Plane crashes in Venezuela with 47 on board

Yeo

Plane crashes in Venezuela with 47 on board

Postby Yeo » September 13th, 2010, 11:59 am

A plane belonging to the government-run airline Conviasa crashed during a domestic flight in Venezuela with 47 people on board on Monday, a minister said.

The turboprop crashed near Puerto Ordaz six miles after take-off from Ciudad Guayana, Transportation Minister Francisco Garces told reporters.

"We have some survivors who are being taken to hospitals," added Civil Protection Director Jose Zamora.

A local official later put the number of survivors at 23 but that could not be confirmed.

The plane was bound for Isla Margarita, a tourist island off the coast.

In the last major crash in Venezuela in 2008, a plane belonging to private local airline Santa Barbara with 46 passengers on board crashed into mountains, with no survivors.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/39150953/ns ... -americas/

pablo_tt

Re: Plane crashes in Venezuela with 47 on board

Postby pablo_tt » September 13th, 2010, 12:25 pm

Sorry to hear about the crash. They normally stop off in piarco once or twice ususally in the afternoon. It was an ATR 42, little brother to the ATR 72. Here's a pic of the type of aircraft

Postby Greypatch » September 13th, 2010, 12:27 pm

FACK that is the same plane we use when we fly to the island.

Palblo they fly almost every day (think tuesday is an exception)

ryno_sounds

Postby ryno_sounds » September 13th, 2010, 12:28 pm

WTF!!! I going magarita this thursday!!.........i real bomby now!!!

Postby Greypatch » September 13th, 2010, 1:09 pm

lmao they too off from very far in the mainland. nah tek no worries.

where are you going to stay ?

Postby gastly369 » September 13th, 2010, 1:22 pm

remember going tobago last year with a turbo prop that them using .... i was sitting by the window close to de wing and i watching outside .. as we nearing bago weather was lil bad .. plan wing flexing like crazy it rusty like hell .. we had to cancel the landing last minute cause de pilot say he eh seein de runway... second try we gone for it as we touch down ah piece ah sheeting from de wing fly out :shock: ..... talk bout shittin bricks

Postby Greypatch » September 13th, 2010, 2:01 pm

lol....did you take de boat back ?

Postby Greypatch » September 13th, 2010, 2:23 pm

jjcp

Postby jjcp » September 13th, 2010, 2:36 pm

gastly369 wrote:remember going tobago last year with a turbo prop that them using .... i was sitting by the window close to de wing and i watching outside .. as we nearing bago weather was lil bad .. plan wing flexing like crazy it rusty like hell .. we had to cancel the landing last minute cause de pilot say he eh seein de runway... second try we gone for it as we touch down ah piece ah sheeting from de wing fly out :shock: ..... talk bout shittin bricks

:shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » September 13th, 2010, 3:07 pm

oh great i just had to read that tobago comment....i goin thursday...

and u r right those bago planes look old and beat out...turbulence on them feel like death

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » September 13th, 2010, 3:11 pm

That's a long scratch, looks like it dragged on impact

Postby shogun » September 13th, 2010, 7:40 pm

BlueIce wrote:oh great i just had to read that tobago comment....i goin thursday...

and u r right those bago planes look old and beat out... turbulence on them feel like death

lol. nail on head business.

Postby Greypatch » September 13th, 2010, 7:55 pm

go brave ppl only one time to die

Postby wagonrunner » September 13th, 2010, 8:33 pm

Greypatch wrote:go brave ppl only one time to die

preach it

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » September 14th, 2010, 1:43 am

gastly369 wrote:remember going tobago last year with a turbo prop that them using .... i was sitting by the window close to de wing and i watching outside .. as we nearing bago weather was lil bad .. plan wing flexing like crazy it rusty like hell .. we had to cancel the landing last minute cause de pilot say he eh seein de runway... second try we gone for it as we touch down ah piece ah sheeting from de wing fly out :shock: ..... talk bout shittin bricks

i was now thinking this the same model planes that go to Tobago.. get them t&t Spirit ferry tickets going!!!

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » September 14th, 2010, 7:41 am

Y'all getting bummy for a dash 8 landing in crown point? Pfffft. Try landing or taking off in a dash 8 in E.T. Joshua Airport in St. Vincent & The Grenedines!

This is a LIAT dash 8 approaching into E.T. Joshua. Now how many of y'all that island hop ever hear Dash 8 pilots engage thrust reversers on ladning? Very very rare!

LIAT dash 8 departing from E.T. Joshua. No take off roll here buddy, power up and release!

Now for pilots with nuts of steel, AmeriJet Boeing 727 pilots taking off on Runway 7 (heading towards the mountain) As far as information goes, they claim this is the only aircraft to take off on Runway 7 ever!

Btw, you can see how much the aircraft has slowed down after takeoff

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » September 14th, 2010, 9:42 am

:( :( :( WTF and i flying out Tobago next week on them Dash 8. Since 9/11 i does get bummy on them planes rides. But say what i walking with a big blanket yes..... improvised parachute FTW :D :D :D

Postby pete » September 14th, 2010, 10:01 am

Been to St. Vincent.. It's not so bad, they just touch down right at the start of the runway and apply a lot of brakes.

Postby Greypatch » September 14th, 2010, 10:13 am

15 less vene's in the world... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-11289500

The plane went down on wasteland owned by the state-run Sidor steel mill

A plane crash in Venezuela has killed 15 people - but 36 passengers have survived the impact, officials say.

The ATR-42 turboprop, belonging to the state airline Conviasa, came down shortly after leaving Manuel Carlos Piar airport, outside Ciudad Guayana.

Bolivar State Governor Francisco Rangel Gomez said the aircraft had 47 passengers and four crew on board.

The pilots of the aircraft, having left the island of Margarita, reported technical problems before it crashed.

"We still don't know the exact cause," Mr Gomez told state television.

gundelero

Postby gundelero » September 14th, 2010, 11:42 am

i not going margarita again, until another carrier starts flying. i remember the first time i went margarita with Avior Airlines. I could have flown back and forth all the time for the whole weekend. The air hostesses were outta this world.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » September 14th, 2010, 11:42 am

Dem Conviasa plane does wuk like maxi......back and forth whole fackin day.....when you boardin yuh hadda wait for the people to walk out before you enter.....I was not impressed :|

Postby tr1ad » September 14th, 2010, 1:50 pm

buh dem doh fly to Magarita unless is a connecting in caracas

haru100

Postby haru100 » September 14th, 2010, 2:47 pm

I flew three times this year. The second one's left propeller did not work at first. They send us back to the terminal after a half an hour we were brought back into the plain. The engines were started and looking out the left propeller was not working still while the right one was spinning. Eventually the left one started and we were off. The entire flight I had my eye on the left propeller.

Postby tr1ad » September 14th, 2010, 2:56 pm

So was it in PLAIN sight from your seat in the PLANE

Postby gastly369 » September 14th, 2010, 4:33 pm

goes to download flight simulator X and try to land in Joshua Airport in St. Vincent

Postby Greypatch » September 14th, 2010, 6:41 pm

dais some cravy vids pablo

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » September 14th, 2010, 8:28 pm

gastly369 wrote:
goes to download flight simulator X and try to land in Joshua Airport in St. Vincent

And to make it a little more exciting, request a runway 25 arrival :lol: :lol: :lol:

link

Postby link » September 15th, 2010, 8:01 am

jjcp wrote:

u sheit bricks & porridge when u pull that stick & d plane eh climb !!! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

link

Postby link » September 15th, 2010, 8:03 am

pablo_tt wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

And to make it a little more exciting, request a runway 25 arrival :lol: :lol: :lol:

give meaning to the term 'only ah helicopter' :!:

Postby UML » September 15th, 2010, 12:27 pm

ryno_sounds wrote:WTF!!! I going magarita this thursday!!.........i real bomby now!!!

Nationals may be stranded in Margarita

By NEWSDAY REPORTER Wednesday, September 15 2010
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,127535.html

THERE is concern that locals may be stranded in Margarita following a decision by the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) to suspend flights into this country by Conviasa — Venezuela’s state airline.

Monday’s suspension of the flights followed the 9.50 am crash, that day, of a Conviasa flight from Margarita to Puerto Ordaz in Venezuela.

President of the Trinidad and Tobago Travel Agents Association (TTTAA), Wayne Rodriguez, said: “A lot of Trinidadians fly to Margarita on Conviasa. It’s currently the only airline offering direct flights to the island; two or three times per week. Five or six local travel agents have been calling me today (yesterday) about Conviasa’s suspension but I couldn’t tell them anything other than what was reported in the media.”

Rodriguez said his attempts yesterday to contact the owners of Navarro’s Travel Service; Conviasa’s local agent, were all futile. If any TT national is stranded in Margarita, Rodriguez said, they need to make a report to Conviasa’s Margarita office. “According to industry practices, the airline would then organise return flights for these passengers, at its expense.”

Speaking on the possible reasons behind the CAA suspension of Conviasa flights into TT, Rodriguez said: “Recent incidents with some Latin American airlines including crashes and the fact that aircraft inspections are not as stringent as those in the United States and Europe, are the likely reasons behind the Civil Aviation’s decision. I believe the suspension would remain in place until Conviasa can demonstrate that its aircraft are certified to a particular standard.”

Up to press time yesterday evening, there were 17 confirmed deaths resulting from Monday’s crash. Of the 47 passengers and four crew members, 34 survived.