Building a house in Trinidad

Jerry84

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby Jerry84 » March 26th, 2022, 2:42 pm

Took advantage of Abel sale and bought some clay blocks. It was delivered today and I was shocked. They claim the hurcules blocks stronger than the regular 12" clay block but my God these blocks weak. Just offloading the pallets of blocks via a hiab causing a lot of them to break. Didn't know they were that weak. Probably got about 25 per pallet broken. Is this normal?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 26th, 2022, 3:14 pm

What grade blocks you bought?

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 28th, 2022, 8:21 am

Jerry84 wrote:Took advantage of Abel sale and bought some clay blocks. It was delivered today and I was shocked. They claim the hurcules blocks stronger than the regular 12" clay block but my God these blocks weak. Just offloading the pallets of blocks via a hiab causing a lot of them to break. Didn't know they were that weak. Probably got about 25 per pallet broken. Is this normal?

I highly doubt that is normal.

Postby Chimera » March 28th, 2022, 8:24 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:What grade blocks you bought?
I think abel has done away with their grade system. They upgraded their factory and its all one grade now

Postby De Dragon » March 28th, 2022, 8:25 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
I think abel has done away with their grade system. They upgraded their factory and its all one grade now

Grade 1 prices you mean :lol:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » March 29th, 2022, 11:30 am

Jerry84 wrote:Took advantage of Abel sale and bought some clay blocks. It was delivered today and I was shocked. They claim the hurcules blocks stronger than the regular 12" clay block but my God these blocks weak. Just offloading the pallets of blocks via a hiab causing a lot of them to break. Didn't know they were that weak. Probably got about 25 per pallet broken. Is this normal?

Something's wrong there.
Built my house with their 6" clay and from 20+ so pallets, can count on one hand how many were broken

Postby Chimera » March 29th, 2022, 12:18 pm

Yuh living in bad road Jerry? Sounds like the hiab man firetruck up yuh blocks lol

Postby pugboy » March 29th, 2022, 8:51 pm

looking for a plumber to snake a kitchen drain
1 1/2 pipe
aranguez area

matix

Postby matix » March 29th, 2022, 9:08 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Yuh living in bad road Jerry? Sounds like the hiab man firetruck up yuh blocks lol

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 1st, 2022, 8:48 pm

Does anyone know where I can get 1/8" mdf or hdf?

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » April 1st, 2022, 10:08 pm

Sorry for the late response. They indicated on the invoice that it was 1st grade

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » April 1st, 2022, 10:09 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Yuh living in bad road Jerry? Sounds like the hiab man firetruck up yuh blocks lol
Well.... Technically all roads in Trinidad bad eh... But if you mean pothole galore then no... Just the normal hole every now and then.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » April 1st, 2022, 10:11 pm

Jerry84 wrote:
Sorry for the late response. They indicated on the invoice that it was 1st grade
Sorry... I meant they didn't indicate on the invoice whether it's first grade.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 2nd, 2022, 12:14 am

worksux101 wrote:Does anyone know where I can get 1/8" mdf or hdf?
Tried Kelvin ghany? They usually have a wide range

Postby Chimera » April 2nd, 2022, 12:22 am

Carpenters edge as well.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 2nd, 2022, 8:03 pm

They've only got up to a 1/4"

Postby pugboy » April 3rd, 2022, 6:43 am

never seen 1/8 mdf, it would crack very easily
long time you coulda get something they call hardboard but that seems outdated now

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » April 3rd, 2022, 6:56 am

Grade system done on blocks. Hercules blocks supposed to be stronger. That's too much broken blocks per pallet

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 3rd, 2022, 2:04 pm

Arite, thus far I have different opinions as it relates to the construction of a drain for a house. Couple fellas saying it's better to do apron first then drain....others saying build drain first and then apron.

What say you guys?

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 3rd, 2022, 8:12 pm

pugboy wrote:never seen 1/8 mdf, it would crack very easily
long time you coulda get something they call hardboard but that seems outdated now

It's to later on as a pattern onto a door

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 3rd, 2022, 8:13 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Arite, thus far I have different opinions as it relates to the construction of a drain for a house. Couple fellas saying it's better to do apron first then drain....others saying build drain first and then apron.

What say you guys?

Assuming the apron leads onto a drain, why not both at the same time?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 3rd, 2022, 9:45 pm

worksux101 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Arite, thus far I have different opinions as it relates to the construction of a drain for a house. Couple fellas saying it's better to do apron first then drain....others saying build drain first and then apron.

What say you guys?

Assuming the apron leads onto a drain, why not both at the same time?

Apron leads to drain. Different people doing the respective jobs, hence the reason for the dilemma. I was thinking drain last as it would be easier to determine how the digging would be done etc

carluva

Postby carluva » April 4th, 2022, 11:12 am

Shakes. It depends on the topography of the land and the grade to the nearest community drain.

If you have relatively flat land leading to community drains then doing either first is ok.

However, if you have have some elevation changes to the main community drain, you may be better off planning the drains first so you can get the grades and then build the aprons such that you can get them flat around the house with a slight grade to the drains.

Either is fine and has pros and cons. However, think about gradients in drains when planning the works. You do not want to be in a position where the aprons are done first and then the drains and then you realise your drains don't have sufficient slope to move water effectively.

On the topic of drains, it may be a good idea as well to have runoff from sinks and showers to channel intoba dedicated 4" drain pipes to main community drains or a single catchment pit in the yard. This will ensure that your permiter drains remain clean and saves you from having to clean drains of old toothpaste, soap scum, hair shavings, rice grains and poultry water on a regular basis.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 4th, 2022, 1:34 pm

Firstly^ : thank you!

The land is flat and it's a new development where the main drain is directly to the front of the building.
The drain on both sides of the house will be covered. Every 15ft or so I will have those iron gratings which can be removed easily for cleaning.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 5th, 2022, 7:45 am

Sounds good enough.

Take a grade from main drain in front along the two sides of the house perpendicular to the main drain. Remember to cater your grade for any contours of the house walls which will match aprons.

Then you can construct either one first.

Curious, why are you opting to cover the drains completely? If it's a box drain, why not leave open? Have you catered for drainage of surface water?

A covered box drain is a great place for vermin to live, especially if grey water drains into it.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Firstly^ : thank you!

The land is flat and it's a new development where the main drain is directly to the front of the building.
The drain on both sides of the house will be covered. Every 15ft or so I will have those iron gratings which can be removed easily for cleaning.

Postby pugboy » April 5th, 2022, 8:06 am

cockroach central indeed

make sure the drains and apron designed in a way for pest control to be able to spray residual treatment barriers around the house and also easy to hose down and clean

Postby The_Honourable » April 5th, 2022, 12:23 pm

Guys i have a 200ft drain to build. The existing drain is a small natural drain/water course within the land that ends at the corporation box drain on a main road. It's eroding the sides and has plant overgrowth so want to fix and make it official.

Should I build a box drain or get those inverted precast concrete drains? What are the pros and cons?

Thanks!

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » April 5th, 2022, 6:53 pm

Electrical question.... What's the largest size main breaker you can have in a panel which is being fed by a 25mm armoured cable from a meter bank?

50mm cable from supply to meter bank, 25mm from meter bank to panel.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 5th, 2022, 9:06 pm

carluva wrote:Sounds good enough.

Take a grade from main drain in front along the two sides of the house perpendicular to the main drain. Remember to cater your grade for any contours of the house walls which will match aprons.

Then you can construct either one first.

Curious, why are you opting to cover the drains completely? If it's a box drain, why not leave open? Have you catered for drainage of surface water?

A covered box drain is a great place for vermin to live, especially if grey water drains into it.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Firstly^ : thank you!

Wanted to cover the majority mainly because of appearance. I would be leaving openings to allow for cleaning etc.. For instance, every 15ft or so I would have a grating that can be opened. I'm doing one of those drains where the water would be channeled in the center as opposed to be one sided or utilizing the enter diameter of the drain.

Postby De Dragon » April 5th, 2022, 9:14 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Guys i have a 200ft drain to build. The existing drain is a small natural drain/water course within the land that ends at the corporation box drain on a main road. It's eroding the sides and has plant overgrowth so want to fix and make it official.

Should I build a box drain or get those inverted precast concrete drains? What are the pros and cons?

Thanks!

Box. Less cost, headaches