"Pulling Bull" To be LEGALISED

Postby RASC » July 8th, 2010, 1:04 pm

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010 ... l-licences

PH drivers to get special licences
Richard Lord
Published: 8 Jul 2010

In a radical move aimed at assisting the travelling public, the Government is set to legalise the operations of PH taxi drivers. Acting Prime Minister Jack Warner confirmed this yesterday in an interview with the T&T Guardian. Warner, who is also Works and Transport Minister, said the measure would be implemented with the aim of assisting commuters in several remote districts across the country. Warner said the proposal had already been “discussed internally” and a note is to be taken by him to Cabinet shortly for consideration and approval.

He said several PH taxi drivers are to be regularised as a result of the proposed step. Under existing legislation, the operations of PH taxis are illegal. Asked to explain how the measure will work, Warner said: “Special licences are to be issued to the PH drivers to allow them to operate legally in remote areas of the country. “The special licence will authorise the PH drivers to ply their trade legally... commuters will benefit from insurance coverage, which will now be provided,” he added.

Warner said the PH cars will retain their number plates, which will not be altered to “H.” He added that the details of the initiative were still to be worked out. President of the Alternative Transport Association Gerard Whyms yesterday welcomed Warner’s announcement. Whyms said PH taxis must be “regularised and brought under the transportation structure in T&T.” The previous PNM administration had contemplated a crackdown on PH drivers, following the deaths of passengers sometime ago. That proposed action sparked a national debate on whether the operations should be regulated or closed down.
Last edited by RASC on October 12th, 2010, 10:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: "Pulling Bull" To be LEGALISED

Postby tr1ad » July 8th, 2010, 1:06 pm

get orn

Postby RASC » July 8th, 2010, 1:08 pm

Gubment WUKKING boi

Postby noshownogo » July 8th, 2010, 1:08 pm

Unfortunately once this initiative is an additional cost to the PH drivers, they will avoid it as much as possible.

Insurance Coverage for commuters could only mean higher premiums for the PH taxis.

Postby RASC » July 8th, 2010, 1:17 pm

noshownogo wrote:Unfortunately once this initiative is an additional cost to the PH drivers, they will avoid it as much as possible.

Insurance Coverage for commuters could only mean higher premiums for the PH taxis.

Instead of making it easier...say a 3 month grace period where a campaign is launched to get all PH drivers off the road and become regularised H drivers, with fees discounted-after which a strict program to clamp down on illegals is executed.

No they go the other route and legalise PH drivers... BRILLIANT!

Legalised H drivers have paid their dues and did it the legal and correct way, yet those who break the law are given "ah bligh" and allowed to continue. Great Job Jack :?

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » July 8th, 2010, 1:19 pm

The way I understand it these PH drivers will be for remote areas only.
Seems like crap to me though, just make them official H and done the talk.

Postby RASC » July 8th, 2010, 1:22 pm

Rallyfignis wrote:The way I understand it these PH drivers will be for remote areas only.

You really think that gonna remain so? :roll:

EXACTLY. There should be a nation wide campaign mounted to get all illegals regularised and doing it the proper way. Have reduced fees for a 3 month grace period, get everything regularised/organised and legal. Equals more taxes for the state long term & increased safety to the traveling public. Get these ppl from "hustling" to having a real job.

Postby Rooki3 » July 8th, 2010, 1:23 pm

getting ah taxi badge not easy!!

you must have a police certificate of good character

chances are the majority of guys pullin bull for an income, may have been former guntas with a bad record!!.........................so no taxi badge for them

i think its a good idea legalising them!!!

pullin bull > robbin ppl

Postby foss » July 8th, 2010, 1:25 pm

ohhhhh gaarrrrrd... *pulls SLYPHY out of neighbour yard*

Postby DFC » July 8th, 2010, 1:25 pm

pulllin bull?

Postby Rooki3 » July 8th, 2010, 1:26 pm

foss wrote:ohhhhh gaarrrrrd... *pulls SLYPHY out of neighbour yard*

pioneer is your neighbour?

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » July 8th, 2010, 1:27 pm

Rallyfignis wrote:The way I understand it these PH drivers will be for remote areas only.

I agree. I have a Taxi Badge 6 years now and it really not that hard to get.

Postby RASC » July 8th, 2010, 1:30 pm

Rooki3 wrote:getting ah taxi badge not easy!!

chances are the majority of guys pullin bull for an income, may have been former guntas with a bad record!!.........................so no taxi badge for them

pullin bull > robbin ppl

So you want former guntas with bad records to have the legal privilege of being able to transport children, tourists, wives, mothers, the elderly...instead of going through a training program, character evaluation then become professional Taxi drivers...become legalised...and earn an honest living?

Interesting.

I stick by my guns, because this option is just ready to be taken advantage of.

Organise a "Get Legal" campaign, and lets clean up the streets. This is a band-aid on a gaping festering wound.

Postby noshownogo » July 8th, 2010, 1:33 pm

I agree "Get Legal" is a good slogan to a worthy campaign, it should apply to all facets of society.

Postby Rooki3 » July 8th, 2010, 1:35 pm

so once ah gunta....................ALWAYS ah gunta?

society really un-forgiving!!!

Postby SUPAstarr » July 8th, 2010, 1:42 pm

an when they turn bac to crime ppl vex

Postby RASC » July 8th, 2010, 1:43 pm

noshownogo wrote:I agree "Get Legal" is a good slogan to a worthy campaign, it should apply to all facets of society.

It should be applied for 6 months.

All Fees should be slashed within that period for gov't issued licenses or clearance. Making it possible for all citizens to get regularised in every which manner. The fees would be slashed to encourage persons relaxing on out dates or expired licenses etc to get up and get a move on. There shall be no excuse:

I.D. Cards
Birth Papers
Driving Permits
Taxi Badges/License plates
Vehicular Inspection

etc etc

After which a severe campaign will be launched afterwards with total lock downs in effect with HEFTY fines issued. I'm talking fines in 5 figure territory. Everyone who does not present up to date legal status in what ever field will be slapped with a heavy dose of reality by way of their bank book.

We shouldn't be bowing to the pressures of people committing illegal acts. This is PURE FOOLISHNESS by the gov't. A serious misstep and potentially lose of a major revenue earner.

*sigh*

Postby eliteauto » July 8th, 2010, 1:45 pm

I like the "Get Legal" idea.that way if you fail to do so then you must accept the penalty

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 8th, 2010, 1:50 pm

was nex weed ?

Just saw he revamping number plates as well ..

getting a taxi badge not hard eh .. 0X

Postby RASC » July 8th, 2010, 1:57 pm

eliteauto wrote:I like the "Get Legal" idea.that way if you fail to do so then you must accept the penalty

EXACTLY.

Warner is an idiot. He's playing to the hearts of the Gunta crowd.
It's pure foolishness what he is doing. Instead of clamping it down, making it more organised and stream lined. He's making it even more confusing and backward.

Postby Rooki3 » July 8th, 2010, 1:57 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:an when they turn bac to crime ppl vex

Postby RASC » July 8th, 2010, 2:27 pm

pioneer wrote:my word...now those trincity PH drivers gonna be worse...as if they don't pose a threat to the general public already...causing daily accidents

great idea jack..ass

It's what those kinda people want!

They want anarchy on the streets, Hence

Silence...shhhhhhhhh keep your voice down!
Last edited by RASC on July 8th, 2010, 2:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 8th, 2010, 2:27 pm

Is "Bull or walk" still legal?? :? Sun to hot for dem feuners to walk yes

Postby 16 cycles » July 8th, 2010, 2:52 pm

can't agree with this one....unless he institutes heavier penalties for PH drivers - they are some of the worse on the road

nismoid

Postby nismoid » July 8th, 2010, 2:58 pm

RASC wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:getting ah taxi badge not easy!!

pullin bull > robbin ppl

So you want former guntas with bad records to have the legal privilege of being able to transport children, tourists, wives, mothers, the elderly...instead of going through a training program, character evaluation then become professional Taxi drivers...become legalised...and earn an honest living?

Interesting.

I stick by my guns, because this option is just ready to be taken advantage of.

Organise a "Get Legal" campaign, and lets clean up the streets. This is a band-aid on a gaping festering wound.

for once i agree with you 100%
legalizing 'ph' is not the solution, its getting the people to have a change of mindset, thats the tricky part.
so what jack trying to do is legalize 'ph' guntas so they would drive their or other people's car to work as a 'taxi' without the stipulations of the traditional taxi rules like no driving with sleeveless shirts for example!
i call bull$hit jack

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 8th, 2010, 3:14 pm

pioneer wrote:So now basically he givin all rights to PH drivers to continue the recklessness and carnage on our roads

I tell allyuh politicians not in touch with reality, they dont have to drive daily on the roads we do

Is busroute and police escort

Something seriously WRONG with these idiots

how are they endorsing reckless driving and carnage on the rds by legalizing PH taxis??

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 8th, 2010, 3:14 pm

eliteauto wrote:I like the "Get Legal" idea.that way if you fail to do so then you must accept the penalty

Co sign.

If you are given a chance, take it.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 8th, 2010, 3:21 pm

Bezman wrote:
pioneer wrote:So now basically he givin all rights to PH drivers to continue the recklessness and carnage on our roads

I tell allyuh politicians not in touch with reality, they dont have to drive daily on the roads we do

how are they endorsing reckless driving and carnage on the rds by legalizing PH taxis??

Where do you live?

PH drivers cause havok where i live, daily.

i personally HATE ph drivers and give them no time or space - they are the WORSE drivers

BUT'

how legalizing ph taxi's endorses reckless driving??

-----

my thing is once a car is identified as a taxi, can anticipate the jackarse driving, ph taxi's could be any car on the rd..

commonsense01

Postby commonsense01 » July 8th, 2010, 3:22 pm

Bezman wrote:

Where do you live?

PH drivers cause havok where i live, daily.

He living the same place Jack living Alice in Wonderland.

Postby foss » July 8th, 2010, 3:23 pm

Bezman, once I see a SYLPHY or any other nissan motorcar.. I keep distance :|