The case of A. Popalie Re Victims SRP Dopson & WPC Timothy.

Idle_Torque

The case of A. Popalie Re Victims SRP Dopson & WPC Timothy.

Postby Idle_Torque » October 17th, 2010, 2:57 pm

anyone got pics?? after couva the highway collapse?? and some accident that took place??

causing the death of Dopson, and also charged with causing grievous bodily harm to Timothy..
Last edited by Idle_Torque on October 23rd, 2010, 9:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

novastar1

Re: Highway collapse

Postby novastar1 » October 17th, 2010, 2:59 pm

again?
WTF?????

Idle_Torque

Postby Idle_Torque » October 17th, 2010, 3:01 pm

i now hear this so idk if it true or not, anyone know about this?? SHED SOME FACTS!

thetriniman

Postby thetriniman » October 17th, 2010, 3:44 pm

the southbound was closed near the couva area..
cars were turning around and driving in a northerly direction towards the freeport flyover...
The best contractor in the world oniste fixing their own rubbish work they did a few years ago..
i hope they don't pave the runways agian.. some planes going to be in deep sheit based on the top class work this contractor does....
making millions and only paying five policmen to stand by where they digging and let thse rest of ppl in traffic suffer... that is Trinidad for our money

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » October 17th, 2010, 4:41 pm

OK i was in traffic for about 2 hours just between freeport & couva on the southbound. Lots of police & ambulance. A woman driver tried to overtake as she passed the actual construction & ran into 2 police officers (male & female) & 2 Jusamco workers. Rumor is the officers are dead. A police van blocked all traffic from getting closer & told drivers to turn around & head back north on the southbound to freeport.
(I just overheard people talking about the officer's death.......So i guess you will have to get the facts from the news)

geodude

Postby geodude » October 17th, 2010, 5:00 pm

updates????

Idle_Torque

Postby Idle_Torque » October 17th, 2010, 6:14 pm

hmmm intresting

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 17th, 2010, 6:17 pm

Lawd, I better leave home now to reach work on Monday.

Postby foss » October 17th, 2010, 6:20 pm

Groovemaster wrote: A woman driver tried to overtake as she passed the actual construction & ran into 2 police officers (male & female) & 2 Jusamco workers. Rumor is the officers are dead.

:shock: :shock:

why it couldn't be some of those dotish shoulder drivers that did that instead???
damn, wondered what caused the woman to do this overtaking?

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 17th, 2010, 6:32 pm

silent_riot wrote:Lawd, I better leave home now to reach work on Monday.

You go still reach late

EDIT:

Just saw it on news,that car looks familiar. From south????
Last edited by Toyopet on October 17th, 2010, 7:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 17th, 2010, 7:06 pm

It's sad when "ah reach late because of traffic" is becoming a legitimate excuse all around.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 17th, 2010, 7:10 pm

Radio news reports say that a female driving a Lexus ran into two police officers directing traffic at the construction site.

The male police officer died instantaneously and the female police officer is in critical condition. She is warded at the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex.

Postby pugboy » October 17th, 2010, 7:13 pm

did they have cones indicating a slowdown at least 1/4 mile before ?

I find in the last set of culvert repairs over last couple months they did not have adequate warning of work ahead.
they depend on the fact that traffic will bottleneck and be enough of slowdown

Postby M_2NR » October 17th, 2010, 7:23 pm

if this is the same white lexus that was heading up north initially... i can confirm they were driving like kants... there was a slight bottleneck before Caroni Bird Sanc. and all we heard was wooooooshhhh (yes :lol: )... white old model lexus sedan (GS300 i believe) riding the shoulder :|

was it a white sedan like i described?

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » October 17th, 2010, 7:25 pm

wow. thats messed up. but they over doing it with all this highway work.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 17th, 2010, 7:26 pm

pugboy wrote:did they have cones indicating a slowdown at least 1/4 mile before ?

I find in the last set of culvert repairs over last couple months they did not have adequate warning of work ahead.

Is that an excuse for her to overtake everyone like a cnuthole on the shoulder and kill people, there was a reason why cars infront of her were moving at a slow place. The problem with jackarse trinis is that they have no damn patience on the road, the word "SLOW" in big red and white signs mean nothing to them. I hope they pile the charges on that beyotch and lost her arse in jail

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 17th, 2010, 7:27 pm

pugboy wrote:did they have cones indicating a slowdown at least 1/4 mile before ?

When I was heading south this morning, around 6:45, I had no problem seeing the road cones and warning signage.

Postby pugboy » October 17th, 2010, 7:33 pm

don't assume people making excuses for bad drivers,
however if you look at the work being done at aranguez/el socorro everyday
they will close off a lane or two many times during the course of the day
and have very short distance of notification via cones upstream

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 17th, 2010, 7:36 pm

NXTREME wrote:wow. thats messed up. but they over doing it with all this highway work.

Not really. Around 1998 or so, a Spanish contractor (Comlysa-Lain) was hired to reconstruct the Sir Solomon Hochoy Highway from the Preysal Overpass to the Tarouba Overpass. Part of the scope of work was to replace all the Armco metal pipe culverts with reinforced concrete culvert pipes. A fair number of the pipe culverts under the Sir Solomon Hochoy Highway are these Armco metal pipe culverts. If you were too young to remember what happened then, the contractor was not performing and the contract was terminated by the Government (UNC).

The problem with the Armco metal pipe culverts is that they have corroded over time. From what I understand, all the fertilisers that the sugar cane farmers used leached into the groundwater and these chemicals in the water passing through these culverts accelerated the corrosion process.

There are a lot of these Armco pipe culverts that structurally are unsound. Although it causes inconvenience, the MOW&T are doing what had to be done some 12 years ago.

geodude

Postby geodude » October 17th, 2010, 7:37 pm

this is tragic to say the least, but sadly this event will be forgotten by tomorrow and the same idiots will continue doing this crap everyday, they never learn until its 2 late, she should ah run into a truck or another piece of heavy machinery, not the ppl who where their making their daily wages, such a waste.

you should have seen what was happening on the high way from Grand Bazaar to Caroni Flyover after the National Stance event was over, and worst yet these fackers playing the arse on the road and see the Rx and well like them monkey glands raise, my girl was like wait nah they think you racing them or something....lol

Postby Damien » October 17th, 2010, 8:04 pm

wtf i hope she has a good excuse if not jail one time

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 17th, 2010, 8:17 pm

lol just yesterday I was headed along on the southbound and a male officer start to fret up because I was cruising along (probably between 10-20 kph) as i drove past the construction. He started to signal for me to drive faster :lol:
I wondered what the purpose of having around four officers there; three talking to each other, while one performed the oh so difficult task of telling people to drive. Meanwhile a couple hundred meters behind you have impatient cyats speeding along the shoulder :roll:

rishi_j

Postby rishi_j » October 17th, 2010, 8:19 pm

^^^ hoss u driving an Rx??!!!!

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 17th, 2010, 8:31 pm

That isn't an excuse for overtaking on the shoulder like an ass. And its not even like she was overtaking from a distance,reports say that she pulled out of the traffic in order to over take

NXTREME wrote:wow. thats messed up. but they over doing it with all this highway work.

It'll be more messed up when if these tunnels are left as is and then collapse one day pulling in vehicles too

Postby SR » October 17th, 2010, 8:38 pm

yuh feel yuh in the states or wah

all warning signs locally are usually ut 10ft before the actual work

geodude

Postby geodude » October 17th, 2010, 9:20 pm

rishi_j wrote:^^^ hoss u driving an Rx??!!!!

see avatar.

Postby tr1ad » October 17th, 2010, 9:33 pm

yea buh if is a lexus .... da mean money involved...

will end up juss like karamath incident

Postby wagon r » October 17th, 2010, 10:15 pm

^...nah...ah IS200 eh have no money in it like long time. but i pass there yesterday and the southbound has cones long before the construction site as the work is being done in a "dip" so they put cones awhile before...plus there's the electric sign and so on....

she was just to eager and stupid.....pulled out and never checked to see what was up ahead....then again i wasn't there to see.....she has to live with it now though....and worse a popo...jail like dat.

hope the female officer makes it though....

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » October 17th, 2010, 10:20 pm

dumb way to die

Postby wagon r » October 17th, 2010, 10:21 pm

wasn't aware there's an intelligent way.. :neutral: