Re: 3ne2nr Hunters

Postby Sheriff » December 9th, 2011, 1:49 pm

Yea shotta 20, I in that.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » December 9th, 2011, 2:20 pm

Sheriff, When u going and where do u go for wild ducks?

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » December 9th, 2011, 2:42 pm

shotta we does shoot mainly sea ducks, anywhere on the edges of mangroves you can find them. They are spoked easily tho. We usually go for them in January and February cuz we noticed they are more abundant at that time.

Postby rfari » December 9th, 2011, 2:49 pm

n00b question. there are wild ducks in trinidad? where?

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » December 9th, 2011, 3:01 pm

I know of a co-worker who used to hunt them in the swamp area @ manzan.
The meat is realll delicious.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 9th, 2011, 3:04 pm

question

how would i know if theres a iguana on a tree?

have a couple of plots of land behind my house that i suspect to have iguana living

(epic land doh pond,several fruit trees, and trees well over 60 feet )

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » December 9th, 2011, 3:05 pm

rfari wrote:n00b question. there are wild ducks in trinidad? where?

What kind of rastaman you is: supporting animal abuse and wanton slaughter of animals.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » December 9th, 2011, 3:31 pm

Sabot wrote:Image

that is one big mofo :shock:

actually, there are two decent size guanas in the chimney in front of Hillview. Who knows, it might even have more + snakes.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » December 9th, 2011, 3:32 pm

I hear up Cedros is some swamp up there have wild ducks as well but not sure of exact location.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » December 9th, 2011, 3:39 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:question

how would i know if theres a iguana on a tree?

have a couple of plots of land behind my house that i suspect to have iguana living

(epic land doh pond,several fruit trees, and trees well over 60 feet )

well, i guess you hadda scope out de scenes at night with a headlight/spotlight might help yuh spot them due to eyeshine or make ah afternoon and stare at the trees using a pair of binoculars. This might be the only way to actually see them as Iguanas are the Kings of camoflague :stalk: . When yuh ready to take dem out... :snipersmile:

When i used to plant ochro in my backyard, some small buggers used to come and breeze on the leaves. My dog ate one , i caught one with my dog's help and i saw like 3 others and just got fed up of trying to catch them.

Hope that helped.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » December 9th, 2011, 3:42 pm

Hoss i spotting guana on trees from a mile away !

Yodins

Postby Yodins » December 9th, 2011, 5:46 pm

shotta 20 wrote:Hoss i spotting guana on trees from a mile away !

by chance, did you spend your fundamental childhood years in a bush area?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 9th, 2011, 5:53 pm

dey not dat hard to spot once u know wat to look for...its ah skill trust me...i cud see some an for nothing, meh padna dem does cyah see it....

stephengobin

Postby stephengobin » December 9th, 2011, 6:29 pm

i does spot iguanas from miles too, sometimes when i driving i does spot them on trees and when i show my wife she does be like wtf, are you watching the road? i used to hunt iguanas in the bamboo a while back, i caught about 30 iguanas in one day. but we don't shot them, our style is to spot them, climb the tree then shake them off the tree while i on the ground catching them before they hit the ground.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 9th, 2011, 7:07 pm

stephengobin wrote:i does spot iguanas from miles too, sometimes when i driving i does spot them on trees and when i show my wife she does be like wtf, are you watching the road? i used to hunt iguanas in the bamboo a while back, i caught about 30 iguanas in one day. but we don't shot them, our style is to spot them, climb the tree then shake them off the tree while i on the ground catching them before they hit the ground.

i need that talent
btw i gonnna buy a binoculars

and start scoping the trees

look at the top? or on the branches below the top?

Postby meccalli » December 9th, 2011, 9:35 pm

they like to lie flat in the shade but the shape and the white patches on the face and the bands is what i usually see first, it have a couple in my yard that eats the flowers in the coconut, pomerac and mango tree.
goanna...kik by meccalli, on Flickr

my friend's yard here

Iguana in the bushes by RiChE, on Flickr

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » December 12th, 2011, 11:30 am

Got my permits friday and went out Saturday for a day hunt with some fellas and dogs... Caught a Agouti and a Lappe...

Agouti- 13lbs after cleaning
Lappe- 25lbs after cleaning.....Biggest lappe i ever saw...

Dogs line up were 10 dogs... From Coon Hound, Fox hound, Beetle Hounds, July Hound, Blue Tick Hound... Bess line up...

Big HUGE Mappapie...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 12th, 2011, 1:38 pm

nice catch man but i see bigger lappe already...where u guys hunt?

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » December 12th, 2011, 4:11 pm

Nice catch man.

EvolvedDET

Postby EvolvedDET » December 13th, 2011, 11:19 am

Correction they youth the Agouti was only 5lbs after cleaning.
The lappe was quite large for the big head species i have caught bigger specimens but in the small head species.
For a male in the Large head species this is almost as big as they get the females tend to be bigger the pics rely dont do justice. The biggest i ever saw was imported live from Suriname 35lbs + some real scary lookin monsters.
I have a small head male at home last weigh in at 6months he was 14 lbs now 9 months.

EvolvedDET

Postby EvolvedDET » December 13th, 2011, 11:24 am

Heading out tomorrow H C Youth you goin. Catch was made in the Tamana / Biche Forest dogs was playin the ars that day lack of running the next day we ketch a Tatoo dogs still play the ars.

radical14

Postby radical14 » December 29th, 2011, 10:35 am

you guys catch anything in the last week

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » January 4th, 2012, 10:50 am

EvolvedDET how was the hunt you guys catch anything?

EvolvedDET

Postby EvolvedDET » January 5th, 2012, 1:07 am

Caught nothing on that hunt dogs still play the ars made two more hunts after that caught two more lappe HCU the photographer was absent but ah still have some pics both where female 1 was larger than the one in the pic above and the other was smaller. Dogs now start to pickup things real slow though most hunters i talk to say things real hard weather real bad to mabey new year will bring better luck and weather.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 5th, 2012, 10:17 pm

EvolvedDET wrote:Caught nothing on that hunt dogs still play the ars made two more hunts after that caught two more lappe HCU the photographer was absent but ah still have some pics both where female 1 was larger than the one in the pic above and the other was smaller. Dogs now start to pickup things real slow though most hunters i talk to say things real hard weather real bad to mabey new year will bring better luck and weather.

U forgot to mention the "tatoo" the guys caught when they went back to find the dogs!!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 5th, 2012, 10:57 pm

make ah small run last nite to shoot manicou..see 3, shoot 1...

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 9th, 2012, 12:37 pm

Ready for them.... Day time century!!

Sabot

Postby Sabot » January 25th, 2012, 11:33 am

Anyone knows the procedure to get a permit/ pass to access and hunt in the Beach Field area in Petrotrin Guayaguayare? Guards there told me to call the admin office but no luck with that as no one seems to know.

Also looking for another good hound to buy, no breed preference really but once it can raise either agouti or lappe and chase properly.

jdmcx

Postby jdmcx » April 25th, 2012, 3:20 pm

this past hunting season