Digital HD 4K Free-to-air television - T&T adopts ATSC 3.0 format

Postby redmanjp » August 13th, 2010, 11:01 pm

note dont confuse this with subscription based cable tv or satellite-
this is free-to-air tv (what yuh used to have b4 cable using antenna)

came across a article a few weeks ago about this
http://guardian.co.tt/news/politics/2010/07/01/minister-hints-more-local-content

but they are only now thinking about it, saying the deadline to switch completely is 2015

the link below has the launch of digital & close off of analog dates of many countries around the world- it would seem that as usual, Trinidad is WAY behind (we not even listed)- we should have had at least started digital broadcasts already, many countries have already closed off analog :-

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_terrestrial_television#Central_America_.26_The_Caribbean

look like is only caribbean islands that have not even started the transition
http://en.dtvstatus.net/#NorthAmerica

we (well those of us who dont have cable) would be in the dark wrt terrestrial broadcasts when analog tvs die out- and content or no content, digital has a nice clean picture and would allow for HD also
Last edited by redmanjp on July 7th, 2023, 9:28 pm, edited 6 times in total.

Re: Digital terrestrial television-T&T behind

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 14th, 2010, 1:37 am

^ I agree that we should keep up with technology, but what do you plan to watch in HD on local TV though?

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2010, 2:38 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I agree that we should keep up with technology, but what do you plan to watch in HD on local TV though?

HD would only be an option- most broadcasts would still be in SD- although yuh never know- they might decide to carry live local sports/football in HD one day

but as i said any broadcast would benefit as digital gives a nice clean picture- they could also free up the spectrum to provide other services-like faster wireless internet or something

xtech

Postby xtech » August 14th, 2010, 3:41 am

we already got digital over the air TV

but we gots to pay greendot for the service
TV6 and the other local stations piggy backing on it

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2010, 4:16 am

as i said b4, its FREE TO AIR- no subscription service

Postby M_2NR » August 14th, 2010, 5:40 am

I want back AVM and TTT make them come back...
:cry:

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 14th, 2010, 5:48 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I agree that we should keep up with technology, but what do you plan to watch in HD on local TV though?

Jub Jub ads

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » August 14th, 2010, 6:35 am

Duh the bold and the beautiful!!!

Postby redmanjp » January 20th, 2020, 10:11 am

the last mention by TATT about this seems to be way back in 2011!

https://tatt.org.tt/Portals/0/documents ... tation.pdf

a decade later

Now there is Next Gen TV with 4K HDR broadcasts:

https://www.cnet.com/news/next-gen-tv-is-free-4k-tv-with-an-antenna-and-its-coming-this-year

Next Gen TV is free 4K TV with an antenna, and it's coming to TVs this year
CES 2020 saw the official arrival of TVs with Next Gen TV, also known as ATSC 3.0. Upgrades for antenna users include 4K, HDR, 120Hz refresh rates and better indoor reception.

Geoffrey Morrison
January 15, 2020 8:38 AM PST

CES 2020 was the official launch of Next Gen TV, aka ATSC 3.0. By the end of the year, 61 markets will be broadcasting, and 20 different models from 3 manufacturers -- LG, Samsung and Sony -- will be available with built-in tuners. Don't be surprised to see other manufacturers follow suit. Standalone tuner boxes that you can connect to any TV are also on their way.

Next Gen TV is the latest version of over-the-air antenna TV. Its broadcasts have the capability to carry high-quality Ultra HD 4K video, High Dynamic Range and wide color gamut, high frame rates up to 120Hz, and more. Like current over-the-air TV broadcasts -- and unlike cable, satellite or live TV streaming -- it will be free. You'll just need an antenna and a TV with a built-in Next Gen TV tuner, or separate tuner that can decode it. ATSC 3.0 proponents also claim better reception indoors and on the go, perhaps on your phone or even to your car.

One potential downside for consumers? ATSC 3.0 will also let broadcasters track your viewing habits, information that can be used for targeted advertising, just like companies such as Facebook and Google use today.

If you get your TV from streaming, cable or satellite, Next Gen TV/ATSC 3.0 won't affect you at all.
The transition is voluntary. Stations don't have to switch. Many will, however, for reasons we'll explain below.
It's not backwards-compatible with the current HD (ATSC 1.0) standard, so your current TV won't be able to receive it. Your current antenna should work fine though.
Stations that switch to Next Gen TV will still have to keep broadcasting ATSC 1.0 for five years.
20 models from Sony, Samsung, and LG will have built-in tuners starting with the 2020 model year.
Stations across the country are already receiving 3.0 licenses, and several are already broadcasting.
Stations in the largest 40 TV markets in the US have committed to broadcasting Next Gen TV by the end of 2020, with over 60 markets total covering roughly 70% of the US population.

Re: Digital terrestrial television- a decade later T&T WAY behind

Postby redmanjp » November 15th, 2022, 9:07 pm

bump

with DTT u can get HD, UHD, and HDR content free to air- what content? well how about major sporting events like World Cup!

but i dont know where TATT reach with this.

Re: Digital terrestrial (Free-to-air) television- a decade later T&T WAY behind

Postby paid_influencer » November 15th, 2022, 9:39 pm

tatt is a great example of regulatory capture. free over-the-air is the competition and they want people to forget that you can just put an antenna outside and watch world cup and regular television for free

Re: Digital terrestrial television- a decade later T&T WAY behind

Postby gastly369 » November 15th, 2022, 11:51 pm

redmanjp wrote:bump

with DTT u can get HD, UHD, and HDR content free to air- what content? well how about major sporting events like World Cup!

but i dont know where TATT reach with this.
Tell me moreee.. Thanks

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » November 16th, 2022, 6:37 am

Earlier this year Jamaica's TVJ started transmitting OTA tv using the ATSC 3.0 standard. Maybe TATT has other priorities or they got push back from the local OTA transmitter owners but they should at least indicate their policy.

Postby redmanjp » November 16th, 2022, 7:16 am

The last document about DTT is from like 2011 on their website. They did get some push back but that is like a decade ago. Nothing since then. I wonder what will happen when tv manufacturers stop making analog tuners- they would be broadcasting to the wind.

Though I saw a Wikipedia article with Trinidad using the ATSC standard- don't know if that is true or if it have any digital broadcast channel. Perhaps I should hook up the old rabbit ears and do a scan.

Postby gastly369 » November 16th, 2022, 11:09 am

Been using iptv for so many years

Just wanted to experiment with decoders n sat etc

xtech

Postby xtech » November 16th, 2022, 11:45 am

M_2NR wrote:I want back AVM and TTT make them come back...
:cry:

Granted…..Your wish is my command.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » November 16th, 2022, 5:25 pm

Got feedback from TATT today, they indicated they're having consultations with local FTA TV broadcasters to have consensus on the standard to adopt and that they'll publish additional info within the next six months.

Postby redmanjp » November 16th, 2022, 7:38 pm

shaneelal wrote:Got feedback from TATT today, they indicated they're having consultations with local FTA TV broadcasters to have consensus on the standard to adopt and that they'll publish additional info within the next six months.

they said that a decade ago tho :lol: not holding my breath for anything.

xtech

Postby xtech » November 16th, 2022, 10:34 pm

redmanjp wrote:
shaneelal wrote:Got feedback from TATT today, they indicated they're having consultations with local FTA TV broadcasters to have consensus on the standard to adopt and that they'll publish additional info within the next six months.

they said that a decade ago tho :lol: not holding my breath for anything.

This make me remember the good ole days when I got my first stereo tv. Using the tuner on my hi/fi sharp vcr with 13 micron heads and pumping the audio through my silver face sharp stereo system.

Then Waiting for the fresh prince to start so I could blast it.

TTT and AVM never had no L and R audio channels.

Yup good times

If it not broke they not going to spend money to fix something that making lots of money in advertising. Keep waiting for your free HDTV no work for them telecommunication students from UTT

Postby redmanjp » November 17th, 2022, 7:29 am

When they finally decide it should be whatever is compatible with the digital tuners already in modern tvs. Think it's ATSC.

Postby Ben_spanna » November 17th, 2022, 7:39 am

Guessing we will get our Usual copyrights broadcast of world cup coverage in the usual "high definition" which is literally like watching old tim sheit bunny ears reception. Why the hell cant we have nice things too? :roll:

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » January 28th, 2023, 12:17 pm

Looks like TATT has adopted ATSC 3.0.

https://tatt.org.tt/Home/Announcements4 ... ce-22.aspx

Postby Country_Bookie » July 4th, 2023, 10:40 pm

Bumping this thread to ask if any local channels have started broadcasting in ATSC 3.0 since that release by TATT 6 months ago.

Anyone using an antenna to get OTA TV?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » July 4th, 2023, 11:20 pm

I use an antenna for OTA TV. I doubt broadcasters will be rushing to implement ASTC 3.0 as very few people would be able access it now.
2026 seems a bit ambitious, most people would need to purchase ATSC 3.0 tuners and gov't may have to subsidize these devices.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » July 5th, 2023, 9:11 am

Level Crime and murders and this government studying FTA.

wing

Postby wing » July 5th, 2023, 9:19 am

Kickstart wrote:Level Crime and murders and this government studying FTA.
Kindly go be stupid somewhere else, preferably in your beloved unc thread.

Postby redmanjp » July 5th, 2023, 10:08 am

finally. Do any current TVs on the market have ATSC 3 tuners? they should at least have ATSC 1. Those that dont would need ATSC3 converter boxes.

Postby redmanjp » July 5th, 2023, 10:14 am

shaneelal wrote:I use an antenna for OTA TV. I doubt broadcasters will be rushing to implement ASTC 3.0 as very few people would be able access it now.
2026 seems a bit ambitious, most people would need to purchase ATSC 3.0 tuners and gov't may have to subsidize these devices.

Main benefit is Live HD broadcast of major sporting events.

hope it comes in time for World Cup- so that when local stations who buy out rights which result in us having to watch in SD definition on the old analog system, on the new digital channel should have live HD broadcast. no more paying extra for HD channels.

but if they are giving out atsc licenses already i assume stations would be able to at least start broadcasting sooner?

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » July 5th, 2023, 10:34 am

redmanjp wrote:finally. Do any current TVs on the market have ATSC 3 tuners? they should at least have ATSC 1. Those that dont would need ATSC3 converter boxes.
Yes but it's mostly high-end TVs from the last 2 years. No budgets sets have 3.0 IIRC

Postby redmanjp » July 5th, 2023, 10:47 am

ed360123 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:finally. Do any current TVs on the market have ATSC 3 tuners? they should at least have ATSC 1. Those that dont would need ATSC3 converter boxes.
Yes but it's mostly high-end TVs from the last 2 years. No budgets sets have 3.0 IIRC

yeah it's a pity it's not backward compatible with ATSC 1 as most TVs would have that now and we would be able to pick up at least an HD 1080p signal if that was so. so for most of us if u doh have cable or living in rural areas would have to get a converter.

but it means that with DTT & starlink ppl in d bush finally have HD content on both TV and computer.