Obtaining Commercial Pilot license

CarelessJohn

Obtaining Commercial Pilot license

Postby CarelessJohn » January 26th, 2011, 9:31 am

To the pilots on tuner can anybody tell me how to obtain my pilot license and which is the better way local or abroad...
Last edited by CarelessJohn on January 26th, 2011, 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dragist

Re: Obtaining Pilot license

Postby Dragist » January 26th, 2011, 9:37 am

To Pilot what .......... Boat ..... Plane ............ Chopper ......... Whale ????

Humes

Re: Obtaining Pilot license

Postby Humes » January 26th, 2011, 9:42 am

Pens.

Re: Obtaining Commercial Pilot license

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 26th, 2011, 9:47 am

I dont think they should let a guy named CarelessJohn fly a plane

Postby K74T » January 26th, 2011, 10:14 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I dont think they should let a guy with a lambo doors-down avatar fly a plane

Postby Chimera » January 26th, 2011, 10:35 am

carelessjohn want gun license...carlessjohn want plane license....

nex thing carelessjohn want to be is a safety manager

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 26th, 2011, 10:38 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I dont think they should let a guy named CarelessJohn fly a plane

:lol: that's low...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 26th, 2011, 11:02 am

next thing yuh know CarelessJohn say he want pilot license but not interested in learning how to land the plane :shock:

Postby Rainman » January 26th, 2011, 11:28 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:next thing yuh know CarelessJohn say he want pilot license but not interested in learning how to land the plane :shock:

It has happened before :|

searchingone

Postby searchingone » January 26th, 2011, 11:31 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:carelessjohn want gun license...carlessjohn want plane license....

nex thing carelessjohn want to be is a safety manager

next ting carelessjohn want to open a daycare..

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 26th, 2011, 11:32 am

fixed wing or rotorcraft? then the next thing you need to check is yuh bank or yuh mummy and daddy like most of the pilots here

powered by ?

Postby powered by ? » January 26th, 2011, 11:35 am

Call DeltaSoft computer training and services tell them you inquiring about acquiring your Pilots license, there is a guy there who is fully qualified (Cant remember his name though) he would guide you accordingly.

CarelessJohn

Postby CarelessJohn » January 26th, 2011, 11:47 am

Thanks dappa i call the man he said $250,000 but i not sure if it have gate nah..aunty kamla help mehhh....

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 26th, 2011, 12:54 pm

there were a few that got it through gate a few years ago but that won't happen again.
i'd recommend going fixed wing though as there are so many helicopter pilots now with not enough jobs for them many of them are out of work for a year or two before an opening pops up. gl luck to you though maybe u'll meet me one day rofl

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » January 26th, 2011, 1:14 pm

powered by ? wrote:Call DeltaSoft computer training and services tell them you inquiring about acquiring your Pilots license, there is a guy there who is fully qualified (Cant remember his name though) he would guide you accordingly.

All the training done at DeltaSoft in unofficial, as in you can't log it. Its good for familiarization, however its mostly instrument work he does. Which comes at a later time in your training.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » January 26th, 2011, 1:18 pm

If you interested in a helicopter license, you are more than welcome to call me for advice. 302-3661, I'll go through everything that's needed, no worries. I wished when I was doing it someone was there to give me the full rundown.
Hell I can probably help you on the fixedwing (airplane) side as well.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » January 26th, 2011, 1:21 pm

jm3 wrote:fixed wing or rotorcraft? then the next thing you need to check is yuh bank or yuh mummy and daddy like most of the pilots here

LOL, I'm the exception...I did it on my own. Boom! :shock:

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 26th, 2011, 1:26 pm

yeh i know ^ thats the man that will explain everything for you :)

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 26th, 2011, 2:15 pm

where Jack the Ripper? he may have some useful info for you

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » January 26th, 2011, 2:21 pm

you can get some useful info in this thread.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=247706&hilit=pilot+license

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » January 26th, 2011, 7:51 pm

The commercial side of aviation is very difficult to get into these days.. You are far better off going down the rotary route than fixed wing, the job market is over populated with commercial airline pilots but there are jobs if you have a commercial chopper licence..

The problem with that route is its about 25% more to obtain the licence due to the extra cost of flight time in a chopper..

Its a huge commitment to gain a full commercial licence and finding the right school is a must..

Basic flying time for a standard Pilots licence is around 45 hours most people will do it in 55-75 though, if you go the CAA route you will also have to pass 7 ground exams.. These can be done self study but I would recommend a tutor, and also to pass Airlaw first as without it you can't do your solo flight..

The FAA route I.E usa I would say is the best route but you will have to do a conversion on this licence to fly outside of the USA not a big deal but something to think about..

The CAA route is filled with bureaucracy and a lot of time is waisted on stupid crap.. The FAA route is very hands on and get's you flying far more quicker, also the FAA ppl licence only has "one" ground exam and then a interview rather than the 7 CAA exams..

Average cost for a PPL CAA is about 7-8k euros and then anything upto 60-70k for full commercial with all 14 ground exams..

FAA PPL can be had for around 7-8k USD and around 50k for full commerical.. This is for fixed wing not chopper..

If I was doing it again I would join the freaking airforce or army and let them foot the bill, atleast you know the training is top notch......

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » January 26th, 2011, 7:55 pm

biggy82 wrote:where Jack the Ripper? he may have some useful info for you

Briko is offering CPL training now.

Advantages:
you home
you don't have to go through all that TSA & FBI screening before starting your training
You won't have to convert your FAA(US) licence to a CAA(T&T) licence
hourly flight rates lower than the US

Disadvantages:
Briko training is kinda slow,in my opinion
Older aircraft
Weather is a major setback...during rainy season,not much flight training going on
Not that many airports for cross country flights...Piarco,Crown Point, Maurice Bishop Intl???

Call Briko and organise an introductory flight. Not sure how much this'll cost but you could take a 1/2hr flight with an instructor, take the controls and see what it feels like to actually fly an aircraft and then decide if you want to be a pilot...

PM me if you have some more specific questions

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » January 26th, 2011, 8:00 pm

Its a shame that no one has set up a gliding/soaring school in TT that is the best way into aviation full stop..

Its cheap you will be a far better pilot having passed out as a glider pilot first and its a sheit load of fun..

Nearly all airforce cadets who go on to fast jets where first selected through a glider program..
glider.jpg

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 26th, 2011, 8:49 pm

I know a thread outlining this thing was posted already.......

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » January 27th, 2011, 2:39 pm

Jack the Ripper wrote:
biggy82 wrote:where Jack the Ripper? he may have some useful info for you

Briko is offering CPL training now.

Advantages:
you home
you don't have to go through all that TSA & FBI screening before starting your training
You won't have to convert your FAA(US) licence to a CAA(T&T) licence
hourly flight rates lower than the US

Disadvantages:
Briko training is kinda slow,in my opinion
Older aircraft
Weather is a major setback...during rainy season,not much flight training going on
Not that many airports for cross country flights...Piarco,Crown Point, Maurice Bishop Intl???

Call Briko and organise an introductory flight. Not sure how much this'll cost but you could take a 1/2hr flight with an instructor, take the controls and see what it feels like to actually fly an aircraft and then decide if you want to be a pilot...

PM me if you have some more specific questions

Briko's main disadvantage is their price. Its cheaper to go somewhere like Dean's in Miami, even with the cost of the flight, food and accommodation.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » January 27th, 2011, 2:41 pm

Anyone needing information on obtaining their helicopter or fixedwing licence, feel free to give me a call 302-3661. Like i said before, I'll go through everything thats needed, no worries.

Cheers.

jumperdumper86

Postby jumperdumper86 » August 30th, 2012, 1:14 pm

Apparently there is a new flight school on the Island. Aerial World Services? Out of the Guardian Holdings hangar.

I went by and saw the ops, spanking new Diamond DA40 with Glass cockpit. Full works. The guy who owns it real cool. Wealth of knowledge. Former CAL Captain instructing and Chief Pilot is a CAL pilot as well. Seems real good! (IMHO)

anyways, just thought id let people know what i found. Went to briko, and honestly, its like a corner shop parlor.

Blue Skies/Tail Winds!

Postby DVSTT » August 30th, 2012, 1:45 pm

You could go Briko in Trinidad but the planes there not well maintained plus only two of the four are ever operational and they are used by close to a hundred students and qualified flyers. You can get Private Pilot with Briko, think they offer commercial now, bu a few years ago you had to go away, daytona has alot of schools; Embry Riddle, ATP etc. They are the best bet for commercial.

Postby DVSTT » August 30th, 2012, 1:47 pm

But the job market for fixed wing commercial pilots down here is quite saturated and you need hundreds maybe thousands of hours of experience to get hired. (Briko charges $1000.00> per hour on the planes)

CarelessJohn

Postby CarelessJohn » October 24th, 2013, 5:18 pm

Can someone tell me how highly rated is Briko I would like to do my CPL there and what are my chances of obtaining a job abroad well in the US Im thinking of taking a loan...