Building a house in Trinidad

telfer

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby telfer » May 2nd, 2023, 10:41 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:Anyone has any of these "whole house surge protector " installed in their home ?
Does it do what it supposed to?
05369899.jpg
My parent have one like this

I cant say if it works TBH

Yes it’s worth putting in

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 2nd, 2023, 11:14 pm

telfer wrote:02f8e0df6bb205ce52389ea6bd28bfa3.jpg

Nice!!!!

Postby *KRONIK* » May 3rd, 2023, 8:02 am

telfer wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Allyuh does sell them biggggggggggg stainless steel fridge?

The ones that 3x the size of a normal fridge?

And how much do they cost on average?

(I just playing fass)

Screenshot_20230502_114907.jpg

Cost like 40k for both plus 3500 for the finisher kit to join together
Think price gone up
Well a "big fridge" is about 16-23k for 40k not bad when u think about it

How does the freezer/fridge compartment seperate?

Postby *KRONIK* » May 3rd, 2023, 8:02 am

telfer wrote:
02f8e0df6bb205ce52389ea6bd28bfa3.jpg
Yessssssssss
This is what i was talking bout

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 3rd, 2023, 12:42 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
telfer wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Allyuh does sell them biggggggggggg stainless steel fridge?

The ones that 3x the size of a normal fridge?

And how much do they cost on average?

(I just playing fass)

Screenshot_20230502_114907.jpg

Cost like 40k for both plus 3500 for the finisher kit to join together
Think price gone up
Well a "big fridge" is about 16-23k for 40k not bad when u think about it

How does the freezer/fridge compartment seperate?

Some of them it’s literally two units - one is a fridge and one is a freezer and you can change the side the hinge is on.
I assume the fridge has a built in ice dispenser inside cause there’s none on the door.
To pay all that extra money for a fridge and have to crack ice tray like long time is stress.

Postby Chimera » May 3rd, 2023, 1:41 pm

If yuh paying all that money for fridge and freezer yuh probably have a stand alone ice making machine

Postby adnj » May 3rd, 2023, 2:02 pm

The ice maker is a tray in the freezer. You can also spec one with an ice dispenser on the door.

Postby pugboy » May 3rd, 2023, 2:02 pm

yeah duane, get with the times
is only clear ice we dealing with
no white tray ice

Postby *KRONIK* » May 3rd, 2023, 2:10 pm

adnj wrote:The ice maker is a tray in the freezer. You can also spec one with an ice dispenser on the door.
Gouddddddddddd

Postby aaron17 » May 3rd, 2023, 2:26 pm

bump?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2023, 12:33 pm

Doing some work on my roof now. Got a quote from Lifetime Roofing in Oct last year and when I bought the material last week it was 15% less than the original quote. And that's with more material purchased as well.

I'm glad inflation also goes backwards for some items in construction.

matix

Postby matix » May 17th, 2023, 1:31 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Doing some work on my roof now. Got a quote from Lifetime Roofing in Oct last year and when I bought the material last week it was 15% less than the original quote. And that's with more material purchased as well.

Glad to hear that.

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 17th, 2023, 2:24 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Doing some work on my roof now. Got a quote from Lifetime Roofing in Oct last year and when I bought the material last week it was 15% less than the original quote. And that's with more material purchased as well.

Tings now normalizing with all the dotish restrictions they had for the lil minor flu that was going around in 2020

Postby supercharged turbo » May 31st, 2023, 7:10 pm

Any recommendations for a company that does awning?The current one we have just needs to extend to keep the rain out but I'm not sure if they do that so we may have to get a new one.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 31st, 2023, 7:27 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Any recommendations for a company that does awning?The current one we have just needs to extend to keep the rain out but I'm not sure if they do that so we may have to get a new one.
I used these guys for some for a client's building
They did work for my neighbour also

Screenshot_20230531_192611.jpg

Postby supercharged turbo » June 3rd, 2023, 2:36 pm

Thanks..I"ll give them a call during the week

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » June 18th, 2023, 12:19 pm

Question?
Small hairline cracks in wall plaster caulk or mortar? Need a DIY solution for an external wall.

Postby Dave » June 18th, 2023, 12:25 pm

Concrete silicone and it's paintable. Available at Bhagwansingh.
dtopshottas wrote:Question?
Small hairline cracks in wall plaster caulk or mortar? Need a DIY solution for an external wall.

Speedynest444

Postby Speedynest444 » June 19th, 2023, 3:50 pm

Anyone can advise on the average cost to construct a 15x15 room ?

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » June 19th, 2023, 5:00 pm

dtopshottas wrote:Question?

I find the mortar works best. Just stone/sand it after before priming/painting.

There are also other options such as spakling from Sherwin Williams or external compound mud. But they often leave the surfaces smooth unless you rub/sand them out properly.

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » June 19th, 2023, 11:58 pm

Thanks for the replies. Will do both for future reference :)

originalbling

Postby originalbling » June 22nd, 2023, 10:13 am

Need some advice here guys,

What would be a reasonable labor price to build a shed adjoining the house, standard gable design 10ft x 25ft wide(width of house) and cast the floor under shed. Two concrete posts will be built to support instead of using beams or iron posts.

Was quoted around 10k

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » June 22nd, 2023, 7:57 pm

originalbling wrote:Need some advice here guys,

What would be a reasonable labor price to build a shed adjoining the house, standard gable design 10ft x 25ft wide(width of house) and cast the floor under shed. Two concrete posts will be built to support instead of using beams or iron posts.

Was quoted around 10k

does it have any walls if yes 10 is fine no walls 8k sounds a little more reasonable

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » June 22nd, 2023, 7:59 pm

Speedynest444 wrote:Anyone can advise on the average cost to construct a 15x15 room ?

including full works such as fdn, roof walls windows

about 100k material and labour

originalbling

Postby originalbling » June 22nd, 2023, 10:16 pm

fred1266 wrote:

Was quoted around 10k

does it have any walls if yes 10 is fine no walls 8k sounds a little more reasonable

No walls. Just shed and casting of the area below and a slipper drain around 3 sides

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » June 24th, 2023, 4:02 am

Hi. Need some quick help. Have a issue with a tenant stating that tiles are slippery when it rains. Where can I get a non skid coating and what do you recommend?

Postby pugboy » June 24th, 2023, 5:37 am

peakes sells the 3m sandpaper grip tape to stick on, grey and black colours
by the foot

it lasts about a year and edges may peel a little
I used it on some steps

alternatively you could evostik wet use sandpaper yourself

long ago used to sell the flower shaped ones for showers but dont see that locally

nismotrinidappa wrote:Hi. Need some quick help. Have a issue with a tenant stating that tiles are slippery when it rains. Where can I get a non skid coating and what do you recommend?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » June 24th, 2023, 6:08 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:Hi. Need some quick help. Have a issue with a tenant stating that tiles are slippery when it rains. Where can I get a non skid coating and what do you recommend?
Put up one of these signs. Tell them be careful.
WS33056-10__59256.jpg

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » June 24th, 2023, 9:26 am

originalbling wrote:
fred1266 wrote:

Was quoted around 10k

No walls. Just shed and casting of the area below and a slipper drain around 3 sides

yea 10k should be fine but see if you can get a discount

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » July 9th, 2023, 11:22 pm

Question?
Mirror Privacy tint
When installed how to prevent seeing through it at night? Will 5% tint do? I need the mirror finish all day and night. Is it possible?