Under 30s Only - What is you & your spouses combined salary?

What is you and your spouses combined salary?

less than $10,000
22%
$10,000 to $15,000
19%
$15,000 to $20,000
13%
$20,000 to $25,000
7%
$25,000 to $30,000
6%
$30,000 to $40,000
10%
$40,000+
23%

Total votes: 135

Re: Under 30s Only - What is you & your spouses combined salary?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 27th, 2019, 9:07 am

I'm working for around twice as much as I was in 2011 however my wife became a stay at home mom in 2016. My father really wanted to look after my kid along with my mother, as it would have been their first grandson however he was diagnosed with Cancer the same month my son was born and we were not really into the whole daycare thing. So the wife stayed at home to look after my son and help out with Dad where possible.

So technically with 1 income as opposed to two and the extra person in the household my real disposable income has fallen somewhat relative to my position in 2011.

Postby RedVEVO » June 27th, 2019, 9:08 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Halfbreed12 wrote:we make around $100,500 a month combined

A handful of households see that money on a monthly basis...some doh even see that for the year
He does not live in Trini

Educated young people leave Trini and go work abroad ..

People in a Burger King or MacDonalds getting more than an engineer in Trini

Postby Dizzy28 » June 27th, 2019, 9:11 am

RedVEVO wrote:

A handful of households see that money on a monthly basis...some doh even see that for the year

Sauce??

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2019, 9:32 am

I watched a dentist payslip the other day(she works for a private practice)...she takes home at least 25k on a slow month and that is 40% of her total earnings...the next 60% goes to the owner of the establishment...and just imagine he has 8 other dentists working for him..

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 27th, 2019, 7:24 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Serious question what is Burger king's salary?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 27th, 2019, 7:29 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I watched a dentist payslip the other day(she works for a private practice)...she takes home at least 25k on a slow month and that is 40% of her total earnings...the next 60% goes to the owner of the establishment...and just imagine he has 8 other dentists working for him..

With regards to the dentist I'll say that it is a high stress job, so a "high" salary is justified.

If he or she has their own practice, I'll still understand to a point, dental equipment is expensive to purchase and maintain, not to mention all the disposable equipment on account of health and safety concerns.

However with respect to GP and family doctor, I don't understand the exorbitant price of a simple visit.

Postby Slartibartfast » June 27th, 2019, 11:24 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I watched a dentist payslip the other day(she works for a private practice)...she takes home at least 25k on a slow month and that is 40% of her total earnings...the next 60% goes to the owner of the establishment...and just imagine he has 8 other dentists working for him..

With regards to the dentist I'll say that it is a high stress job, so a "high" salary is justified.

If he or she has their own practice, I'll still understand to a point, dental equipment is expensive to purchase and maintain, not to mention all the disposable equipment on account of health and safety concerns.

However with respect to GP and family doctor, I don't understand the exorbitant price of a simple visit.

My cousin's husband is a lawyer. He has a small practice with 1 junior dentist and about 3 nurses/technicians (idk what they are called) and a secretary. He pays like 50k in salaries and another 50k for other expenses for the month like disposable supplies, rent, software licenses, equipment maintenance etc. Running a dentist's office not cheap at all. And any "medical" equipment is just ridiculously priced. I think he paid like 75k for his dentist chair or something ridiculous like that and don't even het started on equipment like the 3d XRay machine.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 27th, 2019, 11:38 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Serious question what is Burger king's salary?

https://www.payscale.com/research/US/Em ... ew-York-NY

Basically minimum wage in the US.
Now if you convert that straight back, then yes is more than median TTD salary, but that completely forgets that a thing called cost of living exists.

The reason i chose NY is because that is where most Trinis that emigrate end up. In TT a 150k annual TTD salary is very doable if you smart with your money. But in NY that is starvation.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » June 28th, 2019, 1:32 am

Tuners see the 40,000+ option and decide to lie to themselves to feel good.. :lol:

I making under 10k these days.. things rell hard... and I have a lot of tasks I want to complete

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 28th, 2019, 4:59 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

My cousin's husband is a lawyer. He has a small practice with 1 junior dentist and about 3 nurses/technicians (idk what they are called) and a secretary. He pays like 50k in salaries and another 50k for other expenses for the month like disposable supplies, rent, software licenses, equipment maintenance etc. Running a dentist's office not cheap at all. And any "medical" equipment is just ridiculously priced. I think he paid like 75k for his dentist chair or something ridiculous like that and don't even het started on equipment like the 3d XRay machine.

that 75k for the chair is kinda basic...I remember going to AA LAQUIS and pricing one for 150k :|

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » June 28th, 2019, 9:01 am

I have two incomes, job pays around 25k after taxes and my side hustle averages around 20-25k/mo.

Right now deliberating if to push side hustle harder or maintain.....pushing it harder requires me to quit but this side hustle if done right, can clock 100k a month or more.

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2019, 9:02 am

l33t2 wrote:I have two incomes, job pays around 25k after taxes and my side hustle averages around 20-25k/mo.

Right now deliberating if to push side hustle harder or maintain.....pushing it harder requires me to quit but this side hustle if done right, can clock 100k a month or more.
Smart thinking bro

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » June 28th, 2019, 11:24 am

l33t2 wrote:I have two incomes, job pays around 25k after taxes and my side hustle averages around 20-25k/mo.

Curious, what is your side hustle?

Bimmerhead

Postby Bimmerhead » June 28th, 2019, 3:23 pm

It seems as though having something at the side is imperative at this point

Postby eliteauto » June 28th, 2019, 5:34 pm

Bimmerhead wrote:It seems as though having something at the side is imperative at this point
Once it's not a woman you should make money

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » June 28th, 2019, 8:12 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:

Well if I said it I'd sort of lose anonymity here, but let's just say it's producing and licensing digital content.

triniringo

Postby triniringo » June 28th, 2019, 8:28 pm

l33t2 wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:

Well if I said it I'd sort of lose anonymity here, but let's just say it's producing and licensing digital content.
I know...its HD porn

wingnut

Postby wingnut » June 28th, 2019, 8:50 pm

l33t2 wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:

Dj khalid is that u?

And another one

Postby A172 » June 28th, 2019, 9:33 pm

lol@ Daran

Postby eliteauto » June 28th, 2019, 10:53 pm

Daran is Gary Vee

Postby De Dragon » June 28th, 2019, 10:59 pm

Can't you take some leave from your job and see if you can turn the side job into your only one?

Postby RedVEVO » June 29th, 2019, 3:14 am

eliteauto wrote:
Bimmerhead wrote:It seems as though having something at the side is imperative at this point
Once it's not a woman you should make money

Maybe the woman giving him money ..

Postby RedVEVO » June 29th, 2019, 3:16 am

Can't you take some leave from your job and see if you can turn the side job into your only one?

You sound like a real lazy Trini
Take a what ?

Hombre work the 2 jobs and save your money .
If you young 5 hours sleep is enough .

vasquez

Postby vasquez » June 29th, 2019, 5:49 pm

Bro that ENT sheit I work as a dental tech in a practice we have about 15 dentists they slow day is about 46-50 k a month and that's there take home after the 40/60 split sometimes I wish I stayed in school dentists is a goal mind !

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » June 29th, 2019, 6:45 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Take a what ?

Nah it's not about being lazy, if it was hard work where i just had to put in mindless hours I'd find a way. But both my job and side hustle require concentration and smarts. If I put too much time into one the other suffers.

At this balance I have now I'm averaging about 45k take home a month. But the truth is this is far from rich, only option I see to get rich is selling my apartment and using my job to get a new mortgage to build up some apartments.

In two years time that will replace my salary (hopefully exceed it, and also hope I get a good severance package) and then I could push my side hustle to be bigger and turn it into a legit company too. Also I've got a good reputation at this company so going back on contract if everything falls apart is also a worst case option.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 29th, 2019, 6:51 pm

vasquez wrote:
Bro that ENT sheit I work as a dental tech in a practice we have about 15 dentists they slow day is about 46-50 k a month and that's there take home after the 40/60 split sometimes I wish I stayed in school dentists is a goal mind !

This is very possible because the prices at that practice might be significantly higher compared to the one I speak about..

Postby De Dragon » June 30th, 2019, 1:18 am

l33t2 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Take a what ?

Nah it's not about being lazy, if it was hard work where i just had to put in mindless hours I'd find a way. But both my job and side hustle require concentration and smarts. If I put too much time into one the other suffers.

At this balance I have now I'm averaging about 45k take home a month. But the truth is this is far from rich, only option I see to get rich is selling my apartment and using my job to get a new mortgage to build up some apartments.

In two years time that will replace my salary (hopefully exceed it, and also hope I get a good severance package) and then I could push my side hustle to be bigger and turn it into a legit company too. Also I've got a good reputation at this company so going back on contract if everything falls apart is also a worst case option.

Don't study this tunts, he'd have you believe he goes to Miami everyday, and makes the most beautiful Sunday lunches ever.

Bimmerhead

Postby Bimmerhead » July 1st, 2019, 2:00 pm

Walked in on two senior managers where i work talking about how hard things are and their need for supplemental income and i was a little confused because im sure they arent making less than 20k each but i guess as income increases so does standard of living and expenses...was just interesting hearing them discuss this

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » July 1st, 2019, 2:39 pm

Bimmerhead wrote:Walked in on two senior managers where i work talking about how hard things are and their need for supplemental income and i was a little confused because im sure they arent making less than 20k each but i guess as income increases so does standard of living and expenses...was just interesting hearing them discuss this

Yes honestly it's not lifestyle inflation alone, for someone just trying to live and an average lifestyle: groceries for one person are around 3k a month. Liming and just some free spending is at least 2k, bills 1k, car loan and insurances 3-4k. Then let's say u have rent or mortgage. That's at least 6 to 8k on a 25k salary (before tax).

Those normal expenses add up at least 15k. Men making 25k are getting 18-19k after taxes.

That leaves barely any savings or rainy day money. So yes, I'm damned lucky my after tax salary is 25k otherwise I'd have no savings or free spending money. And I don't even have a car loan right now.

Cant imagine supporting a wife and family with a 25k salary.

Postby zoom rader » July 1st, 2019, 6:04 pm

l33t2 wrote:
Bimmerhead wrote:Walked in on two senior managers where i work talking about how hard things are and their need for supplemental income and i was a little confused because im sure they arent making less than 20k each but i guess as income increases so does standard of living and expenses...was just interesting hearing them discuss this

Yes honestly it's not lifestyle inflation alone, for someone just trying to live and an average lifestyle: groceries for one person are around 3k a month. Liming and just some free spending is at least 2k, bills 1k, car loan and insurances 3-4k. Then let's say u have rent or mortgage. That's at least 6 to 8k on a 25k salary (before tax).

Those normal expenses add up at least 15k. Men making 25k are getting 18-19k after taxes.

That leaves barely any savings or rainy day money. So yes, I'm damned lucky my after tax salary is 25k otherwise I'd have no savings or free spending money. And I don't even have a car loan right now.

Cant imagine supporting a wife and family with a 25k salary.
Don't ever get married or live with women unless they can afford you