Wood or other material to build top of pergola

Re: Wood or other material to build top of pergola

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 6th, 2010, 12:06 pm

^ it easier to cut through that ^ with a hacksaw than it would be to get through a steel door with locking bolts

a few small cuts and a pry bar and you can get to the glass.

they have like these in Roopnarine's:

The top and side have locking bolts that engage with one key turn
Image Image

One handle and lock operates all the locks on the door

huge hidden reinforced hinges

side locking bolts on the both sides, even on the side with the hinges

http://www.sendadoors.com/structure-of-steel-security-door.htm

the burglar proofing above can't possibly be more secure than this.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 6th, 2010, 12:20 pm

whats d price like ?

everything has its + & -

that door appears to be solid so if u want some fresh breeze u will have to open d windows & not ur front door

u cud have d strongest front door & proof but sometimes these sickos does buss holes in d walls & come in too , unless u have concrete blocks with steel in

point is there is almost always someway way to get in ...

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » November 6th, 2010, 12:29 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:whats d price like ?

everything has its + & -

that door appears to be solid so if u want some fresh breeze u will have to open d windows & not ur front door

u cud have d strongest front door & proof but sometimes these sickos does buss holes in d walls & come in too , unless u have concrete blocks with steel in

Trust me, if they want to come in they'll find a way, unlikely they'll come in through the front door.
Heard of some burglars using car jacks to prize open burglar proofing, they can also walk with portable torches.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 6th, 2010, 12:32 pm

yes thats what i was saying too - have heard of d scissors jack thing too ...

Postby Chimera » November 6th, 2010, 12:35 pm

Think it was $4000

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 6th, 2010, 12:55 pm

^ thats cool! Functional too.

(...Rovin...) wrote:whats d price like ?

everything has its + & -

well then in that case no amount of burglar proofing will matter

WRT to breeze, I would rather open the windows than the front door for breeze.

the double version of these doors in Roopnarine was about $6000
I'm sure that's less than the two glass doors and curly burglar proofing put together

My sister-in-law has a version of these security doors with a window in it with insect mesh built in. She too was concerned about the breeze but found a good looking solution.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 6th, 2010, 2:03 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ it easier to cut through that ^ with a hacksaw than it would be to get through a steel door with locking bolts

a few small cuts and a pry bar and you can get to the glass.

they have like these in Roopnarine's:

The top and side have locking bolts that engage with one key turn
Image Image

One handle and lock operates all the locks on the door

huge hidden reinforced hinges

side locking bolts on the both sides, even on the side with the hinges

http://www.sendadoors.com/structure-of-steel-security-door.htm

the burglar proofing above can't possibly be more secure than this.

after the burglar proof was built, the steel was hardened so cutting would take some time lol.....then house alarm would trip lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 6th, 2010, 3:16 pm

^ yeah well house alarm these days is a must

Postby gt4tified » November 6th, 2010, 5:50 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:work on a house never ends

You could say that again!

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 6th, 2010, 7:10 pm

house security system now is like burglar prrof of the 80's ..

Postby pugboy » November 6th, 2010, 7:18 pm

the reality is a cordless drill with good quality bits can drill thru the pins of most locks
also many people put burglar proofing gates/doors and mount the lock in a little box
with the screws for the lock fully exposed so anybody could come with a screwdriver and unmount the lock unless the door is in very tight space so they can't get behind it.

jsr

Postby jsr » November 6th, 2010, 9:39 pm

seems like the topic has now shifted to doors

Postby nervewrecker » November 6th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:this is the front door we used at home, with a burglar proof to match the interior rails...

whats that mess around the door frame about?

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » November 6th, 2010, 10:46 pm

bought a 36" single ($1500) and a 60" double ($3000) metal doors @ ABC in San Juan about a yr ago.
both doors have the same design and they also had other sizes in that design.
they also have options for the doors to swing in or out and for the hinges to be on the left or right depending on your needs.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 6th, 2010, 11:55 pm

^ thanks will check them

when you say design you mean same locking mechanisms?

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » November 7th, 2010, 6:23 am

all have the same locking system. they may differ in the # of locking bolts but i didnt mean that, i meant the same colour/ wood grain etc.

jsr

Postby jsr » November 8th, 2010, 11:39 am

Seems like the topic has shifed to steel doors

anyhow i may have to revise the structure i had in mind due tothe cost of purpleheart wood

what u all think of this .. it would be more multipurpose... i may use he purpleheart wood for end caps instead to make a structure similar to this

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 8th, 2010, 12:06 pm

^ cool - what material you plan to use instead?

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 8th, 2010, 12:36 pm

dok_tec wrote:
Rahtid wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yup sketchup bess, i used it to design my home theater cabinet too
ABA Trading LTD wrote:150k? :shock:
don't be shocked, bhagwansingh and roopnarine have doors for that price and MORE, normel normel

i recently installed 5 doors for my pal which cost him 210k for one eh, i must admit the doors are really beautiful,safe,14 locking bolts all around each door,metal but plastic/sheet coated in mahogany/teak color/patterns.

wait what ? 210K ? honestly i find that hard to beleive i'm not doubting the price but it ranks unbelievable in my books

check the image duane posted, http://www.sendadoors.com/steel-wood-Ar ... oor01.htm# something close to these, with 14 bolting locks,brought in by the owner

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 8th, 2010, 1:01 pm

^ Roopnarine have those doors for ~$5000 for door, door locks and frame

they are weather sealed with a rubber ring right around which is great for houses with A/C

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 8th, 2010, 1:31 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Roopnarine have those doors for ~$5000 for door, door locks and frame

they are weather sealed with a rubber ring right around which is great for houses with A/C

saw those, its close to what the guy has, i will ask if i can take a pic,

chk pm

jsr

Postby jsr » November 8th, 2010, 1:40 pm

[quote="Duane 3NE 2NR"]^ cool - what material you plan to use instead?[/quote]

the posts would be in concrete baulusters , the roman type ones

i have to find a suitable material tomake a flat roofing

the inner ceiling can be either aluninium under ceiling or pvc with downlighters inside

i should be able to use the coloured flashing for the sides and as i said may buy the purpleheart wood to make the pergola ends

my biggest problem is an inexpensive but attractive and durable top flat roofing material

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 8th, 2010, 2:14 pm

MG Man wrote:plastic wood
easy to work, lasts forever, and it's made from recycled junk
and Rahtif
WTF MAN????????????????????????????????????

Excellent....teach them!

jsr

Postby jsr » November 8th, 2010, 3:02 pm

still would like to know where in Trinidad i would get plastic wood

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 8th, 2010, 3:44 pm

^ I dont know anywhere in T&T that sells composite materials
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wood-plastic_composite

and I am SURE it will cost more than greenheart or purpleheart

Rahtid wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Roopnarine have those doors for ~$5000 for door, door locks and frame

saw those, its close to what the guy has, i will ask if i can take a pic,

chk pm
I doubt what Roopnarine has and what you are talking about are the same thing

I am sure the imported doors your client has is far superior

there are front doors shown on HGTV for US$25,000, so I don't doubt the prices you quoted

jsr

Postby jsr » November 8th, 2010, 4:18 pm

if that is the case i would stick to purpleheart

by the way i found the ad in the papers selling purpleheart and greenheart

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2010, 5:55 pm

if you using concrete baluster posts, don't buy the cheapo ones people selling on side of highway
check Nick Drew in Santa Cruz, he has the nice coral finish ones like in the pic I posted earlier.
His are also hollow so you just cast a base with some steel rods below and put it over the top then partially fill with concrete then run wooden posts around the top

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 8th, 2010, 7:06 pm

jsr, as you talking about posts

how come you chose those spiral posts for the garage when the house already had a square post and angled arch?

on another note, there was an exhibitor at BITS that had a pergola system made out of aluminum or sheet steel (similar to the material they have roofing and guttering out of)

it s basically made up of hollow sections of sheet metal formed into posts and rafters. YOu order he lenghts you need and the PVS ends and it bolts together. The one they had on display was painted white.

perhaps you can contact BITS and find out who the exhibitor was and contact them.

jsr

Postby jsr » November 9th, 2010, 12:54 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:jsr, as you talking about posts

how come you chose those spiral posts for the garage when the house already had a square post and angled arch

the square ones did not have good patterns... but on second thought,,, u may be right,, a square pattern would have blended in well with the rest of the house

my builder once said ":sometimes a mistake becomes a style "

some more pictures below as the work progressed

night shot..

Postby Chimera » November 9th, 2010, 5:42 pm

I posting this here because it seems to be a thread well visited by ppl who could give me a answer and i doh wanna make a new thread lol

Anyone know where I can get a few sheets of the PVC boards/Sheets that they use to make signs?
Blank ones.