The case of A. Popalie Re Victims SRP Dopson & WPC Timothy.

Mudboy

Re: The case of A. Popalie Re Victims SRP Dopson & WPC Timo

Postby Mudboy » October 26th, 2010, 9:48 pm

MadCrix wrote:she is narend's ex btw patch lol

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

crix yuh mouth really dutty hoss

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 27th, 2010, 8:11 am

wham? lol

Postby Greypatch » October 27th, 2010, 8:36 am

See how the PSA working for you

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,129809.html

Accused remains in jail

By AZARD ALI Wednesday, October 27 2010

AALIYAH DIMPLE POPALIE spent another night in jail yesterday because staff at the magistrates and High courts worked-to-rule and bail of $200,000 set by a magistrate could not be processed.

Popalie, 28, of San Juan, appeared again yesterday in the Couva Magistrates’ court charged with two offences in the October 17 killing of PC Reynauld Dopson and injury to his colleague, WPC Wendy-Ann Timothy, on the Sir Solomon Hochoy Highway.

When Popalie first appeared on Monday, senior magistrate Debra Quintyn remanded her into custody because she wanted to research the issue of whether she had the authority to call upon Popalie to surrender her driver’s permit, as a condition for bail.

The court police prosecutor Sgt Asraph Haspoodeen, had requested that the magistrate order the woman to report to a police station.

Popalie, a University of the West Indies student who lives at Paragsingh Avenue, El Socorro, San Juan, was arrested by warrant on Sunday.

Two indictable charges were read to her — that she drove her car along the south-bound lane of the highway and caused the death of Dopson.

The second alleged that she caused grievous bodily harm to Timothy. The policewoman is still at hospital. The two officers were conducting traffic duty near the Ato Boldon Stadium, when they were knocked down by a white Lexus vehicle. Dopson died on the spot.

Popalie is to re-appear next Tuesday.

Postby wagon r » October 27th, 2010, 9:14 am

i glad....stay in there and think about it....

death by dangerous driving is a 15yr jail term...maximum sentence...driving w/o due care and causing grevious bodily harm should be another few years.

even if the case takes a few years (being TnT)....she'll be in jail well into her 40's....

Postby Greypatch » October 27th, 2010, 9:19 am

She will be out on bail....BUT once the case makes it to high court and when found guilty

she will have some time to ponder.

sentences will run together though.

I am surprised there are ONLY 2 charged laid.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » October 27th, 2010, 9:23 am

She need to stay in jail till she past menopause!

Postby bushwakka » October 27th, 2010, 9:50 am

i almost killed someone on the shoulder like a jacka$$
i was driving for 5 mins behind a truck on the left lane and there was another on the right lane
was thinkin abt going on the shoulder to overtake one of the trucks (didn't do it)

right after that thought passed, i saw someone standing on the shoulder, which i would not have seen cuz the truck was obstructing my view

cud not believe how close i wud have come to that.....i learnt my lesson

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 27th, 2010, 10:25 am

Saturday I was heading South about 9.00 pm and I met the construction site on the highway. There was traffic before the road way was narrowed to one lane. When I reached the place where the road was one lane only I saw cars zooming up the left shoulder! It may have been something similar that the lady did on the Sunday!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 27th, 2010, 12:09 pm

ok all is good but where Killermath????

still free? new suv, the question remains- who will he kill next?

Postby toyolink » October 27th, 2010, 12:23 pm

Roadworks on highway/freeways must be properly marshalled.Safety signs must be placed at intervals long before actual site, patrol vehicles on shoulder,cones on shoulder and officers strategically positioned to bring all moving vehicles under full control.MOW,POLICE AND CONTRACTORS need to get this right-Jeez!This is not rocket science.The lost of one life is totally unacceptable.We truly are in the dark ages and should be ashamed.

Postby wagonrunner » October 27th, 2010, 12:33 pm

why the fack drivers simply cant do the right facking thing, and join the line?
they still need the kindergarten teacher to stand behind them?

Postby toyolink » October 27th, 2010, 2:19 pm

The rule of thumb is people need to be governed in all things.This is just how it is and no ranting or raving will change this truth.I did not make this up just so!

Postby cinco » October 27th, 2010, 2:36 pm

well jail helps scare the next clown who does this

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 27th, 2010, 3:24 pm

toyolink wrote:The rule of thumb is people need to be governed in all things.This is just how it is and no ranting or raving will change this truth.I did not make this up just so!

its not really that trinis need to be governed all the time, these same people, if they go to miami, they dont break traffic lights and they dont use shoulders in traffic..........
why? because they KNOW if they do its a serious offense that will be enforced.

IF our police stopped warning people and accepting sweet talk, if police started slapping $5,000.00 tickets on offenders ALL the time- watch and see how locals WILL conform!

Postby toyolink » October 27th, 2010, 4:21 pm

People follow the rules in countries where they are enforced-in disney people line-up since you are governed by ropes and custodians,on the turnpike the troopers are everywhere and will speed scan with no warning and papa them fellows you don't mess with.When there is road works patrol cars,signs galore and if nite lights all over the place.Actually,this supports my point people all need to be governed this is not just a t&t thing.We deserve service from those we trust with authority and lives are being lost and challenged by the lack thereof.They need to start suing and charging those who fail to carry out their duties.

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2010, 4:26 pm

x2, the same bad driving trini will rent a car in miami and drive within the law and park properly

geodude

Postby geodude » October 27th, 2010, 4:48 pm

really sucks to be her though, i know at least this incident has given me lots to think about.

Everyone is clamoring for "justice", but it will never bring back the life of the the officer, or heal the injuries of the broken cop , in the end all that will be achieved is the destruction of another person life

no one wins in this situation....

Postby wagon r » October 28th, 2010, 8:56 am

^ she won some jail time and public out cry....and the rest of the nation in what not to be doing on the road.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 28th, 2010, 9:25 am

geodude wrote:Everyone is clamoring for "justice", but it will never bring back the life of the the officer, or heal the injuries of the broken cop , in the end all that will be achieved is the destruction of another person life

no it doesnt bring back his life but it gives her a chance to get some alone time and realise the full effect of her actions...and while he isnt here to enjoy his life, she shouldnt enjoy hers either!

Postby Greypatch » October 28th, 2010, 10:14 am

Lets see how this pans out on Tuesday 2nd November.

Side Question - Does the Family/Relatives/Estate of SRP Dopson receive any financial payment as a result of his demise in the line of duty ?

Postby bushwakka » October 28th, 2010, 10:19 am

^his gf look rel sad dred

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » October 28th, 2010, 5:26 pm

geodude wrote:really sucks to be her though, i know at least this incident has given me lots to think about.

Everyone is clamoring for "justice", but it will never bring back the life of the the officer, or heal the injuries of the broken cop , in the end all that will be achieved is the destruction of another person life

no one wins in this situation....

^^^ This here

IS UTTER FVCKERY

She a$$ should stew in jail fuh de maximum allowed time, can she repay for the life that her selfishness and stupidity took? can she ever make amends for that? and what ? she should get a slap on the wrist because shes a UWI student and a privileged child? no eh ... ah hope she gets the maximum sentence allowed...... and then some

Postby rollingstock » October 28th, 2010, 5:40 pm

Greypatch wrote:Lets see how this pans out on Tuesday 2nd November.

Side Question - Does the Family/Relatives/Estate of SRP Dopson receive any financial payment as a result of his demise in the line of duty ?

Nothing tangible. Like maybe a few thousand from the Police Association if he was a financial member and payment for unused accumulated leave.

Slow march, gun salute and forget :cry:

geodude

Postby geodude » October 28th, 2010, 5:53 pm

he was killed in the line of duty so i suppose his family would get some life insurance money, i am pretty sure that as a officer you have life insurance,

Postby rollingstock » October 28th, 2010, 5:56 pm

^^^ If they haven't taken out a policy on their own there's really nothing to collect.

Postby Greypatch » October 28th, 2010, 6:14 pm

geodude wrote:he was killed in the line of duty so i suppose his family would get some life insurance money, i am pretty sure that as a officer you have life insurance,

seems the police 2nd division need to adjust their list of concerns

geodude

Postby geodude » October 28th, 2010, 6:21 pm

rollingstock wrote:^^^ If they haven't taken out a policy on their own there's really nothing to collect.

seriously?? i just assumed that given the line of work that a good life insurance policy would be automatic upon employment as part of the package

Postby toyolink » October 28th, 2010, 6:30 pm

Isn't there some lump-sum payment the state makes to officers/public officers who lose their life in the line of duty?I seem to recall publication of facts on this fund some time ago even if the report was about the slow and painful process coupled with the fact that the value was something like $50,000.Remember the victims of camp ogden and the red house during the coup.

Postby r3iXmann » October 28th, 2010, 6:41 pm

you know if it was a "young boy" with a "fass car" had hit the officer, some in here would be singing a different chune :roll:

geodude

Postby geodude » October 28th, 2010, 8:09 pm

so ah lexus is not ah fass car