kamakazi

Re: What's on the menu this Sunday?

Postby kamakazi » June 30th, 2020, 3:49 pm

Bun bun is required... Dry. Use brown rice
*KRONIK* wrote:Allyuh aint cook today or wah?
Pelau today
nothing to really take pics of - it gonna taste better tomorrow anyway.
Leftover pelau always tastes better, plus the zaboca should be ripe by tomorrow

However seeing a raging debate going on - which way you prefer your pelau?
Sappy, medium or dry?

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2020, 4:40 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Thoughts on the other beans ppl like to add like corn and green peas in addition to pigeon peas?
Should it be pigeon peas only?

Yes. Sappylau only needs pigeon peas.

Postby 88sins » July 3rd, 2020, 3:43 pm

a lil corn and some peas and carrots in a wetlau does lash

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2020, 4:33 pm

a good cole slaw is important too

Postby *KRONIK* » July 3rd, 2020, 5:29 pm

This
pugboy wrote:a good cole slaw is important too

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2020, 5:58 pm

I like kfc cole slaw a lot
its not dripping wet, and just right amount of sweet and acidity to balance out the starch from the rice

too many make cole slaw into a sappy mayo mess

*KRONIK* wrote:This
pugboy wrote:a good cole slaw is important too

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 3rd, 2020, 7:06 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Thoughts on the other beans ppl like to add like corn and green peas in addition to pigeon peas?

A good redbean or black eye peleau does lash too.

Postby De Dragon » July 3rd, 2020, 9:42 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Ollour look like de kind who eh purists and does support all kinda coconut chutney and chicken and ting in doubles :lol:
'lau is pigeon peas only!

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2020, 9:46 pm

canned or frozen ?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 3rd, 2020, 9:48 pm

pugboy wrote:canned or frozen ?

Neither.

Fresh pigoen peas
dried red bean
dried blackeye

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 3rd, 2020, 9:49 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Ollour look like de kind who eh purists and does support all kinda coconut chutney and chicken and ting in doubles :lol:

naaah heear me out

Try a beef or pork peleau with red beans
Try a pigtail peleau with blackeye

report back

Postby De Dragon » July 3rd, 2020, 9:52 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

naaah heear me out

Try a beef or pork peleau with red beans
Try a pigtail peleau with blackeye

report back

Blasphemy! :lol:

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2020, 10:01 pm

i hear cavali does make a good fish pelau

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 3rd, 2020, 10:05 pm

Never had the fishlau, maybe if somebody make it and share LOL

Closest I say I had to seafood peleau was maybe jambalaya that they put black beans in

Postby Dizzy28 » July 3rd, 2020, 10:57 pm

A former coworker used to often bring shark pelau for lunch. Still wrapping my mind around that heresy
pugboy wrote:i hear cavali does make a good fish pelau

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 3rd, 2020, 11:33 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:A former coworker used to often bring shark pelau for lunch. Still wrapping my mind around that heresy
pugboy wrote:i hear cavali does make a good fish pelau

I know shark fry rice, but that fundamentally different from a 'lau

Postby Rovin » July 4th, 2020, 11:09 am

boi wam to allyuh a red bean pelau does taste bess, i always make mine with red bean

honestly i never hear bout fish pelau , ent d fish flesh go mash up like flakes in it ? , i guess u hadda use a meaty fish or shark like somebody say .... either way dise a strange 1

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2020, 11:17 am

I only hear fellas say that the only thing cavali good for is pelau as it is a hard red flesh but tastes bad imho
dunno who else does eat cavali

Postby *KRONIK* » July 4th, 2020, 11:21 am

A old man up by we does make it with marlin cubes
Does taste good

And yea
I dont understand cavali hype
Really dont taste all that special
pugboy wrote:I only hear fellas say that the only thing cavali good for is pelau as it is a hard red flesh but tastes bad imho
dunno who else does eat cavali

Postby SMc » July 4th, 2020, 11:28 am

Fresh cavali is really good for cevichce- best made while on thee boat

Postby *KRONIK* » July 12th, 2020, 12:35 pm

Wah allyuh eating today?

I have some fry rice and pepper chicken

Postby rspann » July 12th, 2020, 12:56 pm

How to make pepper chicken?

solarkh

Postby solarkh » July 12th, 2020, 1:10 pm

Adjustments.JPG

Red fish and sweet potato pie going in the oven.

Postby Gladiator » July 12th, 2020, 1:54 pm

solarkh wrote:Adjustments.JPGAdjustments.JPG

Red fish and sweet potato pie going in the oven.

Great food there boy...enjoy

I make some chicken Alfredo and garlic bread...

Postby eliteauto » July 12th, 2020, 1:59 pm

pizza

Postby gastly369 » July 12th, 2020, 3:04 pm

Blackeye peas beef Pelau and ah cold jug of Trinidad orange juice.. Ehhh

Postby goalpost » July 12th, 2020, 8:01 pm

Provision, lentils, stew chicken. Lettuce, tomatoes and avocado as the side salad.

Postby De Dragon » July 12th, 2020, 10:49 pm

De Boss gone simple today, curried chicken and potatoes, dhalpuri and peppered cucumber/tomato salad.

Postby nemisis » July 18th, 2020, 11:53 am

Looking for some scallions south any ideas?

Postby maj. tom » July 18th, 2020, 11:59 am

what we call "chive, sive" here in Trinidad is really green onions.
Green onions are also the same thing as scallions. You can either pick them young like our "chive" or more mature with a bulb (spring onion).

Chive is a different herb (but similar onion family) with pink/purple flowers. Much milder flavours and what you see in French cuisine a lot.

p.s. when yuh family buy chive in the market to grind up and carry back up NY or Montreal, dey dotish because green onions are found everywhere fresh in the world. The "bandanya" and "pimento peppers" i understand, but not the green onion.