The Deals Thread (Prime Day, Black Friday, Sales)

Kewell35

Re: The Deals Thread (Prime Day, Black Friday, Sales)

Postby Kewell35 » November 26th, 2020, 12:10 pm

the only issues is burn ins though....hadda babysit it.

Postby Rovin » November 26th, 2020, 12:44 pm

agent007 wrote:My Philips LED 720p 60Hz TV going strong 8 years now. It is currently hooked up to a chromecast just for youtube purposes. I can more than afford a new TV but I have to consider my priorities first and in this day and age, I rather exercise, wash car or do some outdoor recreation than to watch someone act and be paid millions due to sheepish patronage. Recently I had a guest over who made a comment mentioning, look at that out-dated thing you have. My response to that was, I have property but you rent. I have a new car and you drive a sheit box that by the mechanic more than it is in your hands. What say you? He hasn't been back since then and coming to think about it, we haven't messaged in a while too lol.

:o

hoss i like that ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

some ppl does wanna bling on jewelry\clothes\shoes\car but still living in an unfinished home , they eh go even buy a gallon of paint for their walls but trying to look impressive when they on d outside ...

Postby SR » November 27th, 2020, 6:35 am

Talk dun

Whatch the pic carefully
IMG-20201126-WA0097.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 27th, 2020, 6:51 am

Bimmers affi transport?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » November 27th, 2020, 7:44 am

So beside the TV beat up at Pricesmart, and real deals online? Saw Detour has a 10 % discount on sale and non sale items

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2020, 7:45 am

little caesars $50 pizza all day

Postby Ben_spanna » November 27th, 2020, 8:16 am

Any pics of the stupid trinis lined up outside pricesmart yet???

Postby aaron17 » November 27th, 2020, 8:46 am

SR wrote:Talk dun

Whatch the pic carefully
IMG-20201126-WA0097.jpeg
Is either tv long or seat does not fold down.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 27th, 2020, 9:13 am

In all that rain yesterday... dem brave.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Bimmers affi transport?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2020, 9:23 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Any pics of the stupid trinis lined up outside pricesmart yet???

Don’t think there will be a crowd as they had a week or more of Black Friday sale starting last week.

Postby st7 » November 27th, 2020, 9:34 am

are there any known issues shipping from newegg to skybox?

Postby Dave » November 27th, 2020, 9:38 am

Years ago Newegg wasn't accepting international credit cards. Not sure what the policy is now

Postby Kenjo » November 27th, 2020, 9:43 am

PriceSmart is moving smooth as ever . Incidentally went to buy regular stuff there and people were moving with TVs like bread but no beat up because there is even an extra corridor for TVs so the supply is quite adequate and spread out in time

Postby st7 » November 27th, 2020, 9:53 am

Dave wrote:Years ago Newegg wasn't accepting international credit cards. Not sure what the policy is now

i see paypal is an option, but as long as there's no issue shipping to freight forwarders

Postby supercharged turbo » November 30th, 2020, 3:26 pm

How the deals thread so dead this year?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 9th, 2020, 2:02 pm

People ain't have money to shop...

Postby Team Loco » December 9th, 2020, 3:47 pm

havent logged in here ages. happy to see my original thread still running!

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » December 9th, 2020, 8:27 pm

st7 wrote:are there any known issues shipping from newegg to skybox?

I never bought directly from Newegg site because of how tuners say the same thing about international credit card. But I had no problem using the Newegg merchant on eBay.

Same for AntOnline - never used their own site but had no problems on their eBay one.

supercharged turbo wrote:How the deals thread so dead this year?

Because most of the deals getting bought out by scalper (bots) and then reappearing at 3-5x the original undiscounted price. Saw it happen with Samsung Odyssey G9 when they had a sale a few days before Black Friday/Monday.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 9th, 2020, 8:38 pm

Bots can buy now?
How do they pass the human validation tests?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » December 9th, 2020, 8:58 pm

https://nypost.com/2020/12/08/scalper-bots-are-snatching-playstations-xboxes-from-shoppers/

So-called “scalper bot” software has hoovered up many of the new gaming consoles released this fall, creating shortages that shut out eager consumers looking to score a new Sony PlayStation 5 or the latest Xbox model.

The bots are snatching up just about every hot product online retailers sell — including Lysol spray, wipes and toilet paper, as well as new sneakers — and turning around to resell them at much higher prices on Amazon Marketplace and eBay, according to a Reuters report.

Demand for the new gaming consoles in particular drove record traffic on Walmart.com, a spokesperson for the retail giant said.

Walmart said it blocked more than 20 million bot attempts within the first 30 minutes of the PS5 sales event on Nov. 25, according to the report.

Retailers including Nike, a major target of resellers, have invested heavily in bot-blocking software that allows them to cancel orders that they later determine were originated by a bot, but they can’t stop all the transactions and the practice is not illegal, experts say.

Although US law prohibits ticket scalping under the federal Better Online Ticket Sales (BOTS) Act of 2016, no such protections exist for retailers.

There are even subscription services that teach people how to use bots and alert them when hot items like the game consoles are released. One such service, UK-based CrepChiefNotify, claims its customers have purchased 6,000 new PS5 and Xbox consoles, according to the report.

The company said it has doubled its membership to 4,000 since the start of the pandemic, when many of its members lost their jobs. It says its clients have generated a profit of about 400 British pounds ($534.40) on average per game console when reselling them.

“These are businesses … people pay their mortgages doing this,” said Edward Roberts at cybersecurity firm Imperva. “They have a goal and it’s financially motivated, so they’re not going to go away.”

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 9th, 2020, 11:57 pm

wtf wrote:Bots can buy now?
How do they pass the human validation tests?

These bots are far more advanced than that
www[dot]aiobot[dot]com

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » December 26th, 2020, 10:07 am

Allyuh either very selfish, very quiet or still very drunk :lol: ...no deals or anything major for Boxing Day?

Postby Gladiator » December 26th, 2020, 12:22 pm

Joshie23 wrote:Allyuh either very selfish, very quiet or still very drunk :lol: ...no deals or anything major for Boxing Day?

Courts actually has some good prices... for 2 days 25% off everything with free delivery.

Postby paid_influencer » December 26th, 2020, 12:26 pm

Joshie23 wrote:Allyuh either very selfish, very quiet or still very drunk :lol: ...no deals or anything major for Boxing Day?
132844105_10158108709421589_3985303910935344327_n.jpg

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » December 26th, 2020, 1:43 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Courts actually has some good prices... for 2 days 25% off everything with free delivery.

I read through some of the comments on their Facebook page, with people that ordered items online weeks ago and have yet to receive them..is that in-store as well?

Postby Chimera » December 26th, 2020, 3:12 pm

Courts running a massive racket with online orders. Instantly charging your card and then sending you a email saying the item out of stock and you hadda fight up.like 6 months to get a refund. Been going on since last year

Postby K74T » December 26th, 2020, 3:32 pm

Detour ha some nice juzzy

dogg

Postby dogg » June 21st, 2021, 9:57 am

Hello phone experts, any recommendation for an android phone for ~$500 I can buy on prime day today?

Will US unlocked phones work here on bmobile?

Postby Dave » June 21st, 2021, 10:00 am

US GSM phones that are unlocked with the correct band width will work. Check you provider for the 4G bands you need to look for.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 21st, 2021, 10:15 am

I presume you mean $500 USD and not TTD.

For that price you have many options.

Look for a US unlocked GSM phone or an International unlocked phone.

My go-to android phone is Motorola... I recently picked up an international unlocked dual SIM G9 plus for US$220. Personally, I like Motorola as that is all I have used since getting my first smart phone back in 2015. This is my third as the other two suffered from broken screens. Were it not for the broken screens, I would have still had either of those phones.

Motorola tend to be an uncluttered pure android experience with no custom UI or overlay (as is the case with Samsung and LG) and therefore the RAM and memory are not as bogged down. So the phone runs fast. Also, the camera is very good.

That's my recommendation. Note though that many Motorola phones for the international market are not featured on the US website. You can however pick them up on Amazon. A good resource to see what's available for Motorola is gsmarena. You can also compare specs across other phones.

dogg wrote:Hello phone experts, any recommendation for an android phone for ~$500 I can buy on prime day today?

Will US unlocked phones work here on bmobile?