Developing Story: UNC v. COP

Postby RASC » December 14th, 2010, 1:51 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/UNC ... 29304.html

UNC vs COP in Tunapuna
By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Dec 13, 2010 at 11:50 PM ECT

A turf war has broken out in the Tunapuna constituency between United National Congress (UNC) and Congress of the People (COP) activists, which has forced the UNC to open a separate office.

Finance Minister and COP Political Leader Winston Dookeran is the Member of Parliament and representative for the people of Tunapuna.

However, chairman of the UNC executive, Hamlyn Jailal, in a telephone interview yesterday, said the divide between COP and UNC activists in the area has left thousands of loyal UNC supporters in the cold. He said UNC activists worked intensely to ensure Dookeran won the Tunapuna seat and upon his success he established the Tunapuna Partnership Council comprising of COP and UNC activists. Jailal said this council is now defunct.

The divide on the ground, Jailal said, was a repercussion of the divide between the COP and UNC at a national level. He said activists at Dookeran's constituency office, located at the corner of Caura Junction, are not allowing access to the UNC activists. He said a letter of complaint was sent to UNC chairman Jack Warner and a meeting was requested with him on the issue.

"Tunapuna is a razor thin marginal seat, if you have this taking place it will only increase the PNM's chances. This does not augur well for the future," he said.

He pointed out that the COP is maintaining its individuality and noted the opening of an office in the UNC safe seat of Fyzabad.

"As activists we are concerned. These are some troubling signs as to what is happening with the Partnership," he said.

Jailal said there are many pressing matters which UNC loyalists are disgruntled about — including mass confusion in the URP/CEPEP programmes.

"We find ourselves like the outside child, in no man's land ... UNC supporters feel that they are being left out. I really wish if this situation could be resolved at a national level ... the ideal situation would be for the UNC and COP to find the right formula and keep this Partnership on a strong footing," he said.

Jailal said he did not agree that the COP was being sidelined.

"They (COP) got some powerful Ministries, Finance, Energy, Planning, Legal Affairs," he said.

Jailal said although the UNC executive will move to secure its own space in January, a high level of respect is maintained for Dookeran. He said the UNC constituency executive held a Christmas treat for children on Sunday at the El Dorado North Hindu School and invited the COP members. He said he was happy that Dookeran attended, adding the UNC executive will continue to work with Dookeran in the best interest of its support base in the constituency.

Re: Developing Story: UNC v. COP

Postby RASC » December 14th, 2010, 1:59 am

Another Copy and Paste Thread

RASC making up stories to help divide the partnership

This story is just that...STORIES

The Express on the PNM pay roll

/1Baa

Postby janfar » December 14th, 2010, 3:51 am

yuh leave out

redherring

PNM cult...

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 14th, 2010, 7:42 am

its called crab in barrel syndrome.

Postby zoom rader » December 14th, 2010, 8:02 am

Utter BullS*it by PNM cult members

Postby sMASH » December 14th, 2010, 8:18 am

more interesting: manning vs. rowley, and pnm pictoral aids

Postby bushwakka » December 14th, 2010, 8:52 am

wat abt you is a skunt?
who cares...let dem fight an kill each other

Postby zoom rader » December 14th, 2010, 9:33 am

As I said another BullS**t thread by deperate PNM cult members

Postby TRAE » December 14th, 2010, 9:48 am

I agree with RASC they looking bad, after all the talk about coalition parties making divisions the PP needs to come to terms with the needs of the COP and make an agreement and a line that mustnt be crossed by either parties

Postby RASC » December 14th, 2010, 10:56 am

TRAE wrote:I agree with RASC they looking bad, after all the talk about coalition parties making divisions the PP needs to come to terms with the needs of the COP and make an agreement and a line that mustnt be crossed by either parties

This is not looking good. Because no matter what party you support you don't want to see an existing ruling gov't to crumble in such a matter, let it go to the polls instead. A crumbling party=even more instability and chaos within the economy.

A motion of no confidence in Kamala would be much better than the gov't imploding.

eyephone

Postby eyephone » December 14th, 2010, 11:47 am

Anna Ramdass cud geh it.

Seriously.
1 quick-full-body-up-and-down-scan.

Postby SUPAstarr » December 14th, 2010, 11:51 am

This is as real as the shaft rowley goin to get next year...the only question is (for both sides) who has the balls to make the significant rebellious step?

Postby RASC » December 14th, 2010, 12:00 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:This is as real as the shaft rowley goin to get next year...the only question is (for both sides) who has the balls to make the significant rebellious step?

This so called rumblings among the PNM wrt Rowley. Where you guys getting this information from?
I talk to PNM ppl daily, I have not heard anything like this. In fact the only place I've been hearing that talk of is on this site.
There's no official document, there is no media circus following the story and no line minister/official within the party has made a statement. Where are you guys coming up with these things?

Please do tell.

Postby SUPAstarr » December 14th, 2010, 12:02 pm

There will never be any official release info on that, cmon, it similar to the shaft manning was goin to get for his no confidence motion...if he didnt call elections

Postby RASC » December 14th, 2010, 12:17 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:There will never be any official release info on that, cmon, it similar to the shaft manning was goin to get for his no confidence motion...if he didnt call elections

...But seriously, no one I know internally is talking about this. You have some information you wanna share with me? Via PM or something, as to where you're getting your intel?

Honestly, because when I started hearing it here, I was like "wtf they talkin' bout now"
Then you're not the first either to mention it either...on the flip side, things seem to be running as normal. So maybe I'm outta the loop or you got a special link...lemme know wassup. Peace

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 14th, 2010, 12:43 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:This is as real as the shaft rowley goin to get next year...the only question is (for both sides) who has the balls to make the significant rebellious step?

But isn't the PNM fragmented into roughly 5 camps right now? In the end a few will have to come together : for and against Rowley.

The silent in-fighting can make the PNM a stronger, better party - but that depends on what kind of leader gets the full support of all members. Because saying "I support the PNM/Leader's decision" is only talk if you're going to be back-stabbing which ever opposition leader after.

Postby SUPAstarr » December 14th, 2010, 12:52 pm

As i told Renee the pickings are very slim, there is no clear person which posses the necessary command an skills, if they do decide to move someone might actually have to grow into that role..The young guns need to start makin a name for themselves

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 14th, 2010, 12:56 pm

What I saw was some new, young, talented blood coming into the PNM.

Then falling into the same cr@p and corruption - not because they choose to - but because they had to go along with what the bigger guns wanted. Maybe, hoping that will change.

Postby RASC » December 14th, 2010, 1:00 pm

*YAWN* Unless I have a convo with someone on the inside, you guys talking foolishness, and this "friend of a friend" stories are just that...stories.

Strauss and Lee Yum coming to tell me about the internal workings of the PNM-you gotta be kidding me...comical.

Anyway, seems as tho my predictions are much closer to fruition that previously thought.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 14th, 2010, 1:04 pm

Strauss wrote:

But isn't the PNM fragmented into roughly 5 camps right now? In the end a few will have to come together : for and against Rowley.

The silent in-fighting can make the PNM a stronger, better party - but that depends on what kind of leader gets the full support of all members. Because saying "I support the PNM/Leader's decision" is only talk if you're going to be back-stabbing which ever opposition leader after.

Wasn't there an article on one of the papers listing F.Khan as the "proposed" replacement for Rowley, since folks realise Rowley can't really handle the job?

Even if they haven't done that, it's getting clearer that patos is moving in one youngster-Rowley.

Is about time they get back some aggressive leadership.

Postby RASC » December 14th, 2010, 1:05 pm

Let's see what weak man Dookeran gonna do?

This guy really has embodied the role, that is a weak leader. The UNC really take them for a ride.
The rumblings will only get louder in other constituencies.

Postby RASC » December 14th, 2010, 1:06 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:
Strauss wrote:

Wasn't there an article on one of the papers listing F.Khan as the "proposed" replacement for Rowley, since folks realise Rowley can't really handle the job?

Even if they haven't done that, it's getting clearer that patos is moving in one youngster-Rowley.

Is about time they get back some aggressive leadership.

Please bring that article. Because that is the biggest amount of crock I have ever heard.
:lol: I know Khan is going for chairman...leader? You have gots to be smoking-bring the article I wanna read this.

Postby SUPAstarr » December 14th, 2010, 1:08 pm

Khan is goin for chairman......Khan as leader = FHAIL!!!!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 14th, 2010, 1:11 pm

^Well....I stand to be corrected.

I could have sworn I read that here...but we know how news reporting is!

http://guardian.co.tt/news/politics/2010/12/05/khan-tipped-replace-rowley

Anika Gumbs-Sandiford
Published: 5 Dec 2010

Franklin Khan
Anika Gumbs-Sandiford
Former People’s National Movement (PNM) chairman Franklin Khan is the man tipped to become the new political leader of the party.Sunday Guardian has learnt that plans are afoot in the party to challenge Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley’s leadership when the party holds it annual special convention in 2011.

Since the party’s formation in 1956 it is the first time since the convention has been postponed because of the dwindling support in membership.Several members of the general council are quietly planning to move a no-confidence motion against Rowley.

If this happens, the party’s executive would be called to order at the special convention which is the highest order of the party and members of the general council, central executive and delegates from all 41 constituencies would vote for a new leader.As political leader, Rowley, who recently underwent surgery, has been given a five-year term to serve.

Plans to woo East Indian support

Top party sources said while former prime minister, Patrick Manning is being eyed as the man to take back control of the party, Khan has the support of the PNM people.In fact, top party sources further revealed that if Khan had not been hauled before the court on corruption charges which he has been recently cleared of, the former Works and Transport minister was seen as the next best man to lead the party.

“There were always plans for him in the party but the unexpected happened,” a party source revealed.Sources said while the electorate was wary of Manning, a strategy is being planned where Khan and Manning may end up working alongside each other.All of this, the Sunday Guardian understands, has been orchestrated since the Director of Public Prosecutions Roger Gaspard’s decision to drop the charges against Khan.

“Khan has always won the support of many. He knows what the political ring is about. From the moment he was cleared of the charges a decision was quietly taken that he would be the best man to lead the party.”Khan, top party sources revealed, is also being seen as the key person to woo East Indian support back to the party.

“We have lost almost all our support and the East Indian factor is very crucial to any party. We are looking at the best way forward for the party and tough decisions would have to be made.”

Petition to overthrow Rowley

Reliable sources further revealed to Sunday Guardian that a petition is expected to be circulated to members to sign in an effort to remove Rowley, who some supporters say is not “a people’s person” and who has not been able to pull the party together.

Sources said Manning’s decision to remain silent for six months was a brilliant move from an experienced politician. He then launched out with a stinging contribution in Parliament against Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s private dwelling house in south Trinidad. “He is not going to give up. Manning is an experienced politician,” a source added.

Executive to meet Khan

However, Sunday Guardian understands some members of the executive are expected to meet with Khan before he leaves the country next month.
“PNM people are known to close ranks when they have to. There is no question that Manning has made mistakes... his time to lead is over but he is an experienced politician and can be an asset to the party. Quite frankly, people are disappointed with Rowley.

He has not met the expectations of the people, a source said. “It is going to be hard fight but we are not satisfied with what is going on,” another source added.Several attempts to contact Rowley and Khan proved futile.

Former PNM PRO denies any knowledge of plot.Contacted, former public relations officer Jerry Narace distanced himself from the plot.An extremely jovial Narace said: “I am out of the country. I have absolutely no knowledge of what you are talking about but I want to wish everybody well; former prime minister Patrick Manning, Dr Rowley and Mr Khan, even the new Prime Minister and in extension may I wish all a happy holiday.”

Postby 16 cycles » December 14th, 2010, 1:15 pm

RASC wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/UNC_vs_COP_in_Tunapuna-111829304.html

Jailal said although the UNC executive will move to secure its own space in January, a high level of respect is maintained for Dookeran. He said the UNC constituency executive held a Christmas treat for children on Sunday at the El Dorado North Hindu School and invited the COP members. He said he was happy that Dookeran attended, adding the UNC executive will continue to work with Dookeran in the best interest of its support base in the constituency.

sounds like they have differences but working it through....

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 14th, 2010, 1:15 pm

Like I said, maybe it was bad reporting on the Guardian's part since he went for the Chariman position......not leader!

But then again...........

Regardless, it may only be a matter of time before Rowley's "effectiveness" comes under review. Patos ent taking this lying down!!!

Selwyn Ryan and B. Ragoonath (political analyst dudes) had said this...and I agree with them:

http://guardian.co.tt/news/politics/2010/12/05/don-t-underestimate-manning
He said: “Rowley has responded badly to several issues since assuming the role of leader of the party. He has found himself in a tight space attempting to clear the name of the PNM given all that has surfaced, but it is not being handled properly at all.”Expressing a similar view is political scientist, Selwyn Ryan who said Manning cannot be underestimated.

“Mr Manning cannot be trusted at face value. He is using a strategy to recover centre stage with the assistance of the media,” said Ryan.“He was waiting for the right moment to return to the spotlight. It is not unusual for politicians like him to just go off stage because it can be very painful. “He definitely has a strategy up his sleeves.”

Last edited by Alpha_2nr on December 14th, 2010, 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » December 14th, 2010, 1:19 pm

dsi, jack warner son gonna take over the PNM
all part of jacks plan to take over Trinidad, (90% complete) then the world muahahahahhahaha

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 14th, 2010, 1:25 pm

RASC wrote:Strauss and Lee Yum coming to tell me about the internal workings of the PNM-you gotta be kidding me...comical.

Alpha_2nr wrote:Wasn't there an article on one of the papers listing F.Khan as the "proposed" replacement for Rowley, since folks realise Rowley can't really handle the job?

RASC wrote:Please bring that article. Because that is the biggest amount of crock I have ever heard.

Alpha_2nr wrote:Anika Gumbs-Sandiford
Published: 5 Dec 2010

Former People’s National Movement (PNM) chairman Franklin Khan is the man tipped to become the new political leader of the party.
http://guardian.co.tt/news/politics/2010/12/05/khan-tipped-replace-rowley

Just goes to show you can't believe everything posted in the newspapers. Makes me wonder about all those articles RASC posts as the TRUTH.

Postby RASC » December 14th, 2010, 1:34 pm

Did you take your cocaine this morning Strauss?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » December 14th, 2010, 1:55 pm

Are you implying that strauss consumes an illegal narcotic?

Are you really making such an accusation after the fact that in every thread you've posted, other members of this forum have proved your point invalid, hear-say and pathetic attempts to slander the current political partnership running trinidad and tobago?

After 7 years of a wanna be dictator running the country you expect a bunch of mixed opinion's, goal's and obligations to oil this machine we call trinidad and keep these old rusted gears moving? Yet fix what they have not caused, with a depleted treasury thanks to pato's and his ego.

When you coming back to trinidad to actually experience the third world first hand? I think we should have a welcome home tuner lime just for you rene.