Flow Internet Thread

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby paid_influencer » April 3rd, 2023, 5:34 pm

maj. tom wrote:Ppl still have cable tv in 2023?

Ppl that live in a multi-generational household yes.
My mother's viewing habits includes a generous sampling of game shows, ZeeTV and local TV.

i see amplia advertising they get more "bollywood" channels. still not seeling star plus on there tho and star plus have the best indian soap operas

if flow drop zeetv and/or star plus half their subscribers will cancel

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 3rd, 2023, 10:29 pm

gastly369 wrote:So fellas i using bridge mode on flow modem and having my router function as the dhcp server... Last week middle of watching a movie net dropped on my and since then i can't run my setup how it was had to reset flow modem and use router separately... Anyone who has bridge mode setup getting any issues?

Idk if some update they forwarded to modem fak it up

No issues for me. Have mine set up the same. Try hard reset on both units?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 4th, 2023, 2:40 am

Dizzy28 wrote:This is what I got on SaturdayIMG_20230403_071809.jpg

Dear Customer,

During the past three years we kept our prices the same throughout the pandemic, our commitment to keeping you connected when you needed it the most. However, the current external economic pressures are now such that as a business we must unfortunately slightly increase our prices by 3.5% per month, with effect from May 1st, 2023.

We know these times are challenging; and we truly value your business and hope that you will continue to allow us to be your service provider.

Sincerely,
The Flow Team

visit the flow website and click on the notice link on top. the message is there.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 4th, 2023, 8:46 am

screwbash wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:This is what I got on SaturdayIMG_20230403_071809.jpg

Dear Customer,

During the past three years we kept our prices the same throughout the pandemic, our commitment to keeping you connected when you needed it the most. However, the current external economic pressures are now such that as a business we must unfortunately slightly increase our prices by 3.5% per month, with effect from May 1st, 2023.

We know these times are challenging; and we truly value your business and hope that you will continue to allow us to be your service provider.

Sincerely,
The Flow Team

visit the flow website and click on the notice link on top. the message is there.

If I got the mail with the box price increase that's probably what applies to me. I have a legacy package with both cable and internet but its not one of the bundles. I'm probably somewhere within an acceptable range for what they want customers to pay monthly. I'm not going to pay an increased per box price and also an overall price increase if that's the case.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 4th, 2023, 1:39 pm

Ask for a disconnection and see if they drop the price

Postby Dizzy28 » April 4th, 2023, 1:58 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Ask for a disconnection and see if they drop the price

I'll wait and see what the bill looks like in May

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 4th, 2023, 2:23 pm

I know one of the other providers have this strategy for customer retention, because they rather take a small hit per active subscriber than to lose the subscriber altogether. Just need to exploit that to your advantage.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 4th, 2023, 3:15 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I know one of the other providers have this strategy for customer retention, because they rather take a small hit per active subscriber than to lose the subscriber altogether. Just need to exploit that to your advantage.

Its a solid strategy.
When I dropped HBO Max last year after having it for a while as part of my rotation strategy for streaming services they offered 3 months streaming for the price of 1 to come back. Something Netflix would never!

Postby Dave » April 4th, 2023, 5:11 pm

Lol worked twice.

I'll wait and see what the bill looks like in May

thebigK

Postby thebigK » April 4th, 2023, 9:23 pm

did this. it works.

Postby Rovin » April 8th, 2023, 12:42 pm

:o

ayyy allyuh fuggers brite boi ...... :lol:

Postby Dave » April 8th, 2023, 1:16 pm

Lol I genuinely called to cut cable twice!
I would be doing so shortly again. Not sure what's the outcome this time but no love lost either way.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2023, 3:49 pm

got the email
3.5% increase, works out to $7.
I could live with that. I genuinely have no issues with their quality of service.

ruskie

Postby ruskie » April 15th, 2023, 1:30 pm

Heard a rumour that senior management and shareholder has been taking out loans from the company and having them written off. In time, I have heard it opined, said company, which may have alot of Irish links, will buss, and then we in a khaki pants for competitive pricing.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » April 18th, 2023, 4:29 am

hi what the best way to reset the internet is it simply pulling out power cord, turn off power and turning back on or use pen to press button for 5 seconds

Postby Dave » April 18th, 2023, 6:38 am

I usually do a combo of the above.
Never experienced one being better than the other.
There is a "zap" the CSR on the phone does when you call in.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 18th, 2023, 11:02 am

fred1266 wrote:hi what the best way to reset the internet is it simply pulling out power cord, turn off power and turning back on or use pen to press button for 5 seconds

in most cases a power cycle should suffice. Your settings would be retained. Unplug, leave it without power for up to 2 mins while any residual charge in internal circuitry is discharged.

Reset would mean you're back to factory settings (incl SSID and default passwords), which is overkill for basic troubleshooting.

shorty d

Postby shorty d » April 19th, 2023, 11:09 am

gastly369 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Ppl still have cable tv in 2023?
Iptv ftw and streaming services

Never gonna pay for that chit station lineups for that premium price
Any recommendations

Postby Dave » April 19th, 2023, 1:40 pm

Can android boxes be imported still?

bossmann

Postby bossmann » April 19th, 2023, 2:49 pm

Dave wrote:Can android boxes be imported still?

Be careful with those boxes

wing

Postby wing » April 19th, 2023, 3:39 pm

bossmann wrote:

Nvidia shield working well.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 19th, 2023, 3:46 pm

Yup if you can’t afford the shield then the chromecast with Google tv is the best alternative. Fire sticks and everything else are just laggy mess..

Owner of 2 shield tv pros(3+years) and 2 chromecast with google tv (1year)

Postby paid_influencer » April 19th, 2023, 5:14 pm

bossmann wrote:

no joke this is why I only stream movies via Playstation 5 because it is secure only sony-signed apps for me

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » April 20th, 2023, 6:41 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
fred1266 wrote:hi what the best way to reset the internet is it simply pulling out power cord, turn off power and turning back on or use pen to press button for 5 seconds

in most cases a power cycle should suffice. Your settings would be retained. Unplug, leave it without power for up to 2 mins while any residual charge in internal circuitry is discharged.

Reset would mean you're back to factory settings (incl SSID and default passwords), which is overkill for basic troubleshooting.

ok thanks

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 26th, 2023, 7:56 pm

Reports of FLOW internet down in parts of San Fernando and Vistabella

Postby paid_influencer » April 26th, 2023, 8:32 pm

flow workoing in sando i checked look see

Postby The_Honourable » April 26th, 2023, 9:03 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Reports of FLOW internet down in parts of San Fernando and Vistabella

Yeah, it went down at 1pm and returned for most around 8pm.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » April 27th, 2023, 1:45 am

Ahh, so it wasn't just me.
Been having occasional drop outs since last week though.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 3rd, 2023, 10:09 am

Checked my account for May as Flow puts your balance due on the 1st day of the month. With the price rise my bill increases by 2.8% and not the advertised 3.5%.
Can't get the actual bill to download as yet to see how the increases worked (I have internet and cable as separate packages from Flow and not a bundle)

ragzinc

Postby ragzinc » May 4th, 2023, 1:13 pm

my bill increased the advertised 3.5% - from $300 - $310.50