s License
– Other state photo identity card

We want to assure you that we handle this information in a secure manner: these are dedicated fax lines, staffed in an area with limited employee access. The fax is never printed, just converted to an electronic image that is used to check the country, then the image is deleted.

Best regards,

Account Specialist"

noobie

Postby noobie » August 10th, 2010, 2:59 pm

Kenjo wrote:"I see that you attempted to purchase "Ronald Reagan's Leadership Lessons (Kindle Edition)" while in a different country than the United States listed on your Amazon account. Certain Kindle titles are not available everywhere. We are reaching out to you to ensure the best possible service for your account.

If you have moved to a different country, you can easily update your country for your Amazon account at www.Amazon.com/manageyourkindle

If this is not the case, and you would like to share information that you live in United States, we can be reached by fax at 001-206-266-1838 from outside the US, or 206-266-1838 from within the US. Helpful information includes:
– Passport
– Military ID
– Permanent Resident Card
– Driver’s License
– Other state photo identity card

We want to assure you that we handle this information in a secure manner: these are dedicated fax lines, staffed in an area with limited employee access. The fax is never printed, just converted to an electronic image that is used to check the country, then the image is deleted.

Best regards,

Account Specialist"

Yes, that's the email self! :-)
Good luck!

Postby Redman » August 10th, 2010, 4:48 pm

So the limits are on free books?

Later

Postby Kenjo » August 10th, 2010, 5:04 pm

the restrictions are more on the selection of books.The US has the widest selection of books to choose from but the other countries aren't so fortunate.If i log in my country as Trinidad i still have the options to buy books but not all but Trinidad is definitely supported overall by the Amazon Kindle

Postby Redman » August 10th, 2010, 6:02 pm

Ok
I guess Ive been lucky then.

Later