What's on the menu this Sunday?

Re: What's on the menu this Sunday?

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 15th, 2021, 5:34 pm

I supposed to be on low sodium too, but it's harder when I'm cooking for the fam.
Ever used the "no salt" salt subst? I heard about it and was wondering if I should try it

Postby Dave » August 15th, 2021, 5:49 pm

Someone once said those subs things worst than actual product in moderation. If you really want to stick to no salt, use more fresh seasoning. You won't miss it.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » August 15th, 2021, 6:15 pm

I used something called “no salt”. Basically food grade salt substitute.

Basically it’s like Splenda. If you don’t know you wouldn’t taste a difference.

As for being bad for you, I guess one day I’ll find out.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 22nd, 2021, 11:34 am

Some left overs from yesterday:
Roti
Channa and aloo
Pumpkin
Stew chicken
Curry goat

Maybe some burgers for dinner
Will see how it goes

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 22nd, 2021, 11:50 am

Rice, Red Bean and Stewed Chicken with Fresh Salad.

Postby De Dragon » August 22nd, 2021, 12:09 pm

'lau with coleslaw,
egg, walnut, spinach and feta salad.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 22nd, 2021, 12:21 pm

De Dragon wrote:'lau with coleslaw,

That salad sounding reaaaaal good bro

I made a lamb peleau and ah normal lettuce/tomato/red onion/bell pepper salad.

Also made spag and fried chicken for kiddo because she put in special request early. ‘‘Twas a good excuse to load my plau with pepper and double up on pigeon peas lol

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2021, 12:22 pm

hong kong city trincity mall dim sum

Postby De Dragon » August 22nd, 2021, 3:03 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
De Dragon wrote:'lau with coleslaw,

That salad sounding reaaaaal good bro

I made a lamb peleau and ah normal lettuce/tomato/red onion/bell pepper salad.

Also made spag and fried chicken for kiddo because she put in special request early. ‘‘Twas a good excuse to load my plau with pepper and double up on pigeon peas lol

It lashing :D
No dressing, no olive oil, just whatever brine came out of the feta

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2021, 3:46 pm

Tried a hand at making scotch pies.
Tasted pretty good

Postby *KRONIK* » August 22nd, 2021, 4:01 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Tried a hand at making scotch pies.
Tasted pretty good

Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeyyyyyy

That looking rell bess dawg

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 22nd, 2021, 4:07 pm

PAPS!

I just made some pickled beets to go with my midweek salads. Regular dill pickles hard to get, so this is the next best thing.
Extra spice for the pickle was with cherry peppers, peppercorns and some cloves.

Postby timelapse » August 22nd, 2021, 4:36 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:PAPS!

I just made some pickled beets to go with my midweek salads. Regular dill pickles hard to get, so this is the next best thing.
Extra spice for the pickle was with cherry peppers, peppercorns and some cloves.
Plenty regular dill in central

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 22nd, 2021, 5:34 pm

timelapse wrote:

Not the herb inno. The bottled dill pickles, like whole or lengthway sliced.

I check from pricesmart to JTA to Naipaul and pickles+black olives scarce

Shannon

Postby Shannon » August 22nd, 2021, 6:09 pm

This Weekend's Menu
IMG_6947.PNG
IMG_6945.PNG

Postby eliteauto » August 22nd, 2021, 6:15 pm

In theory vegetable rice, potato salad, cucumbers, zaboca and BBQ chicken. In actuality started with a couple of Blue Moon beers then Black and White with 7up at first location, onto the second location for Johnnie and coconut water all under the guise of doing business. I'll get home to the food above eventually lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2021, 6:43 pm

Shannon wrote:This Weekend's Menu

I feel healthy just looking at that bowl

Postby Rovin » August 22nd, 2021, 6:58 pm

DMan7 wrote:Rice, Red Bean and Stewed Chicken with Fresh Salad.

hmmm same here but with chow

duane was winning today until that shannon dude showed up ...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 22nd, 2021, 6:58 pm

Rovin wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Rice, Red Bean and Stewed Chicken with Fresh Salad.

hmmm same here but with chow

duane was winning today until that shannon dude showed up ...

With Coconut pot bake for dinner. Freshly grated coconut. :)

Postby Rovin » August 22nd, 2021, 7:01 pm

i do have coconut bake & whole wheat bread for later but it come from hilo ... lol

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 22nd, 2021, 7:11 pm

Rovin wrote:i do have coconut bake & whole wheat bread for later but it come from hilo ... lol

Time to make your own, it ain't hard and only takes about 15 minutes.

Postby timelapse » August 22nd, 2021, 9:13 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Chase mart, Hao li have regular hamburger dill pickles.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 23rd, 2021, 5:23 am

timelapse wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Chase mart, Hao li have regular hamburger dill pickles.

according to youtube there is a shortage of pickles an other condiments such as salad dressing, pasta sauce, canned tomatoes, frozen meals such as frozen pizza and pies/cakes and dry beans. all this is due to covid and its rippling effect so it should simmer down in time. hopefully most of the world is vaccinated by end of 2021 and they get the false sense of security to reopen the world.

make your own dill at home

https://youtu.be/Tl4SKZ9BF2c

Postby Dizzy28 » August 23rd, 2021, 10:06 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Massy Trincity has. I bought a bottle last week (Vlasic brand). They also had Heinz which was more expensive. You can get both whole and slices.

I usually use to buy the big bottles of pickles in Pricesmart but they haven't had in ages. Bought a bottle of Mabel's in Dec to support local and never saw their brand again after that. And well last week was the first time I been to Massy since April so took the Vlasic just to have.

Postby 88sins » August 23rd, 2021, 5:23 pm

Vlasic pickles does cut tho, I find they taste better than Heinz.

I hoping to find some time to fire up the new pit this weekend, definitely making shrimp kebabs as appetizers, but studying what to BBQ for the main course.

Any ideas?

Postby De Dragon » August 23rd, 2021, 9:45 pm

88sins wrote:Vlasic pickles does cut tho, I find they taste better than Heinz.

I hoping to find some time to fire up the new pit this weekend, definitely making shrimp kebabs as appetizers, but studying what to BBQ for the main course.

Any ideas?

Hog.

Postby 88sins » August 23rd, 2021, 10:58 pm

Dear sir DeDragon
It is with neither regret, nor remorse, nor reservations that I am compelled to inform you that I am disinclined to acquiesce to your suggestion of porcine products being prepared for consumption upon my new equipment designed for roasting and smoking food.

Translation
No, I eh want no hog on meh grill pallie. Not even in a garbage bag in meh yard.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 24th, 2021, 9:32 am

88sins wrote:Dear sir DeDragon
It is with neither regret, nor remorse, nor reservations that I am compelled to inform you that I am disinclined to acquiesce to your suggestion of porcine products being prepared for consumption upon my new equipment designed for roasting and smoking food.

Translation
No, I eh want no hog on meh grill pallie. Not even in a garbage bag in meh yard.

I doh eat cow, but if you eh want lord swine, put down a slow cooked bovine. BRISKET ITMC

tool-band

Postby tool-band » August 24th, 2021, 10:23 am

Spent the weekend smoking a bunch of meat

A home-cured Ham and some pork ribs with the belly still attached smoked over cherry wood

Brisket done over post oak

some beef plate ribs

Postby Gladiator » August 24th, 2021, 10:55 am

tool-band wrote:Spent the weekend smoking a bunch of meat

A home-cured Ham and some pork ribs with the belly still attached smoked over cherry wood

Brisket done over post oak

some beef plate ribs

You a wicked fella... making me hungry now :(