The Deals Thread (Prime Day, Black Friday, Sales)

dogg

Re: The Deals Thread (Prime Day, Black Friday, Sales)

Postby dogg » November 23rd, 2022, 3:44 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:idk what their warranty is now though

years ago it was a no question warranty on returns

after that pricesmart purchase ive always bought from courts...dozens and dozens of tvs...and i pay for their 4 year supershield warranty

i saying dozens and dozens because i always buy from them when i need monitors for CCTV systems for customers

What brand holds up best from your experience?

Postby goalpost » November 23rd, 2022, 7:29 pm

Meh. I have two TCL tvs from PM bought since 2012. Going strong still.
One Samsung TV from Courts in 2016. Also Going strong.

Postby Chimera » November 23rd, 2022, 7:31 pm

dogg wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:idk what their warranty is now though

years ago it was a no question warranty on returns

after that pricesmart purchase ive always bought from courts...dozens and dozens of tvs...and i pay for their 4 year supershield warranty

i saying dozens and dozens because i always buy from them when i need monitors for CCTV systems for customers

What brand holds up best from your experience?
For cctv ive always gone with the cheapest and paid for the 4 year warranty.

If I buy 40 tcl 32 inch over a 2 or 3 year period.....4 probably fail and I got upgraded under the warranty.

Postby Chimera » November 23rd, 2022, 7:32 pm

Besides my Samsung from price....allllll my other tvs are tcl.

Postby redmanjp » November 23rd, 2022, 8:14 pm

how much for that 4 yr warranty?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 23rd, 2022, 8:21 pm

Alyuh doh knock that JVC nah. Mine going 4yrs good.
I think is how you use it and the temperature could be a factor for LCD/led TVs.

Postby Chimera » November 23rd, 2022, 8:32 pm

redmanjp wrote:how much for that 4 yr warranty?
Its a percentage of the the items value

So on like a 3000 item you would pay 400 for the super shield 4 year warranty.

That warranty covers any and everything.

And the warranty is on the amount of $$ you spent.

So say you spend 5000 for a 65inch TV now...and pay a 700 for the supershield warranty

2 years down the line you get issues...power surge...your child throw down the tv....yuh mistakenly shoot the tv...whatever...
And you take it in or they come to check it out...and within 2 or 3 days they can't repair it...they will tell you to go to the branch to get a replacement.

The replacement is based on the value of what you initially purchase. So if you spend 5000 in 2022 for a 65 inch...in 2024 you getting to choose a item worth 5000 and you can also pay the extra to upgrade....so in 2024 a 85inch might be $5000....plus you can pay the difference to renew the warranty.

It works out great in my experience

matix

Postby matix » November 23rd, 2022, 8:45 pm

gastly369 wrote:
dogg wrote:
pugboy wrote:was just in pricesmart
see about 5 ppl buying some lg 75” for $7500 i think
is that a good deal?

Was at POS location yesterday, I saw people buying the crap JVC tvs.
Lol that chit gonna last them 8 months XD

Aye, I was real against those JVC tv’s a few years ago when pricesmart had the sale. $2000 I believe for a 55”. Some Chinese customers bought 3 for their surveillance systems. Damn sheit still working to this day and they’re on 24/7. I still won’t buy it for myself

matix

Postby matix » November 23rd, 2022, 8:48 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

So say you spend 5000 for a 65inch TV now...and pay a 700 for the supershield warranty

2 years down the line you get issues...power surge...your child throw down the tv....yuh mistakenly shoot the tv...whatever...
And you take it in or they come to check it out...and within 2 or 3 days they can't repair it...they will tell you to go to the branch to get a replacement.

The replacement is based on the value of what you initially purchase. So if you spend 5000 in 2022 for a 65 inch...in 2024 you getting to choose a item worth 5000 and you can also pay the extra to upgrade....so in 2024 a 85inch might be $5000....plus you can pay the difference to renew the warranty.

Good info, never knew about this.

Postby paid_influencer » November 23rd, 2022, 8:53 pm

thing about jvc is the brand licensed. the manufacturer 5 years ago might not be the same manufacturer this year or next year or in the future

https://www.jvc.com/usa/esiproducts/

tcl reputation actually very good

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2022, 4:50 am

And tcl parts are very readily available locally.

Worse case scenario you could pay and get it repaired locally. I feel you quicker finding tcl parts than samsung or Sony or anything else

Postby pugboy » November 24th, 2022, 5:43 am

we have a lot of good tv techs now, its not rocket science to fix them

sourcing the led backlight strips is usually the headache as well as the powersupply parts

I know one who adjusts the led driver circuit down slightly to put run them cooler with no noticeable reduction in brightness.

another using generic leds strips instead of finding the oem strips

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 24th, 2022, 6:23 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:

Hmmm... interesting to know if anyone exploits this though.
So i can buy a tv with the extended warranty, then after 3 years i can spill some water on it and mash it up. Then claim my warranty and upgrade and purchase extended warranty...then spill some water after 3 years again... and repeat... so i getting a new tv every 3years for a fraction of the cost ...

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 24th, 2022, 8:01 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:

This sounding dreamy but is it really that simple? You know of anyone else who had same experience? Or any hiccups claiming on their supershield warranty?

dogg

Postby dogg » November 24th, 2022, 8:21 am

viedcht wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

This sounding dreamy but is it really that simple? You know of anyone else who had same experience? Or any hiccups claiming on their supershield warranty?

I myself also took out the supershield thing 11 yrs ago with my LG TV.
Damn thing still running flawlessly up to now. No need for the warranty. lol.

A friend had his 3 yr old TV replaced with a new better one (same $ value) last year via said supershield

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2022, 8:38 am

viedcht wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

I've benefitted like hell from it.

And the supersshield warranty is absolute.
Either they fix it within a few days at their cost or they tell you go choose a replacement

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 24th, 2022, 10:58 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:And tcl parts are very readily available locally.

Where?

Postby timelapse » November 24th, 2022, 11:23 am

None of you guys better complain about forex issues eh.Imburt says is online shoppers leaking out the US

Postby bluefete » November 24th, 2022, 11:38 am

timelapse wrote:None of you guys better complain about forex issues eh.Imburt says is online shoppers leaking out the US

What chupididyness Imbutt talking?

When did he say this?

Why he doh go and talk to his NEW CAR DEALER FRIENDS?

Anyway, government of the rich, by the rich in full effect mode.

Postby redmanjp » November 24th, 2022, 11:39 am

fokhan_96 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

So i can buy a tv with the extended warranty, then after 3 years i can spill some water on it and mash it up. Then claim my warranty and upgrade and purchase extended warranty...then spill some water after 3 years again... and repeat... so i getting a new tv every 3years for a fraction of the cost ...

i dont think the warranty of the replacement one will be valid after the original warranty period passes- if it has its own warranty period then this would definitely be a loophole

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » November 24th, 2022, 12:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

i dont think the warranty of the replacement one will be valid after the original warranty period passes- if it has its own warranty period then this would definitely be a loophole

As phone surgeon said above, you can pay to renew the warranty

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2022, 1:34 pm

they work out a figure that you would pay to renew the insurance on the item
they would minus a certain amount based on the time during the policy that you activate the insurance

remember you only get a replacement if they cant repair the item within a few days

Postby paid_influencer » November 24th, 2022, 5:05 pm

I made good on the Playstation Plus 25% sale. got a whole year of PS+ Extra for $75

have more games than time now

Postby paid_influencer » November 24th, 2022, 5:17 pm

gran turismos 7 $40

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2022, 8:07 pm

paid_influencer wrote:gran turismos 7 $40

Not bad at all!!!

Postby Dave » November 24th, 2022, 8:12 pm

I spend $150k in USD CC's every month. Taxes are paid on income made. No big deal. They get their share.
bluefete wrote:
timelapse wrote:None of you guys better complain about forex issues eh.Imburt says is online shoppers leaking out the US

What chupididyness Imbutt talking?

When did he say this?

Why he doh go and talk to his NEW CAR DEALER FRIENDS?

Anyway, government of the rich, by the rich in full effect mode.

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2022, 8:50 pm

The venes and chinese going with plenty of the usd cash.

Them happily paying 8 to 1

Postby pugboy » November 24th, 2022, 9:57 pm

yup
we live in a false economy or economies

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 24th, 2022, 10:14 pm

Thanks for the feedback on the supershield fellas I'm actually interested in courts items now that I know the extra warranty properly beneficial.

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2022, 10:36 pm

Can't go wrong with the super shield. I guaranteeing that to you.

Don't ever order anything from their website tho.

Thats an ongoing scam