New TOP COP to earn over $100,000 per month.

Postby sharkman121 » August 19th, 2010, 7:10 pm

$106,333 to be exact, which is currently more than 3 times the salary of past Police Comissioners.

Can we afford this at this time...or is it a small price to pay for a rejuvenated full fledged attack on crime in this country. Discuss.

Re: New TOP COP to earn over $100,000 per month.

Postby Damien » August 19th, 2010, 7:11 pm

10 pgs minimum

Postby Cjruckus » August 19th, 2010, 7:12 pm

Well they wanted help from a foreign because "its better"?

Lets hope the results are worth the cost.

Postby redmanjp » August 19th, 2010, 7:13 pm

well at least if he doesnt perform they supposed to fire him

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 19th, 2010, 7:18 pm

of course everybody wud like "ah bess price" but imo d prevention of any further lost of innocent human life is worth d cost .... :|

Postby Trini Hookah » August 19th, 2010, 7:20 pm

IS TC TIME NOW

Postby sharkman121 » August 19th, 2010, 7:22 pm

what is this man's history, accolades, what is his track record in the particular field. Is it as such as to command such a high figure.

I have no problem with starting at a base figure and then increasing his salary whether it be annually or bi-annually once the job being done is up to par with what is to be expected.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » August 19th, 2010, 7:22 pm

You'd be surprised of the salaries of certain officials in gov't companies. I still think it's too much, and I'm sure he'd also get many perks and allowances.

Postby Damien » August 19th, 2010, 7:24 pm

thaiz too much money it wouldnt be fair to the past top cops, then again people in the private sector making that amount normal normal.
Unc so stupid they hadda make this public they coulda hide it like pnm

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » August 19th, 2010, 7:27 pm

Damien wrote:thaiz too much money it wouldnt be fair to the past top cops, then again people in the private sector making that amount normal normal.

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2010, 7:28 pm

maybe yes, but all the past cops have proven to be absolute failures without a doubt
so what is the problem with trying somebody new at a different price ?

Damien wrote:thaiz too much money it wouldnt be fair to the past top cops, then again people in the private sector making that amount normal normal.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 19th, 2010, 8:00 pm

100K for the new commish, yet nothing on procuring purpose built and customised police vehicles, nothing on new vests, new and more advanced arms and ammunition, nothing on recruiting and changing the qualifications to enter the service. Nothing on equipment to measure speed, tint. Nothing on refurbishing dilapidated stations where officers and rat fighting for desk space.

Postby Morpheus » August 19th, 2010, 8:31 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:100K for the new commish, yet nothing on procuring purpose built and customised police vehicles, nothing on new vests, new and more advanced arms and ammunition, nothing on recruiting and changing the qualifications to enter the service. Nothing on equipment to measure speed, tint. Nothing on refurbishing dilapidated stations where officers and rat fighting for desk space.

^^Ent we all have to give the PP some time??...which is reasonable.

The new commish can't fix all dem thing overnight. Let's just hope he gets the ball rolling on all these things and that he not here to make friends.

Postby UML » August 19th, 2010, 8:37 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:100K for the new commish, yet nothing on procuring purpose built and customised police vehicles, nothing on new vests, new and more advanced arms and ammunition, nothing on recruiting and changing the qualifications to enter the service. Nothing on equipment to measure speed, tint. Nothing on refurbishing dilapidated stations where officers and rat fighting for desk space.

yeah ah know..das why we voted them out...we voted for change!!! :wink:

:mrgreen:

Postby Sky » August 19th, 2010, 8:48 pm

That's his job. Can't start a plan and let the man jump in, then blame him if we give him crap to work with. He already hadda deal with our present police. Expats always get more anyway.

justwhatuseeing

Postby justwhatuseeing » August 19th, 2010, 9:03 pm

B.S HIGHEST PAID POLICE COMMISSIONER IN TRINIDADIAN HISTORY ... BUT FROM THE SAME PPL WHO SAID TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO TREASURY EH HAVE NO MONEY WHEN PNM WAS THERE !! WTF THIS IS REALLY CHANGE ....... ALLYUH KANT...... SO THAS ALLYUH BIG CRIME PLAN ......AND DOH FORGET ALLYUH CHIRREN HADDA PAY FOR BOX LUNCH NOW !!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 19th, 2010, 9:09 pm

i also think the minimum salary for police should be like 10+ a month too.. put some p[ride back in the police force

lets see what he suggest is done and what vehicles to get etc etc..

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » August 19th, 2010, 9:12 pm

justwhatuseeing wrote:B.S HIGHEST PAID POLICE COMMISSIONER IN TRINIDADIAN HISTORY ... BUT FROM THE SAME PPL WHO SAID TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO TREASURY EH HAVE NO MONEY WHEN PNM WAS THERE !! WTF THIS IS REALLY CHANGE ....... ALLYUH KANT...... SO THAS ALLYUH BIG CRIME PLAN ......AND DOH FORGET ALLYUH CHIRREN HADDA PAY FOR BOX LUNCH NOW !!

September 6th can't come fast enough.
Back to school kiddies.

Postby wagonrunner » August 19th, 2010, 9:14 pm

Bezman wrote:i also think the minimum salary for police should be like 10+ a month too.. put some pride back in the police force

no offence to meh babylon brederin.
but yuh do that, but not hiring those who too bulky to wuk KFC.
raise the criteria for those who wish to become officers, and you raise the aptitude / work ethic of the force.

Postby buzz » August 19th, 2010, 9:15 pm

Bezman wrote:i also think the minimum salary for police should be like 10+ a month too.. put some p[ride back in the police force

with our present performance ?

paying someone more automatically makes them more efficient ?

you should be paid according to what you can prove you are worth

not pay first and den say "allyuh wuk nah"

oh gorm lmao

justwhatuseeing

Postby justwhatuseeing » August 19th, 2010, 9:33 pm

crazychinee wrote:
justwhatuseeing wrote:B.S HIGHEST PAID POLICE COMMISSIONER IN TRINIDADIAN HISTORY ... BUT FROM THE SAME PPL WHO SAID TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO TREASURY EH HAVE NO MONEY WHEN PNM WAS THERE !! WTF THIS IS REALLY CHANGE ....... ALLYUH KANT...... SO THAS ALLYUH BIG CRIME PLAN ......AND DOH FORGET ALLYUH CHIRREN HADDA PAY FOR BOX LUNCH NOW !!

September 6th can't come fast enough.
Back to school kiddies.

doh wry thas KAMLA BIG IDEA TO TAKE AWAY FROM THE CHILDREN AND INVEST IN A FOREIGN NATIONAL TO COME POLICE TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO SO . I GUESS NOW THE ONLY THING TO DO IS :drinking: doh wry since kamla in power crime "gone down" from first page to in the middle of the papers

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 19th, 2010, 9:34 pm

/\ I was really adding to the those and the above statements

i agree that the standard for entry, training in the academy and method of moving up the ranks and promotions etc should be reevaluated and improved.

justwhatuseeing

Postby justwhatuseeing » August 19th, 2010, 9:43 pm

doh get me wrong eh i was fed up with manning and them but ppl .yuh hadda take in consideration what going on is the same thing jus no body opening up their mouths to complain .allyuh seem to forget in 2000 if i could recall the unc proposed the property tax and the pnm jus passed it but when they did ah whole lotta whorray abt ppl eh have no money to pay properity tax but doh wry allyuh go pay de new commis! plus yuh chirren hadda pay for box lunch and chubby now
please excuse my grammer

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 19th, 2010, 9:55 pm

when James Philbert joined the TTPS back in the day...they were hired on the "Big & Ugly" basis.....
plus he came from Grenada with the influx of uneducated small Islanders during the Williams administration.....
He only attained his ranks through seniority...and thats about it!.....so it boils down to education and qualifications...... which Philbert has non!...so 40k for being big, ugly & dotish...... why chance that.....

flvrufdwk

Postby flvrufdwk » August 19th, 2010, 10:05 pm

Bluespeed. Philbert is a qualified attorney-at-law and i think he have a masters in some s--t. Anyway, what about them people in S.A.U.T.T. .Everybody feeding on we head. Just another player in the game.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 19th, 2010, 10:12 pm

Morpheus wrote:

^^Ent we all have to give the PP some time??...which is reasonable.

The new commish can't fix all dem thing overnight. Let's just hope he gets the ball rolling on all these things and that he not here to make friends.

I'm not saying that he should just jump and do this, this should be the responsibility of the gov't, remember they are the ones who need to put the necessary legislation and/ or amendments in place. To think that he would just swoop down and wave a wand is just crazy, however he has inherited a service which is plagued with the lack of basic equipment and infrastructure and a lot of police officers are going to see his salary as a big "FCUK YOU".

Postby Damien » August 19th, 2010, 10:16 pm

justwhatuseeing wrote:doh get me wrong eh i was fed up with manning and them but ppl .yuh hadda take in consideration what going on is the same thing jus no body opening up their mouths to complain .allyuh seem to forget in 2000 if i could recall the unc proposed the property tax and the pnm jus passed it but when they did ah whole lotta whorray abt ppl eh have no money to pay properity tax but doh wry allyuh go pay de new commis! plus yuh chirren hadda pay for box lunch and chubby now
please excuse my grammer

this true or a rumour?

Postby RASC » August 19th, 2010, 10:22 pm

Damien wrote:
justwhatuseeing wrote:doh get me wrong eh i was fed up with manning and them but ppl .yuh hadda take in consideration what going on is the same thing jus no body opening up their mouths to complain .allyuh seem to forget in 2000 if i could recall the unc proposed the property tax and the pnm jus passed it but when they did ah whole lotta whorray abt ppl eh have no money to pay properity tax but doh wry allyuh go pay de new commis! plus yuh chirren hadda pay for box lunch and chubby now
please excuse my grammer

this true or a rumour?

You kidding me or wha... :lol:

Box Lunch for those assigned school children are no longer free under the PP.

Postby RASC » August 19th, 2010, 10:24 pm

I heard the figure is closer to $124,000...but who's counting...