Building a house in Trinidad

dtopshottas

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby dtopshottas » September 20th, 2022, 12:18 am

Paint primer of choice for external unpainted masonry wall?
Berger
Penta
Kaleidoscope
PPG
Sherwin Williams

Preparation will be sanding with a medium rubbing block and patching with filler.

Does price really matter with paint? (Not a professional)

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 20th, 2022, 3:59 am

dtopshottas wrote:Paint primer of choice for external unpainted masonry wall?
Berger
Penta
Kaleidoscope
PPG
Sherwin Williams

Preparation will be sanding with a medium rubbing block and patching with filler.

what is the cheapest concrete primer?

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » September 20th, 2022, 12:45 pm

Any one know the agv cost of labour alone on replacement of a roof from wooden frame to steel 56ft x 33ft ?

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2022, 12:54 pm

check on fb trinidad used construction group
lot of fellas there who will give idea

Kickstart wrote:Any one know the agv cost of labour alone on replacement of a roof from wooden frame to steel 56ft x 33ft ?

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 20th, 2022, 1:49 pm

Berger
Penta
Kaleidoscope
PPG
Sherwin Williams

I see folks on that same FB group mentioned giving the SW Loxon primer a good rating for exterior.

I've worked with a few contractors who highly recommend the Trinity primer and I've seen the quality myself albeit on interior walls.

Berger used to have a good alkyd primer but it's not coming up on local google search so I not sure if they still making it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 20th, 2022, 3:55 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
Berger
Penta
Kaleidoscope
PPG
Sherwin Williams

what is the cheapest concrete primer?

There is a cheap kaleidoscope in pricesmart for about $290. Trinity and kaleidoscope premium contractors primer is around $475-$500 depending on where you go. I used the expensive kaleidoscope and it's pretty good with one coat.

Since the uno% took over berger, quality dropped bad!.

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2022, 4:08 pm

yuh could go top tier and use the bin primer from zinsser

matix

Postby matix » September 20th, 2022, 9:02 pm

Kickstart wrote:Any one know the agv cost of labour alone on replacement of a roof from wooden frame to steel 56ft x 33ft ?

Depending on the height, 25k and up. Concrete work involved, removal of old roof, disposal of rubbish, type of roof you wanna do, under ceiling, guttering, drip edge. All factors to be considered.

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » September 21st, 2022, 12:46 pm

Thanks for the assistance.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » September 21st, 2022, 1:34 pm

matix wrote:

Depending on the height, 25k and up. Concrete work involved, removal of old roof, disposal of rubbish, type of roof you wanna do, under ceiling, guttering, drip edge. All factors to be considered.
Much thanks a guy quoted me $70k

$70k sounds a lot

Postby pugboy » September 21st, 2022, 4:37 pm

check bata construction on fb
380-3463

they do a lot of roofing and was quoting a special price the other day

Kickstart wrote:
matix wrote:

$70k sounds a lot

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 21st, 2022, 6:40 pm

Berger
Penta
Kaleidoscope
PPG
Sherwin Williams

Loxon (SW) is good (used interior and exterior) but pricey. Wait for their 40% sales.

Alot of builders recommend trinity.

I also used Pittsburgh primer and sealer (from t&z) for the perimeter walls and no complaints.

matix

Postby matix » September 21st, 2022, 9:42 pm

Kickstart wrote:
matix wrote:

$70k sounds a lot

That’s a lot, if doing steel most of it can be fabricated on the ground then bolted together. Fancy design roof or simple gable roof?

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » September 30th, 2022, 9:14 am

worksux101 wrote:
Berger
Penta
Kaleidoscope
PPG
Sherwin Williams

Loxon (SW) is good (used interior and exterior) but pricey. Wait for their 40% sales.

Alot of builders recommend trinity.

I also used Pittsburgh primer and sealer (from t&z) for the perimeter walls and no complaints.
What was the price of the primer and sealer at t&z??

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » September 30th, 2022, 9:17 am

I have a bathroom drain that's semi clogged. There are no available clean outs as they have been covered with concrete. Is there any liquid I can pour into the drain to assist with uncloging?? Or any solutions

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 30th, 2022, 10:10 am

not sure how much distance you talking about, but there are flexible wire-based decloggers in hardwares that are about 24-36" long, you'll have to use some elbow grease to work it out.

If it longer than that, you can try electrical fish wire/draw wire and feed it as far as it could go. Might work, or might not depending on the nature of your plumbing design/bends

Chemical decloggers might work, but they are hit/miss.

Postby adnj » September 30th, 2022, 10:11 am

Dissolve lye in tap water to prevent it from caking in the drain.
Pour it into the drain.
Pour boiling water into the drain and let it work for about 20 minutes.
Cross your fingers.

edit: otherwise, buy a liquid drain cleaner like Drano Gel.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2022, 10:56 am

Jerry84 wrote:I have a bathroom drain that's semi clogged. There are no available clean outs as they have been covered with concrete. Is there any liquid I can pour into the drain to assist with uncloging?? Or any solutions

Use a plunger

Postby eliteauto » September 30th, 2022, 11:07 am

Jerry84 wrote:I have a bathroom drain that's semi clogged. There are no available clean outs as they have been covered with concrete. Is there any liquid I can pour into the drain to assist with uncloging?? Or any solutions

Check your plumbing store for a liquid called "Melt" you'll need nothing else
Faren-Melts-500x500-1.jpeg
Faren-Melts-500x500-1.jpeg (18.02 KiB) Viewed 1455 times

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 30th, 2022, 11:11 am

Used it worked like a charm but make sure you get rid of excess water before applying so it hits the blockage concentrated

Postby *KRONIK* » September 30th, 2022, 12:13 pm

Go to the hardware and ask for MELT
Bear in mind its concentrated sulphuric acid
But it does work.
Run some hot water after and yuh good to go

Screenshot_20220930_121221.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » September 30th, 2022, 12:14 pm

Now realize it was posted/suggested before

Lol

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2022, 1:21 pm

that melt is serious stuff, very violent when it starts to mix
i used it the other day, just like a 1/2 cup and when it reach outside in a box drain it still fizzing up with the big water in the box drain

it doesnt give off fumes like muriatic acid, it gets very hot

Postby *KRONIK* » September 30th, 2022, 2:41 pm

Yea
It reacts with water exothermically

1 drop of that spray out the drain hole and land on my arm, thing burn off my skin with no mercy

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2022, 2:47 pm

it good to use a spray burglar alarm booby trap for bandits

Postby *KRONIK* » September 30th, 2022, 2:51 pm

So augering/pile question:
If i want to install those pre-fab fence
They are 8ft wide x 7ft tall
I need to do 80ft in length

Where i need to install them doest have any wall or floor to bolt the posts.

So i was thinking of doing some small 1ft x 1ft piled concrete pads along the proposed fenceline to install the posts onto.
Reason is i need something removable in the long term as the drive way will need to be placed somewhere in the middle and eventually, a wall to replace the fence.
I was thinking longterm, chainlink is a bit diffucult to reuse as it sags and rusts.
Fence posts (2" pipe) will need to be cast in the ground and eventually cut off to be removed and may not be of a usable length after.

With the prefab panels elsewhere (maybe as the back fence), i can reuse the posts and fence as they are all bolt on

So if i have to do the small piles....
What is a good width and depth?

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2022, 2:57 pm

what’s the soil type?
probably 18” or so depending on soil

you gonna drill holes in the concrete to bolt them with anchor bolts?

i cast the same posts in about 14” and they holding

Postby *KRONIK* » September 30th, 2022, 3:42 pm

I guess its a clay type soil
I never really dig up too much to see
But when wasa came to connect the water, it looked like the sticky clay, well at least the lower part (sub 2ft)

And yea, i say it easier to put some anchor bolts. Easier to remove.

The fence isnt for security reasons, neighbour decide to turn a blind eye to all 200+ feet of empty road after their house and the empty space across the road from their house.
It easier to bring the 5-6 dogs by my place to dig holes all over and buss their loads.

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2022, 4:11 pm

you might want to put a ring of 1/4" steel near the top of the concrete to avoid it splitting outwards when drilling the holes
some of them fence is not 8ft but 8 1/4 at least the ones I bought from radius one
luckily the installer checked it in time and was able to shift the posts because after the 3 or 4th one we realise it totally off and the panels would not fit.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 30th, 2022, 7:17 pm

pugboy wrote:you might want to put a ring of 1/4" steel near the top of the concrete to avoid it splitting outwards when drilling the holes
some of them fence is not 8ft but 8 1/4 at least the ones I bought from radius one
luckily the installer checked it in time and was able to shift the posts because after the 3 or 4th one we realise it totally off and the panels would not fit.
Well is by raiduis1 self i was looking at to buy from.
Noted with the steel for the pile also