Building a house in Trinidad

SuperiorMan

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby SuperiorMan » July 10th, 2021, 11:43 pm

When all yuh fellas think prices of houses gonna go back down to reasonable levels? Like in the days when you could get a house in Bel Air for less than $3M.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 11th, 2021, 1:03 am

It is being artificially propped up right now. You would be a fool to pay what realtors are advertising.

Now, land alone in bel air is approaching 3m because of the larger lot sizes coupled with the astronomical cost per sf.

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 11th, 2021, 2:09 am

carluva wrote:
pugboy wrote:common problem many places now

I will post some pics of what is going on as well as some excerpts from the drawings and standards if interested.

Appreciate the drawings and standards please

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 11th, 2021, 12:31 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:It is being artificially propped up right now. You would be a fool to pay what realtors are advertising.

Now, land alone in bel air is approaching 3m because of the larger lot sizes coupled with the astronomical cost per sf.

Yeah I know....but when you think it would go down to reasonable levels...if you had to guess.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 11th, 2021, 1:11 pm

Only when something drastic shocks the local economy. Suck salt until then.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 11th, 2021, 1:36 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Only when something drastic shocks the local economy. Suck salt until then.

Would you say suck salt for people living abroad?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 11th, 2021, 1:43 pm

You plan on beating down the asking price with a 10:1 usd conversion rate?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 11th, 2021, 1:59 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:You plan on beating down the asking price with a 10:1 usd conversion rate?

When you think it gonna be 10:1?

carluva

Postby carluva » July 11th, 2021, 2:31 pm

Check Ur PM
NR8 wrote:
carluva wrote:
pugboy wrote:common problem many places now

I will post some pics of what is going on as well as some excerpts from the drawings and standards if interested.

Appreciate the drawings and standards please

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 11th, 2021, 2:39 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:You plan on beating down the asking price with a 10:1 usd conversion rate?

In certain types of transactions, the us dollar carries a special weight

do with that what you will

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 11th, 2021, 3:26 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

In certain types of transactions, the us dollar carries a special weight

do with that what you will

It isn't that high even in whatever you trying to say.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 11th, 2021, 6:40 pm

Fantastic!
Seems like you understand the real estate market and high value transactions. You wont be needing any insight then.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 11th, 2021, 6:53 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Fantastic!
Seems like you understand the real estate market and high value transactions. You wont be needing any insight then.

I prefer advice from someone who knows what they're talking about. No offense.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 11th, 2021, 8:06 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

I love it when people dont know how much they dont know.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 11th, 2021, 9:48 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

You talking about yourself? That's cool.

10:1. I real laughing at this comment. Thanks for that though.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 11th, 2021, 10:21 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

the man on the corner selling you 100 usd is not dealing in overvalued real estate

Seems like you dont get the idea. You come begging for information on the crash of real estate in trinidad and then fighting down anything you get.

Well you know what? It crashing on January 25th 2025 at 1:06am, according to my crystal ball

Idiot

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 11th, 2021, 11:02 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

the man on the corner selling you 100 usd is not dealing in overvalued real estate

Seems like you dont get the idea. You come begging for information on the crash of real estate in trinidad and then fighting down anything you get.

Well you know what? It crashing on January 25th 2025 at 1:06am, according to my crystal ball

Idiot

Damn you triggered bad lol.

That 10:1 comment though. I real laugh at that one. Gonna take a pass on this convo. It dragging and you kinda sound uneducated (you sound like a welder that spells evidence as "edvendence" lol.) You be good now.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 12th, 2021, 12:55 am

SuperiorMan wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

Idiot

Damn you triggered bad lol.

That 10:1 comment though. I real laugh at that one. Gonna take a pass on this convo. It dragging and you kinda sound uneducated (you sound like a welder that spells evidence as "edvendence" lol.) You be good now.

Breaking news: man who knows nothing scoffs at the info he gets

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 12th, 2021, 1:23 am

10:1 LOL.

demented

Postby demented » July 12th, 2021, 11:50 am

NR8 wrote:
demented wrote:Looking for recommendations for someone to clear a lot of land and backfill as required. Land is relatively flat, located behind Woodland Hindu School. Thanks.

Family have property right behind the school. As you said, the land is relatively flat, gently sloping. If you going to build, some would recommend doing your foundation in the existing undisturbed soil and then filling the surrounding since there isn't much to full.

Good advice, but still require the land to be cleared so the drains could be properly cleaned as well. The corporation is not doing anything in that development.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 13th, 2021, 7:29 am

New septic tank designs being encouraged by WASA(mainly due to high water tables) looks something like below.

You have the standard sized cesspit which filters into a 30x 3 x 4 box drain like system. There is a 4" perforated waste line in there which facilitates the filtration system. From here the pipe goes into what is called a chlorine box (which the owner can treat for himself) and then out to the drain in front.

I have another to build in the near future so I will do a step by step illustration.
IMG-20210712-WA0002.jpg
IMG-20210712-WA0003.jpg
IMG-20210712-WA0001.jpg

Postby pugboy » July 13th, 2021, 8:58 am

how big is the last chlorinating collection box?

the problem is if you don’t have space to put that long rubble drain plus a chlorination collection box before draining outside

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 13th, 2021, 9:01 am

Chlorine box is approx 3x3...

Ur correct with that space thing. You will lose out a lot on one side of your house

Postby *KRONIK* » July 13th, 2021, 9:35 am

pugboy wrote:how big is the last chlorinating collection box?

the problem is if you don’t have space to put that long rubble drain plus a chlorination collection box before draining outside
And the sad part is, you need to show it in the plan to get the plan passed

Postby pugboy » July 13th, 2021, 11:17 am

plenty ppl need to retrofit that to their existing soakaways

dogg

Postby dogg » July 13th, 2021, 11:30 am

The high water table issue is a recent phenomena?
How did that come about? Higher ocean levels? Increased rainfall? If so, isn't there a way to tap into it to reduce water issues?

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:New septic tank designs being encouraged by WASA(mainly due to high water tables) looks something like below.

You have the standard sized cesspit which filters into a 30x 3 x 4 box drain like system. There is a 4" perforated waste line in there which facilitates the filtration system. From here the pipe goes into what is called a chlorine box (which the owner can treat for himself) and then out to the drain in front.

I have another to build in the near future so I will do a step by step illustration.

Postby pugboy » July 13th, 2021, 12:05 pm

you need special permission to do that from wasa

dogg wrote:The high water table issue is a recent phenomena?
How did that come about? Higher ocean levels? Increased rainfall? If so, isn't there a way to tap into it to reduce water issues?

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:New septic tank designs being encouraged by WASA(mainly due to high water tables) looks something like below.

carluva

Postby carluva » July 13th, 2021, 3:35 pm

pugboy wrote:how big is the last chlorinating collection box?

Yup. Those are the current designs being pushed by local authorities.

See attached some excerpts from TTS 1680:400 as well as some shots of plans for septic systems.

The one shakes posed includes a distribution box, a sand trench and a chlorinator box. Its not a rubble drain per se. Rather its a filtration trench to further treat effluent water from the septic tank before its goes to be chlorinated and then out to main drain.

Things have changes very significantly compared to the old school cesspit and soakaway that was built 20+ years ago.
Septic Tank.JPG
Soakaway.JPG
Septic and Sokaway.JPG
Septic and Chlorinator.JPG

Postby pugboy » July 13th, 2021, 3:57 pm

so what is the diff between a sand trench and a rubble drain ??

those drawings show the chlorinator box very small and dont give dimensions, do the docs have recommended dimensions ?

carluva

Postby carluva » July 13th, 2021, 4:10 pm

pugboy wrote:so what is the diff between a sand trench and a rubble drain ??

those drawings show the chlorinator box very small and dont give dimensions, do the docs have recommended dimensions ?

The soakaway systems are designed for aerobic bacteria to further breakdown waste from the septic tank. The purpose of the stones is to generate surface area for bacteria to colonise and to allow, to some extent, for filtration of the effluent water. A rubble drain will allow for percolation of the water into the surrounding soil.

The sand trench is used when percolation cannot take place in the soil. So, a filtration system is done so that the water falls from the top, through the stone media, and is then collected at the bottom, sent to the chlorinator and then to the community drains. The sand trench does not allow for seepage into the surrounding soil.
Filter and Distributor.JPG
Chlorinator.JPG
Sand trench section.JPG
Sand trench section.JPG (52.44 KiB) Viewed 2312 times