Re: 3ne2nr Hunters

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2020, 6:47 pm

Never saw those in box drains
Call the reptile org who does rescue caimans, they should take the,

*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

A lil off topic here

What is the scientific name for them local drain turtles (morocoy)?

It have a few in damaged section of a box drain by me here and i wanna relocate them to somewhere safer.
The regional corp may do some repairs soon and i dont them to kill them in the process.
Or cepep will come and scoop them out and they can be damaged.

So i wanna get a good spot to put them where they can get food etc.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 1st, 2020, 7:10 pm

pugboy wrote:Never saw those in box drains

A lil off topic here

It have a few in damaged section of a box drain by me here and i wanna relocate them to somewhere safer.
The regional corp may do some repairs soon and i dont them to kill them in the process.

Sometimes they swin upstream when it flooding and get lost/stuck.
Saw a baby caiman in the box drain in front my house. barely 8 inches of water, almost about a mile from the nearest raw watercourse (too small to call that a river), but it leads to the sea
Can put them by the nearest pond or river.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 1st, 2020, 7:11 pm

by baby, I mean 3-4 footer eh, nose to tail

Postby 88sins » October 1st, 2020, 7:14 pm

A lil off topic here

The ones with the red mark on the head? If it's that it's called a Galap turtle.

Postby maj. tom » October 1st, 2020, 7:22 pm

Postby *KRONIK* » October 1st, 2020, 7:25 pm

I aint gonna turn this to a drama...
Will take them somwhere with a pond close by.

A lil off topic here

Makes sense
The main river is connected to that drain
VexXx Dogg wrote:

A lil off topic here

Sometimes they swin upstream when it flooding and get lost/stuck.
Saw a baby caiman in the box drain in front my house. barely 8 inches of water, almost about a mile from the nearest raw watercourse (too small to call that a river), but it leads to the sea
Can put them by the nearest pond or river.

Thank you sir

A lil off topic here

The ones with the red mark on the head? If it's that it's called a Galap turtle.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 1st, 2020, 7:29 pm

This was very helpful
I know just the place to take them now

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 2nd, 2020, 4:14 am

*KRONIK* wrote:This was very helpful

i see those in the aranguez river by the Savannah. it have a good few groups in there they hide under the bridge.

death365

Postby death365 » October 2nd, 2020, 9:36 am

screwbash wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:This was very helpful

i see those in the aranguez river by the Savannah. it have a good few groups in there they hide under the bridge.
Boy don't tell people that!!! Nex thing u see man hunt out all...

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 2nd, 2020, 5:25 pm

honeybee supermarket has a few little ones selling. y would men hunt them ? i aint think drain or river turtle good to eat them sure to carry salmonella

Postby pugboy » October 2nd, 2020, 5:31 pm

chicken known to have salmonella too

yuh never eat tattoo?

screwbash wrote:honeybee supermarket has a few little ones selling. y would men hunt them ? i aint think drain or river turtle good to eat them sure to carry salmonella

Postby maj. tom » October 2nd, 2020, 5:46 pm

They not eating it raw you know. One would hope. But turtle meat has always been a staple meat and delicacy for humans since at least the discovery of the New World. And i sure way longer before that too. The settlers found Amerindians eating turtle meat and eggs as a staple. It's only in the 20th century it has sort of become taboo because our hunt-animals-to extinction-attitude caught up with us.

My guess is that turtle meats tastes good.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 2nd, 2020, 6:00 pm

I ate it once
Was like fishy beef

Postby pugboy » October 2nd, 2020, 7:49 pm

small turtles or sea turtles ?
the old chinese ppl say them land morocoy is the flick

*KRONIK* wrote:I ate it once
Was like fishy beef

Postby Redman » October 2nd, 2020, 8:06 pm

pugboy wrote:small turtles or sea turtles ?
the old chinese ppl say them land morocoy is the flick

*KRONIK* wrote:I ate it once
Was like fishy beef

A friend kept a batch of the land morocoy for about 15 years.
Made morocoy soup on his wedding day with all.
Smh.

Wolla

Postby Wolla » November 18th, 2020, 9:30 am

Forgot to share this here, but this is happening today. From there to POS.

IMG-20201115-WA0005.jpg

Postby 88sins » November 18th, 2020, 9:45 am

better late than never

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » December 2nd, 2020, 5:20 am

How to humanely get rid of manicou living in a residential area? Do you all know of anyone or a pest control company that would trap and relocate?

Postby 88sins » December 2nd, 2020, 6:17 am

You might hadda do dat yourself. Most would just kill it on the spot, or trap it and relocate it to a pot of curry and seasoning later.
But if it's only "in the area" why do you feel the need to have it relocated? It living in your ceiling or your yard or something?

Postby Kenjo » December 2nd, 2020, 6:25 am

What exactly are those little critters doing though ? Disrupting garbage or killing pets?

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » December 2nd, 2020, 7:37 am

They are making a lot of noise in late night / early morning climbing up a tree and jumping on my roof. Do you all know where sells traps/cages?

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2020, 7:39 am

plenty places sell the traps, agri places.
what area you from ?

you can also make one out of wood if you are handy.

mazdatt wrote:They are making a lot of noise in late night / early morning climbing up a tree and jumping on my roof. Do you all know where sells traps/cages?

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » December 2nd, 2020, 7:44 am

pugboy wrote:plenty places sell the traps, agri places.
what area you from ?

Can you recommend a place in San Fernando?

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2020, 8:11 am

no idea for south but call the agri places

Postby 88sins » December 2nd, 2020, 8:39 am

what area you from ?

mazdatt wrote:They are making a lot of noise in late night / early morning climbing up a tree and jumping on my roof. Do you all know where sells traps/cages?

don't even need wood for that
a piece of 3" pvc, about 5" long with a cap on the end. put it where they pass & leave for a 5-6 days. Ideally you want to brace it at an angle with the open end facing upwards, in an area where ppl don't really go to often. on day 7, drop a piece of chicken leg and some of the blood water inside it, & sprinkle a little of the bloody water around the mouth of the pvc.
The scent of the blood will attract him & make him want to investigate, and he will go for the chicken & slide down inside but because the pvc smooth inside he won't be able to climb out.
What you do and how you deal with him after is entirely up to you. Just know, they does bite worse than dog, and if when they bite you lash them they sinking teeth down in you more not less.

or a hunter that does eat them could deal with him for you

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2020, 8:51 am

only 5” long ?

Postby alfa » December 2nd, 2020, 9:02 am

mazdatt wrote:
what area you from ?

Can you recommend a place in San Fernando?

Try Bisessar's agro shop on Mucurapo street near the Sanfdo market

Postby 88sins » December 2nd, 2020, 9:05 am

pugboy wrote:only 5” long ?

my bad, should have been 5'
when yuh typing fast & multi-tasking 14 different things at once nah :lol: