fokhan_96

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby fokhan_96 » January 16th, 2023, 12:21 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
goalpost wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:If yuh have heart problems or does get vex fast....don't build yuh own house...you will die doing it from the stress of it.

Where does be the most vexing part?

Could be from the very start or anything as a matter of fact. All depends on the builder/ tradesmen.

I built on my own, I could safely say I have gained a lot more patience and experience, but I got what I wanted and I know what I have.
This. Unless you watch the house build yourself dont buy it, it have too much smart men outside there and too much potential to cut costs when it come to building.
There is a certain amout of anxiety when it comes to building though but you just need to sit and plan out everything.
Read the "Trinidad and tobago small building code" from cover to cover. Talk to people who currently building or recently finished. And the biggest headache is to get a contractor/ builder you can trust.

Postby Chimera » January 16th, 2023, 12:38 pm

Price isn't everything eh. Be careful where you buying steel because it have different grades.
Bhagwansingh/trinrico have good thing.

If u have a padna with a hardware dey cud get discounts for you

Postby timelapse » January 16th, 2023, 4:53 pm

Steel prices dropped this week.I ended up getting the steel coils by Bhagwansinghs.As for the straight lengths of rebar,I only need a few for now,so buying from a nearby hardware is the most convenient and cost effective option.
I Hindu.First post hole prayers going down on Wednesday.

Postby goalpost » January 16th, 2023, 8:28 pm

How wide is a roofing sheet?
Where have reasonable prices for C purlin? In Easr?

Postby timelapse » January 16th, 2023, 8:35 pm

goalpost wrote:How wide is a roofing sheet?
Where have reasonable prices for C purlin? In Easr?
Depends on the type of roofing sheet,the usable area is where it laps over the other sheet.Normal corrugated sheets are about 40".
I usually go with Island Roofing for their quality

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2023, 8:57 pm

42” and standing seam is 16” i think

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » January 16th, 2023, 9:26 pm

At what age is it right to buy/build your own house?

Postby Chimera » January 16th, 2023, 9:32 pm

Allyuh does ask some random chupid question bai

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » January 16th, 2023, 9:35 pm

AlphaMan wrote:At what age is it right to buy/build your own house?

Ideally you should own your own house by the time you are 30. If you want to grow your wealth, acquire a new property each decade afterwards. Half decade if you're being ambitious.

Postby timelapse » January 16th, 2023, 9:35 pm

As soon as you can afford it.

CB Style

Postby CB Style » January 16th, 2023, 10:38 pm

Anyone here with a double car garage?
I'm trying to determine dimensions for two cars side by side without having to put a post in the middle.
The current design is 18' X 18' which I'm hoping will be good enough for both cars side by side and don't have to squeeze when getting in and out.

Postby adnj » January 17th, 2023, 3:05 am

CB Style wrote:Anyone here with a double car garage?
I'm trying to determine dimensions for two cars side by side without having to put a post in the middle.
The current design is 18' X 18' which I'm hoping will be good enough for both cars side by side and don't have to squeeze when getting in and out.

A two-car garage has a 20×20 ft interior space with a 16 ft inside measure door opening.

Postby pugboy » January 17th, 2023, 5:33 am

steel ibeam lengths are just a little under 20ft, so just use that max length if using ibeam for the top beams

adnj wrote:

A two-car garage has a 20×20 ft interior space with a 16 ft inside measure door opening.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 17th, 2023, 6:27 am

I built a 20×18.....I'd get back the height for you(this is important especially if you want those garage doors). I built to cater for a E25 and a rav 4. They fit perfectly, enough room to walk around etc. Everything else is parked in the yard

Postby timelapse » January 17th, 2023, 7:06 am

I'm presently building a 25*25.
Enough room for a pickup

Postby adnj » January 17th, 2023, 7:21 am

timelapse wrote:I'm presently building a 25*25.
Enough room for a pickup
Standard 2½ car garages are sized 24×24 to 26×26.

Postby pugboy » January 17th, 2023, 7:36 am

what you using roof beam across top 25' ?

Enough room for a pickup

Postby *KRONIK* » January 17th, 2023, 9:13 am

Fellaz

Whats allyuh thoughs on them houses by https://www.steel-framed.com/?

I may need a quick, small, modular option for 2023 and this kinda seems feasible....
For a 200k budget

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 17th, 2023, 9:15 am

timelapse wrote:
As soon as you can afford it.

Best answer.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 17th, 2023, 9:17 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

I may need a quick, small, modular option for 2023 and this kinda seems feasible....
For a 200k budget

Steel framed is fast and efficiently managed, but it's not cheaper than traditional construction. At least by my last conversations with contractors and vendors over the past couple years.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 17th, 2023, 10:22 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

For a 200k budget

Steel framed is fast and efficiently managed, but it's not cheaper than traditional construction. At least by my last conversations with contractors and vendors over the past couple years.
Hmmmm
Cuz i at a kinda position where either i go rent somewhere or build something unapproved fast.

I waiting for approval of my house plans, but that aint even come back from TCPD, so i still have regional corp/health/etc to deal with
So i wont be able to build for maybe another year

Postby adnj » January 17th, 2023, 11:07 am

You might find a decent rental for $200k/year.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 17th, 2023, 1:36 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

For a 200k budget

Hmmmm
Cuz i at a kinda position where either i go rent somewhere or build something unapproved fast.

I waiting for approval of my house plans, but that aint even come back from TCPD, so i still have regional corp/health/etc to deal with

If you waiting on Mr Pierre from regional Corp...you hada wait about 2 years :|

Postby timelapse » January 17th, 2023, 2:00 pm

pugboy wrote:what you using roof beam across top 25' ?

Enough room for a pickup
Yep .
30 ft roof beam

Postby *KRONIK* » January 17th, 2023, 2:26 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

For a 200k budget

Hmmmm

If you waiting on Mr Pierre from regional Corp...you hada wait about 2 years :|
Yup
When it reach up here
Thats the man self who hadda deal with it

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » January 17th, 2023, 4:04 pm

timelapse wrote:Looking for steel coils to put in a post hole.
Besides Trinidad auger pilers and reesal's , does anyone know where I can get some?
Does it have to be coils? If time and resources permit then tie steel with square stirrups just like you would for concrete posts (that would fit in the augered holes) and cast. Same principle I believe.

Subject to correction

Postby goalpost » January 17th, 2023, 8:26 pm

What are the different applications as it applies to the thickness of C and Z purlins? I.e. 1mm vs 1.5mm as an example

Postby adnj » January 17th, 2023, 8:45 pm

goalpost wrote:What are the different applications as it applies to the thickness of C and Z purlins? I.e. 1mm vs 1.5mm as an example
Purlin thickness is usually a function of the load capacity.

If the height is static, as the purlin gets longer, the thickness will increase.

Z purlins may be thinner than C purlins of the same height and span to reduce weight and cost because the roof design will use C purlins to carry a greater load at the same point of the roof when compared to a Z purlin.

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » January 18th, 2023, 6:00 am

Hi all,

Question? I was wondering how I go about and fill the gap between the galvanized roofing sheets and the I-beam that the z purlins are sitting on a gable roof. A workman said to get a mason and sandwich some red bricks and tie in everything with a wire mesh on the face of the I-beam with mortar. Under ceiling isn't going in anytime soon so I'm looking for options. Thanks in advance.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2023, 8:08 am

thinner is more flexy, so need to factor in the spacing and may need rods between the Z purlins as stiffeners
warehouses often use very wide spacing and stiffeners to save cost presumably.

goalpost wrote:What are the different applications as it applies to the thickness of C and Z purlins? I.e. 1mm vs 1.5mm as an example