Building a house in Trinidad

worksux101

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby worksux101 » October 30th, 2022, 2:03 am

De Dragon wrote:Heat barrier is now about $1150 per 125 X 4 roll, but a garage shouldn't need much.

It's 25x30sumn, but either way I've got left over from the house. Thanks.

Postby De Dragon » October 30th, 2022, 5:57 am

worksux101 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Heat barrier is now about $1150 per 125 X 4 roll, but a garage shouldn't need much.

It's 25x30sumn, but either way I've got left over from the house. Thanks.

Good, because that is a lifesaver for your roof.

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2022, 5:58 am

the way it normally installed is very ineffective

Postby *KRONIK* » October 30th, 2022, 8:28 am

Jerry84 wrote:Wanted some advice on a diy project. I am repainting a fridge which got some rust spots. I sanded the surface but was wondering if I should treat the rust prior to priming and painting.

If I am to treat the rust what's the process and what should I use?

My idea is to use a roller to apply a thinned out version of automotive black paint (yes a color change). Anyone ever tried this before?
I found duplicolor etching primer to work really well,
Duplicolor rust fix is really good too, it converts remaining rust to a black sandable primer.

But it really depends on how bad the rust is and how much u are able to physically remove

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2022, 10:52 am

boy I have a fridge where rust popping up, but I dont want to take down the fridge and have it out of commission
studying to steel brush the flaking rust and treat it and then paint with something good

Postby MG Man » October 30th, 2022, 10:34 pm

pugboy wrote:boy I have a fridge where rust popping up, but I dont want to take down the fridge and have it out of commission
studying to steel brush the flaking rust and treat it and then paint with something good

I did that with a washing machine. Brush, sand, rustoleum primer and enamel white

Postby De Dragon » October 30th, 2022, 11:52 pm

pugboy wrote:the way it normally installed is very ineffective

How is that?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 31st, 2022, 12:30 am

People basically tack it to the underside of the roofing when it needs a dead space to do its job.

Postby Chimera » October 31st, 2022, 1:09 am

Yea ppl does do all kinda flabbergastery with that installation . Apparently it suppose to have a few inches of space between the galvanize/ roof material to form a air pocket.

Most people install it between the purling and galvanize

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2022, 5:06 am

it works best if there is an airspace of a few inches between it and the galvanize.
so when they put it on top the purlin and galvanize right on it, there is no air space.
a local guy recommended letting it sag between purlins to get air space.

i retrofitted on a shed by sticking it under the purlins, made a huge difference.

How is that?

Postby De Dragon » October 31st, 2022, 6:02 am

pugboy wrote:it works best if there is an airspace of a few inches between it and the galvanize.
so when they put it on top the purlin and galvanize right on it, there is no air space.
a local guy recommended letting it sag between purlins to get air space.

i retrofitted on a shed by sticking it under the purlins, made a huge difference.

How is that?

My shed has it like that, but there is ample space between the purlins so that the air is trapped there. That shed is cool and comfortable. Letting it sag was a no-no because the strong wind that the shed sees, whips it up and loosens it and rips it.

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2022, 6:28 am

yeah most them contractors are woft

I installed it by a friend outdoor shed kitchen and we ran out of material so the driveway part didnt get
the difference is chalk and cheese

Postby De Dragon » October 31st, 2022, 6:39 am

pugboy wrote:yeah most them contractors are woft

I installed it by a friend outdoor shed kitchen and we ran out of material so the driveway part didnt get

My driveway covered by the shed had the reflective barrier literally destroyed by high wind, and oddly the temps aren't that unbearable during blazing hot sun. Organized to have it redone this month. I guess the sheeting used plays a part re painted vs unpainted.

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2022, 6:44 am

if you have plenty air passing under it helps cool the place but on a still day is when you will feel the radiated heat esp if it is a low roof.

to retrofit the best way is to use 3m vhb tape every few feet on the purlin and pull the barrier tight and stick it
then screw thin flat pieces of wood to keep it permanent.
the better barrier is the bubble type one, not the papery one.

My driveway covered by the shed had the reflective barrier literally destroyed by high wind, and oddly the temps aren't that unbearable during blazing hot sun. Organized to have it redone this month. I guess the sheeting used plays a part re painted vs unpainted.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » October 31st, 2022, 10:45 am

I'm having a problem where when my house was built, there was a 2 inch gap between the outside step and the wall. The gap was filled with mortar and recently blocked up a room below the step and realized water is seeping through the mortar. What is the best way to stop the seepage? I was looking at the drylok masonry waterproofer. Is that a good option or what else can I do?

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » November 1st, 2022, 10:58 am

pugboy wrote:boy I have a fridge where rust popping up, but I dont want to take down the fridge and have it out of commission
What do you intend on treating the rust with?? Also what primer would you use?

Postby Chimera » November 1st, 2022, 1:16 pm

pugboy wrote:if you have plenty air passing under it helps cool the place but on a still day is when you will feel the radiated heat esp if it is a low roof.

to retrofit the best way is to use 3m vhb tape every few feet on the purlin and pull the barrier tight and stick it
then screw thin flat pieces of wood to keep it permanent.
the better barrier is the bubble type one, not the papery one.

i wish i had take on this before i did over my ceiling recently

impossible to do anything now unless i removing the galvanize to do it ent?

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2022, 3:03 pm

Yeah, or remove ceiling

Postby Chimera » November 1st, 2022, 4:33 pm

I can't hire two midget to go in the manhole and install it?

Postby Chimera » November 1st, 2022, 4:34 pm

I wonder if installing one of those roof turbines will make much difference

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2022, 4:55 pm

they come in 5ft wide rolls so kinda hard to manouvre

an extractor fan will help a lot, I have a solar powered one in my same shed also
you could test out somewhere by putting a powered one like on on eave soffit and see if air temps of the ceiling drops. ideally sucking air from bottom and exhausting up or from one side of the house and exhaust on other side

Postby Chimera » November 2nd, 2022, 8:17 am

ventisol.jpg

this looking good yunno

wonder what it sells for locally?

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2022, 8:19 am

I see a lot of exhaust fans on the market now, they used to be real pricey but not anymore
ones around that size for a few hundred
saw some in a hardware this week self.

Postby Chimera » November 2nd, 2022, 10:35 am

which hardware? pariaghs?

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2022, 11:26 am

i think it was ramlagans balmain

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » November 25th, 2022, 7:54 pm

Are there any reputable whole house surge protectors locally? Looking for something affordable, not bulky and easy to install.

Postby pugboy » November 25th, 2022, 8:15 pm

there is one which looks like a circuit breaker in the panel

Jerry84 wrote:Are there any reputable whole house surge protectors locally? Looking for something affordable, not bulky and easy to install.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 1st, 2022, 9:02 am

Did a septic pump earlier this week and the concrete cover has a couple gaps.
I Think they used mortar the last time, but can I use expanding foam to seal it off?

matix

Postby matix » December 1st, 2022, 7:55 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Did a septic pump earlier this week and the concrete cover has a couple gaps.
I Think they used mortar the last time, but can I use expanding foam to seal it off?

I don’t think the expanding foam will stand up if exposed to weather and settling water. Especially the cheap versions in the can. Tin set?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 2nd, 2022, 5:18 am

pugboy wrote:there is one which looks like a circuit breaker in the panel

Jerry84 wrote:Are there any reputable whole house surge protectors locally? Looking for something affordable, not bulky and easy to install.

GE has one for about 650.